2008: =29th (3.5 votes)
2009: 32nd (2 votes)
2010: 28th (5 votes)
2011: =30th (2 votes)

Coach's votes:

Tribunal record:

Re: Tom Collier

A few quotes.

AFL teams are going to have very different ideas for where they want Collier to play. Several teams don't have a real full back and Collier could solve that problem. He reads the play very well at half back, so he could fill a role there. He can also run and a spot on the wing, where he can mark in space and also kick goals on the run, would also suit him.

- AFL Insider

Neither fish nor fowl? He might be a CHB or he might be a ruck-rover, but then blokes like Murray Vance came and went with that resume. Collier is a bit of a bull who rushes at the spillages and pounds long bombs forward. Not one to waste too much time with fancy stuff like thinking his way through a crowd or making decisions. Has been capable in senior company with Tassie. Fits the AFL template of tall athlete with passable skills who can be improved with coaching. Roos like to draft talls early (or trade early picks for them) and Collier shaping as a backman suits with Hansen earmarked for the front half.

- Weaver

I think Collier would be a great fit for the Lions. He offers them a good defensive player with the ability to play big or small and who has a great run off and line breaking ability that is a need area for the Lions. He could be running off the Lions half back line much in the way Leppa and Chris Johnson did in the premiership years. People talk of Rance as being the best CHB prospect in this draft but for me that player is Collier.

There were two guys who stood out head and shoulders above the rest of Div 2 players as far as being draft prospects go and they were Rioli and Collier. Collier played on ball or at half back and looks like he has all the talent and skills to be a star at the next level. At 192 he could legitimately play at CHB at AFL level but with his skills and engine he could also play in the midfield much in the same way as Chad Cornes does for Port. At the Champs was a very physical presence especially charging through packs when he had the ball. He is a very strong, well balanced, elusive runner with a fantastic burst of speed all of which makes him extremely difficult to tackle. This is all the more the case when he is playing in the middle against smaller opponents. At the Champs he had some jaw dropping runs through the middle leaving defenders sprawling in his wake.

As far as his midfield work goes for a tall guy he works well in and under and got his fair share of hard balls. When he has the ball he is poised and balanced in his disposal. He has good vision and his option taking is usually first class. He regularly set up goals for others at the Champs. At the Champs he had a hard tag most of the time and still managed to pick up 23 possessions a match and most of them were pure class. Collier also ended up with 11 contested possessions a match which was fourth best and even better considering he split time between the backline and midfield. He was a leader of the Tasmanian team and the guy they looked to to lead the way for them. He tends at this stage to not work overhead much and I haven’t seen enough of him to know whether this is a problem in his game or not. He has improved enormously over the last year after being overlooked in last year’s draft. He had been playing senior football for Tasmania in the VFL at half back and has shown discipline and composure in that role at that level. He was injured toward the end of the year with a finger problem but I don’t see this hurting his draft prospects at all. This is one guy that I would love to see at Brisbane and at 25 I don’t have to think twice.

- Quigley

Link

Tom plays patient waiting game
Article from: The Mercury
SEAN STEVENSON
May 02, 2007 12:00am

TOM Collier's future may be in the hands of AFL talent scouts and recruiting managers but he is doing his best to concentrate on the here and now.

"I just want to enjoy my football," the young Tasmanian Devils defender said yesterday.

"I am optimistic about being drafted this year but I am not really thinking about it at the moment."

Those in the know were tipping Collier as a potential draftee last year, despite the fact that he was the third youngest player to attend the draft camp in Canberra.

But Collier, who had another year in the system ahead of him anyway, said the initial disappointment of not being selected was quickly overtaken by positives.

"It has probably worked out better for me in a way," he said.

"If I had gone to Victoria for example, I might not have played VFL straight away."

Collier said the experience of attending the draft camp had already made him a better player, as had the faith Devils coach Daryn Cresswell has shown in him.

The 17-year-old from Seven Mile Beach made a promising VFL debut against Geelong in round two and, after missing out because of team balance in round three, made another useful contribution against Frankston last Saturday.

"I have been pretty happy with the way I have started," he said.

"`Cressa' has helped me a lot with the things I have to improve.

"The main thing is getting confidence back into my game because last year I struggled a bit with injury."

Collier is also working on adding some bulk to his 192cm, 85kg frame.

