Training 3rd December

Did anyone attend? Curious to know who is training with us and how the injury group went (especially Judd)

I didn't go, but from TalkingCarlton:

Aaron Joseph (TAS)
David Ellard (WA)
Haelen Kay (VC)
Lachlan Hill (VM)

are training with us.

Apparently Browne and Armfield have arrived and were supposed to be training today too.

I braved the rain and watched the boys train, thought it was quite impressive.

I then stayed and watched the Bombers train on OUR ground for hald of their session.

Then as I left the Storm were doing 3k time trials outside

I braved the rain and watched the boys train, thought it was quite impressive.

I then stayed and watched the Bombers train on OUR ground for hald of their session.

Then as I left the Storm were doing 3k time trials outside

Any opinions on how the kids looked TA?? Kreuzer, Browne, Armfield, Joseph, Kay, Hill, Ellard??

Can you shed any light on those boys Gilly?

AWG, Joseph is a small (179cm), fast on ball/classical rover type from Tasmania.....elite speed and agility at draft camp and capable of winning his own ball... was u18 AA.

Ellard is a small (176cm) forward/ goal sneak of the Eddie Betts variety. Not express but fast enough (similar pace to Browney) clever little footballer and we could do far worse. Is not as good as now, but IMO could end up being not that far behind Maric at AFL level and therefore a steal in the PSD or rookie draft (Maric went at #21 to Melbourne).

Kay is a medium forward/onballer, with good pace and athleticism, powerful leap and quick on the lead when playing small forward...kicking can be a bit hit and miss though and I prefer him as a small leading forward at AFL level.

HIll is a 189cm wingman/HBF, again with elite pace and good agility for a guy of his height.....raking left foot kick but can sometimes mis-time them as well.

I would say for both Hill and Kay their kicking is one of the main reasons they fell to the rookie draft....so with our development coaches we can afford to take a punt on them.

Of course these are the kids invited to train with us and doesn't mean we will necessarily take one of them.

Any opinions on how the kids looked TA?? Kreuzer, Browne, Armfield, Joseph, Kay, Hill, Ellard??

Will do a training report in 15 mins or so for those interested.

Specifically re Brown he matched up on Murph in a defensive midfield role in a drill simulating stoppages that was taken by Riley. They talk about youngsters needing to adjust to the speed of AFL, well I think this was evident even in training for Browne at his first run. It was his first training session so not surprising but was little off the pace in intensity and reaction times. He did look physically under-developed when standing amongst our regulars and I think he has a bit of work to do in the gym before he is genuinely ready. (That being said I would not take too much notice of a kids first training session while he is obviously nervous)

i say draft aaron joseph for the only reason that he's tasmanian. we need more tassie boys in navy blue, one is not enough.

Ummm best players will do - regardless of where they're from. ;)

Kreuzer was freakish below his knees when he roved the hit out and handballed off in the one action before his opposite number knew what hit him.

Walker is one of my favourite players and trains with great intensity.

He checked Hampson with his shoulder after he disposed of the ball and looks raring to go for a big 2008. His lateral movement and agility is something to watch when he just winds his way out of a pack before hitting a target at full pace. He changes feet quickly and is going the other way before his opponents have cottoned to it. It was identical to the play on youtube where he quickly changed direction against Essendon in heavy traffic and hit Lappin laces out.

He's our Shaun Burgoyne.

I noticed one player running at lightning speed across the rain soaked surface.

It was Shaun Hampson.

The trainer called for the ball in the middle, so Shaun kicked the rain soaked ball straight at him with bullet like speed and precision. Jacobs had front position in one ruck contest and used his body to hold Shaun off, but Shaun just reached around him and tapped it down.

Training report for 3/12 ( Part 1)

I arrived 10 mins into the session to miserable drizzly weather.

Straight in front of The Heatley stand were the "recovery group" with the usual culprets Judd, Ando, Hadly, Fev, Aisake & Cain.
The drill they were doing was boring, with Cain just kicking to them all lined up basically like slips catching practice.

Once this drill was over these guys started to work on fitness.
Judd did approx 12 x 400m with 60 secs break between each, and he was running against his stop watch at a fair pace. He reeks of professionalism,determination and dedication.
Aisake just kept grinding out laps with no break but at a slower pace to Judd but still quite good. This was a great effort, he just kept willing himseld on and on and on and on.
Hadley is not even running yet, just walked a few laps.
Ackland and Fev did a few sprints over the other side of the oval, but didnt seem to push themselves too hard.

