• Thread starter Thread starter fpm84

we are short a bluey in the mids......

Go Catters
I reckon that was our problem this year.
Was the first time in many a year that we didn't have a bloodnutt in the team

I think we have enough contested ball winning mids+he is pretty slow so I don't think that he is the best option for us. I reckon we will ideally go for Menzel/Stringer/Garlett (if they're available) or a KPD even if they are not necessarily worth a first round pick, solely because we need one to groom for 2-3 years time when Lonergan retires.
Thts exactly wat we need. Contested ball winning mids mate

Christensen, Caddy, Hyphen are all inside mids, while Duncan was spending more minutes in the middle this season whenever Corey or Kelly rested.

Duncan could actually become one of our best mids as he wins his own footy, skills are brilliant and has deceptive pace & size to hold his own.
Throw in Selwood and then Kelly/Bartel who are still 29 and good for another 2-3 years, if we get one more quality mid like a Menzel....I reckon Wells may be content.

Maybe as stop-gaps or flankers but their time in the middle won't last the rest of their careers, especially Bartel - it has already been made known that his role as bits n' pieces guy will continue in 2013.

Yep Scott said both would be moed out of the midfield next year so I reckon Bartel will play in a backet pocket an Kelly on a black wing.

I can see Kelly doing what Hayes, Bolton, Harvey have done as he spent a good portion of his career playing half back and rotating all over the ground but I agree with you on Jimmy

Kelly on a black wing.

no way man, he's our 2nd best mid behind Selwood, he just had a relatively quiet season in comparison to last but he'll be back to his AA best 2013.

Christensen, Caddy, Hyphen are all inside mids, while Duncan was spending more minutes in the middle this season whenever Corey or Kelly rested.

Duncan could actually become one of our best mids as he wins his own footy, skills are brilliant and has deceptive pace & size to hold his own.
Throw in Selwood and then Kelly/Bartel who are still 29 and good for another 2-3 years, if we get one more quality mid like a Menzel....I reckon Wells may be content.

Exactly the point i was trying to make :).
Duncan is going to be amazing, as will christensen, caddy and hyphen. That game against essendon earlier this year was unbelievable by Duncan. If he can consistently play at that level our midfield will be as good as the glory years, especially once bundy has an uninterupted, injury free preseason and season. Duncan is probably the best kick in our team as well

no way man, he's our 2nd best mid behind Selwood, he just had a relatively quiet season in comparison to last but he'll be back to his AA best 2013.

This is just what Chris Scott said. Not sure if it will actually go through.

did he?
Thought it was just on Bartel but that would be very surprising if he also moved Kelly but then again, we need the younger guys to start lifting their game and no better way to do so than take responsibility without the champions beside them for a change.
Just don't be surprised to see the opposition kick 4-6 unanswered goals and kill of the game is all :)

GWS are obviously in the best position to take Troy given the amount of picks they have and the fact they can afford to take it slow with whatever rehab or just overall safeguards they need to take with his knees.

They are also in the best position to lose him in 2 years time given their similar list squeeze to the GC.

I am just trying to remember back when such a likely first round draftee has made such a strong media pitch to play at the club his brother plays at? Nothing really or readily springs to mind.

I have no idea whats going to happen, but surely it would serve as plenty of food for thought for other clubs.

I am just trying to remember back when such a likely first round draftee has made such a strong media pitch to play at the club his brother plays at? Nothing really or readily springs to mind.
I have no idea whats going to happen, but surely it would serve as plenty of food for thought for other clubs.

Anthony Rocca?

I can see that Bartel adds a lot of value as a utility that can influence a game wherever he is needed most.

But I don't understand the logic of moving Kelly out of the midfield. Is it to preserve his body?

that's why I chose him with our high pick as there could be teams working things out together and although it's like a job and you can't ask to work closer to home, just got a hunch, he may get his way.

Dunno...perhaps he could use his knee injury as an excuse and say he can only see a local specialist over the coming years so if you draft me, be prepared for me to fly to Melbourne every couple of months as part of the rehab :)

for both of them?

I would have thought for either of them, yes.
For either of them them to get through to pick 16, it really means that 9 other clubs have to be scared off by their respective injury histories, which seems to me to be an extremely remote possibility.
But who knows?

Chances are they will both be gone. Probably a 10% chance* that one of them will slide to us.

* 10% figure based on detailed statistical analysis of my back of my left hand
The back of your left hand seems to know more about list analysis than Terry Wallace I suggest we christen the back of your left hand "The List Manager Delux":p

that's why I chose him with our high pick as there could be teams working things out together and although it's like a job and you can't ask to work closer to home, just got a hunch, he may get his way.

Dunno...perhaps he could use his knee injury as an excuse and say he can only see a local specialist over the coming years so if you draft me, be prepared for me to fly to Melbourne every couple of months as part of the rehab :)

I think thats draft tampering unfortunately. But, I feel like other clubs will allow him to slip because he has the injury, and out of sympathy for him and Denzel. Also, it is a very strong draft in terms of early picks, so clubs won't lose too much by passing him by