But tall and athletic, Collier fits the mould of the modern footballer and is also a rare breed -- he has an appetite for playing in the backline.

"I seem to play my best football down back," he said.

The Devils are hoping to end a three-game losing streak when they take on the winless Box Hill at Bellerive on Saturday.

collier3dh5.jpg

Link

AFL plunders Tassie talent
JAMES BRESNEHAN
October 03, 2007 12:00am

FIVE of Tasmania's finest young footballers face the most important interviews of their football careers in Canberra from today when they face more than 100 AFL recruiting managers and coaches at the 14th annual draft camp.
Mariners players Tom Collier, Aaron Joseph, Jaye Bowden, Tom Bellchambers and Alex Grima are among a record field of 79 draft camp attendees, all

hoping to be selected in the AFL draft on November 24.

The "fab five" will jump, sprint and sweat their way through three days of the toughest physical tests sports scientists could devise to gauge speed, endurance and strength.

At the head of Tasmania's Class of '07 is Lauderdale 18-year-old Collier, who was

yesterday rated "a certainty" to be drafted by the man in charge of the draft camp, AFL national talent manager Kevin Sheehan.

"It's hard to know where Tom will go, the clubs will decide that, but I'd say he's a certainty to get drafted," Sheehan said.

"He was at the draft camp last year and got overlooked.

"But the year that he's had in terms of maturing and developing, Tom has come on so well that he is now an outstanding AFL prospect."

At the start of the 2007 season, Mariners coach Andrew Mellor thought the pickings in Tasmanian football were rather slim.

"We thought Tom Collier was the only obvious draft choice, but by the end of the season we now have a realistic chance of getting four guys drafted," Mellor said.

"That could be a mixture of the AFL draft and the rookie draft."

Collier and Joseph were named in the All-Australian team at the national under-18 championships in Melbourne this year. When available, Collier was a regular for the Devils in the VFL, and when given the chance, Joseph and Grima impressed AFL recruiters with their VFL form.

Bellchambers averaged 31 hit-outs per game for the Mariners this season, and 34 per game at the national championships, and produced a five-goal best-on-ground performance for the Allies against Victoria in Melbourne last Thursday.

Bowden's footy smarts, goalkicking and ability to run through the midfield make him a player of interest to AFL scouts.

"All the playing has been done, it's a chance now for the clubs to get up close and personal with each of the players and get to know them as a person and as athletes," Sheehan said.

He expects 50 of the 79 will get drafted.

Link

Tom of all trades looks to ply his trade in AFL football
Monday 13 August 2007 - 21:44
By Roy Ward

Tasmania’s Tom Collier has a problem with the thought of playing in the AFL.
He can’t make up his mind which position to play.

“I reckon I could play in the midfield,” Collier said. “Even across halfback at AFL level, maybe even up forward as well.”

Collier, 18, has moved beyond the question of whether he will be drafted this year after claiming All-Australian honours with his standout performance at this year’s AFL under-18 National Championships.

“It is a massive honour,” Collier said. “I am stoked, I couldn’t be happier. I was always a chance to be all-Australian and a few people had mentioned to me that they thought I was a chance but you can’t think about it.”

The 192cm Tasmanian was put into the midfield for the championships even though he had become comfortable on halfback for Tasmania’s team in Victoria’s VFL competition, even getting a few mentions in the team’s best players.

But once the under-18s started, he used the confidence he had taken from playing against men to his advantage.

“It helped me immensely to play seniors this year,” Collier said. “It has just given me confidence to take the ball and run with it. It has taught me that I can play against men…that I can play at that level.”

Collier had to also take a more senior role at the championships; one which he believes has helped him greatly.

“I think I showed a bit of leadership in the second half of our last game,” Collier said. “I think this carnival has given me greater leadership skills.”

Collier’s powerful running and ability to break tackles surprised many observers at the championships although not his coach Andrew Mellor.

“He is the complete package,” Mellor said. “He runs like a midfielder, has very good disposal and is a hard worker. He could even play a key position. I dare say he will be a top 10 pick this year [in the AFL draft].”

