TSL licenses 2014

Reading the paper, now Burnie are threatening to leave the SWL if Devonport/Mersey dont play!. I think they would just be after even more money as usual.
So how do AFLTas fund Burnie, Devonport/Mersey, South/Prospect, Launy, Kingston, Hobart City, Clarence & Lauderdale above the odds? I reckon all clubs are struggling with low crowds & tight sponsorship.

Reading the paper, now Burnie are threatening to leave the SWL if Devonport/Mersey dont play!. I think they would just be after even more money as usual.
So how do AFLTas fund Burnie, Devonport/Mersey, South/Prospect, Launy, Kingston, Hobart City, Clarence & Lauderdale above the odds? I reckon all clubs are struggling with low crowds & tight sponsorship.

Mad mug the longer this goes on the more I think the chances of a SWL continuing next year are 25% or lower.
The link to the article from today Mercury about Burnie withdrawing from the SWL is listed below
http://www.themercury.com.au/article/2013/07/18/383698_sport-news.html
An interesting article from yesterday Mercury In regard to Peter Gutwein Bass MP called for a parliamentary inquiry into the indigenous game. Most of the readers’ comments state the same thing AFL Tasmania is Accountable to No one.
http://www.themercury.com.au/article/2013/07/16/383522_afl.html

Mad mug the longer this goes on the more I think the chances of a SWL continuing next year are 25% or lower.
The link to the article from today Mercury about Burnie withdrawing from the SWL is listed below
http://www.themercury.com.au/article/2013/07/18/383698_sport-news.html
An interesting article from yesterday Mercury In regard to Peter Gutwein Bass MP called for a parliamentary inquiry into the indigenous game. Most of the readers’ comments state the same thing AFL Tasmania is Accountable to No one.
http://www.themercury.com.au/article/2013/07/16/383522_afl.html

Thanks for putting those up. All the punters want is to see their teams go out & play each week. They like to see the juniors come through, they like to see the good experience players look after them. They like to follow the two's, their friends & families come along. They like to stick around for the after match presentations & have a beer or softy.
Not now. Its dead.
Who wants to see a lot of kids run around pretending to be senior footballers. The public are sick of that & of hearing of nothing but clubs chopping & changing. WHY?
The ONLY news is, What are AFLTas up to next? Whats the next disaster going to be? The footy doesnt rate in the news anymore.

S

Stop the press!!! AFL Tas has given Burnie an assurance that a team will play out of the Devonport area in 2014. Is that the same as the 2009 assurance? Clubs will own the licenses, no changes at all in the first five years of the league & if you follow the financial guidelines & field the required number of teams your club will remain in the TSL. The little wooduck down at Argyle st must have lost count of how many times he has been kissed on the dick by a fairy.He is a liar & along with his little mate from Federal Group has systematically fornicated football in this state, along with some innocent footy clubs.

Lets be honest, the current TSL is a joke. The average age of most clubs players is under 21. The sides that win flags in the afl has an average age of 25-26. There is an issue right there already.
Yes the comp is there to develop young players so they can be drafted. But the standard of the comp is terrible, Hobart and Devonport are in a really bad way, I am doubting that anymore than half a dozen players from both sides would make any other tsl club.

Deleting the reserves has made the competition even more of a joke as there are always battles to fill sides in the middle of the seasons. This should not be the case in the top league.

Also watching win news the other night a 15-16 year old lauderdale boy playing in the seniors (full credit to him) but this is not right he is under 60kg and is likely to be concussed or badly injured as he tiny. This should not be happening in the TSL.

I can honestly see the comp failing in the next year or 2. I know North L are unsure of what they are doing next year as they are not convinced there will be a TSL!!

I was only thinking this myself the other day. Can remember watching games where the average age would have been 25-27(slightly more when Don Macleod played) and the quality of football was much higher and the crowds were much larger. All clubs still had younger juniors that were worth a game in the seniors and many were drafted. Would be interesting to see the draft results through the years compared against all the different league set-ups Tasmania has suffered through the last 10-15 years.

