Suspended
Jul 6, 2006
Goldy
Gold Coast
Eels, Newcastle United
Anybody met or is one of these. Can't stand them. There are two types IMO

1) Always has got rooms/transport/anything bargainable for cheaper than everybody else, always been to rougher and/or better(depending on what sort of w***er they are) places/hotels/hostels than you, always been to more countries than you, know any country better than you.

2) How tourism is ruining the area or how it was better when they went there and now tourism has ruined the area.

Are you a travel w***er or do you know one?

OMG, i think i might have a touch of number 2. :eek::eek::eek: The reason i say this i remember telling people to go to berlin because westerners will soon fk it up.

hahahaha, i know what you mean though it's a pretty pathetic way to carry on. I actually think i'm a shit traveller.. :thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

hahaha.

Used to work with the coolest cat on earth, he was my travel hero.

If you were ever going anywhere, he'd tell you about the coolest little joints, but then wind it up with "it's probably not there anymore, XXXX the owner was starting to get fed up with the vibe the untried touro's are bringing on the place." He would then tell you to drop his name when you went there, "you'll be looked after".

I actually dropped his name at the Humpty Doo Hotel in NT. They never heard of him.

hahaha.

Used to work with the coolest cat on earth, he was my travel hero.

If you were ever going anywhere, he'd tell you about the coolest little joints, but then wind it up with "it's probably not there anymore, XXXX the owner was starting to get fed up with the vibe the untried touro's are bringing on the place." He would then tell you to drop his name when you went there, "you'll be looked after".

I actually dropped his name at the Humpty Doo Hotel in NT. They never heard of him.

hahahaha that is brilliant :D:thumbsu: I find people like that good value. Knobs have their place in this world, imho.

Are you a travel w***er or do you know one?
Met a few in my time. On a couple of occasions, I've met friends of a good mate of mine (who is a less obnoxious type of travel w***er) who, upon being introduced to me, asked me something along the lines of "have you been to Uzbekistan? It's lovely this time of year. I remember when... blah blah blah".

The bottom line is, I'm not even slightly impressed by people who've travelled extensively. Good luck to them if that's their thing, but nothing gives my eyes that glassy look faster than hearing travelling/tourism stories.

Does this count?

Posted by bit pattern in the Macchu Pichu thread on this board .

Over priced, over populated and over rated. I have seen more impressive ruins in S.A, although admittedly the scenery around Machu Picchu is second to none, it´s just no fun when it has thousands of obnoxious, rich, middle aged, American tourists thronging all over it. And the prices are out of control, I mean 15 /s for a freaking gatorade! That´s western prices! The worst thing about the cost is that it prices out the local population, effectively denying them access to their own cultural heritage. It is quite a sore spot with the locals, during the national strike they were blocking all road access up there in protest about that and the fact that the exorbitantly priced train is run by a British company and none of the profits go back into the community.

I found Pisac, Ollyantambo and Urubamba to be much more impressive, in terms of the actual ruins and the quality of stonework. And places like La Cuidad in Colombia is the sixe of MP but without the obscene tourist influx.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I am a travel w***er
Loved it when I got back from a year OS and you start talking about Paris Rome Turkey and the person glazes over and tells you what they saw on TV last night
The untravelled w***er

Does this count?

Posted by bit pattern in the Macchu Pichu thread on this board .

Over priced, over populated and over rated. I have seen more impressive ruins in S.A, although admittedly the scenery around Machu Picchu is second to none, it´s just no fun when it has thousands of obnoxious, rich, middle aged, American tourists thronging all over it. And the prices are out of control, I mean 15 /s for a freaking gatorade! That´s western prices! The worst thing about the cost is that it prices out the local population, effectively denying them access to their own cultural heritage. It is quite a sore spot with the locals, during the national strike they were blocking all road access up there in protest about that and the fact that the exorbitantly priced train is run by a British company and none of the profits go back into the community.

