smoovy

NAFC AUFC
McLeod has been dogging it for the past 2 years so I am not sure why anyone is surprised with what he has been putting out this season. See my thread 2 years ago...

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=339303

Often he makes a token effort with a tackle and will run past a contest. He plays the easiest position on the ground on the half back flank...sometimes as a loose man when you get stupid coaches like Malthouse.

We can't afford to have some of his efforts down back. Better off putting him up forward where he can just use his flair. Let someone else fit into that attacking half back flank role that is going to be around for the next 5 years....McKay maybe??

McLeod has been good until this year in my opinion. This year he has been average but not terrible. It's clear he's in the swansong of his career and I can't see him playing past this year but I don't think he's been doing as badly in his position as you say.

That said, I wouldn't be against letting him go so a forward flank, a role I reckon he plays quite well.

Agreed. Macca forward so when our team is bombing it in to a pack we have a quick crumber to jump on the ball.

McLeod has been dogging it for the past 2 years so I am not sure why anyone is surprised with what he has been putting out this season. See my thread 2 years ago...

So, let me get this straight....

You're attempting to use whats happening now as a justification for an opinion from two years ago that was at odds with reality? (He was the AA captain that year ffs).

Seriously?

With you SouthernTakeOver

Great player & will be for this year & the next.

Smoovy will be a fan when the Media starts to spotlight his form.....I wont!!

As a supporter I'm gradually adjusting from Macca being one of our best 5 players (something this little genius has been for 10 years) to now being one of our best dozen players (in other words 6-12, rather than 1-5).

There's no doubt that his contributions over the last year have declined from what we were used to. His form has been patchy, sprinkled with the occasional brilliance.

I love Macca to death, but he is no longer the absolute gun he once was.

I'm inclined to move him forward as well, and try and settle someone else across the half-back line.

So, let me get this straight....

You're attempting to use whats happening now as a justification for an opinion from two years ago that was at odds with reality? (He was the AA captain that year ffs).

Seriously?

Nope I am talking about the soft efforts and his lack of willingness to get into a contest. Some signs which I saw 2 years ago, but are now par for the course in any McLeod game.

Now I don't really care if he is an outside player, that's fine. I just don't think we can afford to carry one of the back six who won't go into a contest. I also think it is time for someone else to be developed in his existing role. If you look at a lot of champion players they spend their twighlight years in the forward line.

Nope I am talking about the soft efforts and his lack of willingness to get into a contest. Some signs which I saw 2 years ago, but are now par for the course in any McLeod game.

Now I don't really care if he is an outside player, that's fine. I just don't think we can afford to carry one of the back six who won't go into a contest. I also think it is time for someone else to be developed in his existing role. If you look at a lot of champion players they spend their twighlight years in the forward line.

Since when has Mcleod been a inside Mid! But his hard ball against Geelong in the last quarter was awesome.

With you SouthernTakeOver

Great player & will be for this year & the next.

Smoovy will be a fan when the Media starts to spotlight his form.....I wont!!

I couldn't care less what the media does.

He is my all time favourite player and I have a framed signed guernsey of his, but sometimes you just got to to tell it like you see it.

Since when has Mcleod been a inside Mid! But his hard ball against Geelong in the last quarter was awesome.

Never said he has been, but he never used to pull out of contests.

He will go after the occassional hard ball though, like the one you mentioned.

Often he makes a token effort with a tackle and will run past a contest. He plays the easiest position on the ground on the half back flank...sometimes as a loose man when you get stupid coaches like Malthouse.

We can't afford to have some of his efforts down back. Better off putting him up forward where he can just use his flair. Let someone else fit into that attacking half back flank role that is going to be around for the next 5 years....McKay maybe??

Agree 100 %

Was just making a similar thread and had a power black out at he end of a long post So may as well add my thoughts here.

He was very poor at the end of 2008 as evidenced by posts in this thread http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=467560 and was interested to see how he would go in 2009 post surgery. I suspected his poor form was due to his lack of application rather than injury.

2009 seemed to start well he seemed to have gained a yard of pace and some penetration on his kick. R1 against colllingwood was good, they allowed him to play as a loose man in defence. Collingwood also allowed gifted us the corridor and Mcleood was able to run the ball out of defence.

I saw plenty of live footy in 2008 at home and also a couple of games in Melbourne and became increasingly frustrated by his lack of commitment in defence. Although I have seen all the crows games on TV in 2009 I have seen none live were it is much easier to get a good view of what an individual player is doing and how hard they are working. However I have seen many glimpses on TV of what I saw last year.

The crows like to play Mcleod as a loose man in defence (or is it Mcleod that likes to play as a loose man in defence, not sure) He does not man up when an opposition player floats forward. Instead he sweats of them and gives himself space hoping he can read the play better than the opposition. When he does this can provide good run out of defence, but when he fails it is very costly.

