Training Reports

• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

He was, he's massive (or bigger than I expected). Wasn't bad but didn't stand out, but that might have been because he was doing kicking next to cotch and newman. Moves well though. Don't see any reason why he won't play round 1.

Thanks mate.:thumbsu:

Great report mate keen to know how the 3 youngsters fighting for the last rookie spot are going?

Webberley looks way to light to be an AFL player, looks small compared to a lot of the other guys. He has very neat skills (but not outstanding) and moves smoothly but I think he needs another string to his bow if he's gonna stick around.

Didn't see/notice Dea. To be fair I wasn't really looking for him.

Great report mate keen to know how the 3 youngsters fighting for the last rookie spot are going?

Cheers. Haha I was hoping someone wouldn't ask about that. I don't recall seeing Casserly and I dunno what Keddell or Corrie looked like so I really can't comment, sorry. There were a couple of young boys who I reckon were islanders who were training with the main group. If either of them was Keddell/Corrie I'd say they probably wouldn't beat casserly to a spot seeing as he's been on an afl list before, but that's purely based on what I saw today

Here ya go lads. Went down for the first time ever today and unfortunately made the rookie mistake of not bringing a pen and paper to write things down so I'll just go through the players as I saw them.
I'll do my best to answer them.

the club doesn't like it when people take notes. just ask the young collingwood guy that posts here.

Cheers. Haha I was hoping someone wouldn't ask about that. I don't recall seeing Casserly and I dunno what Keddell or Corrie looked like so I really can't comment, sorry. There were a couple of young boys who I reckon were islanders who were training with the main group. If either of them was Keddell/Corrie I'd say they probably wouldn't beat casserly to a spot seeing as he's been on an afl list before, but that's purely based on what I saw today

They'd be the two PNG scholarship boys training and testing with richmond at the moment.

Thanks for the reports guys.

FYI... Dusty, Edwards and Kel Moore were in NT today doing a clinic with the Aboriginal boys. Some others may also have been away for the same reason, at a different location, but not sure.

Did the JR, Griff, Astbury and Rance group look like they were being groomed as the spine, or just four mates hanging round for a bit of fun?

Just thought I'd share a two funny moments when I went to training on Australia day.

Pretty sure I seen Shaun Grigg walk into the weights room with one of the propeller caps on. Someone said to him nice hat and he replied with a "Thanks". lol

Out on the training track I seen Cotchin, Browne and someone else who slipped my mind. The had some sort of bet going on...after a few secs Cotchin and the other bloke are cheering and hi-fiving each other...as they run back together they both give Brown a massive slap each. One one the arm and one on his thigh. It was a pretty chilli morning so I could imagine how much they would of hurt. He couldn't walk properly for a while and was rubbing his leg for a fair amount of time. :D

I saw that too. It was Riewoldt and Connors who slapped Browne. They had triangle going and they were about 30 meters away from each other and they were kicking the ball between them and the first to screw up and miss kick copped a slap from the other two.

So they played for a while trying to put each other off and when Browne scrubbed the kick Jack and Connors were ecstatic. Connors ran straight over and got him on the arm and Jack faked him out only to get him a ripper on the leg.

I saw that too. It was Riewoldt and Connors who slapped Browne. They had triangle going and they were about 30 meters away from each other and they were kicking the ball between them and the first to screw up and miss kick copped a slap from the other two.

So they played for a while trying to put each other off and when Browne scrubbed the kick Jack and Connors were ecstatic. Connors ran straight over and got him on the arm and Jack faked him out only to get him a ripper on the leg.

lol...thanks for that. Don't know how I thought it was Cotchin lol.

Are the Rangas being separated from the main group for a reason, I wonder? :confused: ;)