Tippett's Gone - READ RULES BEFORE POSTING

• Thread starter Thread starter doodle48

Which AFC deserter were/are you most salty towards?

Most of the punishments floated sound excessive for the crimes supposedly committed. Would love to escape with a fine here and head into 2013 without the cloud of being a club who "cheated" badly enough to be robbed of draft picks. Not a good look, and it would impact us on field.

It's the quote from the age article, that is linked to his Facebook page.
Considering that's there is 5 pages about sauce and chips with cheese curd and gravy it's a bit rich to hit me over the derailing.

She thinks we will hear our punishment before the draft but Melbourne won't, how convenient for Melbourne. She thinks we will lose picks this year and Tippett will still get to Sydney. But it sounded like she was guessing rather than having inside word.
can we lose the pick 23 that we were going to get for tippett? :) or the two first round picks he was worth?

The quote is " Unless they have a white parent, we are not going to draft an aboriginal player and our club would not be alone in that."
That's racist.
My only motivation in bringing it up is stopping people casually dismissing it.

Cameron Yolmen Ellis has no white parents

That quote is not the full quote, and I question why you cut it down

The quote is " Unless they have a white parent, we are not going to draft an aboriginal player and our club would not be alone in that."
That's racist.
My only motivation in bringing it up is stopping people casually dismissing it.

Donkey, yep I can see that. Good choice of a username.............

Cameron Yolmen Ellis has no white parents

That quote is not the full quote, and I question why you cut it down
If its not the full quote give me what is maybe I am missing something!

I have no axe to grind, I liked Rendall, I think he recruited well, I think we're missing his talents now, I also think what he said was stupid.
And if your smartest retort to me is a slag off on my username then you're a douche.

If its not the full quote give me what is maybe I am missing something!

Already did

And if your smartest retort to me is a slag off on my username then you're a douche.

I beg your pardon? I have no idea what you are talking about, but if we're into name calling I am not going to discuss this any further with you

I have said all along that many of the lazy footy jurno's may have jumped to easy assumptions that may not have materialized

Yes the initial email was f***ing stupid however the question that needed to be answered to determine the size of our crime is "did we follow through on the intent in the email"

What we know is that we tried to trade Kurt for Market Value and not a 2nd round pick and I'm hopeful that any 3rd party payments or additional payments as promised in the email have been administered through the right process

Just because you commit to 3rd party payments doesn't necessarily mean that you will breach the rules to fulfill the commitment, it is here the media has assumed that this has been done by a brown paper bag under the table transaction that quite simply may not be true

IMO Our penalty will reflect our stupidity rather than any serious breaches

OF THE CONTRACT. Of the standard AFL contract, which are the only binding obligations that could be traded.

Not of "the illegal secret side letter".
Why would Blucher and co give that up?

Back on topic, (I can't be bothered reading anything in this thread) hopefully Tippett agrees to sign with the Giants and doesn't give the Swans a leg up in the race for the 2013 premiership. I think with Tippett the Swans would be very hard to beat so would dearly love for him to not go there.

The thread WAS on topic.

The amazing thing is that the AFL refused us a trade of Tippett without any finding from the investigation. What if the investigation said that it was a silly oversight and only warranted a warning? The stopped us getting a trade for our highest paid player without compensation. This maybe considered a fair penalty along with a fine (here's hoping).

Go back and read my previous post on the subject. You will find, I've said numerous times that he have to wait until we find everything out before passing judgement, and it works both ways. Lets gain all the information on Kurt Tippett as well before making that call.

Oh what!!!! yes, you don't what to know that.

And you have all the information on Trigg to pass judgement that he must resign???

The amazing thing is that the AFL refused us a trade of Tippett without any finding from the investigation. What if the investigation said that it was a silly oversight and only warranted a warning? The stopped us getting a trade for our highest paid player without compensation. This maybe considered a fair penalty along with a fine (here's hoping).
Because we admitted to wrong doing. Far out some people are so biased it's not even funny. We had an effective injunction to prevent us doing MORE wrong, if we had traded Tippett for below market value we would be in even deeper shit, the AFL have done us a favour stopping it.

As it is our breaches are serious in nature but minor in consequence. We will be punished for the seriousness but not trading Tippett saved us from the consequence aspect. A fine and loss of 1st draft pick would be about right. If we had traded Tippett and paid out, I reckon the trade deal and picks in two drafts would have been the kicker.

As for those trying to deflect onto Tippett! Jeez, he only has one priority in life as is his perogative. Those running the club should have known better and are FAR more culpable.

Why would Blucher and co give that up?

I'm not arguing they would. I'm saying its us they have over the barrel, because they can expose our illegal dealings. That's why they have the upper hand.

But people are getting confused. The side letter is what we can be blackmailed over. It's not a document that is going to be recognized as legitimate and binding by the AFL or any other club.

The true value for Blucher is that we wrote the email and committed an act we needed to keep secret. Not that the document we wrote has some league-wide legality.

The AFl make the rules up as they go along, he can still be traded.

Already did

I beg your pardon? I have no idea what you are talking about, but if we're into name calling I am not going to discuss this any further with you
the other guy mate, not you.

I'm hoping he does go to Sydney. The outrage will hamper Sydneys future COL additional cap, he will ruin their 'good blokes' club atmosphere and I suspect see the end of Sydney's golden era. All good as far as I am concerned.
yeh, but that stuff wont bother Kurt as he still wins

Just because you commit to 3rd party payments doesn't necessarily mean that you will breach the rules to fulfill the commitment, it is here the media has assumed that this has been done by a brown paper bag under the table transaction that quite simply may not be true

IMO Our penalty will reflect our stupidity rather than any serious breaches

I don't think people here understand what a 3rd party agreement is.

What KT had was NOT a 3rd party agreement under afl rules. The moment a club guarantees a payment then all of that payment ( not just the shortfall) must be included in the clubs TPP. The same as the rest of his payments.

I keep on hearing that we only had to include the shortfall of any. That is simply not correct.

The failure to declare earnings in the TPP is a serious matter and will cost us draft picks.

yeh, but that stuff wont bother Kurt as he still wins

Tippett appears to display the characteristics of a certain personality type. Suffice to say no matter how his future pans out, in his own mind, he will always win.

It's only,people who associate themselves with his type that inevitably lose.

I'm happy to take it as a win for us that we are rid of him. He's now someone else's problem.

I don't think people here understand what a 3rd party agreement is.

What KT had was NOT a 3rd party agreement under afl rules. The moment a club guarantees a payment then all of that payment ( not just the shortfall) must be included in the clubs TPP. The same as the rest of his payments.

I keep on hearing that we only had to include the shortfall of any. That is simply not correct.

The failure to declare earnings in the TPP is a serious matter and will cost us draft picks.

Pretty sure the 3rd party agreements people are speaking of is as they are discussing, out of the cap. It does need to be disclosed to AFL. From what I've gained from the media, which seems as much as anyone else, is the Crows promised him they would get an extra $200,000 for him in third party deals, with the dark part sounding as if they didn't, the club would pay it themselves. As things seemed to having been getting less serious, it would appear they got him the third party deals, and did disclose it to the AFL, thus making the 'draft tamporing' the more serious crime.

I'm sure someone like Vader could give you all the correct legal side of it though.