Link

NAB AFL Draft Camp: Ready and willing
8:11 AM Mon 8 October, 2007
By Matt Burgan,

TASMANIA’S leading draft prospect this year, tall defender Tom Collier, believes he wasn't ready to be drafted in 2006, but is now ready for the challenge of being selected by an AFL club in the upcoming November NAB AFL Draft.
The 18-year-old was a genuine contender last year, although in the back half of the draft, but was overlooked as he was a bottom-age player. Being overlooked has paid dividends with Collier producing a fine year in both the junior and senior competitions.
"I found it to be a good season. I played the first half [with the Tasmanian Devils] in the VFL and it improved my game and I played for Tassie in the [under-18] championships and captained the side there and it's been a pretty solid season," he said.
"It was good playing with the Kangaroos guys too [with the Tasmanian Devils] in the VFL, so it was good to compare yourself with them, although there was a lot of young blokes playing their first season as well.
"Last year I was a bit of a chance [to be drafted], but I wasn't ready to go, but this year I've had a year playing with bigger bodies in the VFL and it's helped my game and areas I needed to improve on."
Collier said he was honoured to be seen as Tasmania's best young prospect this year, despite feeling some greater expectations coming from within his state.
He believed he had matured this year, which had helped his footy considerably.
"I've matured this year and I knew what I had to do to go to the next level. I went off and did that and now if you get drafted, you've got to move anywhere, so it won't worry me at all and it'll be pretty exciting," Collier said.
The 192cm tall from Acton, near Hobart, said he was best suited as a defender, although his versatility is a key attribute of his game.
"Half-back has been where I've played my best footy this year, but I can also play on the last line on a tall or a small as well and I played in the midfield during the championships. I've also played forward."

collierzu8.jpg

Quotes

Kevin Sheehan:

Tall defender who averaged 23 disposals and showed he could run the lines throughout the championships, providing rebound from the back half. Much improved player who has already been prominent for Tasmanian Devils in the VFL. He was ranked fourth overall in contested possessions, with 11 per match.

Anonymous AFL Recruiter 1, during 2007 U18 National Championships:

When he was moved onto the ball, he made a big impact in the second quarter. This got Tasmania back into the game. Coming into the championships, Collier had played in the senior state game for Tasmania against Queensland. He was widely considered to be the player to watch entering these championships for them.

Anonymous AFL Recruiter 2, during 2007 U18 National Championships:

Collier was really good for three quarters, but probably dropped off a bit in the last term. He plays a rugby-style of game, he's not a great decision-maker, but he is developing a strong body.

Andrew Mellor (Tasmanian under 18 coach):

Tommy's a really bright prospect and a potential top 10 selection. There was interest in him last year but he's added that hard edge to his footy 12 months on and he showed it in the VFL this year. At 192cm he uses the ball, runs well, carries the footy ... the complete package really and we are hopeful he is drafted quite high.

Alan McConnell (AIS-AFL Academy High Performance Coach):

Tom has played defence with the Tasmanian team but he has also played in the midfield both on the ball and as a wingman and even as a forward pushing up onto the ball, so he’s actually played a variety of roles. His athleticism makes him ideally suited to be the third tall in defence rather than the key defensive player; his capacity to be able to run and carry the ball is quite pronounced. He is a right footer with a lovely kicking technique and can kick a long ball. He gets plenty of the ball, so that tells you that he can read the play effectively.

He’s improved enormously over the last 12 months, he was considered by some as a late pick last year and it just shows how much the boys can develop in a year. He’s gone from a possible last round pick as a 17-year-old to a prospective first round pick.

Emma Quayle (The Age)

Collier has played £ and played well £ at both ends, but I'd be picking him as a key defender who can run and attack and read the play well.

He should get picked around the middle of the first round.

Link

Top draft prospects: Tall defenders
10:12 AM Wed 14 November, 2007
By Jason Phelan

Tom Collier – Tassie Mariners, TAS, 192.3cm, 83.7kg, DOB 25/3/89
Honours
  • NAB AFL All-Australian Under-18 Team 2007
  • Tasmania representative - 2007 NAB AFL Under-18 Championships
  • AIS-AFL Academy graduate
NAB AFL National Draft Camp highlights
  • Agility – 8.22 sec (4th overall)
  • 3km time trial – 10:38 (4th overall)
  • Handspan – 25.0cm (7th overall)
Alan McConnell, AIS-AFL Academy High Performance Coach says:
“Tom has played defence with the Tasmanian team but he has also played in the midfield both on the ball and as a wingman and even as a forward pushing up onto the ball, so he’s actually played a variety of roles. His athleticism makes him ideally suited to be the third tall in defence rather than the key defensive player; his capacity to be able to run and carry the ball is quite pronounced. He is a right footer with a lovely kicking technique and can kick a long ball. He gets plenty of the ball, so that tells you that he can read the play effectively.
“He’s improved enormously over the last 12 months, he was considered by some as a late pick last year and it just shows how much the boys can develop in a year. He’s gone from a possible last round pick as a 17-year-old to a prospective first round pick.”

