Discussion The week off

A help or hindrance?

Given this year we were slow out of the blocks in Rnd 1. Came back against the Tigers after the mid season break and didn't kick a goal in the opening quarter and were ordinary for most of the game after "resting" players against the Bombers, how will we start the game against the Doggies?

Geelong the last 2 years, have not looked as sharp in the PF after the week off. However Hawthorn looked set to go after the week off.

Personally I think the week off will be great if we play the Bulldogs as we'll be the fresher side and they rely on their run but then again that was supposed to happen in 2005.

What do you think brothers?

Over

The mid season break was different - both teams had the week off

After 'resting' our guys, we had to get the team back in sync

But this one, we have a break and the other team DOESN'T - it's help

Full faith in Dave Mission, the man is gold.

Roo needs the week off, as does Lenny.

The week off will do the lads a world of good - especially Rooeys knee. I wouldn't like to have seen him playing on that puppy this week after he got up a bit ginger.

What are you guys doing in the week off? I will be beating my war drum - fairly hard.

It's a boring week, i tell ya that.

Prob end up watching the other games, and will be preparing myself for the assault next Friday night.

It's a question thats been going thru my mind, what the hell are they going to do?

They should look at what Geelong are doing and that is having a heavy training schedule on Sat I think. Nothing like game conditioning.

Hope they don't have the week off to watch tv or something,

What are they going to do?

The week off will do the lads a world of good -especially Rooeys knee. I wouldn't like to have seen him playing on that puppy this week after he got up a bit ginger.

What are you guys doing in the week off? I will be beating my war drum - fairly hard.

We need to stay in drinking training brother.

I think we should head out with our new man "halfman_halfroo"

I'm crook at the moment, taking the chance to clean out the IQ box and free up some space. I've recorded every win for the last 2 seasons. Last year is wasn't bad, this year i've bene struggling to keep up lol

Just copying the r22 Essendon game now, lol.

Milne is on 7. He is a freak

Will help. Players enjoy it. Let's them rest up and get over any minor niggles. Should be fresh for your match against the Dogs:thumbsu:

It's a question thats been going thru my mind, what the hell are they going to do?

They should look at what Geelong are doing and that is having a heavy training schedule on Sat I think. Nothing like game conditioning.

Hope they don't have the week off to watch tv or something,

What are they going to do?

Mooney was saying on Gameday that the Cats were planning a big training run on Friday and then having the weekend off. He said they probably undertrained during their week off two years ago and then overtrained last year so now they are looking at a mix of both.

Hard to know how the week off will affect us. No doubt Riewoldt and a few of the older blokes should benefit from the weeks rest. However you probably don't want to take it too easy and then be slow out of the blocks the next week.

Our fitness and conditioning staff are some of the best in the business though so I'm sure they will have it all sussed.

I believe the fitness side of things will not be as hard to maintain as the positive mental side of things. Keeping focussed & busy - away from all the media bullshit will be the toughest.

Mooney was saying on Gameday that the Cats were planning a big training run on Friday and then having the weekend off. He said they probably undertrained during their week off two years ago and then overtrained last year so now they are looking at a mix of both.

Hard to know how the week off will affect us. No doubt Riewoldt and a few of the older blokes should benefit from the weeks rest. However you probably don't want to take it too easy and then be slow out of the blocks the next week.

Our fitness and conditioning staff are some of the best in the business though so I'm sure they will have it all sussed.

Yeah I believe in body memory, so I would be having a very hard running little contact match simulation on Saturday, 4 quarters of 25 minutes.

If you over rest your body goes into hibernation.

I think it's Lucky Leigh Tudor is there.

Yeah I believe in body memory, so I would be having a very hard running little contact match simulation on Saturday, 4 quarters of 25 minutes.

If you over rest your body goes into hibernation.

I think it's Lucky Leigh Tudor is there.

They also got Leigh Matthews to have a talk to the playing group last week. If anyone should know about how to prepare for finals and winning premierships it's him. Four premierships as a player with Hawthorn and another four as coach of Collingwood & Brisbane. Reckon he might have picked up a thing or two in that time.

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,26046750-19772,00.html

yeah just do what ever geelong did in 07 at this time.

Not sure about that. Geelong reckon they stuffed up in '07 by taking it too easy in their two week break and not doing enough training. They only just got across the line against Collingwood in the prelim, who were coming off a tough extra time game against West Coast in Perth. They then had little more than a training run against Port in the GF to win the flag.

In '08 they overcompensated by training too hard in their two week break and only just got across the line against the Dogs in the prelim. They then got overrun by the Hawks in the GF. This time they are looking at finding a happy medium between the two, which is probably something we should do as well.

No doubt RL and SOS are aware of this. No doubt. How funny that I want to warn them!!!!

Hope they read big footy just in case!!:confused: