The Unexpected trades

• Thread starter Thread starter Mego Red

Originally posted by macca23
On the topic of unexpected trades, would we get much for Ben Rutten???

A young KPP who can play back or forward and kicked 3 goals at FF in his one and only AFL game.

I can't see him becoming a gun because of his lack of pace and mobility.

But there is a real shortage of KPP's around at the moment and he just might bring something decent.

Would you trade him and what do you think he might bring??
You're kidding, aren't you?

Rutten was rookie drafted and has played two matches. He's had a decent debut and an ordinary second match.

He has no trade value.

Yet 12 months ago Fantasia and Reid were telling everyone that our three rookie list promotions, Rutten, Bock and Mattner would've been top 20 draft picks had they been in the draft.

With this sort of judgement it's no wonder we are so keen to trade our draft picks away.

::shakes head::

Originally posted by Kristof
Pick 7 and 29?
You obviously misread what i said so i'll try and simplify it.

Ian Perrie and Pick 29 to Geelong
Pick 7 to Adelaide

I wouldn't even dream of pick 7 and 29 for Perrie.

Eagleton is a GREAT underachiever. Why the hell would we want him?????? You talk about Motlop having a POTENTIAL and Eagleton WAS international. The operative word being WAS. And how did you come to the conclusion that Bulldogs cannot afford Eagleton??????? They are losing Brown who would have been on at least $350K a year. Eagleton worth is nowehere near that value.

Eagleton is the MOST one sided player I have seen. He has absolutly NO right foot. In all seriousness I would rather keep Doughty.

EDIT: I just read that macca23 has expleined Pick 7 for Perrie and pick 29 thing;)

On the topic of unexpected trades, would we get much for Ben Rutten???

A young KPP who can play back or forward and kicked 3 goals at FF in his one and only AFL game.

I can't see him becoming a gun because of his lack of pace and mobility.

But there is a real shortage of KPP's around at the moment and he just might bring something decent.

Would you trade him and what do you think he might bring??
He has a bugger all trade value. The only way we can get something in return for him is if he was part of the trade package.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
He has a bugger all trade value. The only way we can get something in return for him is if he was part of the trade package.

Gotta be totally honest here Stiffy, it was half serious, half a stir. As **** said above, 12 months ago Fantasia and Reid were telling everyone that our three rookie list promotions, Rutten, Bock and Mattner would've been top 20 draft picks had they been in the draft.

If that were true, Then Rutten should be worth the Crown Jewels - which he ain't!!

We should be trying to use him as a filler on a trade deal though to get something for him.

Give him a chance macca23. Let him work on his agility and pace over the summer and see how he goes.

McGregor was not much better than Rutten is in terms of agility when he first came to the club.

Have faith mate;)

Give him a chance macca23. Let him work on his agility and pace over the summer and see how he goes.

McGregor was not much better than Rutten is in terms of agility when he first came to the club.

Have faith mate;)

McGregor was only 18 when he started playing AFL and even back then he was far more mobile and had much more pace than Rutten will ever have. Mc Gregor is in the top bracket of sprinters over short distances in the squad. Rutten is 20 and lumbers, not runs.

I'm finding it hard to have faith, Stiffy. :(

Eagleton is a GREAT underachiever. Why the hell would we want him?????? You talk about Motlop having a POTENTIAL and Eagleton WAS international. The operative word being WAS. And how did you come to the conclusion that Bulldogs cannot afford Eagleton??????? They are losing Brown who would have been on at least $350K a year. Eagleton worth is nowehere near that value.

Eagleton is the MOST one sided player I have seen. He has absolutly NO right foot. In all seriousness I would rather keep Doughty.

Dude,
a little lateral thinking here, we need an outside ball carrier with pace, someone who can link with Tyson sweeping from a back pocket and move the ball. Someone who can break lines and kick goals, and frankly they cost a lot of cash. Look at Nick Stevens, just think what he would be worth if played a decent finals match.

We don't have anyone like that, and eagleton can do it. He'd be cheap, he's south australian - so he'd be more settled, and he showed a bit this year. When WB moved him on the ball, and off the on baller, he showed he still knew how to find the pill.