Link

AFL Top 30 Draft Prospects

3. Tom Collier, Tasmania, 25 March 1989, 192.3cm, 83.7kg.

An extremely versatile player. Capable of playing key position at either end of the ground and has the athleticism to play on ball. Captained Tasmania at the 2007 NAB AFL U18 National Championships and received All Australian honours. At the 2007 NAB AFL Draft Camp, Tom recorded strong results in the agility testing and was ranked fourth overall with a time of 8.22 seconds. From Lauderdale FC

No way - he was my man. Quigley liked him but couldn't quite get over his Rioli fetish!
Correct POBT. With us overlooking Rioli I have to concentrate on driving the Hanley bandwagon. I happy to take a rest every now and then though and enjoy the ride on the Collier bandwagon.

From Inside Football

"Tommy's a really bright prospect and a potential top 10 selection. There was interest in him last year but he's added that hard edge to his footy 12 months on and he showed it in the VFL this year. At 192cms he uses the ball, runs well, carries the footy...the complete package really and we are hopeful he is drafted quite high." - Tasmania under 18 coach Andrew Mellor.

Link

RD 2 SELECTION, PICK No. 25 OVERALL – TOM COLLIER
Original Club: Tassie Mariners (TAS)
DOB: 25/03/1989
Height: 192.3cm
Weight: 83.7kg
Position: Tall Defender

An extremely versatile and athletic player capable of playing key positions at either end of the ground. Known as a quick and much-improved defender who runs the lines and can win his own ball. Captained Tasmania with a consistent 2007 NAB AFL U18 National Championships winning All Australian honours.

At the 2007 NAB AFL Draft Camp, Collier recorded strong results in the agility testing and was ranked fourth overall with a time of 8.22 seconds. He also showed his aerobic qualities with a time of 10:38 for the 3km time trial, ranking him fourth at the Camp. His handspan is 25cm placing him equal seventh overall. AIS-AFL Academy graduate from Lauderdale FC. A highly regarded top 20 selection, he could easily have been a round one draft pick.

NAB U18 Championships Averages: Kicks: 12, Handballs: 11, Disposals: 23, Marks: 5, Goals: 1.

Alan McConnell, AIS-AFL Academy High Performance Coach says:
“Tom has played defence with the Tasmanian team. But he has also played in the midfield both on the ball and as a wingman, and even as a forward pushing up onto the ball. So he’s actually played a variety of roles. His athleticism makes him ideally suited to be the third tall in defence rather than the key defensive player. His capacity to be able to run and carry the ball is quite pronounced.”

“He is a right footer with a lovely kicking technique and can kick a long ball. He gets plenty of the ball too so that tells you that he can read the play effectively. He’s improved enormously over the last 12 months. He was considered by some as a late pick last year and it just shows how much the boys can develop in a year. He’s gone from a possible last round pick as a 17 year-old to a prospective first round pick in 2008.”

How athletic is he Quigley.

Could he potentially spend time on-ball or a wing?
Collier is very athletic and he could play up on the wing I think. I am not sure if he could do it full time at the moment but it is certainly an option. I would expect him to start out as third tall defender / HFF and develop from there. Make no mistake he is a very good defender and the run he could give us would be a weapon.

Link

Draft day is like Christmas for 16 AFL clubs
Emma Quayle | November 17, 2007 - 10:35PM

The following is not a phantom draft, rather how she rates her top 25 players from this year's pool.

17. Tom Collier
(Tassie Devils. 18, 192cm, 84kg) Collier has played £ and played well £ at both ends, but I'd be picking him as a key defender who can run and attack and read the play well.
He should get picked around the middle of the first round.

Burgan's phantom draft

70 - BRISBANE LIONS - TOM COLLIERTassie Mariners, 25 March 1989, 191.6cm, 83.5kg
Collier looms as a potential late selection in the draft and has been linked with the Brisbane Lions at No.70. He is not without a chance of featuring earlier in the draft, given his height and athletic attributes.Highlights/achievements: Athletic, versatile player who is a very long kick. Has good speed which showed representing Australia at U17 level versus Ireland this year.

