The umpire got it wrong

• Thread starter Thread starter DRDGroup

kelly decission was wrong, but the pavlich one was just as wrong so its even.If players got free kicks like pavlci did just cause a player puts their arms around them than players like ablett,sellwood,chapman and johnson would get 500 a game

guess the only difference was pav got a goal from his free and the other free was on the wing - still would have been alot of work to score from there. I think the 5 goals 1 point that you scored from direct free kicks was probably enough for one day :eek::eek:

My feeling after the game was freo played really well and should have probably been up for a few more after dominating us in the first qtr. Freo played a great game of footy but i reckon the sooking over a bad call has taken the gloss off the effort and the fact they can compete against the big boys when they want to.

Anyway youll need something bigger to complain against next week when you take on the red hot pies. Bye:p
Welcome back Shitemuppet. :rolleyes:

Yeah but this is my point - a whole lot of ifs and buts here. I'm not saying I don't understand your frustration, I'm just saying it's a bit presumptuous to say the decision cost you four points.

kelly decission was wrong, but the pavlich one was just as wrong so its even.If players got free kicks like pavlci did just cause a player puts their arms around them than players like ablett,sellwood,chapman and johnson would get 500 a game

Time for a ban for these two in honour of the KTHNXBAI cup.

KTHNXBAI.

It's a little bit of a stretch to say that cost you guys the game - you were a goal down and 65m from goal. Still it was a genuine howler and there'll be some red faces in the umpiring department. HTB calls were shocking all day

Yes there were many HTB clangers by the umps

Do you even know what it's like to have decisions like this happen all the time? this is the second game this year where an umpire has had a brain fart when we've been within a goal or equal with the opposition. And then what happens? The umpires come out the following Tuesday and apologise and say they've made a mistake!!

I dont know why but I lol'd at that "Brain Fart" Shibz!! :D

Alright and what about the hold against Thornton (when he didn't have the ball) 3 minutes in that didn't get a free kick and shot at goal and the same player held again without the ball in the second quarter and should've got a shot at goal.

Geelong fans have bitched about their players being held without the ball, guess what? It happened to our players just as much for no free kicks.

Besides that, memo Todd Keating (umpire), you're an absolute ****wit.

As a neutral supporter I thought the decision was terrible it might not have directly cost you the game but definately took away any momentum you had. Especially when it resulted in a goal to Geelong rather than the ball being pumped into your 50 with the possibility of scoring.

And to the Geelong supporters whinging about the Pavlich decision it was there, caused by the forward playing in front and being held illegally by Taylor.

Anyhow good luck to you guys for the rest of the season and well done with youngsters you have picked up this year, things are starting to look a lot brighter.:thumbsu:

The response by the commentators on the Pavlich decision is puzzling to me. It was clear as day on the replay, Taylor had both arms around him holding him. And they didn't seem to think it was a free kick? or a soft one? You see that payed as a free kick 9/10 times. Puzzling. Then you get all the muppets spouting their uneducated BS on our board saying it wasn't a free kick.

There were bad decisions throughout the entire game to both teams and just because that one was near the end shouldn't mean it cost you the game.

Do you honestly believe that a decision against Freo in the last has more impact on the game than say a free kick that didn't go Geelong's way in the first?

Channel Ten reports that Jeff Geischen and the umpire admit that they got it wrong with the holding the ball against James Kelly in that crucial play in the last quarter.

Do we get the 4 points now?

No.

To be fair, they should drop the ump who didn't ping Foster when he showed the ball, got tackled and Suban goaled. That was a howler too.

Thankyou, equally as bad as the Kelly non-call.

