Tippett's Gone - READ RULES BEFORE POSTING

• Thread starter Thread starter doodle48

Which AFC deserter were/are you most salty towards?

Actually I reckon Carl would be good value, unless you wanted the party to agree on the same topic all night, then he would suck
He definitely wouldn't be much good at a charity ball sort of event, where you're supposed be agreeable and a kiss-arse.

Well either way we got a bargain compared to the other mini draft buys. I don't think crouchs asking price was too much.

I don't think his price was too much either.

My only point is we paid a very high price for a high priced asset.

Seems fair to me. I struggle with argument that's he's a freebie or that we didn't go the extra mile. That's dumb

We paid appropriately for top of the class type talent. Last year :p

As an example those 2 picks could have netted us Toby Greene & Tim O'brien.

I'd still do that deal again incidentally

I picture him sitting in the corner whinging about why the veggies were cooked wrong and how shit everything is.

I picture you next to him saying how we couldn't tell that everything was undercooked until we'd eaten it, and then when we were in hospital with diagnosed listeria from uncooked chicken telling anyone who'd listen that any of the other 18 dinner parties on our street were doing the same thing, and it still didn't matter anyway cause we had pudding :p

s

I'm not suggesting anything in relation to the Swans admin. I will however suggest Tippett is not a very good player. Hes not. And the record proves he's not a very good player.

I welcome any reference to his record which proves otherwise.

You could start by telling me of his AA selections....hell lets call just settle for squad nominations. Club champion awards? Maybe even a top 5 finish.? How about number of games he kicked more than 4 goals...hes a power fwd after all? How many times was he even in our best players? Anything will do.

As a comparison imo its fair to describe Lance Franklin as a very good player. Jonathan Brown is a very good player. You think Tippett belongs in that company?

Saying that Tippett is not a good player because Franklin and Brown are better is like saying we are not an industrialised country because the USA and Japan are more industrialised than we are.

He is a good player and as good a player as Sydney could recruit atm given they would have no chance of recruiting Franklin or Brown. 188 Goals and 824 Hit Outs in only 104 games is pretty good in anyone's language.

EDIT: IMO they are paying over the odds, however that is what a team must do (if they have both the money and room in the cap) whenever they want a player of that calibre to transfer over.

Saying that Tippett is not a good player because Franklin and Brown are better is like saying we are not an industrialised country because the USA and Japan are more industrialised than we are.

He is a good player and as good a player as Sydney could recruit atm given they would have no chance of recruiting Franklin or Brown. 188 Goals and 824 Hit Outs in only 104 games is pretty good in anyone's language.

EDIT: IMO they are paying over the odds, however that is what a team must do (if they have both the money and room in the cap) whenever they want a player of that calibre to transfer over.

That answers none of my questions.

I have no idea what his B&F finishes have been like and quite frankly do not care, however I am sure you already known or checked before posting.

Last time Sydney paid heaps for a player was for an inconsistent and, at that stage, troubled player in Hall. He probably had a couple of bags more than Tippett but just about zero HO and also no AA at that stage.

Tippett has kicked 188 goals in 5 seasons, Hall had kicked 144 in 6 seasons when he was traded to Sydney despite not having as much time in the ruck. I found the post above comparing Tippett to Kosi very amusing, considering he kicked 93 goals in his first 7 seasons.

Imagine you go to a restaurant and order a soup. Then you figure you only need an entree sized meal since you're having a soup.

Then when you get the soup you spill it all over the floor. You wouldn't then say "the fact that my entree meal is coming softens the blow". You were going to get it anyway, and the entree meal doesn't grow to cover the gap left by the soup. If you hadn't spilled the soup you'd have a full meal. Instead, you now have the sum of a full meal minus the soup. The fact that you have another portion of your meal coming out doesn't change the fact that you are now precisely one soup short of a full meal.

Yes I know it's a shitty analogy but it's 1AM and it's the best I'm going to come up with before I collapse into bed.

Edit: I guess the best way to think of it is, in order to measure a loss, you need to be able to compare it against a base case. What would you have had if you didn't suffer the loss? Then, what do you have after suffering the loss. The difference is what you have lost, in real terms. The ratio is a measure of severity, or impact.