18 – RICHMOND – TOM COLLIER Tassie Mariners, TAS, Tall defender, March 25 1989, 192.3cm, 83.7kg
Collier is highly regarded as a top 20 selection and has been linked with the Brisbane Lions (No.8), Sydney (No.11) and Hawthorn (No.12). The Hawks are super keen, but with Jack Grimes, Alex Rance and Cyril Rioli also in their mix, it complicates Collier’s situation. He will be right in Richmond's thinking, however, as it looks to bolster its key defensive stocks. The Tigers are also understood to be keen on Patrick Veszpremi, Addam Maric and Andy Otten at this choice as well. David Gourdis is another who can't be dismissed.
Bio: An extremely versatile player. Capable of playing key position at either end of the ground and has the athleticism to play on ball. Captained Tasmania at the 2007 NAB AFL U18 National Championships and won All-Australian honours. At the 2007 NAB AFL Draft Camp, Collier recorded strong results in the agility testing and was ranked fourth overall with a time of 8.22 seconds. From Lauderdale FC.

Right club, wrong year.

AFL Insider

2007 AFL Draft Prospect: Tom Collier
July 22nd 2007 13:14
Name: Tom Collier
Height: 192
Weight: 86
State: Tasmania
Club(s): Lauderdale

AFL Positions:
AFL teams are going to have very different ideas for where they want Collier to play. Several teams don't have a real full back and Collier could solve that problem. He reads the play very well at half back, so he could fill a role there. He can also run and a spot on the wing, where he can mark in space and also kick goals on the run, would also suit him.

Perfect Fit For:
Richmond don't have Gaspar now and some of their defenders are undersized and played out of position. Collier would help them a lot. It would also continue the Tasmanian tradition that Richmond have developed over the years, and with Riewoldt at one end and Collier at the other they would have some exciting and talented players to rebuild around. But Collier is unlikely to be Richmond's first round pick, as they wouldn’t want to use a top 3 pick on him, and he may not be around for their priority and second round picks.

**********.net prediction:
Maybe somewhere around the second half of the first round. Hawthorn don't have any real draft need, so they might draft Collier and use him all over the ground. In the future, they could put him in the middle with Bailey, Hodge and Mr Kennedy Version 3.0 and have a huge size advantage over their opponents. But next season, it would be expected that Collier would be a tall defensive option. If Hawthorn want to grab another Tasmanian prospect, then Collier is the one they should go for.

Some more Phantom Draft profiles (following on from Browndog's post)

Official

#25 - Tom Collier - Tall Defender - Tassie Mariners - 192cm, 84kgs

I think Collier would be a great fit for the Lions. He offers them a good defensive player with the ability to play big or small and who has a great run off and line breaking ability that is a need area for the Lions. He could be running off the Lions half back line much in the way Leppa and Chris Johnson did in the premiership years. People talk of Rance as being the best CHB prospect in this draft but for me that player is Collier.
There were two guys who stood out head and shoulders above the rest of Div 2 players as far as being draft prospects go and they were Rioli and Collier. Collier played on ball or at half back and looks like he has all the talent and skills to be a star at the next level. At 192 he could legitimately play at CHB at AFL level but with his skills and engine he could also play in the midfield much in the same way as Chad Cornes does for Port. At the Champs was a very physical presence especially charging through packs when he had the ball. He is a very strong, well balanced, elusive runner with a fantastic burst of speed all of which makes him extremely difficult to tackle. This is all the more the case when he is playing in the middle against smaller opponents. At the Champs he had some jaw dropping runs through the middle leaving defenders sprawling in his wake.
As far as his midfield work goes for a tall guy he works well in and under and got his fair share of hard balls. When he has the ball he is poised and balanced in his disposal. He has good vision and his option taking is usually first class. He regularly set up goals for others at the Champs. At the Champs he had a hard tag most of the time and still managed to pick up 23 possessions a match and most of them were pure class. Collier also ended up with 11 contested possessions a match which was fourth best and even better considering he split time between the backline and midfield. He was a leader of the Tasmanian team and the guy they looked to to lead the way for them. He tends at this stage to not work overhead much and I haven’t seen enough of him to know whether this is a problem in his game or not. He has improved enormously over the last year after being overlooked in last year’s draft. He had been playing senior football for Tasmania in the VFL at half back and has shown discipline and composure in that role at that level. He was injured toward the end of the year with a finger problem but I don’t see this hurting his draft prospects at all. This is one guy that I would love to see at Brisbane and at 25 I don’t have to think twice.