You mean when Pav fell over when Harry Taylor dragged him down him while he didn't have the ball? That one?

rofl

It wasn't the only decision we missed out on late in the game that led to Geelong goals. Very frustrating to have a great game ruined like that.

the game was full of bad decisions for AND against us. sure the Kelly HTB decision was probably the worst one, and it did swing the momentum, but to say that it cost us the game is going a bit over the top i think. we could easily have kicked it straight to a Geelong defender (it was McPharlin who had the ball wasn't it.. :o)

I don't believe the Kelly decision cost us the game by any means. Geelong had a bit too much class and were able to eke out a win in a great game.
I'm also loathe to ever blame the umpires when we lose; decisions are made by players that are just as stupid.

But the decision was clear cut to every single person in the ground. The player was clear, surrounded by no-one, was tackled, didn't get a hand on the ball and the umpire was just incapable of making a decision. It wasn't a matter of interpretation as others examples cited here have been; it was probably the most obvious example of holding the ball that you are ever likely to see.

While it's not as bad, you have to admit that Freo have been the victim of some completely unique umpiring howlers

1999 - vs St Kilda; the ball is travelling towards a Fremantle player. The veteran umpire (Carey) decides, for the first and only time in his career, to TAKE A CHEST MARK.
2005 - vs Essendon; Matthew Carr is infringed when kicking for goal, and the ball goes through for a point. Normally this would lead to a shot on goal. However the umpire asks Ty Zantuck (the Essendon player who infringed) whether he would like Carr to take the shot or take the point; not surprisingly he takes the point. Play is restarted; Freo players don't know what has happened, until quarter time when the umpire lies (or is just supremely dumb) and tries to suggest that Carr took the point. Mmmmm.
2006 - Aurora Stadium etc.

Completely and utterly unique; not interpretations, not line-ball, just completely ridiculous.

I don't believe the Kelly decision cost us the game by any means. Geelong had a bit too much class and were able to eke out a win in a great game.
I'm also loathe to ever blame the umpires when we lose; decisions are made by players that are just as stupid.

But the decision was clear cut to every single person in the ground. The player was clear, surrounded by no-one, was tackled, didn't get a hand on the ball and the umpire was just incapable of making a decision. It wasn't a matter of interpretation as others examples cited here have been; it was probably the most obvious example of holding the ball that you are ever likely to see.

While it's not as bad, you have to admit that Freo have been the victim of some completely unique umpiring howlers

1999 - vs St Kilda; the ball is travelling towards a Fremantle player. The veteran umpire (Carey) decides, for the first and only time in his career, to TAKE A CHEST MARK.
2005 - vs Essendon; Matthew Carr is infringed when kicking for goal, and the ball goes through for a point. Normally this would lead to a shot on goal. However the umpire asks Ty Zantuck (the Essendon player who infringed) whether he would like Carr to take the shot or take the point; not surprisingly he takes the point. Play is restarted; Freo players don't know what has happened, until quarter time when the umpire lies (or is just supremely dumb) and tries to suggest that Carr took the point. Mmmmm.
2006 - Aurora Stadium etc.

Completely and utterly unique; not interpretations, not line-ball, just completely ridiculous.

Seem to remember some years ago one of our players (Dodd or Parker ?) In our backline doing an huge belly slide towards goal to get a touch on the ball before it crossed the goal line. Got there with millimetres to spare but because the ball was touched by both hands it was called a 'throw' :confused: and a free was given against us on the gaol line.

Hey guys, thought that holding the ball that wasnt paid late in the game was the worse decision I've seen this year given the circumstances.

And I'm not alone, this is an extract from Mick Malthouse's weekly email to members;

"I thought Fremantle played a terrific game against Geelong, and were a bit unlucky at the end, there was a decision that went against them that I thought could've gone for them, and that might've changed the complexity of that game. Fremantle is a better side that where they are on the ladder, they've been a bit unlucky at times, they've got a pretty good list in, and they'll bring back players more so than lose players. It'll be good to get back home to the MCG, and we'll be in for one hell of a fight."

Gives you a little insight into MM's thoughts on Freo too, hope to see you at the G on Saturday, I'd say good luck, but you know I'd be lying.:)

I'll be there and looking forward to a good game and hopefully more fairly umpired for both teams. It has never struck me that Collingwood get much lurve from the maggotts either.

