Tippett's Gone - READ RULES BEFORE POSTING

• Thread starter Thread starter doodle48

Which AFC deserter were/are you most salty towards?

I'll be sending Trigg and Harper a nice little note explaining why a 15 year member has finally lost faith and won't be renewing their membership.
I'll take up a SACA ultimate membership instead, rather give them my dollars than keep Trigg in his unaccountable position.

Friday 26th October 2012 1:30pm

58cac7a76355e55.gif

I sent Harper an email questioning whether we could possibly be trading for White and be giving Sydney salary cap relief on Thursday. I'm just some Big Footy nuff nuff, if I knew that was a massive mistake how did senior management of the Crows not realise that? What the **** is going on?

Just a question, but if Trigg is needed to get the deal moving, was it a mistake for him (and Sanderson) to be oversees while such an important trade was being negotiated ? ITs almost as if he had arrived back in Aus a couple days later the deal would be done.
Yes it was sheer stupidity.

Sorry, Ive missed the whole afternoon/evening, so tis has likely bee covered, but.......

Has there been an offer from Brisbane for White? Second rounder? Third rounder? Polec? ;) hehehe

Could we get Polec involved in a three way? No?

Polec & 23? with sweateners going somewhere if required?​

I don't think sydney have even offered up pick 23.I reckon they have packaged up white with their second rounder on the inside info they received from Blutcher re kurts contract. I think they have been banking on the assumption that whatever is in that contract will allow them to only offer up a second rounder. To them by adding White makes them the fair traders they like to be known as. This is why the lawyers have been called in to see if this clause in the contract is binding. That is why Noble said that when the trade week/month is nearly done some coaches may be talked in to giving up a first rounder. I don't think we have even been offered Sydney's first pick.
Interesting theory. The rumours of a legally-binding clause that is hindering the Crows' ability to get a fair trade don't seem to be going away. Has the AFC been telling the truth, or can they not handle it?

Its going to be a huge day in the AFC's history come friday afternoon. The decision we take will be a defining moment for the club.

Accept 23 and White and a lot of supporters will give up on their memberships. I'd never do that, but I'm going to be very disappointed. Its image will take a huge battering and its going to be a massive job for their PR department to spin this as a positive move. I'd love a bit of honesty about how this process took place and why we'd accept something so poor (if we do).

It needs to either get in a pick around the 8-12 mark (However the hell they do that), or send him to the draft. I just can't imagine how big the backlash will be, if we accept the worst deal on the table. Even if they feel pick 23 is better than the PSD draft (I'm not anti this as much as some others are), but sometimes you have to make decisions in the best interest of your image, brand and supporters.

I don't think sydney have even offered up pick 23.I reckon they have packaged up white with their second rounder on the inside info they received from Blutcher

That is why Noble said that when the trade week/month is nearly done some coaches may be talked in to giving up a first rounder. I don't think we have even been offered Sydney's first pick.

I had the same awful thought. I can't remember either club actually saying pick #23 was on the table.

What if we are holding out just to get pick #23.

F..k me, where's that lube. Or we will get it with next year's membership renewal?

Still none of this makes sense

1. Sydney pays White contract and Bolton plays on ....then on basis of terms Tippett goes into PSD, Sydney may be still be forced by TPP to get rid of a high priced player

It's another way of Crows forcing Sydney to cough up a quality player
Imagine how well it would go down amongst the other players if Tippetts recruitment on massive money forced the retirement of a club legend. The fact Bolton hasn't retired yet and it's found Sydney are paying Whites contract one way or another means when he does retire there will be no hiding from the fact that it's due to Tippett.

Assuming for the moment 23 & White, can someone from Adelaide confirm my calculations are correct?
Adelaide list 2012 = 39, already delisted 3 players =36. Add Graham & White (38), delist (say) Tambling (37), current draft picks 20, 54, 64. Last 2 picks in the draft already allocated to Callinan & Crouch (who Adelaide apparently must use a pick on, even though you traded for him last year).
So you take Sydney's pick 23 and unless you can bundle 20 & 23 for an earlier pick (again in a buyer's market) or delist another player pick 23 is effectively useless?

EDIT ; Forgot Tippett out.
:oops:

Assuming for the moment 23 & White, can someone from Adelaide confirm my calculations are correct?
Adelaide list 2012 = 39, already delisted 3 players =36. Add Graham & White (38), delist (say) Tambling (37), current draft picks 20, 54, 64. Last 2 picks in the draft already allocated to Callinan & Crouch (who Adelaide apparently must use a pick on, even though you traded for him last year).
So you take Sydney's pick 23 and unless you can bundle 20 & 23 for an earlier pick (again in a buyer's market) or delist another player pick 23 is effectively useless?
So after bagging the shit out of us and the club on your board you now want our help? The answer is maybe.