I wandered over to the HFF in front of the Hawthorn stand to watch a drill consisting of mids and ruckman focusing on the stoppages, simulating boundary throw ins and ball ups around the ground.
The rucks were divided into 2 pairs
Kreuzer v Cloke
Hammer v Jacobs
Each pair would ruck for 2 x boundary and 2 x ball ups and then break while the other pair did the ruckwork.
Cloke obviosly had a slight body strength advantage but it didnt stop Kreuz having a red hot go. They both won a few tap out but you could see the big K start to hunt the pill after the ruck contest.
Hammer and Jacobs was reasonably even as Hammer did not really get the chance to use his leap, but still was the winner. He has bulked up considerably and had the air of top dog or No 1 amongst the ruckmen.

The mids in the drill included Scotland, Murph,Simmo,Browne, Blackers,AW,Carrots, Stevo ( in white T-shirt - no contact ), Jacko and maybe AB.
The drill seemed to focus on a/ winning the ball and moving it via a couple of handpasses until someone could seperate and kick and b/ mainainting structure on the defensive side of the stoppage to stop easy clearances.
The stand out in close was Scotland. He found the footy very easily (he really just knows where to go ) and always hit the ball at pace. He worked his way through traffic and then was able to make good decisions dishing off the handball.
Simmo was good but worked on the fringes of the pack. Once he gets it he is a hard man to catch with ball.
Walker sort of played half inside half outside and was quite good.
Murph hang outside the "inside" pack and had Browne for company. Browne stuck with him but Murph seemed to react first most of the time.
It looks like Murph might have improved his pace.
Blackers did a couple of nice things but to me still looks like a boy amongst men.

This drill was run by Riley who was very vocal and stopped after every contest to advise/coach on positioning and movement

Will do forwards/backs in a few mins after a coffee and a tim tam

Part 2

Went down to the Legends stand end to watch a drill consisting of forwards and backs.
There were 2 groups of forwrds and backs and only watched 1 as the other was on the other side of the gound.

Forwards included Fish, Eddie, Jake , Wiggo, Harts +++ others
Backs included Austin, Bower, Setanta,Waite,Thornton,Army, and a short gut with brown hair ( 1 of the 5 invitees I assume)

The drill had the forwrds grouping together about 20m out, and trying to give eachother blocks and lose their backmen in traffic.
Amidst the confusion one leading forward would try and double back and beat his opponent back to the goalsquare for the long option or as the option to the first lead being successful at half forward.

Finally we will see a modern forward structure in 08 where forwards stay close and help eachother acheive seperation to lead into the big spaces that abound due to everyone not spreading out.

Fisher destroyed Waite in this drill. When he didnt lose him in traffic he was 10m in the clear. When he did lose him it was 20+. It was really dissappointing to see waite smashed time after time.
Jake showed that he is going to be hard to stop on a long lead and also worked back nicely to the goalsquare a couple of times to mark on his own. He needs to be able to do more than mark 60m out from goal on a long lead. Thats what Wiggo did well but if it is all you do it dosnt hurt the opp too much.
Eddie was livewire, got free on the lead and used it well after.
Really looks like one of the most talented at the club. if he can find a way to win enough ball he has a lot of hurt factor in his game.
Wiggo had Armfield following him and could not acheive seperation.
The only time he got 3 meters clear the kick went his way but Army had the speed to close and made a good spoil.
Setanta was very good and seemed to back his judgement, play in front of his man and work the angels, cutting of leads easily.
Austin lacked a little intensity I thought.
Hartlett struggled to get clear of Thornton I think.

After the stoppages drill and this forward/backs drill all the groups combined and rotated so that a gorup of mids were working through the middle (with defensive pressure from another group of mids )to deliver to a group of forward/backs.

Hampson was a real standout here. He is just too fast for any other ruckman when they spread and he kept marking 10 meter clear on a wing/hff.
Benji was also playing as a backman for one of the groups in this drill and was quite impressive I thought. He kept close enough to his man and then had the athleticism and closing speed to spoil the leading player every time. His recovery after spoiling was good and his kicking was solid ( not pretty but he hit his targets )

It was pouring rain and I did not recognise the invitees as there were no numbers and everone looked like a drowned rat anyway.
I thought the little guy who played as a defender in one drill might have been Joseph. He had good leg speed and didnt get caught out by his opponent, therefore the ball never got to him.
Sorry Gilly I would not have known who was who anyway amongst the invitees, but while I was watching no "unknown" did anything remarkabely good or bad.

(how do i get rid of this sill slant in my typing)

Eddie appears the happiest guy at the club, breaking into laughter regularly, and Bower still seems to be a major introvert.

I wish I had more sets of eyes as there were usually 4 training groups going at once, spread out far from eachother,

Part 2

Went down to the Legends stand end to watch a drill consisting of forwards and backs.
There were 2 groups of forwrds and backs and only watched 1 as the other was on the other side of the gound.