Couch Coach

Draft Pick No 12 Hawthorn
Best Available IMO: Tom Collier
Best Club Fit: Hawthorn are lucky that they don't need much but they do need a tall defender, Tom Collier
Possible Options: David Myers or Tayte Pears
Outside Chances: Scott Simpson, a forward line of Franklin, Williams, Boyle and Simpson would be dangerous and would free up Roughhead for the backline, also Addam Maric as a crumbing forward option
Hope to Slide: Alex Rance
Selection: Tom Collier (Key Def / Ruck Rover) - 25 March 1989, 192cm 86kg. Tasmania/Lauderdale
Reasons For: Fills clubs need, is versatile so can plug gaps and at the same time gives greater ties to Tasmania
Reasons Against: Was overlooked last year, decision making
Stats: 8.22 Agility

Foj1

22. West Coast- Tom Collier 192cm 86kg Tasmania

Super athletic tallish utility who continues to develop. I think the Eagles will take the best available and players who will fit into the way they play and this bloke would be extremely difficult to match up on- especially at Subiaco. I am undecided where this bloke will ultimately play at AFL level but he has the tools to be a good one.

timmeh

12. Tom Collier (Lauderdale/TASMANIA) – Hawthorn
Position: Key Defender/Ruck Rover
Height: 192cm Weight: 86kg
Strong marking and mobile defender who can play on ball. Was overlooked in the draft last year but played superbly to increase his chances of getting drafted this year. Provides good rebound from defence, ranked 4th overall for contested possessions in the championships. He has pretty good foot skills and can find the ball in packs. Decision making could do with some work but very hand in that he can play rover or as a key defender.

Collier fits the Hawthorn running style of play and their recent type of talls drafted in Thorp, Jarryd Morton and Birchall. Hawthorn will be looking at Rioli and Myers here too.

Bulldogs 6

14. Tom Collier- Melbourne. Mobile Defender who has good enough skills and good work rate to play midfield. Whilst in defence he is an excellent rebound player with superb foot skills. Extremely handy player to have. (Key Back- Mid). Height: 192cm Weight: 86kg

Arden Street

11. Tom Collier (Sydney)
I think Tom Collier would be a good fit for Sydney. Collier showed great form in the VFL and at the the championships this year then he was struck down with injury for the rest of the year. Although some people are questioning if he will make it as a KPD at 192cm, i think he could develop into a good player and play a role similar to Matthew Scarlett.

Other players they may consider here are Chris Masten, David Myers, Ben McEvoy, Pat Vezpremi, Alex Rance, Cyrill Rioli, David Gourdis.

Alberton Magpie

Pick 11 (Sydney) – Tom Collier – Sydney have a good forward line but lets face it its old and structured around veterans Barry Hall and Michael O’Loughlin, they need a new target in the forward line that will be their for the next 10 years and Tom will be a good prospect for Sydney.

ridethewind

11 Sydney: Tom Collier (192cm, 86kg)
The Swans are in an interesting situation, they might still have a year or two as a contender before some of their big stars retire, so they might trade for another veteran or could keep their pick but add someone who can make an impact right away. Collier has senior experience at VFL level, and can step right into the lineup with his new AFL club in round 1.

If Kennelly and Malceski are used more in the middle of the ground by Sydney, Collier could take a spot in the back line. Collier is a very versatile defender so he can play on nearly any type of forward, and if he is asked to he can also attack from the back, so at the Swans he would be very similar to Barry and C Bolton, and even a bit taller than those two.

Collier also has shown he can play in the middle of the action, so if Sydney used Collier and Goodes in the middle they would have a lot of size.

Weaver - mid year draft prospects

11. Tom Collier (Key Def / Ruck Rover)
Has a reasonable record at CHB where he is a good stopper. What will attract AFL clubs is his ability to influence games when cast as a makeshift ruck-rover. He has good foot skills (on the right at least), can run with the ball, and can find it in the packs. Decision making can get better but defenders who can make a spoil and then switch into midfield-like mode are pretty important in modern footy. Might drop a little because he was elligable last year and overlooked, so there are some question marks there.

Snoop Dog

# 23 Essendon – Tom Collier (Tasmania / 192cm / 86kg)

Good choice for the Dons here. Lovely player who is a tallish midfielder and has been a standout for Tas at champ level for 2 years. Surprisingly did not get taken last year so one wonders what he was missing. Still it was a high quality draft and its happened before to good players (eg Swallow). Plays HB and the middle and is very much in the Jobe Watson style but importantly his foot skills are a lot better. Has the ability to turn games and brings his teammates right into the mix which is important. Can also go forward and kick goals.

If Dangerfield lasted to here then I suspect he might be a Don or alternatively someone like De Boer or McGinnity could very easily be in the mix.

Mojon95

22) West Coast – Tom Collier – 192cm – 86kg – Tassie Mariners.
Collier can play both Mid and Back, but will develope as maily a hard running backman.

Go Dons

17. Geelong: Tom Collier CHB/MID 192cm 86kg Tasmania
I expect that the Cats will look for a key defender to back up their slightly small stocks. Collier could just as easily end up a midfielder, but is still more of a CHB at 192cm. Had very good carnival with Tasmania and a good season in the VFL which I expect will make him attractive to the Cats. I expect the Cats to overlook Pears for Collier on the basis that Collier’s taller and more proven.
Best Available: Collier Next in Line: Selwood Smokey: Gaertner Hopeful Slider: -

TOA

Pick 26 – Sydney – Tom COLLIER (12/03/89) 192/84
Collier is a top-age tall who played well in the VFL this year after being overlooked for last years draft. This traditionally means a kid will fall further than expected so it will be interesting to watch him on draft day. He has shown an ability to play CHB but will probably turn out to be a running defender/midfielder at AFL level which will suit the Swans game style. Collier has also attracted the interest of the Lions, Roos and Melbourne so he could easily go in the preceding selections. Alternatives for the Swans include a young tall forward like Robbie Tarrant,

TFLUA Tiger

Pick 18 > Richmond - Tom Collier - 192cm 86kgs - Tasmania (Key Back/Mid)

Big, big fan of Collier. My favourite player in the draft almost went to the Cats with the previous pick and I am very pleased to be able to pick him up for my beloved Tigers. Collier is extremely athletic and agile for a boy his size and has potential to play as a Key Back, and also in the midfield. Has unbelievable pace and the ability to tear games open. Has good foot skills and the ability to go forward and kick goals if needed. Could well end up as a stopper at CHB for the Tigers in years to come.

Rizzo

Pick #12 - Hawthorn – Tom Collier – Lauderdale – Tall Back
Tall defenders seem the order of the year, and the Hawks will look towards Tom Collier as their solution. Tom is a big man who acts like a midfielder and has great athleticism. Will fit into the Hawks game plan extremely well and will be seen as a running defender.

Reg Hickey

#17 Geelong – Tom Collier

The Cats don’t have any real deficiencies, and should be thinking about succession plans. Their three oldest players are tall rebounding defenders in Milburn, Harley and Scarlett, so they would be licking their lips to pick up Collier here.

Link

Collier is a 193cm quick defender who won All Australian honours playing with Tasmania in the 2007 NAB AFL U18 Championships.
“We rated Tom as a first-round pick,” Allan said. “He had an outstanding carnival in the under 18s and can play centre half-back, on the back flank or in the midfield. He is very versatile and a great athlete.”

Link

Allan was pleasantly surprised to see young Tasmanian defender Tom Collier available at pick 25 in the second round.

“We didn’t think [Collier] would be there. I thought he was one of the outstanding players of the [under-18] carnival and Matty Armstrong, who works for us down in Tassie, is just a massive wrap on him.”

Of all the Brisbane Lions 2007 draftees, Collier will be the most likely to step up and play immediately.

Yeah, he's a good size. Looks ready to go. The extra year did him the world of good.

Congrats guys, you have done very well to get him as low as 25.

Have seen him play a few games in the VFL, and he looked at home playing against AFL-listed players and was often playing against bigger opponents due to Tasmania's lack of key position players.

He is agile, quick, tall and seems to make the right decision under pressure. A great pick up.

He is mobile enough to play as a tall winger, and can play forward as well.