Tippett's Gone - READ RULES BEFORE POSTING

• Thread starter Thread starter doodle48

Which AFC deserter were/are you most salty towards?

You don't realise just how close Pav was to becoming a crow...you can blame nobody but Gary Ayers for that one. Told his parents he didn't think Pav was much of a player and they were going after Carey

My fingers are in my ears and I'm making lalaLALALA noises

22 for GHS? I don't think so.
Are you suggesting that it's too much, or too little? He was pick #37, 2 years ago, in a fairly weak draft. Since then he's only played 3 AFL games. There is absolutely nothing to indicate that his value has increased to the point where he is worth more than pick #22 - if anything pick #22 is probably paying overs.

Two years ago I thought Jesse White was going to be a decent player. He's since sucked balls in every game, never gets a single possession and is rarely on the screen. Sort of like Justine Westhoff outside of Showdowns.

He's another on my Jason Laycock pile of bad calls.

Two years ago I thought Jesse White was going to be a decent player. He's since sucked balls in every game, never gets a single possession and is rarely on the screen. Sort of like Justine Westhoff outside of Showdowns.

In fairness to Justin Westhoff, I'd be comparing Jesse White more with Matthew Westhoff.

Listening to trade radio this arvo, they had on the manager for Lake, who also said Adelaide (and a few other teams) were into one of his other players, Jordan Russell. But most teams that have had free agency players leave, don’t want to move on them now because they don’t want to loose their compensation pick and it could take until Friday week to get it all sorted. And the compensation picks are instant not next year.
That means there could be anything of up to 20 free agents looking for a club and if nothing happens, they walk for nothing in the PSD.

Another AFL **** up.
PSD will be gone by this time next year, I reckon. The ND and free-agency should suffice.

And yet we want to recruit Giles
Who:
  • Unlike Jenkins, can actually ruck.
  • Unlike McKernan, can actually do something other bob up at the ruck contests he bothers to jog to.
Don't get me wrong.. I liked what I saw of Jenkins in our forward line this year, given that it was his first season in the big league. His ruck work, however, left a lot to be desired. I just flat out don't rate McKernan at all.

3 years ago he had a pretty good season kicked 5 against Carlton at Etihad that year was purely the reason he got a contract extension then for unknown reasons he never produced that sort of return again.

You weren't alone with that one... :oops:

Back onto Horlin-Smith. Our we overrating a guy who was drafted with pick 37 and has only played 3 games in 2 seasons with the Cats? Just asking the question. On the plus-side, I note that he is still only 19. Are we smelling a breakout year for this guy next year (especially after his VFL GF BOG effort)?
Just a little bit. I'm thinking a 2nd round pick would be fair value, though Geelong wouldn't be too keen on putting 2 years of development in to the kid only to see him go for a pick in the 40s.

Who:
  • Unlike Jenkins, can actually ruck.
  • Unlike McKernan, can actually do something other bob up at the ruck contests he bothers to jog to.
Don't get me wrong.. I liked what I saw of Jenkins in our forward line this year, given that it was his first season in the big league. His ruck work, however, left a lot to be desired. I just flat out don't rate McKernan at all.

I like Giles, but depends at what price we get a guy who we know may only play a dozen games, due to structure. What would he cost us $250-300,000?? Still think drafting a cheaper backup ruckman is the way to go. Happy to be proven wrong as - I said - I rate the guy.

If the Crows can get GHS and Giles Sturt supporters will be stoked, especially after Poort picked up Monfries.

Of course if the Crows get a reserves team next year Sturt will be decimated.
Not unless Sturt is the reserves team. They are so broke they are close to folding so it could be a survival option.

you thought laycock would be quality too? there there. so did i

Are you suggesting that it's too much, or too little? He was pick #37, 2 years ago, in a fairly weak draft. Since then he's only played 3 AFL games. There is absolutely nothing to indicate that his value has increased to the point where he is worth more than pick #22 - if anything pick #22 is probably paying overs.

Am I just wasting my breath?

Please do some research before making such an ill informed post

Funnily enough I doubt Mattner's even in the picture, despite being from adelaide. He's too old now to move clubs, plus he's too important to our defense.

I agree. I was just stating how a fellow Crow who's done so well outside of Adelaide would react. Was in no way proposing Mattner would be part of a trade. ;)

Guilty as charged! :oops:

I even rated Jacob Schuback :eek:
Tell you who I really rated... Matthew Shir :eek:

Ended up doing bugger all and sunk without trace.

[/Off topic blather]

Am I just wasting my breath?

Please do some research before making such an ill informed post
Not wasting your breath.. I just replied as soon as I got to the post I quoted, long before I read your subsequent posts.

I still think pick #22 is at the very upper range of value for GHS.

If you were a Sydney supporter you'd be wearing a brand new red card for a crappy low-ball suggestion like that.
A deal that includes their first rounder plus Parker? That's not the worst deal.

I wouldn't mind betting that that is better than what we'll end up with.

I agree. I was just stating how a fellow Crow who's done so well outside of Adelaide would react. Was in no way proposing Mattner would be part of a trade. ;)
Mattner on 5AA tonight... sounds like a terrific bloke. Laid-back and unassuming. Great to see him win a premiership medal.

You don't realise just how close Pav was to becoming a crow...you can blame nobody but Gary Ayers for that one. Told his parents he didn't think Pav was much of a player and they were going after Carey
Heard that a few years ago. Makes you want to cry.

Blight wanted McGregor over Pavlich then Ayres wanted Carey over Pavlich.

No wonder he hates us.

Three other fringe players that I thought may have attracted some interest were Smack, Jaensch and Martin.
I'm hoping Jaensch attracts some attention, or we'll be stuck with him on our list for the next 2 years. Not quite sure why anyone would be interested in him though..

Guilty as charged! :oops:

I even rated Jacob Schuback :eek:

You were probably his biggest fan, Stiffy. :D

I vaguely remember that it all started when in one of his first games he either laid a great tackle or bravely got crunched - or something!! :)

In the end he just turned out to be another gutsy sawn-off short-arse who didn't quite cut it.

Heard that a few years ago. Makes you want to cry.

Blight wanted McGregor over Pavlich then Ayres wanted Carey over Pavlich.

No wonder he hates us.

Don't blame Blighty. He asked his good mate Mark Mickan (eagles coach at the time) who would be better...the rest is history