In this case we lost some good draft picks and gained some crappy ones. Crouch doesn't even come into the equation - we had the right to place him on our list "for free" initially, and we still had that right after the punishment was handed out. His entry onto our list is a nonfactor in measuring the punishment.

The most admirable post I've ever seen on BigFooty.

A)because it's perfectly logical and anyone with any sense of said logic should understand it.

B) it's completely wasted on Jenny

Tippett has kicked 188 goals in 5 seasons, Hall had kicked 144 in 6 seasons when he was traded to Sydney despite not having as much time in the ruck. I found the post above comparing Tippett to Kosi very amusing, considering he kicked 93 goals in his first 7 seasons.

To be fair Hall had established himself as a genuine marking target KPF in his last 3 seasons. Whereas Kurt hasn't really lived up to billing in last 3 seasons

Not sure the goals per game would be that far apart (haven't calc'd it) but Hall is way way ahead in the marking stakes.

He's more of a traditional target man - and I don't think (?) Sydney were making him one of leagues highest paid players?

Kurt is not a bad player, he plays a high value position pretty well; issues arise when the benchmark set is one of the comp's elite. That seems a little harder to justify.

I picture you next to him saying how we couldn't tell that everything was undercooked until we'd eaten it, and then when we were in hospital with diagnosed listeria from uncooked chicken telling anyone who'd listen that any of the other 18 dinner parties on our street were doing the same thing, and it still didn't matter anyway cause we had pudding :p
... i'll wear that :)

To be fair Hall had established himself as a genuine marking target KPF in his last 3 seasons. Whereas Kurt hasn't really lived up to billing in last 3 seasons

Not sure the goals per game would be that far apart (haven't calc'd it) but Hall is way way ahead in the marking stakes.

He's more of a traditional target man - and I don't think (?) Sydney were making him one of leagues highest paid players?

Kurt is not a bad player, he plays a high value position pretty well; issues arise when the benchmark set is one of the comp's elite. That seems a little harder to justify.

More than happy to agree he's not a bad player. I think thats about right.

Not sure comparing Tippett & Hall is a apples to apples comparison, at the point of being traded Kurt has played the majority of game time as a forward with the occasionalnpinch hit in the ruck, whereas Hall played a fair bit of footy at FB with the Saints

I do think that Kurt is a better player than Kosi (however I do not rate Kosi at all) but with that said i also don't believe that Kurt Plays at a consistently high level to command a $3.5m contract, there are just to many games where he just does not have an impact and then he teases everyone with a dominant game usually when the team is playing well

Except the game against Essendon at ES I can't recall to many games where Kurt dominanted to the point that he was the difference between the teams

He nearly did in last years preliminary final.

He's a difficult one to assess, really. He's definitely better than Kosy, whoever is sprouting that shite is just sucking on sour grapes and has developed a severe confirmation bias. He's an aggressive monster who can play forward and ruck, and occasionally he dominates. He's 25 now and the bastard will probably hit his straps at Sydney.

As a comparison imo its fair to describe Lance Franklin as a very good player. Jonathan Brown is a very good player. You think Tippett belongs in that company?

Except it's not fair, or accurate. Franklin and Brown are champions. Tippett, I'm sure we both agree, is not a champion. So, no, he's not in that company. But he's still a good player and, as I said before, entering a phase of his career where players of his type usually hit their straps. His record at Sydney is likely to be superior to that at Adelaide and that will be more than good enough I would suggest. If the only good players in the comp were in the AA squad or wearing B&F medals, then that leaves a lot of dross.

I know it makes people feel better to carry on like Sydney got a dud and we didn't lose anything, but it's just not the case.

Except it's not fair, or accurate. Franklin and Brown are champions. Tippett, I'm sure we both agree, is not a champion. So, no, he's not in that company. But he's still a good player and, as I said before, entering a phase of his career where players of his type usually hit their straps. His record at Sydney is likely to be superior to that at Adelaide and that will be more than good enough I would suggest. If the only good players in the comp were in the AA squad or wearing B&F medals, then that leaves a lot of dross.

I know it makes people feel better to carry on like Sydney got a dud and we didn't lose anything, but it's just not the case.

