Opinion Travis Varcoe

Assuming Varcoe is worth pick 10 in any draft, would you trade him?

• Yes

Votes: 48 39.7%
  • No

Votes: 30 24.8%
  • Get stuffed Meto

Votes: 43 35.5%

I'd love to know what "X factor" actually means. I'm thinking it gets redefined as "we love this player, we can't provide actual figures that justify his inclusion, so we'll just say 'X-factor' ".

X factor= WOWISM.
Uncanny ability to run, handpass quicker than we can see, ask Chappy 09 GF, dazzling goals in the blink of an eye, 2011 GF, and the lapses.
SJ, Motlop, Rioli, Jetta, Wojo, Buddy, X factor = not ordinary. If we had a team with zero X factors, I doubt I'd be as enticed to go.
And as if you don't define X factor in a similar way - I can bet that's exactly what you reckon X factor means.
I love them at times, but there is the other side to them.

I am a huge Varcoe fan but he looks to be specialising in chasing tail and being " where the ball isn't " at the moment , actuallly correct that - for quite a few weeks. He's not pulling his weight at 7 possessions no matter how many tackles or pressure acts he manages.
He doesn't look like a natural small forward like Chappy and Motlop has him covered as the attacking player defensive side of centre ( a role Varcoe can play well)
Where do we see his role in the Finals ? Unless he starts to make more impact he could be missing in September:(

Answer = rd 1 2013. That is how I want Varcoe to be this year, and what he is aiming for, and where he is best suited.
But you are correct, we are hanging out for that impact, after all the time we had without him, the withdrawal symptoms are not being well treated at present.

wasn't obsessed with footy until last year and i had a social life until then

I remember being 15.

Sitting out the front of the bottlo waiting for an 'of age' person to walk past and sling them $14 for 5 cans of Old Crow.

These days I'm guessing this is the norm:

gnqivgx.jpg

I remember being 15.

Sitting out the front of the bottlo waiting for an 'of age' person to walk past and sling them $14 for 5 cans of Old Crow.

These days I'm guessing this is the norm:

gnqivgx.jpg
I remember 15 selling papers outside the Queen of the West to feed myself.

if you're suggesting that ppl who watch footy regularly ''have no life'' why the shit are you on a football forum?
why do people think the worst of things, cause one says something it automatically means another. i do get where you are coming from as this is a forum though..
i used to play this online game and i said above what my age is but i was proud of having 35k posts..

why do people think the worst of things, cause one says something it automatically means another. i do get where you are coming from as this is a forum though..
i used to play this online game and i said above what my age is but i was proud of having 35k posts..
Ummm , why would you say something that is ambiguous and can be interpreted as a insult?
And we don't care what your age is on a online game, if you want talk games looks for the video games board.
Oh and fix your sentence structure, I have got better things to do than interpret your sentences.

Hang on, before coming here you had 35k posts on an online game and also had a life....:rolleyes:
Never mind, welcome, we need new blood, most of the other posters here are well past their use by date.:D

Varcoe at his best is a very good and important player. He has also played well in some great wins for the club so obviously gets a lot credit from the supporters and his team mates.

But lets not shy away from the fact, when not at his best, he contributes very little and is actually a major problem for the side because he does not commit mentally or physically to the task at hand. In those great Geelong sides, we could probably carry a player, who was a little inconsistent with his physical commitment. I don't think we can anymore, especially when Moltop already provides that run and carry (and more) that Varcoe was so crucial for.

Only the very best players can make a contribution with limited preparation, Varcoe is not in that category. Chapman, for example, may well be.

Agree with some of that. When he's fit Varcoe is a gut runner, a strong tackler and a goal sneak. But he's clearly struggling at the moment. Give him a game or two in the VFL to improve his fitness and touch. If he shows some form then bring him back in.

Chappy should come back into the firsts before he gets suspended for clocking another fool who is trying to make a name for himself.

Out : Varcoe
in : Chapman

Agree with some of that. When he's fit Varcoe is a gut runner, a strong tackler and a goal sneak. But he's clearly struggling at the moment. Give him a game or two in the VFL to improve his fitness and touch. If he shows some form then bring him back in.

Chappy should come back into the firsts before he gets suspended for clocking another fool who is trying to make a name for himself.

Out : Varcoe
in : Chapman

This seems reasonable to me unless folks think time in the VFL is counterproductive to getting him "up to speed" in the real stuff?....

I do.
He can , does, and will come good.
Chappy going to WA is unnecessary given his hamstring history. If anyone does not think an OLD player, with ragged hammies is not going to be worse off after a 3&1/2 hour plane trip is ignorant.
The week after makes much more sense.

I do.
Chappy going to WA is unnecessary given his hamstring history. If anyone does not think an OLD player, with ragged hammies is not going to be worse off after a 3&1/2 hour plane trip is ignorant.

Better talk to the Geelong staff.
CS said quite clearly and expressly last week that they had considered the issue in their planning for his return and decided that the trip was not an issue.
I don't see why you would play Paul Chapman in the 2nds now that he has proved that he is (a) fit and (b) in form.

how many times a day did you use to spank the monkey when you were 15?

Well I didn't keep count. But hell, a bump in the road and you were up at that age. Usually praying for it to go down before the bus arrived at school.

I do.

Plus of course another full game in the VFL isn't going to hurt him at all.