Roast ... The Umpiring

Can't remember when it was but it was on the wing Dawes just grabbed Morris to stop him from getting to a contest, even Dawes looked at the umpire expecting a free kick to be given away and the Dees ran it down for a goal.

There you go Roosy, that's one each, why don't you complain about that one?

Can't remember when it was but it was on the wing Dawes just grabbed Morris to stop him from getting to a contest, even Dawes looked at the umpire expecting a free kick to be given away and the Dees ran it down for a goal.

There you go Roosy, that's one each, why don't you complain about that one?
Yeah that one had me pretty pissed at the ground. Was the third quarter

10154435_10203968337435172_2826640019482906246_n.jpg
boss

Can anyone tell me the number of free's paid to us in our forward 50m compared to the number given against in our defensive 50 for the year? Is there any way to find that? Against Freo we won the free count 18-4 but I don't recall a free in our forward 50 compared to two in theirs.

Would be very interested to know after watching Brisbane get a couple of soft ones last night and not recalling any for us.

Can anyone tell me the number of free's paid to us in our forward 50m compared to the number given against in our defensive 50 for the year? Is there any way to find that? Against Freo we won the free count 18-4 but I don't recall a free in our forward 50 compared to two in theirs.

Would be very interested to know after watching Brisbane get a couple of soft ones last night and not recalling any for us.

I'm fairly certain if you go to AFL.com you can watch the reply and skip to watch frees i.e. for and against
So you should be able to telly them by doing that probably take no more than 5 minutes.

I'm fairly certain if you go to AFL.com you can watch the reply and skip to watch frees i.e. for and against
So you should be able to telly them by doing that probably take no more than 5 minutes.

You can filter the replay to only show frees? Wow.

I've always maintained that it's not the number of frees you get but where they are paid, e.g. 20 frees paid in the back line for 1 team doesn't equate to 5 frees paid in the forward line which result in 5 goals to the other team.

Agree the umpiring is the least of our issue's but our forwards get murdered.

in the 3rd when Crameri had marked it outside 50 Gia was about 30m out and the brisbane player was clearly holding his jumper, to make it worse he threw 3 punches into Gia's chest with the umpire looking and ignoring it. I believe it was the same player who did it again moments later to Grant who unlike Gia didn't like the treatment and retaliated. Both should have been freekick's. If it was to happen to any other side's forward the whistle would have been blown.

This isn't even bringing in the amount of holding Williams/Jones/Crameri have to deal with week in week out. Only player that seems to get awarded holding free's is Campbell.

Why is umpiring imbalance a protected species in AFL. On several occasions upon checking the frees for and against stats as reported in the media, I found myself thinking " is this the same match I watched ?".
So I have gone back and watched the replay with a pen and paper, recording each free as it occurred. And low and behold, the published figures and the actual match statistics bore no relationship whatsoever, especially when there was a significant imbalance .

My other gripe is with the broadcast media. How often at a match have you agreed with the crowd from one or both sides who were ropable about the umpiring at the ground on the day, only to watch a replay and hear the commentators lauding the standard of umpiring. Just plain BS !

Now I am not anti the umpires, and feel it is a really tough job. But geez you would think they were on a heritage 'endangered species list' the way they are protected from criticism, particularly at times when their performance is just plain awful.

A lot of the umpires do a really good job, and it is a tough one at best, undoubtedly made all the more difficult by the constant changing of either the rules of the game, or varying of interpretation/emphasis.
But if they do a crap job on any given match, they should not be exempted from scrutiny, nor should a poor performance be hidden.

Admittedly at VFL rather than AFL level, I have often sat close by the guys who are assessing the performances of all the on-field officiators [ field, boundary and goal umpires]. I am not sure what these chaps official title is, but when there are two of them, their running commentary and performance assessments can be both informative, and fascinating, as they analyse each and every decision or non decision. It helps you see the game from an umpiring perspective, but gee there is no cr4p in their reviewing. They just describe it [ and presumably record it ] just the way they see it, with neither rosy glasses nor sugar coating, right down to on field positioning, length and direction of throw-ins and awarded and missed frees. It's fascinating stuff.

Loving the way players from the best teams run over the mark after an opposition player takes the ball. Umpires ignore this, just a simple come back 2 or 3 metres or maybe forget it, stand where you are on the ground.

The standard of umpiring has been well below par this year, but every team experiences the bad. We can't make excuses and blame the umpires for our insipid quarters that ultimately cost us game.

The players have to develop more accountability across the board

Loving the way players from the best teams run over the mark after an opposition player takes the ball. Umpires ignore this, just a simple come back 2 or 3 metres or maybe forget it, stand where you are on the ground.
I remember watching one of our early matches, probably round 1 or 2, when one of our guys took a mark and the opposition player ran over the mark. The umpire hollered for him to back up 3 meters and the player simply took a side step. The umpire called for 3 meters once again, the player remained where he was and then the umpire called play on. I thought to myself that that didn't seem right, but maybe I'm just a silly American who doesn't fully understand all the footy rules.

Nah, that sounds about right for us. :rolleyes:

Has there been a week this year when Paul Roos didn't complain about umpiring? I never remembered him being such a whinger
I remembered him being pretty smarmy at Sydney, but it seems every week at Melbourne there's another cockamamie excuse (dogwatch :D) for why they weren't competitive or didn't win.

He's not used to losing. 3 and 8 is uncharted water.

I'd thought I'd just bump this.
Umpiring was awful again, with the same two teams playing. Maybe it's a sign?

And surprise surprise Paul Roos has a whinge about umpiring after a loss.

Deflect deflect deflect Roosey, lost heaps of respect for the guy.
Did he really? Holy shit. What did he say?

I'd thought I'd just bump this.
Umpiring was awful again, with the same two teams playing. Maybe it's a sign?

The only saving grace is that it was shithouse both ways and I don't think either side benefited more than the other (despite what some Melbourne flogs believe on the main board).

Having said that - if that Mollison prick is umpiring AFL next week, I'll go he. Just utterly disgraceful and his continual squaring up of his mistakes was plainly obvious.

Those umpires cost us 2 goals.

Can they please tell us when they are going to actually turn up to the game. Because for the first 2 quarters they let everything go ........ then after half time it was like, oh, there's actually umpires at this game.

Consistency is sadly lacking in umpires these days.

But then again, the whole AFL is orchestrated.............I think we may have defied them today :-)