Todays WACA game

• Thread starter Thread starter Arch

Arch

Ill be there with all my mates- we'll have a huge card board cut out of Gilly, so keep an eye out. Im also expecting a huge crowd, considering the series is dead, it'll be about 40+ C, its not a day/nighter, its against arch-rivals Zimbabwe, the best Aussie players are likely to be rested and the big day out is on the same day (again).

I think Ill send the ACB a big bunch of flowers
smile.gif

lol Arch, yep we're so lucky to get a dead rubber. The game wasn't sold out (which is very unusual because all Aussie one dayers in Perth get snapped up by January) maybe the Big Day Out had a say this year (although they were dudded with LB pulling out).

Imagine how the Perth crowd would react if they rested Gilchrist and put in Haddin!

I'll be there too Arch, you might see me with an inflatable footy (I couldn't find the beach ball)

Hey Arch.
i think i saw you..Were there about five of you guys all in Australian one day shirts holding the cut out of Gilly crouching down? You were lucky to see such a great game!

------------------
"Collingwood forever"

actually it was a great day, glad we got to see the best game of the season !!!!! The BDO killed the crowd quite a bit, with only 20000 attending.

As for the Gilly cut out, the curley headed bloke (with the green wig) was my mate, so thats probably who you saw, but I wouldve been right there too. We decided to take our Gilly for a run around the ground which was certainly a crowd pleaser, although some down syndrome kid tried valiantly to pull it out of our grasp as we ran. Later in the day some other (less experienced) guys from our group decided to try and replicate our Gilly run and took it out again. Inevitably, the charming security chaps (including one we'd nicknamed Bruno) got hold of our Gilly, and that was the last we saw of it
frown.gif
After chanting "we want our gilly back" for about five minutes we realised it was gone forever. The guys in the one day shirts, jub jub, were some other guys in our section, who we allowed to adopt our gilly for a while. we're nice like that.

anyhow- it was a top day, glad we got a little tv airtime too
biggrin.gif
- shame we only get one per year though.

cheers.
A.

The game was probably the best one day game this summer, nobody was expecting Zimbabwe to even come close to the 302 target, but the crowd was going nuts with McGrath bowling the last over!

Arch, I saw the Gilly cutout, in fact I was down the front of the giant scoreboard. Did you see Gilly go down and pose for the crowd when he saw the cutout?

And as for my inflatable footy, It hit a security guard on the gob and was confiscated soon afterwards. A mate of mine brought an inflatable whale but it went on the field and a security guy took that too (He obviously isn't into greenpeace and saving the whales).

Looking forward to next year
smile.gif

Who else thought sooky McGrath was gonna start crying when Marillier arsed those two shots doen to the fence for four? The game finished last night and I reckon Pigeon is still shaking his head in disbelief
smile.gif

shame about youre inflatable footy, but I think the only reason anyone takes that stuff is so that security can confiscate it, so that u can launch into the "you are a w***er" chant- I did see the whale get on the field though, and that was a great effort.

also- did you see that chick .....erm...."expose herself", when Warnie brought Brett Lee a drink ???? Theres a pic of it in todays west. Its what going to the cricket is all about really, init ??
wink.gif

I didn't see it at the game but It caught my eye in the newspaper. Warney was a bit of a cult figure at the game - even though he was the 13th man.