To put things in perspective

I thought this thread was about your tinder date with the WC supporter. :drunk:
Haven't heard from her in a few days. I sent a congrats message all the same. I'll continue the hunt for someone with better taste :D

I share the same years.
It's not a good resumé is it?
No it aint:(
But, I can't change it so you get up and get going again "next year"
Also, I forgot to add the theft of the 1980 Night GF perpetuated by Kerry Good and the NMFC. After Wayne Harmes and this in quick succession, I think a Royal Commission into the conspiracy against the Mighty Pies was well justified;)

Let's say hypothetically that we won today... we'd all be buzzing for a few hours. We'd buy the Herald Sun poster, and brag for a little while. But let's face it, after this weekend Australia doesn't give a shit about footy.

I recall after 2010, posters were desperate to celebrate a week later, and talking about pubs to catch up at etc... but it was fairly pointless. No one truly cared anymore.

My point is that footy is about the journey, not the destination. Think of how much enjoyment we've gotten out of the pies season, over the course of the whole year. The grand final really comes down to a post-game 3 hour dopamine rush for the winner vs 3 hours of feeling like shit for the loser. Then both sides come back to reality and move on.

I'm not saying that premierships are not important, or trying to take anything away from WC... I just see beloved posters like Dave truly struggling, and I think, isn't it better to come 2nd than to come 4th? Isn't it better to come 2nd than come 8th, or not make the 8 at all? This stings more in the short term than it would've to get knocked out earlier in the finals, but it shouldn't.

Another point: it IS just a game. My sister was called by a recently arrived Chinese colleague shortly after the game for something unrelated, and my sister mentioned how sad she was about the game... her colleague asked, "But you didn't play did you? And none of your friends or family are in the team? It doesn't affect your day to day life really? I don't understand why you care?"
It's a valid point to consider, for those of us who are super passionate about the team. Worry about the things that you have direct control over; it is irrational to worry about that which you have no control over.

Pardon my rambling, and I'm sure that I will cop plenty of hate from the haters, both internally from pies fans and externally from oppo supporters, but I'm just trying to help people feel better.

Ps we knocked richmond out of the finals.

Well said.

Kidding yourself. Collingwood have won 2 flags in 60 years if you think winning it meant that? 2 flags in 60 years. It’s everything you play for. We are chokers when it comes to Grand Finals.
Honestly mate. What do you get from following the Pies so closely? It seems it's nothing but frustration, cynicism & negativity... which you then seem to want to share to everyone else. If it doesn't bring you happiness, then it's crazy to be investing so much in it. Life is short and there are so many other ways to spend your time and find positivity if Collingwood doesn't give you that.

If you think about the emotional investment in sporting teams purely rationally, it doesn't make any sense at all. Why take credit for the achievement of others? Why feel shame for the failure of others?
It's simply life.

You invest in your team, and accept the reflected glory, or the reflected pain.
Those that don't feel it etc, probably aren't that invested.

Life in part is invested relationships.

But anyway, regradiess life will go on.

Honestly mate. What do you get from following the Pies so closely? It seems it's nothing but frustration, cynicism & negativity... which you then seem to want to share to everyone else. If it doesn't bring you happiness, then it's crazy to be investing so much of your time in it. Life is short and there are so many other ways to spend your time and find positivity if Collingwood doesn't give you that.
Maybe investing in negativity is a positive for some.

We're all different I guess.

I've tried to analyse my dark feelings today. I've spoken to a couple of other tragics and they feel pretty similar.
I wondered why it hurt so much; it really does feel like somebody close has died. The same emotional turmoil, the exhaustion and the numbness. It's acute now. Experience tells me I will get over it and be as passionate as ever after a week....month or so. I wonder when the first Pre Season Time Trial will be?

I've tried to analyse my dark feelings today. I've spoken to a couple of other tragics and they feel pretty similar.
I wondered why it hurt so much; it really does feel like somebody close has died. The same emotional turmoil, the exhaustion and the numbness. It's acute now. Experience tells me I will get over it and be as passionate as ever after a week....month or so. I wonder when the first Pre Season Time Trial will be?
You know Apples I feel euphoric to be able to be at the GF walk to the MCG buy the record yell swear scream have my emotions torn asunder line up for a pee walk back to Federation Square take a deep breathe ahh life's pretty good

My family moved to Australia in 2007. I’ve been very fortunate to experience 4 Collingwood grand finals in 11 years.