We were too slow and predictable at times, and Eagleton is someone who can carry and break lines. For the price he would cost, he's worth the risk imo. I'd bet our footy department has considered it as well - given his local pedigree.

I reckon McMahon would be a better investment than Eagleton... All he needs is a little gym work, and that speed is up there with the best of them...

Originally posted by CrowBoi
I reckon McMahon would be a better investment than Eagleton... All he needs is a little gym work, and that speed is up there with the best of them...

it's all about the price, I would rather Akermanis, but it doesn't work like that.

eagleton, should be tradeable for supermarket coupons.

Originally posted by Crow-mosone
Dave,

gee you got me there - too clever.

Don't get stroppy C-mosone, you can argue your case better than this ... ;)

Originally posted by Kristof
Don't get stroppy C-mosone, you can argue your case better than this ... ;)

C-Mo could be my tag down in da hood!
mind you closest I get to the hood is at the wheel of the bavarian.

can't be arsed at times. Look as you well know mcleod does his best work at stoppages, in traffic, and link up play moving forward. he plays in the middle, or on the ball. At no point does he function in the true sense of outside player, he may not be in and under, but he is always right in the thick of it.

As opposed to a true ouside players like Craig Bradley, or even more recently Nick Stevens and Aussie Jones (cast your minds back sports fans, it was true once). Loitering wide of the pack, ready to RECEIVE the clearance, not make it, tuck the ball under his arm and go. Player must be able to work backwards of the centre square, and link up as the ball is being moved from half back. If Mcleod is linking here, he is too far behind play, and the coach should be shot. It's a luxury we can't afford.

Eagleton was once great at this, and when he pushed forward, he would use his pace to burst through the wing and roost over half forward.

For a dollar fifty, it's worth considering.

C-Mo could be my tag down in da hood!
mind you closest I get to the hood is at the wheel of the bavarian.

can't be arsed at times. Look as you well know mcleod does his best work at stoppages, in traffic, and link up play moving forward. he plays in the middle, or on the ball. At no point does he function in the true sense of outside player, he may not be in and under, but he is always right in the thick of it.

As opposed to a true ouside players like Craig Bradley, or even more recently Nick Stevens and Aussie Jones (cast your minds back sports fans, it was true once). Loitering wide of the pack, ready to RECEIVE the clearance, not make it, tuck the ball under his arm and go. Player must be able to work backwards of the centre square, and link up as the ball is being moved from half back. If Mcleod is linking here, he is too far behind play, and the coach should be shot. It's a luxury we can't afford.

Eagleton was once great at this, and when he pushed forward, he would use his pace to burst through the wing and roost over half forward.

For a dollar fifty, it's worth considering.

I can see where your coming from

but don't expect a rush of approval, ;)

I honestly think there is no way in hell geelong would trade Tom Harley. I dont know if you can remember back to the start of the season but he was injured and it cost us big time. i know im a little bit behind the topic but.... meh Kinglsey possibly but not Harley.

As for Ian Perrie, I dont think wed give up pick 7 for an erratic kick who doesnt kick goals consistently. we have enough of them already :D .

I think that we've underated Ian Perrie a bit. I mean, he can kick goals, and although he's not consistent, he can kicks lots of goals whne he's really up to it.

Round 12 this year against Melbourne, Perrie kicked 6 or 7 goals.

Sure, he wasn't against the best of opposition at the time but he kicked four of those goals in fifteen minutes.

And he's only about 23. He's got plenty of time in front of him if he strives to do better.

we need an outside ball carrier with pace
In 2002, Doughty was this man and in 2003 it was Burton. If we are to add to our midfield then it would have to be the in and under type not another outside player. We have Burton, Doughty, Begley and Reilly coming through (just to name a few).

I just don't see the point in trading for a 24 year old that will not make your best 22 no matter how much he costs. I would rather take a punt at youngster even if we pay a bit more. As CrowBoi said, McMahon would be a better option but as you pointed out he would cost more. BUT in the long run you will get better value out of McMahon than you would out of Eagleton.

The player I would really like for this role would be Daniel Motlop but he might be a bit out of our reach