LIVE: Richmond v Melbourne - Rd 7 - 7:40PM Fri
Squiggle tips Demons at 76% chance -- What's your tip? -- Injury Lists » -- All Rd 7 Games
BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Round 7
The Golden Ticket - Corporate tickets, functions, Open Air Boxes at the Adelaide Oval, ENGIE, Gabba, MCG, Marvel, Optus & People First Stadiums. Corporate Suites at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
Fantasy Footy Notice Image Round 7
SuperCoach Rd 7 SC Talk - Trade Talk - Capt/VC ,//, AFL Fantasy Rd 7 AFF Talk - AF Trades - Capt/VC
To be honest I don't care how bad the sanctions are for Trigg and Reid. They dug their own graves. The fact of the matter is they are employed by AFC, whose job it is to select transparent and incorruptible administrators. We are vicariously liable for their mistakes.There are a lot of questions to be asked here. Did Trigg and Reid hav the authority to make these offers or enter these agreements with Tippett. How does the delegation of authority structure work at the crows. Would a deal like this require board approval? If yes, and board approval was not sought, then Trigg and Reid have bigger issues to worry about. Each year they would have to sign auditors reports saying they've disclosed everything to their knowledge. There are potentially criminal offenses associated with all of this.
So the "Kurt Incident" was a one-off indiscretion, completely out of step with every other action and behaviour the club has ever performed?Man, that is a cynical way of looking at things. If the AFL computer forensics team can't find a single thing wrong with all our other contracts, then all you are doing is speculating on nothing but opinion Carl. Why on earth would we invite the AFL to do this if we are doing this with other players? Trying to cover it up wouldn't work with technology the way it is these days.
Well I am very familiar with how companies work and how boards empower senior management to do certain things and also reserve key/strategic decisions for themselves. My suspicion is that Trigg has probably acted outside his authority by entering into any arrangement with Tippett. That's assuming Trigg was aware of what Reid was agreeing with Boucher at the time! If trigg wasn't aware then reid is the one that was way outside his authority.Pretty sure I posted my disgust at Trigg as well, keep reading. Tbh though, as I said in another thread, my life isn't gonna end if he stays on as CEO, it really doesn't faze me. I have no idea what his job involves or how well he does it (besides this saga IF true), and I don't really have the education in the business area to criticise him. I'm an engineer, I hate this shit!
Yep instead of forcing a spud player onto us to relieve your salary cap. Greed has shot everyone in the foot here, us, you and Kurt.Looks like we should have just offered pick 23![]()
Thanks mate for your kind words, we all feel totally gutted by this thankless cretin that is Kurt Tippett!!Sorry for intruding guys. I have a few points I want to share on this topic.
I really feel sorry for you guys that you had this pig called Tippett play for a your great football club. Yes he was a good player and made you a better side, no doubting that but what staggers me is, after all the effort the club did to keep and yes they broke rules he still walks out like the club means nothing to him.
The bloke is a dead set mess. Most of us would kill for 1 AFL game and here is a bloke who doesn't give two s***ts what the club has done for him. No half decent bloke would do that to a football club. I just can't believe all this and if he get's off with no punishment then we have a game with big problems.
I hope he gets de registered for a whole season.
Can't believe AFC condoned payments outside of TPP .....it's totally not the AFC "good guy" style
The underwrote IIRC .....that means no payment due if 3rd party arrangements occurred as expected
The question is:
1. How were 3rd party deals administered ....part of Tippetts marketing allowance
2. If the AFC had to pay to cover shortfall in 3rd party deals ......would that have been declared in future TPP records ?
So the "Kurt Incident" was a one-off indiscretion, completely out of step with every other action and behaviour the club has ever performed?
Well that's a relief.
Can't believe I'm doing thisSorry for intruding guys. I have a few points I want to share on this topic.
I really feel sorry for you guys that you had this pig called Tippett play for a your great football club. Yes he was a good player and made you a better side, no doubting that but what staggers me is, after all the effort the club did to keep and yes they broke rules he still walks out like the club means nothing to him.
The bloke is a dead set mess. Most of us would kill for 1 AFL game and here is a bloke who doesn't give two s***ts what the club has done for him. No half decent bloke would do that to a football club. I just can't believe all this and if he get's off with no punishment then we have a game with big problems.
I hope he gets de registered for a whole season.
...I agree with everything you have just said. club would have to make a contract offer to the player at some point, the AFL could prevent us from doing this. i dont think they will but i dont see it as outside the realms of possibility.
West AdelaideCrows, Tippett caught in $200,000 rort
Date
October 26, 2012
Emma Quayle
Football writer with The Age
The letter sent from former Crows football manager John Reid to Tippett's manager Peter Blucher is also understood to provide a guarantee the Crows would cover the money - split over two years - if it was not sourced via the third parties.
No sense this ....you don't include in TPP if 3rd party deals live up to expectation ......question is was there any shortfall needing to be paidIt is not necessarily relevant whether Adelaide paid Tippett the extra money, however the The Age believes the Crows would have had room in their salary cap to cover the $200,000, had they chosen to include it.
Late yesterday there had been no significant contact between the Crows and Swans, with Adelaide officials ceasing to pursue any trade.
Details of the trade deal, first reported in The Age in August last year, were known to officials at most clubs.

I would be astounded if Rob Chapman or the Board had any knowledge of the secret deal. Whilst he is hardly a CPF, I know Rob and I believe he is both honest and ethical.
I would also like to apologise to Jenny. If the Chairman and the AFC Board didn't know what was happening then it would be unfair to criticise your sources.
What I still can't understand is why we haven't tried to trade for other quality players since we have an extra $800,000 p.a. to spend over the next 4 years. Losing draft picks this year is disturbing but hardly a fatal blow given that our first pick is at 20. I would elevate Rory Laird if we lose this pick since I believe he would go higher than 20 in this year's draft. Hopefully we can at least participate in the rookie draft.
Probably not, but it's likely to be closer to reality than the "everything is corrupt" suggestion of yours.
I understand what you're saying though. It seems so unbelievable that it could happen once, that it's not really that much further a stretch to imagine it happening all the time.