Strategy Trade and List Management thread 2.(...the waiting for the hammer to fall edition)

The first rounder for pick 5 is worth 9 points, all forth round picks have some points value.

Not sure Collingwood will help us out too much - if we get Cloke for any 4th rounder I'd take it and run.
Nah, the compo picks have pushed our later 4th rounders back to 75 & 76. No points.
The Carlton 4th is currently 63 for 112pts.

With Freo losing so many big name players they will no doubt have some serious cash to splash. They probably need to pay big bucks to some randoms in order to reach 95% of the cap you would think.

I guess...their record at luring blokes over from the East isn't great.

They'll have even more cash left when Fyfe is in Victoria next year. Maybe in a Saints jumper of you believe Triple M.

was stevens ever tried as a flanker (either forward or back)? i watched a couple of his games and he doesnt seem to really get beaten in 1on1's for someone of his size so was wondering if you campaigners :)p) thought he would excel more as a wellingham esq player or a rhys palmer type player

I think he was tried there earlier in the year, it wasn't pretty. His ball use I mean, but I've said too much...
back or forward?

was stevens ever tried as a flanker (either forward or back)? i watched a couple of his games and he doesnt seem to really get beaten in 1on1's for someone of his size so was wondering if you campaigners :)p) thought he would excel more as a wellingham esq player or a rhys palmer type player
You're right he's very dangerous in the air as a forward. Will be a fwd/mid rotation for you guys.

He's an insider midfielder only. Contested ball is where he is best. Problem for him is that it's the area where we are strongest.

Not really.

He's a brute that will throw his weight around inside packs, tackle well, and get a lot of ball that way. As an outside footballer he's pretty limited as his footskills aren't great, and he doesn't have the greatest awareness.

Could rest him forward for those sort of stoppages though I guess. Seems to know where the goals are getting it from those forward stoppages.

He plays as much as a high half forward (possibly moreso) as he does as a genuine midfielder, however his TOG stats are lower than others who are preferred in this position now (notably Caleb who is an endurance animal).

Serious bummer to be likely to lose all of Hrovat, Stevens and Hamling for 3rd round or worse. The latter two are best 22 when in form.

Think Hamling move is to do with likelihood of game time as well as wanting to play with his mate Kersten. As people reminded me, he is a Broome boy and only moved to Perth in his draft year to play at Claremont so he is pretty unlikely to be homesick.

Hamling and Kersten made a commitment to each other that they would both return to Perth mid-year when both were languishing in the magoos.

Recent events are testing this resolve.

Does not enjoy it. Much prefers playing in the guts. Can play on a hff at a pinch though.

He is prepared to do the dirty work. A bit like Stephen Powell who you got from us back in the day. Will protect your younger smaller players.

I wonder whiCh fringe type players we are going to pick up late in the trade period? We always seem to get one or two that turn out okay. Biggs, Hammer were seen as "why did we get those blokes" type trades but have turned out masterstrokes.
I reckon we will pick a left-fielder for sure.

So is Hamling going to Freo for opportunities to play regularly? Or, is he homesick?

The first report I read, said it was the latter. On the AFL site, it says he wants regular footy.
SEN this morning went with some sort of mid-2016 pact between Hamling and Kersten (who either used to or still live together) that they would both head to Perth to play in 2017.

At that point, Hamling wasn't in the 22 so I could understand why it might have gone down that way.

Then we won the premiership, which threw a bit of a spanner in the plan.

Then Freo offered 400k+ over three years.

SEN this morning went with some sort of mid-2016 pact between Hamling and Kersten (who either used to or still live together) that they would both head to Perth to play in 2017.

At that point, Hamling wasn't in the 22 so I could understand why it might have gone down that way.

Then we won the premiership, which threw a bit of a spanner in the plan.

Then Freo offered 400k+ over three years.

Shades of Lebron and Chris Bosh joining Wade in Miami a few years ago ;)

He's more suited to a midfield role.

So still nothing Confirmed in or Out.
God trade week is a bore. When does it end?

Next Thursday.

Its yet another thing to be thankful for when it comes to winning the premiership. We need not concern ourselves with the interminable wait for trade week(s) to begin that those whose teams didn't make the finals had to put up with. It used to be something for us tragic's to look forward to, but like most things during the past week and a half its now all kinda...meh!

Not sure where I should post this, so I'll just do it here.

Spoke to a family friend of the Stringer's last night. The club were extremely happy with his finals series, he did everything the coaches asked of him knowing he was very limited. His shoulder was a lot worse than what most (including myself) realised. I reckon it might even effect his start to next year.

Not really news, but maybe people can get off his case for a while now.

Also, just from what I've heard this "he'll leave eventually for big money because he has a young family" this is complete bullcrap. He isn't playing for peanuts and the club looked after him VERY well in his initial years when he had done sweet FA.

Not sure where I should post this, so I'll just do it here.

Spoke to a family friend on the Stringer's last night. The club were extremely happy with his finals series, he did everything the coaches asked of him knowing he was very limited. His shoulder was a lot worse than what most (including myself) realised. I reckon it might even effect his start to next year.

Not really news, but maybe people can get off his case for a while now.

Also, just from what I've heard this "he'll leave eventually for big money because he has a young family" this is complete bullcrap. He isn't playing for peanuts and the club looked after him VERY well in his initial years when he had done sweet FA. He isn't gonna be earning peanuts.
Great to hear although I kinda thought all of that already.