Tally:
1 - Win
1 - Draw
2 - Losses

The way I would describe 2018 is, it’s like we won 2nd Division in the Tattslotto. We got all the numbers correct, but 1. We chose 19 instead of 20.

Yes, we are happy with our year (winnings), but know we were awfully close to having it all.

My family moved to Australia in 2007. I’ve been very fortunate to experience 4 Collingwood grand finals in 11 years.

Tally:
1 - Win
1 - Draw
2 - Losses

The way I would describe 2018 is, it’s like we won 2nd Division in the Tattslotto. We got all the numbers correct, but 1. We chose 19 instead of 20.

Yes, we are happy with our year (winnings), but know we were awfully close to having it all.
You're doing good :D

What I remember watching from a little kid

• Wins: 2 :) :)
  • Draws: 2 :moustache::moustache:
  • Losses 8 :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

I hear you Apples.
Missed opportunity.
Instinctively I know we're not the best team this year, I think third best is the fairest assessment (Richmond and West Coast were the two I'd say are best overall).
It's just we played as such a team that we almost snared a flag. Almost had an incredible result and it was so close we could almost taste it.
And then, it wasn't to be.
It really hurts.

But today, tomorrow, the day after... it will get better. And we'll start chasing the prize again. Hope we can increase our abilities.

As a side note, I really so much wanted Nathan to have this success. I always am partial to good people who self improve.

Fingers crossed we are big footy posting this time next year and explaining why we are so euphoric.

Remember SV it's the journey
Besides being a cliche,
There is so much truth there.

As a person even as kid immersed in sports history, Collingwood history,
The victory in 1990 to me was one of so much relief.

Through the last quarter, all I kept doing at stoppages was look at the clock. Tick tick tick...

Relief.

Finally the gut wrenching losses were over for our club.

Relief we could lay to rest our drought.

I do recall being there and we were in a mega Collingwood area and all hugging each other at the siren.

Relief.

That’s awful. I’m sorry for your losses.
Technically our losses.

An amazing history our club.

Stats can be twisted of course.

You could say 2 flags in 60 years.
Equally you could say 2 flags in 29 years.
Or 3 flags in 61 years.
Or 4 flags in 66 years.
Or 6 flags in 84 years.
Or 10 flags in 92 years.

Or simply 15 flags in league history.

And few other attempts when we didn't win the Grand Final.

Technically our losses.

An amazing history our club.

Stats can be twisted of course.

You could say 2 flags in 60 years.
Equally you could say 2 flags in 29 years.
Or 3 flags in 61 years.
Or 4 flags in 66 years.
Or 6 flags in 84 years.
Or 10 flags in 92 years.

Or simply 15 flags in league history.

And few other attempts when we didn't win the Grand Final.

The sad thing is the only stat that is “reasonable” on that list is 2 in 29 years. It could have been 3 in 29? I know, I’m Greedy.

Being a Collingwood fan is tough, but when we win one it's pure euphoria and nobody parties harder.
Agreed. I went for a walk this morning to get breakfast and a coffee after a long, miserable nights sleep last night. No hangover because I was too sad to drink last night. And I was disappointed to see people out in West Coast Eagles gear... they should have either been still out partying or sleeping it off. What a waste!

It works both ways though. Without going into the details I've had a tough year personally. First ever GF I've been to live! Imagine if we'd got up!? It would have made me feel better about a lot of completely unrelated things.
The difference in the feelings engendered by a 5 point win against a 5 point loss is that, in the win, light is shed on dark areas of your life, the mind is spring-cleaned of misgivings, regrets or negative thoughts, while self esteem is given a shot up the arse that all but sends it into orbit around the sun. An extra spring in the step of thoughts and dreams creates of us social creatures quick with words and spitting raw emotion, victory like a satisfying snort of quality cocaine sharpening the senses. Life is suddenly fantastically interesting and well worth living.

A 5 point loss has much the opposite effect. What was bright now seems bleak and darkly shrouded. What had momentarily perplexed or briefly caused concern suddenly seems insurmountable. Self esteem is drained like a pin-pricked balloon and confidence rushes out like flatulence escaping a festered bowel. You become a social recluse totally consumed with the weight of heavy loss, seeking alienation, or the like minded grumblings of fellow pie supporters. The future shapes as a dark black tunnel minus the white, and time hangs heavy like grey winter sky thick with drizzle with no club poncho on hand to deflect the elements.

