JohnK

port adelaide sometimes
You are the commisioning editor of a new SA sports magazine.

You can approach any BigFooty poster to become a special comments writer for footy for 2006. Who would you approach and why?

Caveat. You can't nominate yourself.

JohnK said:
You are the commisioning editor of a new SA sports magazine.

You can approach any BigFooty poster to become a special comments writer for footy for 2006. Who would you approach and why?

Caveat. You can't nominate yourself.

DT...Becuase i've heard he is the splitting image of Michaelangelo Rucci. Seriously though, I don't particularly want to express why but I reckon he would go alright. Mind you Stiffy would be hot on his tail - metaphorically speaking of course.

Easy peasy. Macca 19.
Agree or disagree with him he calls it as he sees it, no matter the player nor the team. His reports make top reading.

*PAF said:
Easy peasy. Macca 19.
Agree or disagree with him he calls it as he sees it, no matter the player nor the team. His reports make top reading.

I agree to certain extent but his bias does shine through at times. As does most Crows supporters. Go back to the Salopak vs Reilly thread and if you can find someone who nominated the oppositon player then he's your man.

BigMan.

obviously knows his stuff, calls it straight, and stands behind it.

edit~

I'd also appoint a sub team of:
Stiffy
Vader
Macca23

maybe DT chipping in on a freelance basis

Someone who actually knows what they are talking about, not someone who pretends they do, someone who is not afraid to ruffle a few feathers and say what is exactly on their mind.

SpringChoke said:
I agree to certain extent but his bias does shine through at times. As does most Crows supporters. Go back to the Salopak vs Reilly thread and if you can find someone who nominated the oppositon player then he's your man.

Macca19 said:
I wouldnt call Salopek underachieving. He hasnt really had the chance to underachieve yet. When hes played hes done alright...its just he hasnt put any sort of run on together yet.

When he has played, hes done alright. His first half of 2004 was very good and very promising. He got dropped because he was struggling to play for 10 minutes at a time. Then he missed 3 months with GF. I wouldnt call him soft. He is a terrible tackler but ive seen him jump in and get it out more than many other players of his size and age. I saw him get targetted against Fremantle in his 5th game and stand up to it.

It is definately his last chance though. Another injury stuffed year or if he actually does underperform this year and hes gone.

Reilly is a strange one. Looks great at times, looks ridiculously bad at others. I cant see him ever being a first string midfielder. May be a 100-150 game plodder in a Glenn Freeborn mould but I cant see him being in the top 3 midfiedlers at the Crows. Its make or break for him too. He could get overrun by Knights and Van Berlo if he doesnt show some more improvement.

Where is the bias? :confused:

What would these theoretical special comments actually entail?

Pre-match? Post-match? Topical News-of-the-Week? Or would it a rotation of these things?

dyertribe is one who stands out when calling things as he sees it. His writing style is entertaining but sometimes over does it. On both points :)

Stiffy is a great source of knowledge for many things for club/player-centric things and inner clubs working. Here and at As the Crows Fly he gives us so much good stuff, I'm a bit scared we might lose our Stiffy if he gets paid to do the stuff we get from him for free!

I've got a few other names that would be good, I might go and read some of the threads from last season before I do anything else.

Long story short: can't split DT or Stiffy at this point.

EDIT: Bloody typos.

SpringChoke said:
DT...Becuase i've heard he is the splitting image of Michaelangelo Rucci.

That is quite possibly the nastiest thing anyone has ever said about anyone else, ever. :thumbsu:

dyertribe said:
That is quite possibly the nastiest thing anyone has ever said about anyone else, ever. :thumbsu:

Hurtful bastards!! :D

As DT says a lot of talent on these boards at the moment.

DT writes well, is very knowledgable, and can be controversial - a pretty good combo to keep people interested.

Stiffy - well he's Stiffy. Passionate, loves his Crows, and not afraid to have an opinion.

Crow-mo writes well and if he lived in Oz would be a genuine choice. More of a feature editorial type than a match reporter, so still suited.

There are many others who would do a good job too - too many to list. Maybe even a rotation system of two or three different contributors might be interesting for readers. After all, the rotation system is good enough for the Australian cricket team - even if it is masked as resting!! :)

Because the magazine is aimed at the total SA sporting market, my feelings would be that I would have a Crows poster as the contributor as 70% of the State would indentify with him/her.

However because you would also want to sell to the other 30%, the contributor couldn't be a Port hater or denigratory to Port. Conversely, Port would have to also get it's fair share of coverage and in the same enthusiastic manner given to the Crows.

Alternatively if you wanted to spice the magazine up a bit, you might have a contributor from each camp in each issue, just to get some decent healthy competition and rivalry going as added interest.

An interesting concept JohnK - two columns called "Crows Chatter" and "Port Patter" perhaps??

Jeez, a few votes for Crow-Mo, considering 60% of what he says is rubbish (and you never know which 60!). Fantastic evidence that well-argued idiocy will triumph over the truth everytime. ;)

Of course, only 60% rubbish wouldn't be bad for a sports journo ...

The guage to any answer is to ask'' who do I click on to see what they have to say''

Me, I know when macca19 has a thread in the regional pages its a good match report. Also I will open a DT thread and a Stiffy one

Macca19 is your man as you are after a special comments man

Kristof said:
Jeez, a few votes for Crow-Mo, considering 60% of what he says is rubbish (and you never know which 60!). Fantastic evidence that well-argued idiocy will triumph over the truth everytime. ;)

Of course, only 60% rubbish wouldn't be bad for a sports journo ...

Kristof, the last time I spoke more than 60% rubbish was at your bail hearing. I can't believe anyone bought that story about you, the canary and the can of crisco :p

OK... since no one has mentioned the witty, insightful and always salubrious commentary of one LACrow... I hereby nominate him.

And why not? If Jack can talk in the third person all the time, then why can't I?

So there you have it... LACrow nominates LACrow in recognition of his outstanding efforts to bring an international perspective to this game of Aussie Rules (him being an American and all). LACrow thanks LACrow and also his publicist, camera man, and hair and makeup crew.... (wild applause).

On a serious note Stiffy & Macca19.

On a lighter note how could we go beyond our mate Jack with PAF,macca23 & Springy thrown in for good measure.

I would have put you in somewhere Crow_Mo but to be honest i can't fathom half of the words you post without a dictionary beside me & even that fails me at times.:)

Blue Red and Gold said:
Someone who actually knows what they are talking about, not someone who pretends they do, someone who is not afraid to ruffle a few feathers and say what is exactly on their mind.

No intention to insult you but that sounds very much like a jack comment to me. :confused: