Thornton's Salary

astro_toby

Everyone is saving thornton is or isnt worth more than what is apparently being offered - what does everyone think a pplayer of his elk is worth - just the figures - No explanation!

$200K - ?

That might get the deal done big sav. We have offered 220k per season over two years currently. Fev reckons he has been offered $1m over 3 years, which is 333k per year. I wonder if loyalty will see him re-sign for 68k less per season as long as he gets his third year.

I reckon 220K is fair, maybe boost it to 250k if need be. I would also give him a three year deal. He is definately not worth 300k per year though. If we are paying players like Thornton 300k there won't be anything left for the better players. We can't really pay Simpson 100k per year less than Thornton just because Thornton is a defender and we don't have many. It sets a bad precedent. I'm all for keeping Thornton but if he gets really greedy then he is not the type of player we want at the club.

marcmurphy3 said:
We can't really pay Simpson 100k per year less than Thornton just because Thornton is a defender and we don't have many. It sets a bad precedent.
Yes we can and no it doesn't. Thornton has been there a year longer and has played consistent senior football for 3 years longer. There is a structure according to performance and longevity. Simmo would not be expecting as much as Thornton IMO.

In the end the club has stated that young players are the future and that we wont sign anyone who is over 24. If they are serious, they will get their act together and sign up TBird and Fish for 3 years and the $ required, as they are both crucial in us becoming a competitive side again Then maybe we can start hearing some positive news coming out of the club, rather than negativity that we hear on a daily basis

Melbdave81 said:
In the end the club has stated that young players are the future and that we wont sign anyone who is over 24.
Could it get any dumber? Really?

The likes of the Bradleys, the Tucks, the Bartletts, and Co. must shudder at comments like those.

"Sorry mate, you're over 24 years of age. You're a no go here."

Why don't they just tell players that if they want to come down then they can play, but they shouldn't expect a long and decorated career at the club - for once they pass the age of 24 then they're of no use to the Blues.

Who makes these statements anyway? They just seem too stupid to be true.

3 years

$400,000
$300,000
$200,000

Front end it slightly.

With what we have yes he is worth $300,000 per year.

With what other clubs have he probably is worth $250,000 - $275,000 per year at another club.

Butit is the demand for him that determines price.

But that's the way it is.

By front ending it means come end of of 2007 we have more room too negotiate with Murphy, Kennedy and hopefully a Gibbs for a contract extension.

I am not against the club as such being ope too offers, but given our situation, and the chances of an absolute eye opener of a trade I think we are better off just signing him up, making it a good news story and head too the draft.

I may be in a minority, but I would think Kade Simpson should just as much cash, if not more, then Thornton.
Basically I would rather lose T-Bird then Simpson, as despite what people think, you could probably cover the loss of an tall defender, whereas Simpson is a rare talent that will become elite.
Can anyone seriously think that Thornton will become a elite player ???

celtic_pride said:
I may be in a minority, but I would think Kade Simpson should just as much cash, if not more, then Thornton.
Basically I would rather lose T-Bird then Simpson, as despite what people think, you could probably cover the loss of an tall defender, whereas Simpson is a rare talent that will become elite.

I agree. I could live with Thornton leaving but I would be distraught if Simpson left. He has the potential to be a superstar of the AFL. Simpson is definately worth more money than Thornton and he should definately be offered 3 years. In terms of our current players at the club I have him ranked fourth best.

marcmurphy3 said:
I agree. I could live with Thornton leaving but I would be distraught if Simpson left. He has the potential to be a superstar of the AFL. Simpson is definately worth more money than Thornton and he should definately be offered 3 years. In terms of our current players at the club I have him ranked fourth best.
I would rather Simpson stay than Thornton, because Simpson has more potential and could be a star, but IMO Thornton is more important to our structure. We need both and cannot afford to lose them.

celtic_pride said:

I think both are definately essential players for the future. Yes Simmo has more potential than Thornton but he has only really been in the seniors for a year and a half maybe less. Thornton has been in our best 22 for quite some time and deserves some reward for his efforts.

The Old Dark Navy's said:
That might get the deal done big sav. We have offered 220k per season over two years currently. Fev reckons he has been offered $1m over 3 years, which is 333k per year. I wonder if loyalty will see him re-sign for 68k less per season as long as he gets his third year.
the guy seems loyal but then again first year where clubs have shown interest definently 250-300k for 3 years. top 3 or 4 fb in the comp and is still only 22:eek: last year i thought he wouldve been 25 and only a filler until we get another quality full back but this year the 22yo has shown potential and with his pace/strength/skill will stop richo gherig lloyd and others next year

ShlomoGlickstein said:
Thronton isn't worth more than $120K per year, until he starts to have more influence on a game.
no way, I love him like i love marc murphy, what a champion!

Please resin t-bird, what will i do without you? please stay because i love you

XXX KINGS said:
no way, I love him like i love marc murphy, what a champion!

Please resin t-bird, what will i do without you? please stay because i love you

You're quite emotional when on the piss, aren't you? :D

ShlomoGlickstein said:
Thronton isn't worth more than $120K per year, until he starts to have more influence on a game.

The avg player now avgs 200k. He is worth much more than 120k!

ShlomoGlickstein said:
Must be difficult to continually up the ante on silly comments.

ShlomoGlickstein said:
Have you ever posted anything positive about Carlton? Ever? I mean honestly, Thornton is worth much more than 120k, probably half our list get over that. He is our most valuable defender (Whitnall might be good at setting up play and blocking the space, but is no where near Thornton in terms of actual defending), and deserves around 250,000 easily.

IMO T-Bird has passion beyond reproach this alone is worth $?....ex GST of course....I can't see you guy's trading him when youth is the path that has been set and 90 game players over the next couple of years are going to be hard to find for you blokes anyway.
We'd love to have him, but when is your board and footy department going to get there sh*t together......It is a disgrace to the members and past players etc the way things are going now....