Interesting theory. The rumours of a legally-binding clause that is hindering the Crows' ability to get a fair trade don't seem to be going away. Has the AFC been telling the truth, or can they not handle it?

I agree with crow4life. I have a feeling Sydneys 1st offer was the 2nd rnd pick alone then they 'caved' and included JW to get it done. Reackon everybody has had it wrong all along and they have held strong to their position of only needing a lowball offer to get it done. Short of a last day miracle this trade period is looking like a massive stuff up for us.

Stab - this article here references Triggy killing the deal because it required CEO to CEO talks. So yes, it does appear that the list manager and associated parties were looking to pull the trigger on Tips for JW (and presumably 23 but that's not clear here).

So I think everyone who is concerned about the trade and expressing their concerns for weeks it was heading that way... had every right to be concerned and express their disgust IMO.

Look, I should probably clarify my position here. I agree that people should be up in arms over the possibility of us trading Tippett for White + 23. It's a terrible trade, and we should be signalling to the club that we think it's a terrible tade. And the fact that we (Crows fans collectively, not just the Bigfooty "we") have done exactly that has likely had some impact.

But I don't think that article means much at all. If it required CEO to CEO talks then it was never going to go through until the CEO got back, which means there wouldn't have been any point in stamping it out early. It certainly doesn't mean we were going to pull the trigger until the CEO prevented it. Unless you're implying the club wasn't aware that they needed to go through the CEO first and he only just managed to stop it in the nick of time.

We tabled the deal, as undesirable as it was, and then presented it to our CEO and left the next stage of the process up to him. He did his job and said, let's hold off on this one for a while.

What I object to is people talking about how our staff have done a poor job, before the job has been completed, and before we actually have the details of the job itself. The only actual facts that are in the public domain to date are that we haven't disregarded any options. That's it. Once some facts come out, if we've done a terrible trade, then by all means we should let those responsible have it with both barrels. And in the mean time, if you object to a mooted trade, or indeed if you dislike the PR process the club has gone through in terms of keeping their supporters in the dark, then by all means express yourself on those issues.

It's a subtle distinction perhaps, but to give a simple example, I think saying "If the club accepts White + 23 for Tippett the people responsible should be sacked" is completely reasonable, whereas saying "I can't believe we're going to accept White + 23, the people responsible should be sacked" is not. They express a similar sentiment, but in the latter case an assumption is being made that is not yet backed up by anything more than wild rumour.

The Suns just recived pick 13 from the Saints for Hickey . Now if Hickey is worth pick 13 and is a 21 year old ruckman then Tippett is surely worth a pick anywhere from 8 to 15 and Sydneys pick 23. Either give us Rohan or give Parker to someone in Melbourne and make it happen Sydney . Saints had pick 25 and were offering this to Gold Coast and they did not want to budge, noe that is how you trade Adelaide.

Ruccis word of the week.....

--------Mysterious -------
--

mys·te·ri·arse

Adjective:
  1. Difficult or impossible to understand, explain, or identify.
  2. (of a location) Having an atmosphere of strangeness or secrecy.
  3. Used by flogs to justify their lack of knowledge of a given subject.
  4. When all is lost and it is no longer possible to extract information from semi reliable sauces, the scenario thus becomes........."mysterious".

Tr
I agree with crow4life. I have a feeling Sydneys 1st offer was the 2nd rnd pick alone then they 'caved' and included JW to get it done. Reackon everybody has had it wrong all along and they have held strong to their position of only needing a lowball offer to get it done. Short of a last day miracle this trade period is looking like a massive stuff up for us.
Trigg asked Rendell for his resignation...........Chapman you better ask Trigg for his if this clause exists

So, in summary.... Over the last few days... I've visited wineries, rainforest retreats, breweries, bakeries, Coles, antique shops, bottle shops multiple times.... Bigfooty has been a rare glance for me.

Glad to see the AFC have perceivably grown the proverbial set.

Congrats everyone on a ridiculous 700 pages...

Now if you'll all excuse me, I've got to rerererererererererereconsumate the marriage.

What I object to is people talking about how our staff have done a poor job, before the job has been completed, and before we actually have the details of the job itself. The only actual facts that are in the public domain to date are that we haven't disregarded any options. That's it. Once some facts come out, if we've done a terrible trade, then by all means we should let those responsible have it with both barrels. And in the mean time, if you object to a mooted trade, or indeed if you dislike the PR process the club has gone through in terms of keeping their supporters in the dark, then by all means express yourself on those issues.
Well done. Good reality check. We've all definitely become consumed by all the speculation, and in many cases have let our (mostly negative) emotions get the better of us. Like you said, let's wait until Friday (or whenever the trade is done) before we stick the knives in (likely) or start celebrating (unlikely).