Tigers AFLW Team By 2019

You realise the season in played February - March right?
That will most likely change IMO. To start with though they clearly needed to put it before the mens season to avoid clashes and give it more attention. Those women currently play in their state leagues in winter like VFLW for example.

Welcome on board to Kate Sheahan, the new AFLW Football Operations Manager
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...r/news-story/503353e453199466fe82e7ceecd81f2f

KATE Sheahan is determined to make Richmond a destination of choice for female players as the club continues its push for an AFL Women’s 2019 licence.

Sheahan — who signed as a rookie and played for Collingwood in the inaugural season of AFLW — has this week been installed as the Tigers’ AFL Women’s football operations manager in what looms as a vital component of the club’s AFLW licence bid.

6a2146ef45e47534c59eed6e5d919c8a

The 10 AFL clubs without a women’s team licence continue to formulate their bids with the league, which announced earlier this month that expansion will be postponed until the 2019 season, to make a call on the minimum of two teams to join the competition after next season to be made by midyear.

“I felt this real warmth,” Sheahan said of first walking into the newly-named Swinburne Centre on Punt Road.

“I think that’s what will make this club a great footy team for women.

“I want females to walk in here and never want to walk out. That’s what my plan is.”

Richmond chief executive Brendon Gale initiated contact with Sheahan less than an hour after the AFL’s announcement that no teams would be added to AFLW in 2018.

President Peggy O’Neal is determined to be awarded a licence for 2019, and the Tigers want to be ready.

Sheahan, who will work in a fulltime capacity with general manager of football talent Dan Richardson, said the club wants to develop homegrown talent.

“We don’t want to be one of those clubs that goes and steals talent from other clubs,” she said.

“Our big focus is going to be the next generation academies. We are going to be the club that has the best pathway for multicultural and indigenous athletes to come in, because the AFL needs it. We’re going to nail it.

“I want this to be the best high performance AFLW club in the league where all of the girls want to play.”

Sheahan’s playing career at the Magpies was cut short by an ACL injury suffered less than a minute into her first game, but she began running again this week.

And she’s not ruling out a return to playing if Richmond wins the right to field an AFLW team.

“(I said when I presented to the club that) you’d need to be one in a million to (combine the job and play) and do it right. And I’m one in a million,” she smiled.

“That isn’t what this is about that — that might be a bit of a fairytale story at the end when we get this team.”

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...r/news-story/503353e453199466fe82e7ceecd81f2f

KATE Sheahan is determined to make Richmond a destination of choice for female players as the club continues its push for an AFL Women’s 2019 licence.

Sheahan — who signed as a rookie and played for Collingwood in the inaugural season of AFLW — has this week been installed as the Tigers’ AFL Women’s football operations manager in what looms as a vital component of the club’s AFLW licence bid.

The 10 AFL clubs without a women’s team licence continue to formulate their bids with the league, which announced earlier this month that expansion will be postponed until the 2019 season, to make a call on the minimum of two teams to join the competition after next season to be made by midyear.

“I felt this real warmth,” Sheahan said of first walking into the newly-named Swinburne Centre on Punt Road.

“I want females to walk in here and never want to walk out. That’s what my plan is.”

Richmond chief executive Brendon Gale initiated contact with Sheahan less than an hour after the AFL’s announcement that no teams would be added to AFLW in 2018.

President Peggy O’Neal is determined to be awarded a licence for 2019, and the Tigers want to be ready.

Sheahan, who will work in a fulltime capacity with general manager of football talent Dan Richardson, said the club wants to develop homegrown talent.

“We don’t want to be one of those clubs that goes and steals talent from other clubs,” she said.

“Our big focus is going to be the next generation academies. We are going to be the club that has the best pathway for multicultural and indigenous athletes to come in, because the AFL needs it. We’re going to nail it.

“I want this to be the best high performance AFLW club in the league where all of the girls want to play.”

Sheahan’s playing career at the Magpies was cut short by an ACL injury suffered less than a minute into her first game, but she began running again this week.

And she’s not ruling out a return to playing if Richmond wins the right to field an AFLW team.

“(I said when I presented to the club that) you’d need to be one in a million to (combine the job and play) and do it right. And I’m one in a million,” she smiled.

“That isn’t what this is about that — that might be a bit of a fairytale story at the end when we get this team.”

Welcome Kate! Go Tigers in 2019! Hope we get one, will be great to see footy hopefully played at Punt Road again.

surely putting a fulltime staffer on means we have an indication from someone at HQ that we will get a license, otherwise, whats the point of the appointment?
I reckon it's more about media attention. Our bid is strong already but Geelong, North and St Kilda are getting all the buzz. We need the talk about us to start matching the walk.

Don't want one. I follow the men's side and would like the clubs entire focus to be on getting success for the existing side. That is why the club exists and it's why I pay for membership.

It's not profitable so that means it's a burden on the club

I agree.

If this kind of messing about were to be financially neutral then OK it does no harm but if the core business of the club is in any way impacted by having to subsidise a financially unviable product in a league where tickets are given away then it is foolish.

So we're just aiming for finals to keep the members happy yeah?

Is the AFLW comp going to be a bit more fair dinkum with the number of games played as the first season seemed to be over in a blink of an eyelid? Surely the ten(edit 8) teams didn't play each other at least once? I will not be interested if there isn't this amount of games as a minimum and I will only be a scoreboard follower as my time is taken up as it is with other interests .
IMO it's too gimmicky for me and an afl PC driven comp to try and catch up with soccer and cricket.
Good luck to them , but I'm not going to support a half arsed comp which runs at a loss and will cost the club money.
A netball team would be more of an option for me bc they seem to have a more professional competition and can attract the punters.
Also as people are saying one heart breaking Tiger team is enough
plus how much time and money do people have to follow so many comps? My time goes into Coburg Lions U9, RFC Afl , Coburg Lions VFL , RFC VFL and racing if there is any decent horses running. No time for another comp in my life.
All the best to the girls though.

Her old man's a campaigner