Thoughts

Originally posted by PAfolwr
I fell asleep during the last quarter, but will say this for the other three.
Carey___Time to retire big fella. He is taking up precious space.
Hentschell___He has to be played. Give him gametime and he will be alright.
Hudson___First time the Crows have had a ruckman for years. He MUST be given gametime. Sorry, but you lot rate your current ruckmen far higher than the rest of us.
Hudson looked good. He is ok to good at centre bounces. Can take a mark, and looks for contests around the place. Cannot ask for much more. Experience required now.

Of your more experienced players, they did what one expects of them in the first game. Of the rest, not much to say really.
Gameplan_Was there one? I was looking to see what was being tried out, but for the life of me I couldn't spot it.

St Kilda___Yes if any of you Saint supporters see this you can bookmark it.
1. You may win the Wizard Cup.
2. You will be one of the teams fighting it out for the bottom of the 8 at most, and maybe even not make it.
I think thats a fair summary. As far as Saints go I think they need a good coach and they will be top 4. In all honesty taking on the coaching job at St. Kilda now would be every coaches dream. Embarassment of young riches in that side.

Since you are not a biased observer what did you think of Reilly for the short time you saw him play.

All the feedback thus far, IMO has been spot on.
From my perspective:

Negatives
Our midfield was woeful. Hudson and Biglands weren't getting their hands to the ball first, and St Kilda consistently took the ball easily out of the square. We hard no physicality in the centre bounces. We tried the "B" squad in the centre square and they were found wanting. Bode, Skippy, and Stenglein were not up to it.

We lacked pace from our midfield, and our tackling was non existant.

Once again, without Hart and Smart, we lacked run and attack from the backline; too slow and indirect coming out. This was evident last year where these two missed, Mcgregor, Bassett, Hentschell,Massie... did not provide the necessary rebound.
This is a problem for the future.

Burton and Roo were out of touch. Burton never comes back from injury well, and should not have played. Roo mishandled the ball, due to his thumb.

Our youngsters continue to go back and have a kick, rather than take on their opponent. Points to a lack of confidence in their own abilities.
Bode, and Skipworth, get the ball, and due to a lack of pace, prop with the ball as their about to be caught, and feed off a handball backwards, or a rushed kick. Whatever, it throws the forwards right out, making it difficult to read the game.

The gamestyle of last year was still evident, but we did not have a winning spine to kick to. Ball movement was too slow, but I believe it was more a personnel issue/decision making process.
Positives

Reilly and Hentschell showed they have what it takes at this level. Reilly was all class with some of his 2nd half efforts.
Hudson provides a touch of aggression - his palming is not the greatest (found St Kilda players more than ours), but his 2nd efforts and hunger for the contest was really pleasing.
If his arobic capacity was OK, he could be a KPP option, as IMO he appears to be quite quick for his size, and takes a good grab.

Welsh was fantastic.

Gallagher, did a marvellous job, and is making it hard for everyone to discount him from team calculations.

When the "A" team went into the centre in the last qtr, you could see the difference immediately.

Overall, 1st real competitive game. Not going to slit any wrists yet, but
Bode is in trouble - showed nothing today
Skippy - good SANFL player only
Shirley - did he play?
WE need to improve the midfield dramatically - Pace,Physicality, Decision making and Disposal.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
I just don't get it.

Its not so much a Hentschel thing. I have acknowledged his work at SANFL level prior to this - I said last year he and Rutten were the best two performing Crows in the SANFL finals. So maybe my expectations for him have risen.

Its more to do with defence. We need to develop new players/strategies to combat the big powerful forwards.

I cant see how Hentschel can help us with this. It will still leave us with the same options that have failed before. Unless he improves the physical side of his game it doesnt decrease our problems in this area of our game.

Originally posted by Jerome
All of our bad habits were there - playing out wide, poor skills, poor decision making, stop/start movement from defence.

Very ordinary team performance. A real lack of leadership from defence too. Bass and Kenny should have straightened us up and sorted the mess out.

Yes without the leadership and experience of Smart and Hart, there appeared to be no defensive "general" controlling the backline. McGregor has to impose himself more on the game, and lead the defence - thats what all good CHB's do.
For me he's too introverted/passive.

Have to say I was very disapointed after what I seen today, same wide indirect gameplan that will get us know where in 2004, THIS GAME PLAN HAS GOT TO GO:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

Carey I thought looked a lil more stronger and fitter than last year was quite good and took a couple of strong marks in the first quarter, was pretty impressed with Scott Welsh was hard at the footy and made his presance felt up forward, Scott Stevens, Hentshel and Skipworth were all quite good too.

IAN PERRIE YOU ARE A ****ING DUD:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

Tyson Stenglien isnt far behind both played shockers:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

What a p*sser of a day.