When his opponent kicks a goal he often pretends it wasnt his man, and tries to pick up another player for the centre bounce.

I understand he is very much an outside player but when it is his time to go he fails to go, which is a poor example for our younger players.

As a loose man in defence I would have thought this player should be doing lots of 1%ers and also get there share of contested possession as they are freed up to help out there team mates.

Agree Mcleod, currently is a to bigger liability in defence as he is not accountable and is far to soft at the contested footy.

I think Hawthorn and Luke Hodge play the best loose man in defence (quaterback position, call it what you will) As well as giving Hawthorn run from defence and someone who can set up play, he also offers the other Hawthorn defenders so much defensive assistance. The opposition would no that they are often going to be hurt by Hodge becuase he sure as hell is going to crash into a contest or do whatever it takes.

Smoovy I agree we need to get Mcleod up forward. If Craigy is happy to let him shirk the uncontested football move him up forward were it is not as costly for us. We certainly need a crumbing forward anyway, and his skills are still good.

Dont know about Mackay, was thinking use Dangerfield as loose man in defence. Fast, good run, loves the contested footy, will bang bodies and make the opposition think twice. (but has Dangerfield got the decision making skills yet) Also thinking perhaps swap Joncock to Mcleods role because he can offer what Mcleod offers in terms of creativity, but he also has that physical side to his game.

so you had the same opinion 2 years ago, that you do now.

that sounds like you set your opinions irrespective.

I have to say I was pretty upset with Maccas lack of attack on the ball and the man tonight. The past few weeks he seems to be happy with making a token effort when attacking a contest and often doesnt hit the body hard when he should.

Generally uses the ball well when he gets it, I got no problems with that. Its just his general lack of aggression is what is really frustrating me.

This bloke is our #2 (after the Roo) greatest player of all time. It's awful to see him playing so poorly. I hope he turns it around, as based on current form, he'll get dropped, which will be an awful way to go out.

I'm sure he can, it would seem to just be a matter of workrate and intent.

The turnaround will have to be big for this not to be his last season.

I'm betting he's 5 foot 1, lives with his mum and his only form of socialising is a game of Trivial Pursuit with his Nana.

oh dear, I've been rumbled.

knew I could fool most of the people, but it was always too much to hope that you wouldn't eventually find me out.

well played sir. :D

Oh dear, even by your standards that is poor.

by poor I gather you mean beyond dispute.

I'd be too embarrased to admit that I made such a daft thread that was so wrong, and then brag about it 2 years ago.

that is the equivalent of the broken clock, that said it was 7:45 and waited 16 hours until it was.

between you and springy what hope for us mere mortals :p

by poor I gather you mean beyond dispute.

I'd be too embarrased to admit that I made such a daft thread that was so wrong, and then brag about it 2 years ago.

that is the equivalent of the broken clock, that said it was 7:45 and waited 16 hours until it was.

between you and springy what hope for us mere mortals :p

Still no point of value other than just blanket criticism. However I give you a :thumbsu: for the clock analogy.

This is just stupid and disrespectful of a club legend. Last 2 years? He was AA captain in 07, payed well early 08, struggled mid year with knee, then played v well at years end, big part of our late season (partial) return to form in 08 when he returned

This year, BOG v Collingwood, very good v Freo, other games just ok. He had an experimental knee op in off season, out of training 3-4 months. Van Berlo/Rutten missed much less but struggling for form as much (more in VBs case)

310 games for Adelaide, about 270 good ones, enough in bank to be treated with more respect than this claptrap

This is just stupid and disrespectful of a club legend. Last 2 years? He was AA captain in 07, payed well early 08, struggled mid year with knee, then played v well at years end, big part of our late season (partial) return to form in 08 when he returned

This year, BOG v Collingwood, very good v Freo, other games just ok. He had an experimental knee op in off season, out of training 3-4 months. Van Berlo/Rutten missed much less but struggling for form as much (more in VBs case)

310 games for Adelaide, about 270 good ones, enough in bank to be treated with more respect than this claptrap
Agreed , he should have the games record soon :D .

Whilst some of the comments on this thread are stupid, Mcleod has always been an outside player and agression was Roo not Macca, Macca just has that class aspect.

But the one thing I think is worth considering is the argument that Macca should move forward. With him there, he will always attract attention allowing Petrenko or Jacky or Douglas or even better Porps to roam free some more. He would certainly create a few goals himself and we could utilise a mid (ala Reily), Douglas or Petrenko to cover his defensive role.

Imagine it: Dumb Dumb Mark Williams bothering to use Tom Logan in a stopping role all game on a bloke that is dogging it and just going through the motions anyway.

And letting all our real guns run free!!!! :confused: :confused: :confused:

Bad coaching Choco :thumbsd: