Strategy Trade and List Management Thread Part 8 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)

• Thread starter Thread starter _Mike_

I don’t think he could replicate his best at Brisbane in a lesser team. Goes missing for too often.
Yep the good player in a good side. Yet struggle when they go to a lesser side as they cop a better defender, and can't produce to the same level. Dylan Shiel a classic example looked great as the 3rd wheel but couldn't cut it as the main man

Isn't Zac Bailey a forward flanker? As good as he is, $2m is a lot of money for a half forward who can't do decent midfield minutes or proven that they can play other positions at a high level.
He can play midfield. He just cant get the midfield time he wants. Dunkley, Neale, Rayner, McLuggage, Ashcroft. Adelaide are promising him that midfield time. They've been looking to add another midfielder for a couple of years now. Adelaide's midfield is not set. Dawson, Rankine, Peatling, Berry, Soligo.

Yep the good player in a good side. Yet struggle when they go to a lesser side as they cop a better defender, and can't produce to the same level. Dylan Shiel a classic example looked great as the 3rd wheel but couldn't cut it as the main man
His ultimate value lies in splitting time between mid and forward and hitting the scoreboard. You don’t want him attending 80% CBAs losing that forward time.

I still have nightmares of that goal he kicked in the 2021 semi against us.

It’s fine because everyone is signed medium to long term as well plus we have 10-12 guys on rookie to late draft wages.

Dale signed an extension recently while still having a couple of years to go, reckon there was some smoothing out there

Think a lot of our re-signings last year at the back end of the year topped up early so we have the space for them and Butters from next year

It won't be 2 mill a year but we have the coin for him and have been told by a player manager that it'd be the biggest ball drop by Sam Power if Zak isn't in the RWB next year

Feel like it will be 1.2 or 1.3 + bonuses

Butters and Butts wouldnt be a bad off season now would it

Edit then throw in a West and Cooney and some NGA talent could be a wild off season
I reckon Butts re-signs

Mark Keane still an option according to Gettable

Also, the media reporting on the amount that he gets paid is always a bit misleading, and it will be in this case.

For example if he wins our B&F and becomes our captain and becomes All-Australian in a season he could indeed get paid close to that 2 million, which is why the media is reporting this figure.

But only one player, by definition, can win our B&F. Bontempelli's recent contract extension also has bonuses and clauses tied to the captaincy and his B&F placing. If one gets paid more the other gets paid less, because, by definition one player is always going to rank higher in the B&F.

1774359860111.webp

You know what I mean DW - in that case, the players would obviously share in half of the bonus money allocated to 1st and 2nd in the B&F
Ah, I know what you mean. When you say “only one player, by definition, can win our B&F” you mean that to include “even when more than one player, IRL, can win our B&F”.

I agree that in such a circumstance they should, by definition, share the bonuses.
;)❤️

Also, the media reporting on the amount that he gets paid is always a bit misleading, and it will be in this case.

For example if he wins our B&F and becomes our captain and becomes All-Australian in a season he could indeed get paid close to that 2 million, which is why the media is reporting this figure.

Believe Bonts most recent contract actually excluded most of the captaincy related inclusions as he wanted to future proof it for if/when he steps aside if he is required to across the next 12-24 months with outside interests including business and family.

Essendon haven’t timed anything. They are on the eternal wheel of rebound which is rolling absolutely no-where.
Spoke to a mate today who has been hanging shit on me for years and he finally caved under a barrage of negative Essendon social media stuff I sent him. I told him you should have offed Merrett and take the deal from Hawks and he replied “but Hustwaite isn’t a very good player”

This was followed by a Carlton caller to sen who got it. He said Essendon, like Carlton, still haven’t realised that no one cares about their 16 ancient flags and that the way things are done have moved on. They still just expect success without actually making bold calls

Stay shit forever Essendon

Spoke to a mate today who has been hanging shit on me for years and he finally caved under a barrage of negative Essendon social media stuff I sent him. I told him you should have offed Merrett and take the deal from Hawks and he replied “but Hustwaite isn’t a very good player”

This was followed by a Carlton caller to sen who got it. He said Essendon, like Carlton, still haven’t realised that no one cares about their 16 ancient flags and that the way things are done have moved on. They still just expect success without actually making bold calls

Stay shit forever Essendon
Port supporters are the same with their SANFL flags.... even weaker competition.

Butters and Butts wouldnt be a bad off season now would it

Edit then throw in a West and Cooney and some NGA talent could be a wild off season
It means we could almost bypass the Tassie draft in 2027 with the list in great shape. We would only be getting role players anyhow with our ladder position.

Sammy p has timed things nicely.

I believe the triggers involved have the potential to get it to $2m a year but it will be closer to 1.5m guaranteed.

Exactly this. Also the later years of the contract will be heavily influenced by games played.
Feel like it will be 1.2 or 1.3 + bonuses
The contract put to him in its final stages with his manager and the club balancing out all the triggers. Things would never normally be this far along at this time of year, especially if there were still multiple suitors.

Watching Butters closely last weekend. Where most players would hack kick a ball out of congestion, he actually hits taregts from crazy congestion. You can see why every coach in the competition would love to have him.

His kicking which I think it’s not spoken about enough is something that is exciting me the most, that kick with our forward line will be a delight to watch. He is so clean, creative & damaging.

Butters kicking to Darcy with another pre-season under Darc's belt. Jesus.

Richards would never get tagged again in a team with Bont & Butters in it.

Butters kicking to Darcy with another pre-season under Darc's belt. Jesus.

Richards would never get tagged again in a team with Bont & Butters in it.
The flow on effect is huge - you can’t tag them all. And then add the next line of mids in with Freijah, Sanders, Kennedy and we’ll be extremely potent.

With Libba to hopefully go around again as well.

What's happened to Butters goal scoring ability? It's not a big deal because we have guys like Bont & Richards that kick goals but it's certainly strange that he doesn't hit the scoreboard anymore (I'm aware that he was top 10 in GA in 2025).

He's kicked 1 goal in 26 games.