Training

Leper Messiah

Just seeing if anyone has headed down to training recently as its hard to keep up to date up on the Gold Coast.

Just a few questions i'm mainly interested in if anyone has been...
  1. Has Sylvia started training with the main group?
  2. Hows Maloney going?
  3. Is Bartram training yet? (ive heard some nasty rumors)
  4. Any new draftees/rookies impressing and joining in full training yet?
Any info at all would be great. cheers

From what I know, Messen has been burning it up on the track with his fitness and running, he finished high in the ranks for the time trials/distance running IIRC.

Hopefully this will scare the shite through Jamar. My mate works at the Pancake Parlour and Russian has walked in...Though he had a very slim meal I have been told

i saw ur boys trainin at sandy 2 day looked extremly sharp in there drills. i think it was miller looked like hes had bulked up heaps. maybe a forward role this yr ?

From what I know, Messen has been burning it up on the track with his fitness and running, he finished high in the ranks for the time trials/distance running IIRC.

Hopefully this will scare the shite through Jamar. My mate works at the Pancake Parlour and Russian has walked in...Though he had a very slim meal I have been told
Yeah from what i've read over at demonland he's been going great guns in the fitness department... just hope he has the skills to go with it!!

haha thats a pisser about the russian! Even if Meesen dosnt turn out to be as good as we hoped, if his presence is enough to give jamar and PJ a kick up the ass ill be happy. Ideally id still like it to turn out as meesen and jamar replacing white with pj maybe up forward or down back

A training report was posted over at demonology yesterday arvo and answered some of my questions so thought id post them here. click here for the full run down

There were some mixed reports on whether Sylvia was there, one guy spotted him doing handball drills but no-one else saw him.

Maloney was involved in the whole training session which is great.

Bartram was in the rehab group with Rivers, Wrecker and Wheatley doing minor handball and kicking drills.

The new lads were there but still doing minimal work.

... There was also a high point and a low point from what i read on the training. Apparently our young lads in Jones, Buckley Dunn etc were really impressive and have a real competitive spirit. On a down side Mclean was also in the rehab group with Bartram and co and seemed content running slow laps for the session. I probably shouldnt read too much into this tho, everyone has their off days

Yeah from what i've read over at demonland he's been going great guns in the fitness department... just hope he has the skills to go with it!!

My understanding was that his running ability and skills have always been a strength of his, but it was his commitment to a contest that was the issue.

i saw ur boys trainin at sandy 2 day looked extremly sharp in there drills. i think it was miller looked like hes had bulked up heaps. maybe a forward role this yr ?

Sounds good.:thumbsu: Are you sure it was miller that's bulked up though? I would have though adding more bulk to him wouldn't have been an issue.... he's a pretty big unit as it is! I'd be stoked if it was Dunn, Frawley or Petterd that's done the bulking up.

Can we spell Moloney right please?

Heard plenty of good things about Miller so far, kicking the ball beautifully apparently.

A solid 18 metres?

Nah, I kid. I do hope that Miller improves and actually pushes for permanent selection. Not only would it keep guys like Newton, Bate, Dunn, Frawley and even Neitz and Robertson on their toes but could result in a very good CHF (or defender but he has never been great there).

Here's a few pics of the boys training on the 9th courtesy of CARN THE DEES! over at demonland

Demonlandpics023.jpg

Demonlandpics022.jpg

Demonlandpics019.jpg

Demonlandpics017.jpg

Demonlandpics009.jpg

Frawley and the Flash seemed to have bulked up a fair bit since i last saw them

you can see the rest of the pics from the day here

Check out the 4th picture down. Is it just me or does it look like someone's having a chunder?

hahaha from the look on that womans face id have to agree! i was to busy lookin at frawley before i cant beleive i didnt spot it!

Tell you what, from those photos Bucks is looking pretty solid. Lets hope he can make an impact this year. Deano has said he's been pretty impressed with his work ethic so far. And we could use a player of his build, has a bit of an Embly-esque feel about him.

I remember having similar thoughts this time last year, he's got a fantastic build.

Time for him to step up and take a spot in the 22.

Has Grimes taken part in any of the training or is his back still injured? And what about Maric, is he a chance for round 1? What about down at Sandringham is anyone standing out?

He is 100% fit and firing training the best of all last years draftees and if he continues will play NAB cup.

The following is an excerpt from a post at demonology on training last friday... i'm not sure if this was a one off with grimes doing a modified training program as i also heard he was doing well. From other reports ive heard Maric is doing really well too and if performs well in the nab cup there's no reason why he couldnt play in round 1

[quote="demon o phile" @ demonology]... the likes of Cheney, McNamara, Spencer, Grimes did not participate with the main group, Cale Morton (‘Morts’), Addam Maric (‘Archer’) Meesen, Martin, Wonaeamirri were in the thick of things on the track.[/quote]

yeh sorry about that see that. They are sounding good with Maric, Morton and the other in the mix of things with the fitter boys. Ive seen sandy train over the last few weeks and they have come back fitter and are looking good for 08'. A few younger players are really standing out

The following is an excerpt from a post at demonology on training last friday... i'm not sure if this was a one off with grimes doing a modified training program as i also heard he was doing well. From other reports ive heard Maric is doing really well too and if performs well in the nab cup there's no reason why he couldnt play in round 1

All first year players do modified programs. For example Grimes wouldnt have the same workload as Brock or Jonesy.

Here is a link to some photos from training yesterday. courtesy of the fork over at Demonland.(copy and paste the link into the adress bar) :thumbsu:

picasaweb.google.com/fmarkham/Dees

went down to training last monday at Vic Park. Here are my obsrervations.

Jones and McLean dominated the time trial, these two seem to be streets ahead of the rest of the squad. Sylvia was 4 or 5th which was a great sign. Expected players like, dunn, bate and bukcly to be higher placed but where back with the main group. But yeah Mclean and Jones where dominate. Meesen as reported ran solid.

Moloney completed the whole session as did sylvia which was excellent news. Morton, Maric completed the whole session, where Grimes ran laps and did 200mtr sprints. Bartram ran laps with Whelan and kicked the ball at times. Didnt seem to be in any trouble. Flash didnt do the time trial but did join in the drills.

Stephan martin, and holland trained in the back line group. As did Pettard.

Shane Valenti, moved very very well and looked good. Other players to stand out Jones, Miller and also impressive was Bode. Frawely has bulked up and although his kicking style is at best described as awkard did hit the target each time. Warnock also looked as if he has bulked up, i think he will get his chace as the third tall in defence.

All in all a good session with 85% of the group completing the session. All goes well for the season proper.