Exactly the case. It amazes me the way many posters here when Tippett was still in the being traded stage were saying we must get two first round picks for him but once he's gone are saying what a waste of space as a footbaler he is.

Wake up guys, you can't have it both ways.

In my opinion, Sydney are paying over the odds $ wise for Tippett but in the end got him for free. Contrary to what we all thought, he has been strongly welcomed by their playing group who, as expected of their culture, see group success as the most important thing and they obviously think KT at full forward will improve their team.

Reid is a gun player in the making from what I've seen of him but he already attracts the Scarlett/Glass/Fletcher/Merrett type match ups. Tippett at 202cm and a clunking mark when he's on song will probably attract the No.1 tall defender making life easier for Reid. This is why Sydney were prepared to pay overs for KT, it's what he does for team dynamics, not just his individual contribution.

So let's get over it. Tippett is a good player no matter how you try and denegrate his playing ability, he will suit what Sydney wants, we have been stupid in trying to keep him, we have been severely burnt no matter what gloss people try to put on it, but he has gone and we are still in with a big chance of a flag in 2013 and beyond.

So forget him and concentrate on a bright 2013. Merry Xmas everyone.

Barry Hall played a fair bit of his career at St. Kilda as a key defender.

Exactly the case. It amazes me the way many posters here when Tippett was still in the being traded stage were saying we must get two first round picks for him but once he's gone are saying what a waste of space as a footbaler he is.

Wake up guys, you can't have it both ways.

In my opinion, Sydney are paying over the odds $ wise for Tippett but in the end got him for free. Contrary to what we all thought, he has been strongly welcomed by their playing group who, as expected of their culture, see group success as the most important thing and they obviously think KT at full forward will improve their team.

Reid is a gun player in the making from what I've seen of him but he already attracts the Scarlett/Glass/Fletcher/Merrett type match ups. Tippett at 202cm and a clunking mark when he's on song will probably attract the No.1 tall defender making life easier for Reid. This is why Sydney were prepared to pay overs for KT, it's what he does for team dynamics, not just his individual contribution.

So let's get over it. Tippett is a good player no matter how you try and denegrate his playing ability, he will suit what Sydney wants, we have been stupid in trying to keep him, we have been severely burnt no matter what gloss people try to put on it, but he has gone and we are still in with a big chance of a flag in 2013 and beyond.

So forget him and concentrate on a bright 2013. Merry Xmas everyone.
Agree with a lot of that but you don't know he's been strongly welcomed, never trust what a player says to the media. Otherwise no coach would ever get sacked, they always have the players full support.

Still kickin' eh? Merry Christmas all. Sorry JP Sauce, no apocolypse.

Meanwhile at the Tippett household...
lump-of-coal.jpg

EFA. Just because Tippett has revealed himself to be a knob, does not mean he is not still a very good player...and he was never soft. We MAY be better off without him, given that he didn't want to be in Adelaide, but he is a big man entering the portion of his career where they usually hit their prime. He will be very good at Sydney. Johnson, JJ and Smack have shown nothing to match Tippett so far. Hopefully, at least one of them will but your guarantee that they will is meaningless.

Oh...and the thread is still going because people like you (and me) keep adding posts to it.

Yeh I "sort of" agree with what you have said.. however if you look at Tippets contribution/improvement over the years I just see those guys haveing a bigger impact thats just my opinion.. I bet u hope its true tho dont u haha

Except it's not fair, or accurate. Franklin and Brown are champions. Tippett, I'm sure we b[list=1][/list]oth agree, is not a champion. So, no, he's not in that company. But he's still a good player and, as I said before, entering a phase of his career where players of his type usually hit their straps. His record at Sydney is likely to be superior to that at Adelaide and that will be more than good enough I would suggest. If the only good players in the comp were in the AA squad or wearing B&F medals, then that leaves a lot of dross.

I know it makes people feel better to carry on like Sydney got a dud and we didn't lose anything, but it
's just not the case.

Not at all. I have a genuine belief he is just an average player whether he is ours or not.

You have told me he is a very good player and ive asked for some thing to back that up ....I don't think there is anything other than potential. As TSR correctly observes he has dominated a handful of games only.

He is incredibly overrated. Sydney have paid that money only because of the rarity of players in his positiion and of course..potential.