I found Pisac, Ollyantambo and Urubamba to be much more impressive, in terms of the actual ruins and the quality of stonework. And places like La Cuidad in Colombia is the sixe of MP but without the obscene tourist influx.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yep, nailed it. :thumbsu:

In a similar boat to those that think everyone is going to read their travel emails. They're deleted quicker than spam. No interest whatsoever.

I'd rather hear about someones dream the night before, another waste of time.

Yeah i know what you mean by Travel w***ers.

I went on a 2 week overseas trip to England in 2002 for school for rugby/cricket and one day we had a chance to either go race karting indoors or go and see a castle.

Some travel w***ers kept saying how they hadnt come to England to do gokarting and others like me were thinking ****ing castle smarsle, lets hit the track. Anyway we went gokarting and some people didnt bother paying and just watched, obviously they were to tight. I hit the carts and it was great fun.

Went to a castle a few days later and i found it pretty boring.

Id rather go paintballing or fishing.

Im not to fussed on travelling, i hate it when people like to think they are some how suprerior then others because they have travelled extensively and seen other cultures or what not.

It just doesnt really interest me, id rather go on a 7 day reef fishing trip on the Great Barrier Reef or to the Boxing day test match then trape around ****ing Thailand.

It's a fine line, I travelled with a friend of a friend through Morocco last year and all this chick ever did was whinge about how tourism had taken the soul of the place away and how the locals were now conditioned to hassle tourists for money and jaded towards westerners etc. Generally, she was full of shit, a moral crusader who berated me for 'supporting poverty' by giving change to local kids.

She only shut up when we got to Essaouira, which is essentially 'Diet Morocco', a highly Westernised and sanitised tourist paradise where you can touch things in shops, avoid haggling with every taxi driver, have a drink in a bar that's not full on staring locals (being with white women that is) etc.

I just got the feeling that had she been to Morocco before it became a top tourism destination she would have absolutely hated it anyway.

I havent been to anywhere outside of Australia so I cant really be either, but I have been to every mainland capital except Sydney! ;)
Thats like saying you have been to every mainland capital of the USA except New York City, or every mainland capital of Greece except for Athens
If you have been to Sydney you havent travelled Australia:)
(And if you havent been to NSW either you really are missing out:))

the opposite of the travel w***er is the travel bogan who once went to bali/phuket on a footy trip and is now an expert on overseas travel.

"nah mate dont go to xxxxxxxx, go to bali/phuket. you can buy stuff cheap and beer is cheap and there are heaps of aussies and you can get your hair braided on the beach."

Haha true. I love Bali/Phuket but I would almost consider it another state of Australia (rather than overseas) which is kinda sad (travel w***er). Still a top place to relax and get away for fairly cheap. Would rather go Phuket for 2 weeks - 3 weeks than the Whitsundays for the same price.

The "I got herpes off my bed in my dollar a night hostel" crowd are the worst. By all means slum it if you wish, but don't act as if it's impossible to see the sights/experience the local culture whilst staying in relative comfort.

haha I DID get crabs from a bed in dunedin once. They showed up in my GF's pubes a bit later and questions were asked. Luckily she was with me at the time, as I'd been a good boy till then........promise :D

The "I got herpes off my bed in my dollar a night hostel" crowd are the worst. By all means slum it if you wish, but don't act as if it's impossible to see the sights/experience the local culture whilst staying in relative comfort.

Welcome to my world. I have those folk on my ferry/bus to and from work most days of the working week in my part of the world. Only one person worse than that is the Yank Backpacker chick who gobbs off to her travelling friends and the whole place can hear it - at the end of a working day STFU Baitch!!! It's not as tho they are contributing to the economy of Magnetic Island - would rather spend $2 on dry noodles than a decent el cheapo feed and the regular shops aren't exactly rolling out the red carpet for these tight wads.

Best terrorist, oops i mean tourist deterrent going around Maggie at the moment is a 3.5m male croc cruising a couple of the bays. :thumbsu:

Travel w***ers