Well I'll be at the match imploring for some consistency from the maggots and will be at the umpires race at the end of the game if they **** up again

I watched the match and your team was so favoured against Geelong .
How about Pavlich getting a free and a goal for NOTHING .
It is a disgrace .
Your club sooks and whinges about the umpires , watch the replay of the game with the sound turned off , so u are not swayed by comments emminating from commentators etc and you will see how badly u were favoured.

It is a disgrace .
Your club sooks and whinges about the umpires , watch the replay of the game with the sound turned off , so u are not swayed by comments emminating from commentators etc and you will see how badly u were favoured.
MMMM a soccer player commenting on our game what a joke.Do you know anything about the game at all!!!Having your arms wrapped around another player is a free kick "EVERYTIME".Dragging him to the ground with out the ball is another.
Watched Geishen owning up to the clanger the ump made and was suprised he did not add,"EVEN THOUGHT IT WAS ONLY FREMANTLE".
Not saying we would have won but a real howler at a crucial time of the game.The non decision tilted the momentum back to Geelong.

It is a disgrace .

Clearly a troll

or an idiot??

It is a disgrace .

Get off the crack pipe before it kills you.

It is a disgrace .

just for your info, they had an article in the paper the other day about umpiring, the two teams who have been given the most free kicks in the league.... westcoast then closely behind them geelong. the two teams given the least, fremantle and then hawthorn... not to mention the fact that twice this year geishen has had to apologise publicly to fremantle for shocking decisions at crucial times that have changed the momentum of a match

i dont believe that that decision cost us the game, if geellong had of kicked straight it would not have been so close, but no matter which way you look at it, the dockers consistently get r*ped by the umpires.... the figures support that.

I think strategy that you may be a geelong supporter with two email addresses, who likes to support his own arguments, hidden as another teams supporter...... really quite sad

the Kelly decision has to go down as the worst decision of the year. There was absolutely no possible argument that it wasn't HTB.

I reckon the Tarrant 50 Free kick would be worse though, seeing as it directly cost a a goal whereby this one cost us the opportunity to possibly get one, although it actually did cost us a goal as it went down the other end, but yeah,2 huge **** ups

i dont believe that that decision cost us the game, if geellong had of kicked straight it would not have been so close, but no matter which way you look at it, the dockers consistently get r*ped by the umpires.... the figures support that.

yeah but had we kicked straighter we would have won it aswell. It works both ways

I reckon the Tarrant 50 Free kick would be worse though, seeing as it directly cost a a goal whereby this one cost us the opportunity to possibly get one, although it actually did cost us a goal as it went down the other end, but yeah,2 huge **** ups

yeah but had we kicked straighter we would have won it aswell. It works both ways

Yeah, and if we had've got some free kicks go our way at times earlier in the game we would have won by more. It works both ways.

There are bad decisions in every single game, every single weekend against every single team. The one that people always remember is the one at the end of the game when it is in the balance, not the one when Geelong is say, 20 points up, and a bad free against them stops the run on from being bigger.

I have no problem with you complaining about the non free kick, it was a bad decision, but there would have been bad ones earlier in the game, to both teams, that would have had just as much impact on the game as that one.

Yeah, and if we had've got some free kicks go our way at times earlier in the game we would have won by more. It works both ways.

There are bad decisions in every single game, every single weekend against every single team. The one that people always remember is the one at the end of the game when it is in the balance, not the one when Geelong is say, 20 points up, and a bad free against them stops the run on from being bigger.

I have no problem with you complaining about the non free kick, it was a bad decision, but there would have been bad ones earlier in the game, to both teams, that would have had just as much impact on the game as that one.

But have Maggots Utd come out saying they "made a mistake" about those free kicks they gave against your mob? No...so shhh. This is the second time we have lost momentum because of brain farts...AND WE WANT REVENGE. (Well, not everyone may, but I sure do). It is getting beyond a joke.