Backs included Austin, Bower, Setanta,Waite,Thornton,Army, and a short gut with brown hair ( 1 of the 5 invitees I assume)

The drill had the forwrds grouping together about 20m out, and trying to give eachother blocks and lose their backmen in traffic.
Amidst the confusion one leading forward would try and double back and beat his opponent back to the goalsquare for the long option or as the option to the first lead being successful at half forward.

Finally we will see a modern forward structure in 08 where forwards stay close and help eachother acheive seperation to lead into the big spaces that abound due to everyone not spreading out.

Fisher destroyed Waite in this drill. When he didnt lose him in traffic he was 10m in the clear. When he did lose him it was 20+. It was really dissappointing to see waite smashed time after time.
Jake showed that he is going to be hard to stop on a long lead and also worked back nicely to the goalsquare a couple of times to mark on his own. He needs to be able to do more than mark 60m out from goal on a long lead. Thats what Wiggo did well but if it is all you do it dosnt hurt the opp too much.
Eddie was livewire, got free on the lead and used it well after.
Really looks like one of the most talented at the club. if he can find a way to win enough ball he has a lot of hurt factor in his game.
Wiggo had Armfield following him and could not acheive seperation.
The only time he got 3 meters clear the kick went his way but Army had the speed to close and made a good spoil.
Setanta was very good and seemed to back his judgement, play in front of his man and work the angels, cutting of leads easily.
Austin lacked a little intensity I thought.
Hartlett struggled to get clear of Thornton I think.

After the stoppages drill and this forward/backs drill all the groups combined and rotated so that a gorup of mids were working through the middle (with defensive pressure from another group of mids )to deliver to a group of forward/backs.

Hampson was a real standout here. He is just too fast for any other ruckman when they spread and he kept marking 10 meter clear on a wing/hff.
Benji was also playing as a backman for one of the groups in this drill and was quite impressive I thought. He kept close enough to his man and then had the athleticism and closing speed to spoil the leading player every time. His recovery after spoiling was good and his kicking was solid ( not pretty but he hit his targets )

It was pouring rain and I did not recognise the invitees as there were no numbers and everone looked like a drowned rat anyway.
I thought the little guy who played as a defender in one drill might have been Joseph. He had good leg speed and didnt get caught out by his opponent, therefore the ball never got to him.
Sorry Gilly I would not have known who was who anyway amongst the invitees, but while I was watching no "unknown" did anything remarkabely good or bad.

(how do i get rid of this sill slant in my typing)

Eddie appears the happiest guy at the club, breaking into laughter regularly, and Bower still seems to be a major introvert.

I wish I had more sets of eyes as there were usually 4 training groups going at once, spread out far from eachother,

Two excellent reports:thumbsu:

Well done, they are very much appreciated.

Part 2

hmmmm..... never heard of a short gut before ...lmao
I pressume you really did mean short guy :p

BUT a wonderful report & a blinding insight into how they are travelling at this stage. Thank You Very much for that report ..... without all of you who have reported on training thus far, I take my hat off to you all.
where would us others be without your insight ???

:thumbsu::thumbsu:

AWG, Joseph is a small (179cm), fast on ball/classical rover type from Tasmania.....elite speed and agility at draft camp and capable of winning his own ball... was u18 AA.

Ellard is a small (176cm) forward/ goal sneak of the Eddie Betts variety. Not express but fast enough (similar pace to Browney) clever little footballer and we could do far worse. Is not as good as now, but IMO could end up being not that far behind Maric at AFL level and therefore a steal in the PSD or rookie draft (Maric went at #21 to Melbourne).

Kay is a medium forward/onballer, with good pace and athleticism, powerful leap and quick on the lead when playing small forward...kicking can be a bit hit and miss though and I prefer him as a small leading forward at AFL level.

HIll is a 189cm wingman/HBF, again with elite pace and good agility for a guy of his height.....raking left foot kick but can sometimes mis-time them as well.

I would say for both Hill and Kay their kicking is one of the main reasons they fell to the rookie draft....so with our development coaches we can afford to take a punt on them.

Of course these are the kids invited to train with us and doesn't mean we will necessarily take one of them.

Yeah actually was wondering who this left footer who I didnt recognise was. He seemed to move well.

Thanks heaps for the report, it really helps to get a feel for how the team is coming along without actually being there. I can't wait to see Hampson and Kreuzer tearing it up in the ruck for years to come.

firstly, good to hear about the impresive training
we should defenetly pick up ellard because imo we have enough mids and besides eddie we dont have crumbing forwards
also a quick questrion and that is whats going to happen with sammy jacobs? i thought he was aalright and he was our first pick in the rookie draft last year. in the past we have had huge success with the rookie draft and i dont see him getting a run in the ruck with the likes of kruzer, hapmson, cloke and i cant belive im going to say this but ackland. unless they are planing on using kruzer as a chf type of player and using hampson cloke and ackland in the ruck next year.

Training 3rd December