Deenamite

Article from today's Herald Sun by none other than Gary Lyon. I'm trying to find it on the site but can't as of yet so if anyone finds it post it in here.

There were a few valid points in there and then he talked about the need for past players and administrators to have a role in the club (which i thought was the cue for Gary to announce something) but it was not to be and instead there was more "home truths".

Sour grapes cause Brayshaw got the jump on him getting in a saving North. Time for Garry to put up or shut up as to doing something meaningful with his profile in relation to the club.

I agree he is in a position to raise our profile significantly. Even if it is becoming a washed up steretype like Billy Brownless to the cats. I love Billy and his larican ways, his behaivour in hsouting out "pussies" definitly does raise its profile. Obviously Garry can't act quite that way but still

I thought the same the moment I saw the article, but after reading it, I reckon he was spot on. It's time for the club to suck it up and do what is necessary to secure the long term future of the club. We need to make sure we are still getting the funding, our home base is still right to go in 2010 and we make a HUGE drive to get members back into the club.

I thought it was a fantastic article and raised many valid and important points. Nearly everything about our football club has been negative in the press this year. It is time proactive measures are taken to make the football club strong and RELEVANT again. We can no longer rely on being named "Melbourne" anymore. We need to think outside the square. We clearly need a home base. This nomadic experience they we continue to have is bordering on embarrasing.

Totally Disagree! I thought it was a poor article basically criticising the current administration who have been addressing some of the short comings of the football club,i.e like a permanent training/admin base and while not perfect are doing a reasonable job.

All this coming from a guy who was keen to sell off the idenity of the oldest football club going around and happily merge with Hawthorn! People don't forget.

The key for Melbourne is in the marketing and selling the benefits of being part of the most historicall football club around.

Getting out and talking to members for their ideas on improving the footy club also wouldn't hurt.There are plenty of smart and creative Melbourne poeple out there.

Totally Disagree! I thought it was a poor article basically criticising the current administration who have been addressing some of the short comings of the football club,i.e like a permanent training/admin base and while not perfect are doing a reasonable job.

All this coming from a guy who was keen to sell off the idenity of the oldest football club going around and happily merge with Hawthorn! People don't forget.

The key for Melbourne is in the marketing and selling the benefits of being part of the most historicall football club around.

Getting out and talking to members for their ideas on improving the footy club also wouldn't hurt.There are plenty of smart and creative Melbourne poeple out there.

Not to mention he was the cause of our salary cap problems in the 90's that led to Melbourne losing draft picks, that our severly hampering us at the moment. As their is a huge gulf in our paying list, basically from 24-27 we have no quality players.

Well bloody do something about it Garry.

Agree 100%, I thought just about any Melbourne supporter with a clue would already know what Lyon said in the article.
A little spruiking of the club wouldn't hurt Garry, I mean we all know he loves the club but he needs to do something about it instead of trying to be 'neutral' all the time.

I reckon what the club needs is supporters who actually go to games, make a noise and let the players know there is something to win for.

I thought the article was fairly accurate, and hopefully it sends a message to our MCC members, supporters, and former players. We need all the support and all the positivity and encouragement we can get.

I haven't been the biggest wrap on Garry ever since he got into the media, comes across as a bit of a w***er and a clone of Eddie. However that being said I agreed with everyword he wrote in that article, I honestly think it has been over-due.

We have unfortunetly missed the boat in many area's over the past few seasons, particularly financially (as we all know). Poor marketing and strategic planning, a time lag over the old proposed merger that left many involved scarred have all been contributing factors. I will not even begin to mention my disguist at this football club's treatment of Jospeh Gutnick after he came to the club's aid in its hour of need.

While other Victorian clubs looked to new area's to base themselves such as Collingwood,St-kilda & Hawthorn, we remained content on maintaining our inner-city base regardless of adverse effects it bought. This is an example of trying to preserve our History to the point of clinging on to it and living in the past. This has happened for years and has got to the point where we our history has dictated the club's future direction rather the present laying the groundwork for the future, as a result we have become insular thus being left behind by many clubs.

The time is now for this football club to look forward which is what Lyon is saying. We must take risks rather than being 'conservative', as Garry rightly points out. We don't have the luxury of sitting back and being conservative because we don't have the financial pulling power such as Collingwood and the loyal supporter base that our fellow strugglers North Melbourne & Western Bulldogs have. We must be innovative. We must be the leader of the pack, not a follower.

'Melbourne is establishing a summer training base at Casey Fields in Cranbourne is the most progressive thinking I have heard out of the club for a long time', this is an opportunity to tap in to virtually untouched area and to establish the Melbourne brand in a major growth corridor. It will mean unfortunetly to break ties with Sandringham but we must to take the broad outlook. It will also enable us to have the opportunity to capture a supporter base in a growth area. As Lyon points out, 'Establishing a presence in one of Australia's booming growth corridors makes sense and provides an opportunity to develop generational change to a stagnant support base'. For years the Melbourne football club has been renowed for fiscal supporters, establishing a new breed of supporters may just be a compatible mixture with old one's.

On on the eve of the season, our 150th season we must begin to take the steps for our next 150 years not as a struggler but as a successful leader of this competition.

I cannot wait for this season to come round. There are many postives to look forward beyond 2008; new coach, new style, a new administation and the confirmation of the olympic park development in 2010. However, much more is needed to erode the in-prints left by the mistakes of the past.

Go dees.