First of all I watch the Crows come up short, and then I watch Australia fail by 1 run in it's run chase in the one day game against Sri Lanka. Only just finished.

Thank god I didn't have any bets on the geegees today!! ;)

Originally posted by macca23
What a p*sser of a day.

First of all I watch the Crows come up short, and then I watch Australia fail by 1 run in it's run chase in the one day game against Sri Lanka. Only just finished.

Thank god I didn't have any bets on the geegees today!! ;)

Why the hell didn't Gilly open?! Geez...

Originally posted by Jerome
Its not so much a Hentschel thing. I have acknowledged his work at SANFL level prior to this - I said last year he and Rutten were the best two performing Crows in the SANFL finals. So maybe my expectations for him have risen.

Its more to do with defence. We need to develop new players/strategies to combat the big powerful forwards.

I cant see how Hentschel can help us with this. It will still leave us with the same options that have failed before. Unless he improves the physical side of his game it doesnt decrease our problems in this area of our game.
OK your critisism has to do more with our defence but why take it out on Hentschel. Why not take it out on McGregor who was torn a new one by Reiwoldt??????:confused:

You cannot expect a kid with 4 games of AFL experience to be the answer. If you think Hentschel will keep the likes of Lynch and Tredrea quiet this year then you are very much mistaken cos it ain't gonna happen. Playing Hentschel won't make us any better in defence this year but will help in the long run. He won't make it worse than last years but he won't make it better either.

The only thing you could have taken out of last year's SANFL final series about Hentschel is that he is a capable as a backman and is improving. Pinning our hopes on a youngster with limited experience at the senior lever is way too much to ask. Its just wishful thinking.

BTW, who do you think IS the answer. I honestly don't see a player on our list who can help us out in the area that you are talking about.

Originally posted by acg_204*
Why the hell didn't Gilly open?! Geez...

Sat in the pavilion nearly all night and then out for bugger all when he came in.

Not a good move, as Clarke made a quack opening in Gilly's spot.

. He will improve with time. A few years ago Welshy wasn't as hard at it as he is now. He has improved that side of his game over the years. It won't happen overnight for Hentschel. It will take time but he shows a lot more in his 4th game than the likes of McGregor and Perrie did.

Give the kid a break and in time he will come good and be a better player than the 2 I mentioned.

He doesnt play the game that way, yes he will get better, but he won't be a Johnathon Brown.
What impressed me today was his ability, as a tall, to sidestep players and feed-off. He has improved his composure, but he does need to move the ball quicker, and if he's not a physical player, he must learn to run through the lines (like a Ben Hart), and turn defence into attack.

I just don't get it. Why do people want to sink boots into Hentschel on every opportunity they get.

I swear if the kid had a 40 possesion 20 mark, 10 goal game with no turnover they would still find something to bag him for.:rolleyes:

I'm with you Stiffy;)

Originally posted by Wayne's-World
He doesnt play the game that way, yes he will get better, but he won't be a Johnathon Brown.
What impressed me today was his ability, as a tall, to sidestep players and feed-off. He has improved his composure, but he does need to move the ball quicker, and if he's not a physical player, he must learn to run through the lines (like a Ben Hart), and turn defence into attack.
Completely different type of player to Jonathan Brown and will never be as physical as Brown (but Watts will:D)

Yes his evasion skills are very good for a tall and his delivery by foot is also very good. Running throught the lines will come with experience and more confidence. He will be a good player for us but we have to be patient. We can't expect him to hold our defence toghether at his stage.

He certainly will never be a Johnathon Brown - I wish we had one. We might actually go down the centre of the ground if we did.

He'll learn Wayne's-World, he'll learn. He took a good step forward today.

Originally posted by maccas_no1

Tyson Stenglien isnt far behind both played shockers:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

Did a couple of good things, but the jury is out, if he's going to be part of the midfield.
Too slow, slow disposal, and poor disposal. He's actually a good kick, but because he's always getting caught as he kicks, it's generally rushed and ineffective.

I get the feeling that Watts will cop as much flak as Hentschel on this board because the supporters are not very patient.

We cannot expect our youngsters to come in and star. We cannot expect them to be the players that carry this team and sort our problems straight away.

You cannot buy experience.

Completely different type of player to Jonathan Brown and will never be as physical as Brown (but Watts will:D)

Yes his evasion skills are very good for a tall and his delivery by foot is also very good. Running throught the lines will come with experience and more confidence. He will be a good player for us but we have to be patient. We can't expect him to hold our defence toghether at his stage.

I agree, but without the generals;Smart and Hart, who is going to hold the defence together and lead Hentschell.

