This will be ______'s Year.

Have your say. Preferably with some rational thought behind the selection.

I'm not asking for who you think will win the B&F, just perhaps who will have a breakout year, or an old fella who will roll back the years for one last season etc.

I'm going to say Simon Buckley.

Probably still needs to find some consistency but the boy has too much upside not to make it at AFL level. Tall, quick, mobile with a great set of hands and above average disposal, he could be anything if he puts a few good games together.

I'll go as far as saying he will be our best / marquee player in a few years, taking over from Cam Bruce's role when he moves on, but Bucks will be a better player, much harder at the ball and not afraid to break tackles.

Paul Johnson for me, he will be contesting White for the number 1 ruck spot by round 12. Has all the skills just needs the opportunity.

I'm gunna say Clint Bartram, He put on quite a bit of size while he was injured wich can only enhance his incredible tackling and hardness at the ball. I think he will cement his spot in the team(AGAIN) and will be trained to take over McDonald's role in the midfield.

Bartram is all heart and will be a future 200+ gamer:thumbsu:

Ricky Petterd. Showed what he could do before THAT injury and i hope to see him push on and continue to do well this year.

BRENT MOLONEY for me. Injury has interupted his last 2 years. Before he was struck down, he looked a very very impressive player and a key part of the Dee's future.

It will be Jared Rivers year, really needs to step up and take control of Melbournes defence, and he will push for AA selection

I'll be happy for our players to keep getting snobed. They cost less to keep that way.

I'm gonna lock Cam Bruce in. We (myself included) sometimes forget how good this guy is due mainly to his output ever since Guerra smashed him a couple of years back, but this guy is a genuine match-winner.

With Brock and Jonesy likely to attract more attention now, I hope Bails lets him play midfield and tear it up like we know he can.

Remember this was a guy once considered the next successor for Captain.

David Neitz. If he can go injury free I have no doubt he still has what it takes to be a dominant full-forward. When he's on his game he is very hard to stop.

Have your say. Preferably with some rational thought behind the selection.

I'm not asking for who you think will win the B&F, just perhaps who will have a breakout year, or an old fella who will roll back the years for one last season etc.

I'm going to say Simon Buckley.

Probably still needs to find some consistency but the boy has too much upside not to make it at AFL level. Tall, quick, mobile with a great set of hands and above average disposal, he could be anything if he puts a few good games together.

I'll go as far as saying he will be our best / marquee player in a few years, taking over from Cam Bruce's role when he moves on, but Bucks will be a better player, much harder at the ball and not afraid to break tackles.

Simon Buckley is the most over rated player on this board, he has played one good half at geelong and now people are touting him as our next best player...i dont get it

He played some alright footy last year as well, tried hard against Port one day I think. It is more the way he plays that what he has done that impresses me, quick, long kicking, has worked hard on his body. Sure some people are a bit over the top but is there really anything wrong with hoping our players can really develop into very good players.

Good question.
I'll have to go with two players:

Davey - Has all the tools to become a superstar, just needs to get his head right. I still think his best position is in the FP but apparently today and in a few other games his midfield form has been excellent, and considering his pace, skill and vision, if he can play that receiver role well he could be an extremely damaging player.

Sylvia - I don't think he'll start the year like say Davey could, but I'm going to bet anyone by halfway through the season he'll be close to fully fit and will start to dominate games in the midfield and resting forward. He has more raw ability than any other player we have and it looks like his fitness is on the rise. I'm not getting #12 on my new 150th Anniversary jumper for nothing.

I am on the Colin Sylvia bandwagon. He has all the attributes to be a star and i reckon this will be the year he delivers.

His kicking was crap today but he spent a bit over half the game running around in the middle so that's a good sign.

Matty Bate: Although I think he just did his hammy, I hope it's not too bad. Bate showed dominant patches in a number of games last year as a floating half forward/midfielder. I think he will rip it up.

Davey is the other player I think is in for a big one.

People often forget how good Brent Moloney is. Think back to 2005 and he was brilliant; aggressive, confident, direct. Since then, it has been one injury after another. We've played 46 matches over the last two seasons and Beamer has missed 29 of them. But this pre-season, he is (touch wood) finally fit and looks ready for a big season. I predict a top five finish in the B&F.

Then you have Jared Rivers, who is pure class. He missed 19 games last season, so the wider football community can be excused for also forgetting how good he is. But ever since he dominated in 2004, we've always known what a star he is. I'm hoping that he can shake that horrid injury run, and produce a great season. If he does,you'll definately notice a difference on the scoreboard. And you might even find yourselves saying, "Gee, that Nathan Carroll is actually not bad. Even Brad Miller goes alright." Such is Rivers effect on the team.

From an outside observers point of view, Buckley was very impressive yesterday against the Roos. He was excellent early on so I watched him more closely. He should be a great player for you this year and beyond. He has the ability to weave through traffic. I thought his disposal, especially by hand was well above average

PS. Jones is a gem

lynden dunn will improve a mile

flash and beamer to get back to their best form, fingers crossed with no injuries

lynden dunn will improve a mile

He has bulked up heaps, particularly around the hips. Hopefully, he can gain some confidence and have an impact in matches. I'd like to see him play as a KPP eventually, but it can't hurt him by having a run in the midfield and building up his tank.

Also, Stef Martin has a decent frame for someone who looks about 16 years old in the face. Not the typical skinny-as-a-rake type that you'd expect. He played in the backline for Sandringham and did some nice things early. There are some good expectations about this kid.

He has bulked up heaps, particularly around the hips. Hopefully, he can gain some confidence and have an impact in matches. I'd like to see him play as a KPP eventually, but it can't hurt him by having a run in the midfield and building up his tank.

Also, Stef Martin has a decent frame for someone who looks about 16 years old in the face. Not the typical skinny-as-a-rake type that you'd expect. He played in the backline for Sandringham and did some nice things early. There are some good expectations about this kid.
Excellent news re: Dunny.:thumbsu: