PerthBoy87

My cuz AK,- Former Tiger and Magpie
Ok so I write this dialogue with plenty of emotion and wipe a few tears away with the news of Tommy Hafey leaving us.

But how about this...........Richmond vs Collingwood...........the Tom Hafey Cup?

This bloke left his mark at both clubs. Coached Richmond to five Grand Finals and coached Collingwood to five Grand Finals. That achievement in itself is a great effort. To coach four premierships (all with Richmond) and to take an average side in Collingwood when he took over at magpie land and get them to five Grand Finals is nothing short of genius. To turn around Collingwood who finished last in 1976 and make the 1977 Grand Final..........how many coaches have done that?? Not many I don't think. Both clubs hold Tommy in such high regard too.

This dialogue will be both on the Richmond and Collingwood boards (copy and paste job) and I ENCOURAGE mods from both boards to discuss this idea together and present it to both the Collingwood and Richmond football clubs.

Let's face it - the Tigers vs Magpie rivalry is huge..........bloody massive, but having a cup named in honour of Tommy (who was a big influence and popular at both clubs) would really get things going.

I reckon it's a good idea and I'll be honest I'm writing all of this with heaps of emotion (sad day in the footy world) but who knows if this idea can happen then it would be fantastic..........what better way then to pay tribute to a great coach, a great mentor, a great speaker and a great person.

What do you think people and mods - take note.

Cheers.

Also I don't mean that this idea has to be pushed and promoted NOW, give things time and then mods from both boards (Tigers and Magpies) can work together to present something to both clubs.

When the time is right. I am only suggesting it now because it popped into my mind mind ten minutes ago but in terms of the groundwork to achieve this outcome.............give it time.

Hope this clears up any confusion, if any, going forward.

Collingwood and Richmond to this day play for the Dyer Richards trophy which was struck for games between the two clubs back in 1998

From memory the trophy is a vertical crystallised glass rectangle trophy with an image of Jack Dyer and Lou Richards and their records inscribed on it.

It was on show at the Westpac centre up until the foyer was renovated in 2012 , and like the Anzac trophy Coll v Ess it would go to the winning club to display until the next match between the two clubs.

No doubting though that a statue of Tom Hafey should be at Punt Road Oval alongside the Jack Dyer statue that is there already.

Collingwood and Richmond to this day play for the Dyer Richards trophy which was struck for games between the two clubs back in 1998

From memory the trophy is a vertical crystallised glass rectangle trophy with an image of Jack Dyer and Lou Richards and their records inscribed on it.

It was on show at the Westpac centre up until the foyer was renovated in 2012 , and like the Anzac trophy Coll v Ess it would go to the winning club to display until the next match between the two clubs.

No doubting though that a statue of Tom Hafey should be at Punt Road Oval alongside the Jack Dyer statue that is there already.

Ok thanks for that, there goes my idea. Oh well - thanks for letting me know mate. Can you please put the above info into my thread that I have created on the Richmond board (same title - Tom Hafey Cup) and then it will be over with.

I wasn't aware of the Dyer-Richards trophy either so cheers for that info too.

Cheers.

Just letting you know, I copied and pasted your dialogue (your above dialogue) onto the Richmond board so they are aware of it and my idea can be put to bed. So no need for you to do it. Honestly though I had no idea about the Dyer-Richards Cup (no disrespect to either of these great men).

Cheers.

Just letting you know, I copied and pasted your dialogue (your above dialogue) onto the Richmond board so they are aware of it and my idea can be put to bed. So no need for you to do it. Honestly though I had no idea about the Dyer-Richards Cup (no disrespect to either of these great men).

Cheers.

Neither did I. Would be nice if it was given a bit more mention before/after the game perhaps. But an argument could be made that there are so many of these H&A 'cups' that they're becoming irrelevant which is very sad.

I mean this with all due respect, but if Tommy wasn't deserving of the honour while alive, why do it once he has passed? This happens a bit when people are emotional about a passing, they try to name an honour after someone.

RIP Tommy - by all reports a terrific person as well as a terrific football coach.

I don't think the Dyer Richards Cup would shut the door on a Hafey Cup. We play for two cups each year against Carlton (Peter Mac Cup & Richard Pratt Cup). However my question is do we really need to play for another cup?

We seem to play for a lot of them through the year and a Hafey Cup would guarantee two games a year against Richmond, to go with our guaranteed two games against Essendon and Carlton, which takes away the randomness of the fixture, or the supposedly easier/harder draw teams are supposed to have based on ladder position.

I don't think the Dyer Richards Cup would shut the door on a Hafey Cup. We play for two cups each year against Carlton (Peter Mac Cup & Richard Pratt Cup). However my question is do we really need to play for another cup?

We seem to play for a lot of them through the year and a Hafey Cup would guarantee two games a year against Richmond, to go with our guaranteed two games against Essendon and Carlton, which takes away the randomness of the fixture, or the supposedly easier/harder draw teams are supposed to have based on ladder position.
If Hafey was a Carlton man I'd be going hell for leather to dump the Cheating Fraud Cup in favour of a Hafey Cup but I wouldn't like to see the Dyer/Richards Cup replaced and I doubt you'd convince too many that it is a good idea. As I said earlier, happy to have a medal struck in honour of Tommy for sure.

My first day on this thing and I am going hell for leather posting. Dyer/Richards undoubtedly are legends of our clubs. But here we have a situation where it is one individual who is a legend of both clubs. Seems more appropriate that it should be named in his honour IMO. I think the idea of a Hafey cup between the two sides is just right.

Totally in favour of honouring Tommy but not at the cost of dishonouring or devaluing an honour already bestowed. Just my opinion.

Edit: and welcome by the way. All opinions are valued here!

Totally in favour of honouring Tommy but not at the cost of dishonouring or devaluing an honour already bestowed. Just my opinion.

Edit: and welcome by the way. All opinions are valued here!
thanks.
I agree with you regarding the current situation. I am not of the opinion that the Dyer/Richards cup should be abolished. Like you said that would be a huge dishonour to those great men of the game. Maybe it could be a biannual trophy.
Yeah it is a tough one. I would love to see tommy honoured is some way between the two clubs but not at the expense of the Dyer Richards cup.

Maybe the Hafey Medal for best on ground between Collingwood vs Richmond matches. Pies mods feel free to chat with Tigers mods about this etc. I have told Tigers mods to chat with you too.

Cheers.