...Since you are not a biased observer what did you think of Reilly for the short time you saw him play.
Sorry Stiffy cannot help. As I said, I was fast asleep in the last and also nodding on and off in the third.
I have just read a lot of posts, and by the sounds of it he (along with the rest ) had a better last quarter.
Before that didn't really notice him. Nothing to say, neither good nor bad.

I have only just read the final score. Struth, the Sainters nearly gave it away. They were doing it easy for the first three quarters.

He'll learn Wayne's-World, he'll learn. He took a good step forward today.

I have to agree he did take a big step forward today.
Just needs a bit of experience and leadership around him.
I do have a concern for McGregor, not that he's a bad player, just that I would prefer someone more imposing, dominating, and a defensive unit leader?

Sat in the pavilion nearly all night and then out for bugger all when he came in.

Not a good move, as Clarke made a quack opening in Gilly's spot.

The form Gilly's showed in the One Dayers over the past four months, you wouldn't drop him down the order for anyone...let alone a kid who's never played on the sub-continent before and judging by his dismissal in the first game can't pick Murali what so ever.

I have to agree he did take a big step forward today.
Just needs a bit of experience and leadership around him.
I do have a concern for McGregor, not that he's a bad player, just that I would prefer someone more imposing, dominating, and a defensive unit leader?

I'm concerned for McGregor too...with the way bloody Bassett kept taking him out all match. Three times Kenny was backing back to take a grab and Bassett came from behind and spoiled him. Twice it resulted in a goal, the second time being the match winner.

I agree, but without the generals;Smart and Hart, who is going to hold the defence together and lead Hentschell.
Even in this case you can't expect hentschel to hold it together. We should be turning to our other senior players in the backline. The likes of Bassett, Edwards and McGregor who really disappointed me today. I expected Kenny to step up and be a leader in the backline but he gave Reiwoldt far too much room and was very average today.

I get the feeling that Watts will cop as much flak as Hentschel on this board because the supporters are not very patient.

We cannot expect our youngsters to come in and star. We cannot expect them to be the players that carry this team and sort our problems straight away.

You cannot buy experience.

I think part of the problem is the hype generated firstly around the National Draft, and secondly by the clubs themselves to generate interest and memberships.
Watts, even B4 he put on a CRows Gurnsey, has been hailed as our saviour, our Great White CHF who we're going to build our team around.

Thats a lot of pressure on the kid.

Days gone by, most recruits were unknowns, with impressions gained on the training track, or after a few league games. Now all the hype is there b4 they even get recruited.

Yes, by our own doing - we are very impatient

Bulldogs, believe their #1recruit this year, is their saviour - for gods sake he's18!!!!!

I was at the game today and couldn't wait to get home to find out who number 27 for us was.

On todays performance, we recruited Scott Stevens why??!! He was gutless, didn't chase and was more of a spectator than I was!
Johncock did look good, he will be great this season.

Biglands really is the only "big" man for the crows that uses his frame. Perrie will play for my beloved Panthers again this year on todays efforts. If he relies on free kicks to kick his goals or plays behind his opposition like he did today we may as well have Fergus Watts in the team already. I didn't see any other big man go fearlessly into the pack than Biglands and we need more than 1 bigman to do that. Carey was more physical off the ball than on it. Bassett showed why he should play in the backlines all season, even if not at full back.

Skipworth deserves a position in the opening round. I was impressed with him today. Could fill the hole Bickley has left.

I think part of the problem is the hype generated firstly around the National Draft, and secondly by the clubs themselves to generate interest and memberships.
Watts, even B4 he put on a CRows Gurnsey, has been hailed as our saviour, our Great White CHF who we're going to build our team around.

Thats a lot of pressure on the kid.

Days gone by, most recruits were unknowns, with impressions gained on the training track, or after a few league games. Now all the hype is there b4 they even get recruited.

Yes, by our own doing - we are very impatient

Bulldogs, believe their #1recruit this year, is their saviour - for gods sake he's18!!!!!
Thats what gets up my nose. Too big an expectations placed on a kid.

When the club comesout and says we got a beauty in this player a lot of supporters take it as granted that the kid will come in and dominate ganes and be the missing link. HIstory will show that players start showing some good signs in their 3rd year of AFL footy. It takes 3 years for player to get their bodies and skills developed to the point that they are competative at AFL level and they go on from there until they reach their potential. It is very rare that an 18 year old will help imidietly. I think Chris Judd comes along one in a blue moon.

Youngsters need time especially ones taken later in the draft.

I think in time we will potentially have a ripper of a spine if our hopefulls are not cut down by injuries. I don't expect it this year or next year but in 5 or so years time the likes of Krueger, Watts, Reilly, McGregor and Hentschel will provide us with a bloody good spine. We need to surround them by quality midfielders and a couple of capable ruckman and we could be a force.

When it comes to youngsters patience is the key.