Byod
Schache
Weitering
McCartin
Patton - servicebale but doesnt warrant pick 1
Mckay
Mcarthy
Vickery
Lets hope the clubs take that into consideration at draft time this year with all the very good KPP available - Max King might slide

We wish

His problem is he lopes around a bit half paced. I think he’s fallen into the Tyronosaurus Vickeryanus mould. It’s best we stick with developing rookies in Chol Moore and Soldo at a budget of the cost with similar to greater output.

We are passed the stage of trying to find players from other clubs mistakes and trying to make them into players, He is the Doggies mistake and they can keep him the reject basket is for clubs like carlton now.

Why pay players like Boyd $500k-$600k when you can just pay double and get an outright super star, As others have mentioned would you want Ziebell at $800k or Dusty at $1.150 mil ?

Top end elite players are where you should be investing the dollars and not soldiers that just play a role, We have players like Riewoldt,Cotchin,Rance,Prestia all signed up and not going anywhere or asking for pay increases towards the end of their careers so are in a great position to keep the satisfied with the dream of another flag.

Richmond is in a very very good position with our player salary structure and the demographic of the team, We should be looking to trade a few fringe players that can be replaced with the younger players pushing up and get a regular influx of talent that requires less salary via the draft with the picks we get for them.

We are passed the stage of trying to find players from other clubs mistakes and trying to make them into players, He is the Doggies mistake and they can keep him the reject basket is for clubs like carlton now.

Why pay players like Boyd $500k-$600k when you can just pay double and get an outright super star, As others have mentioned would you want Ziebell at $800k or Dusty at $1.150 mil ?

Top end elite players are where you should be investing the dollars and not soldiers that just play a role, We have players like Riewoldt,Cotchin,Rance,Prestia all signed up and not going anywhere or asking for pay increases towards the end of their careers so are in a great position to keep the satisfied with the dream of another flag.

Richmond is in a very very good position with our player salary structure and the demographic of the team, We should be looking to trade a few fringe players that can be replaced with the younger players pushing up and get a regular influx of talent that requires less salary via the draft with the picks we get for them.
Did Boyd also claim to suffer from mental issues or was that the Package bloke? Nothing against these types , but after Yarran and Mitch Clarke cases they put a lot of unnecessary stress on clubs for little return to more often a massive loss.

His problem is he lopes around a bit half paced. I think he’s fallen into the Tyronosaurus Vickeryanus mould. It’s best we stick with developing rookies in Chol Moore and Soldo at a budget of the cost with similar to greater output.

The Statue of Vickery is good but Tyronosaurus Vickeryanus might be better. Nicely done.

Did Boyd also claim to suffer from mental issues or was that the Package bloke? Nothing against these types , but after Yarran and Mitch Clarke cases they put a lot of unnecessary stress on clubs for little return to more often a massive loss.
Yes he did, Boyd & Cloke were both suffering from depression last season

Clubs need to stop taking big players with such high draft picks

Byod
Schache
Weitering
McCartin
Patton - servicebale but doesnt warrant pick 1
Mckay
Mcarthy
Vickery

Agree, Hawks should have passed on Franklin and Roughhead, that way we could have passed on Buddy four more times in the draft.
Josh Kennedy pick 4, Paddy Ryder pick 6, Matthew Kreuzer (pick 1), Riewoldt (first round, pick 13), Nic Nat (two), Hurley (six), Tom Lynch (11) .... Beuller .... Beuller ..... Beuller!

Is he a mistake?
He won them a flag, or helped win them a flag.
That player X and player Y are now premiership players with us is the be all and end all of every conversation on a current Richmond player.
It's even been suggested by some that Prestia never has to have even a decent season again for his recruitment to be worth it as he has a premiership medallion.
So why does Boyd differ???
PS I'm not defending Boyd or the defence that 'he has a premiership medal so everything else gets forgotten, just highlighting that a premiership is not everything.

Is he a mistake?
He won them a flag, or helped win them a flag.
That player X and player Y are now premiership players with us is the be all and end all of every conversation on a current Richmond player.
It's even been suggested by some that Prestia never has to have even a decent season again for his recruitment to be worth it as he has a premiership medallion.
So why does Boyd differ???
PS I'm not defending Boyd or the defence that 'he has a premiership medal so everything else gets forgotten, just highlighting that a premiership is not everything.

Agree with much of that, however going forward with his mental health issues at BIG MONEY is what would be a mistake. Can't get a game ahead of a few at the Doggies at the moment when they are screaming out for his type to be up an running has say something about the situation.

Agree mate .. the mental health issues are sad .. but a big no.
On a side note, I was howled down by many for suggesting Schache was no good and we were wasting our time.
Good to see others joining the wagon now!

Right thinking. Wrong guy in Boyd.

I reckon drafting CCJ last year was for exactly what you are talking about. Decent ruck with fantastic mits and good around the ground, excellent leadership and good attitude. Give him 3 years and he's exactly what you want.

Right now Soldo is filling that back up ruck well, improving again.

It's that tall ruck forward we want. Moore might be OK - don't know yet.

Balta and Miller are exactly that type .... in 3 to 5 years.

Otherwise try really hard to get a genuine A grade players from the Suns. I'm sure there's someone available for 2019 there somewhere. :thumbsu:

Look at what the club is doing. We have a looming problem. We have drafted to get over that over the last few years. And we are neck deep in the one available guy that would set us up for 5+ years.

So, potentially, in five years we have a new spine. Of high quality. We lose a couple of very quality mids, and hope to develop replacements. What we are trying ot do is keep our window open right now to win multiple premierships. And hoping to develop enough quality to not crash back down. Very Sydney like. Just hope it works.

Agree, Hawks should have passed on Franklin and Roughhead, that way we could have passed on Buddy four more times in the draft.
Josh Kennedy pick 4, Paddy Ryder pick 6, Matthew Kreuzer (pick 1), Riewoldt (first round, pick 13), Nic Nat (two), Hurley (six), Tom Lynch (11) .... Beuller .... Beuller ..... Beuller!
I too could add more.
How many top 3 picls midfielders fail as oposed to top 3 talls. I just think if you are rebuilding take the sure thing with imediate impact. You must admit a lot have failed over the last 5 years especially.

I hope for his sake that he comes back to play regular senior footy with the bulldogs, but after the Yarran fiasco, I don't think it's worth the trouble.

Better to push very hard for that Tom Lynch fellow. The word around the campfire is he's not too bad.

Any question Mark over attitude or mental health and I say pass.
Yarrsn, McKenzie busts for us. Mitch Clark, bennell for other clubs.
Bargain picks are OK to try if they have a good attitude: Townsend, Miles, Nankervis, even Matt Thomas and Troy Chaplin have all played their part for us.

On Nexus 5X using BigFooty.com mobile app