I was devastated last night. So close! Then the long walk up Hoddle St passed the pubs with the gloating drunks looking for a fight. One drunken oaf of a Richmond supporter got a big spray from me.....I could see the cops walking up behind him, so gave him a bit more.

I woke up at 3am this morning going over the game again. Tried and tried to find sleep, but no luck. I started doing the sums.
I was born in a premiership year 1953 and vaguely remember 1958.
I sat in the kitchen disappointed in 1964.
I remember listening to 1966 on my first transistor radio. My first tears for Collingwood that day.
In 1971 I sat opposite the Greasy Joe's at Richmond station, in tears. I still haven't got over that one.
Then there was the draw of 1977 and the loss the week later.
1979, 1980 and 1981 are all forgotten. I have never watched them again.
The euphoria of 1990 was indescribable.
Then I suffered in hostile environments - 2001 in a colleague's apartment in Kuwait having to pretend I didn't know the result.....the game was on delay.
2002 was in a bar in Hong Kong with every person present actively barracking against us. The loneliest GF day for me.
2010 brought agony then ecstasy with more agony in 2011.
And then there was 2018.
That's 17 Grand Finals for 4 Wins, 2 Draws and 11 losses.
That's a bad strike rate in anybody's language. I can only remember 2 of those wins.

Can losses make us even more fanatical and rabid? I think they can. I watched the Hawthorn supporters of 2013-15 and just couldn't understand the lack of passion. So many, many flags; all celebrated for a day and then gone.

I saw two boys with their hurting parents on the train last night. One was a chirpy 6 year old I'd guess and the other was an upset 10 year old. I wanted to talk to them....of course you can't do anything like that these days, and tell them that it's hard work barracking for Collingwood and that there would be lots of agony for them in future with a little joy thrown in once in a while. That's what I was thinking.

That Mernda Line train was a tomb of the Collingwood devastated; it was really eerie.

Today I've tried to stay busy; I've avoided TV, the papers and the computer. I've been to the LaTrobe Market, done the housework, transplanted some cuttings, been shopping, strolled through Bunnings.......and it's still only bloody 4pm!

We'll all lick our wounds for the next few weeks and we'll gradually think about it less often.

Then there's the draft and before we know it, summer training will be back with all of its hope, intrigue and crazy predictions.

Be good to yourselves and your families Magpie people. Go Pies!

Hang in there Apples! So many crushed souls today...

I’m a bit younger than you, always heard the folklore about what we get up to as a club on GF day, disappointed to be living it now, but kind of forming links to the ghosts of supporters now passed.

I was going to do some work this morning to catch up on a few things (the joys of a “connected” work environment!). Ended up doing some basic data analysis back to 2000, checking finals over/under performance - does not make for great reading when it comes to the big day (we do pretty well though up to that point though!!!). Can’t imagine the carnage of looking back as far as you’ve experienced, though your words explain the horror better than any data could.

One day it’ll turn.

I noticed a similar malaise myself in 2011 that you’ve described about Hawk fans these last few years, also had a Hawk workmate describe losing the passion after they won 08. It seems like the joy of winning a GF is not equally and oppositely proportionate to the sadness of losing one?

Sounds very familiar with my story, albeit mine only commenced in 77.

You and I would be similar vintage.

We were very much spoilt rotten by our formative years ...

... the H&A season provided the inevitability of our team competing in a Grand Final. We kept losing them, we’d just roll our eyes at having to go through all that hassle again to get another chance in the following year’s Grand Final. That conditioning has been reinforced by 03 following 02, and 11 following 10.

I’m drawing on those instincts now - my mind is turning to the 2019 Grand Final and imagining how our team will be different.

I wear one of those fitness trackers that measures heart rate, and it’s as shame that I didn’t record the Grand Final as a workout session to go back over and review ...

... because it certainly was one. My resting heart rate currently is 56 bpm and there was a time in the last quarter when I checked it and it was 101.

That kind of physiological response doesn’t happen unless there is some investment in the result.

I remember at another stage in the last quarter looking back at the bay of Collingwood supporters behind me and the tension on their faces was a sight to behold. There were periods of the game when the entire crowd of 100,022 people were ***silent*** such was the tension of all supporters.

We can look at a favourite artwork, or listen to a favourite music piece, and these things will bring great enjoyment ... but they don’t get the heart racing in the way that a game does which involves a win or a loss of something of consequence.

And in a Grand Final that thing of consequence is more than just a quick hit of dopamine.