Travel w***ers

• Thread starter Thread starter Fender

I kinda like travel w***ers. I'm certainly not well travelled, only been overseas once and that was to Bali. I love hearing about peoples travels overseas, although I get kinda jealous sometimes. It inspires me to get off my ass and do some travelling myself, which I'm in the process of saving for at the moment. Life is too short to stay in the one place, even if you just explore Australia, you gotta get out there and see something different or you'll end up a braindead 65 year old who's best story is about the time they found 5 bucks on the footpath outside the shops.

That's a very positive attitude. Best way of looking at it. You have to understand, most travel w***ers aren't bragging or showboating, they just genuinely love the experience they've had.

That's exactly my point, Karl. If they're bragging about how cultured and travelled they are, they aren't a travel w***er - they're just a w***er. They're the type of people who would find something to brag about even if they hadn't been overseas.

I've worked in quite a few jobs over the last 5 years, such is the nature of my trade. Of all the workmates I've had, the ones I remember most are the ones who have travelled the world. Some of the stories I've heard of people's travels through Europe, America, Asia, etc. are too entertaining to not listen to (quite a lot of them are way too dodgy to repeat here). It's not bragging, they've experienced something different and they're sharing it with someone who's interested in hearing it. It's lead me to the conclusion that life isn't just about accumulating wealth and assets and pumping out kids within the comfort zone of your home city/town. So what happens next? You die, and you just spent your whole life accumulating money that you never got to spend. I guess everyone is different and some people like the idea of that kind of life, but I just think life is too short to spend your time like that.

There is even an Aussie travel w***ers itinerary in Europe: running with the bulls, Ibiza, Gallipoli, Beerfest etc

They all seem to think having as many pieces of crap as you possibly can tied around your wrist is the height of cool.

There is even an Aussie travel w***ers itinerary in Europe: running with the bulls, Ibiza, Gallipoli, Beerfest etc

They all seem to think having as many pieces of crap as you possibly can tied around your wrist is the height of cool.

Sure is. Their called the Fanatics.

I would say they are the complete opposite to the pretentious travel w***ers the OP and majority of the thread is talking about.

The Fanatics to me are a bunch of people (probably bogans) who travle to support Aussie teams and get pissed.

Travel w***ers are the ones that degrade other people's experiences by insisting they've been somewhere better, cheaper, more obscure, less toursity etc etc.

How is going to Octoberfest, Running with the bulls, Gloucester Cheese Hill or Bunol for the tomato throwing, travel w***erish?

When I go to Europe these things will be one of the things I will wanna do. They are massive events for both locals and people all over the world, I wouldn't fly over there just to run with the bulls, but when I'm there I'm not going to let and opportunity pass by.

The Fanatics to me are a bunch of people (probably bogans) who travle to support Aussie teams and get pissed.

They also run a travel company out of Covent Garden in London. Basically every trip is one big p1ss up which attracts a certain class of Aussie. Not my cup of tea I guess, but each to their own. On the continent I enjoy a drink as much as anyone, and have had many a big night in some bizarre places. But I am not going to write myself off for the whole trip to the extent where I can't see any of the sights. After all thats one of the main reason why I live over here and put up with this sh1tty weather.

Travel w***ers only topped by Wine w***ers and soon to be joined by the growing scourge of Coffee w***ers :D

Does this count?

Posted by bit pattern in the Macchu Pichu thread on this board .

Over priced, over populated and over rated. I have seen more impressive ruins in S.A, although admittedly the scenery around Machu Picchu is second to none, it´s just no fun when it has thousands of obnoxious, rich, middle aged, American tourists thronging all over it. And the prices are out of control, I mean 15 /s for a freaking gatorade! That´s western prices! The worst thing about the cost is that it prices out the local population, effectively denying them access to their own cultural heritage. It is quite a sore spot with the locals, during the national strike they were blocking all road access up there in protest about that and the fact that the exorbitantly priced train is run by a British company and none of the profits go back into the community.

I found Pisac, Ollyantambo and Urubamba to be much more impressive, in terms of the actual ruins and the quality of stonework. And places like La Cuidad in Colombia is the sixe of MP but without the obscene tourist influx.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I don't get it :confused: What exactly about that screams w***er?

OMG, i think i might have a touch of number 2. :eek::eek::eek: The reason i say this i remember telling people to go to berlin because westerners will soon fk it up.

hahahaha, i know what you mean though it's a pretty pathetic way to carry on. I actually think i'm a shit traveller.. :thumbsd::thumbsd:

What do you mean by westerners?

