Kahuna

Suspended
Redbacks
What do you think is an overall better path to follow?

Uni costs a bucket load, you don't get paid to go there but I honestly think you will get better jobs at the end of it. The works is not hard labour like in a trade. Plus you will be around chicks for four years while those doing a trade will be around sweaty hairy old men :D.

However most apprentices think that they are going to be millionaires when they finish their qualifications. This is probably not the case. Some of them reckon they will get 60k in their fourth year apprenticeship as a fitter and turner.

Which path did you decide to follow? Would of you gone the other way if you could make the decision again? Does anyone here not have any qualifications but still have a decent paying job?

There's no "better" path of the two. Depends where your aptitude is and both require a degree of nous depending on what field you choose.

Uni. Im just a 1st yr apprentice joiner and its pretty shit. shit money and the work isnt that easy either.

I'll finish my apprenticeship so i got something behind me, go travel for a bit then come back and go to uni. Wouldnt mind doing law or I.T as iv always wanted to do that along with building and property devlopement.

I've always wondered why people go to uni.
Most of the time there is a lot more money in trades than in uni. But if you're lazy like me, uni kicks ass.

Here's one for you:
smart person + trade = better tradesman = more money
dumb person + trade = less money

Uni is much better. People only do a trade because they are not good enough to get into uni.

Sorry I haven't been too clear.

It is just that my friend reckons he will get 60k as a fourth year apprentice, that is pretty tempting money.

However I still think Uni will land you the higher paying jobs in the long run, I was just wondering if people agree with me.

Yes, I also know the sayings money isn't everything and you wont be happy if you go chasing money.

If you're smart go to uni, if you're dumb go do a trade.

Ahh...the simplicities of life

Uni is much better. People only do a trade because they are not good enough to get into uni.

That's a bit simplistic.

I performed well at school - certainly well enough to go to Uni.

However, I had no real interest in career paths via Uni, didn't want to get stuck in an office, wanted flexibility with working times and something still challenging. As it is, I'm a PABX tech and licensed cabler. Not huge money but I'm pretty damn happy with my working life. Isn't that all that matters?

I'd suggest to forget about the money and take one of the paths that leads you to a job you'll truly enjoy and can see yourself doing for the rest of your life.

Ur looking at it the wrong way. DOnt think about the $$, think about what you would enjoy most. Your job can be a life long thing, don't waste time doing stuff you don't want to do for a long time.

The $$ might be great, but $$ isn't a factor after 5 years when you hate your job.

If you don't know take a year off and go overseas.

I am pretty good at school. Getting an A for Maths etc but Uni just doesn't interest me at all. Lift/Electrical Mechanic FTW. Don't want to do another 4 years of book work (although there is some at TAFE) and want a job where I am using my hands and not sitting in an office. Probally could earn alot more both short and long term at Uni.

Just a quick question. Why does everybody say that people become tradies for the $$$? You do a 3/4 apprenticeship where you don't earn much, if any more money than somebody doing part time at Uni. Then in 4 years you go onto 50k+ a year and by that time the blokes that went to Uni at the same time have finished there 4 year courses and are going and getting 50k+ jobs, so there is no way 'tradies' are going for $$$ as financially you are in no real better position.

Sorry I haven't been too clear.

It is just that my friend reckons he will get 60k as a fourth year apprentice, that is pretty tempting money.

However I still think Uni will land you the higher paying jobs in the long run, I was just wondering if people agree with me.

Yes, I also know the sayings money isn't everything and you wont be happy if you go chasing money.

60 K is great money for a guy at 21. No family to support, that is very tempting money for a guy leaving school to realise that in 4 years he could be on good money. Most young guys would swim from here to NZ to get that money at 21.

Thing is, thats about as high as it goes, once you get to late 20's and early 30's that type of money is only average. Sure the odd tradie will go on and run his own business but the majority won't.

They will stay at that wage for a long time, advantage is that you reach it fairly quickly.

In saying that if you do something primarily for the money then sooner or later you will run into trouble.

I have mates that do a trade and they earn that type of money once they finish, one guy im very friendly with and he has his own car, own house (halfs with his brother) and earns good money. Has a flatscreen, nice fridge, share portfolio. Thats great for a guy that age, fact is, he works 7 - 5, even on weekends. Its hard work, once you get to 30 you might not want to slog it out all day in the hot sun.

At university you can defintely open up a wide range of doors, an electrican will only ever be an electrician. Do a degree and you can enter a range of areas depending obviously on what the degree is, once you graduate you wont be on high money, probably around 40 000 but that can rise very quickly.

Overall, my experience with tradies is that they are "money hungry", they want it all very quick. My good mate used to switch jobs at the drop of a hat to earn good money. These guys arent the smartest guys in the shed however and in these times i wonder if some young tradies havent bitten off more then they can chew with regards to debt and what not.

Personally, im doing university and there is no doubt that over time you can earn nice money, but it does take time.

Personally, id do university as i just feel in a few years time people who hold university degrees will be highly sort after as the market has been saturated with people going straight to trades to take advantage of the mining boom.

Uni for me.

Doing a trade is definitely no longer for people who are dumb or are no hopers in general.

The stereotype is changing and for the good too I think.

Not where i live, most young guys couldnt dress to save themselves, listen to shit music, and drive shit looking cars and act like classless slobs.

I am pretty good at school. Getting an A for Maths etc but Uni just doesn't interest me at all. Lift/Electrical Mechanic FTW. Don't want to do another 4 years of book work (although there is some at TAFE) and want a job where I am using my hands and not sitting in an office. Probally could earn alot more both short and long term at Uni.

Just a quick question. Why does everybody say that people become tradies for the $$$? You do a 3/4 apprenticeship where you don't earn much, if any more money than somebody doing part time at Uni. Then in 4 years you go onto 50k+ a year and by that time the blokes that went to Uni at the same time have finished there 4 year courses and are going and getting 50k+ jobs, so there is no way 'tradies' are going for $$$ as financially you are in no real better position.

As i said, for a 21 year old who doesnt have a family, isnt married, and all he has to worry about is how to bypass the breathlizer on the way into the factory and how cold his beer is, 50 K is good money and very attractive for someone that age.

If your 30 and your earning 50 000 thats really run of the mill wages.

Tradies are an insecure bunch i generally find, and if you talk to one they might say that your not "man" enough to do a trade. Just do what you want to do, a university degree is very handy, sure you get a HECS debt but that is made off once you start earning money and you'll barely notice the repayments leaving your wage.

University degrees especially post graduate degrees like honours and what not will be highly sort after very soon. IF you go to uni, do the hard yards in the undergraduate degree so you can qualify for an honours, that extra year is very worthwhile and it really does set you apart from the rest especially those with only a Bachelor.

Not where i live, most young guys couldnt dress to save themselves, listen to shit music, and drive shit looking cars and act like classless slobs.

Do you think that will ever change?

I'm talking about the background and suburb where I come from.

your mates full of it, no way would a 4th year apprectice get 60 grand a year unless hes doing plenty of overtime! and i mean plenty!

im a 4th year glazier and i earn about 30 grand clear a year