Reading this thread I have probably been guilty of being a travel w***er.

I have a mate who bought a house when he was in his mid 20s and is now pretty much working to pay for that house. While I was over in London I sent him an email telling him to get his arse over there, plenty of work for tradies, you can work here, rent your house out and earn better money, plus experience something different. It all made perfect sense to me, but he wouldn't have a bar of it. When I came back and told him a few stories his level of interest didn't seem to be that high.

Also agree with those who expressed their chagrin at aussies travelling overseas, though they are usually the visible aussies that are the problem. The ones that are in big groups all wearing the same shit (board shorts, singlets, southern cross tattoos), strutting around like they are god's gift and they own the joint. They are generally the ones who take the package deals and leave their itinerary up to someone else so they can spend more time drinking.

Oh and I really don't see a problem with Gallipoli, pamplona and Oktoberfest. I had some of my best travelling experience at pamplona, Gallipoli was very moving and I'd really like to do Oktoberfest some day as well.

Good thread :thumbsu:

This thread really reminds me of the book (and to a lesser extent, the movie) "The Beach". Basically these 3 tourists find a secret island in Thailand inhabited by jaded travellers who are sick of other tourists. All the people living there are there because they love travelling, but feel that everywhere popular has been spoiled by tourism. I kind of understand where they are coming from, but mostly the attitude just pisses me off. True w***erism. Good book though.

Book is different to the movie. Same general plot, but quite a few of the characters are different and a few other things happen. The movie has much more sex. It's worth reading if you liked the movie, it was written by a guy called Alex Garland.

Reading this thread I have probably been guilty of being a travel w***er.

I have a mate who bought a house when he was in his mid 20s and is now pretty much working to pay for that house. While I was over in London I sent him an email telling him to get his arse over there, plenty of work for tradies, you can work here, rent your house out and earn better money, plus experience something different. It all made perfect sense to me, but he wouldn't have a bar of it. When I came back and told him a few stories his level of interest didn't seem to be that high.

Also agree with those who expressed their chagrin at aussies travelling overseas, though they are usually the visible aussies that are the problem. The ones that are in big groups all wearing the same shit (board shorts, singlets, southern cross tattoos), strutting around like they are god's gift and they own the joint. They are generally the ones who take the package deals and leave their itinerary up to someone else so they can spend more time drinking.

Oh and I really don't see a problem with Gallipoli, pamplona and Oktoberfest. I had some of my best travelling experience at pamplona, Gallipoli was very moving and I'd really like to do Oktoberfest some day as well.

Good thread :thumbsu:

Thats them, they arrive pissed at 2 in the afternoon in Phuket on a daily basis! Arseclowns.

I have asked a few of them why they feel the need to drink 12 beers on a plane starting at 8am - the same answer is always forthcoming - "cos its free mate, free beer mate, how goods that.... "

Aussie, Aussie, Aussie....
:D

Thats them, they arrive pissed at 2 in the afternoon in Phuket on a daily basis! Arseclowns.

I have asked a few of them why they feel the need to drink 12 beers on a plane starting at 8am - the same answer is always forthcoming - "cos its free mate, free beer mate, how goods that.... "

Aussie, Aussie, Aussie....
:D
Ha ha... Yes.

I was going to add that before I left for my first serious travel overseas, I heard from a number of people that "they love us overseas", I soon found out after seeing a drunk Australian on the roof of a car in San Sebastian, that this is most certainly not the case.

Vietnamese coffee is the best, but only when you get it IN Vietnam.

haha - I loved Vietnamese Coffee with that condensed milk in it.... I even bought a couple of those little perculator things back to Oz with a plan of making it back here.... how many times have i used it....BZZZZ! NONE! lol. I guess once I had access to the kettle or a cuppa from the local cafe, the little perculator all of a sudden became hard work and lost all its charm. :D

I guess one tries to not be a travel w***er but when you have actually been to a lot of places and people say something like "...I am going to KL and got a pretty good deal at Hotel X, do you know it? .." what are you supposed to say?

For me I think the difference is "don't go there - the drinks are overpriced/the cleaner pinched my wallet/you can get a better deal at hotel x" is ok, whilst "How can you STAY THERE, those big chain hotels simply oppress the local populace/Don't go THERE, it's full of TOURISTS" is w***erish.