Would love to have been a fly on the wall at todays luncheon at aurora stadium.Jeff Kennett payed out big time on Scott Wade in front of a packed house. Called him un- tasmanian and intent on the destruction of football in the state. He also said he was a nuisance & short lol

wow, pity he didn't payout on the absent board members as well
Scott Wade is missing,and very quite !!
Must be in England watching the cricket (please stay their )
anyone confirm this

wow, pity he didn't payout on the absent board members as well
Scott Wade is missing,and very quite !!
Must be in England watching the cricket (please stay their )
anyone confirm this

Attended a Kingborough Old Players lunch down at the twin ovals I believe.

Interesting articles from Tassie Papers yesterday
From the Mercury “AFL's eye is on the ball” By Dominic Baker
http://www.themercury.com.au/article/2013/07/20/383803_afl.html#comment

From the Advocate “Clubs in the dark” By Brad Cole
http://www.theadvocate.com.au/story/1647939/clubs-in-the-dark/?cs=88

From the Examiner “Kennett blast for Wade” By Corey Martin
http://www.examiner.com.au/story/1650910/kennett-blast-for-wade/?cs=96

The latter is more to do with the Hawthorn arrangement, but this balance’s out the spin piece from Dominic Baker in the Mercury.

Attended a Kingborough Old Players lunch down at the twin ovals I believe.

Wade and Baker were both there as past players, neither spoke to the crowd in regard to the new Kingborough team of the SWL which was disappointing!

Incremental change is obviously not a term that AFL Tasmania embrace.

Not when you can bring in a rocket launcher and really have a crack!

Incremental change is obviously not a term that AFL Tasmania embrace.

Not when you can bring in a rocket launcher and really have a crack!

More like they have pulled the trigger & shot themselves in the arse with it!

I have no idea why AFLTas have declared war on club football. I mean how can they run all 10 clubs? At this rate the clubs will have no supporters, no members & no volunteers. Given the growing stench surrounding AFLTas, who will look at sponsoring them & the clubs? I cant see them financially supporting all 10. They'll need $300k for each of them plus umpires, plus their own administration, just to stand still, let alone grow the competition.
Regional teams will pick up the crowds & sponsors. With some decent coin they will raid the 10 AFLTas clubs of good players.

What a mess they have caused.

Is this all some kind of social experiment? Are the AFL big boys behind this? If so, why? If they are, then we will need a lot of help from politicians & the media.

Whose game is it anyway? theirs or ours?

Why would any team commit to a ten year TSL agreement under the current conditions and uncertain circumstances?

Why wouldn't the current southern TSL clubs ask Kingborough and New Norfolk to join them in a seven team local league and tell Wade et al to take a running jump? Such a competition would have a 21 round season, each team playing every other team three times with three byes interspersed. Each pair of teams could play one at home, one away and one neutral venue (e.g. North Hobart and/or Bellerive) where the revenue at the neutral venue matches was pooled and evenly shared between all the clubs. There could be two 2pm Saturday afternoon games and the neutral venue game could be a Sunday 2pm afternoon game, with Easter Monday and QB Monday being the exceptions to the Sunday programme. Open the season with a lightning premiership day with the premiers of the SFL being asked to participate as the 8th team. Market the cr*p out of the Sunday games with prizes from sponsors such as Qantas or Virgin available to be won by people in attendance. Encourage and welcome back all the old supporters. Maybe get Kingborough to be the Seagulls in blue and white as a tie-in with North Melbourne and a throwback to the Sandy Bay days. Play a final four with the traditional first semi, second semi, prelim final and grand finals being on a Sunday afternoon where there is little overlap with the AFL as their finals are never on a Sunday after week one.

The SFL would indirectly benefit as the dominant New Norfolk and Kingborough leaving, would mean that the competition would become dramatically more even and competitive.

Maybe get Kingborough to be the Seagulls in blue and white as a tie-in with North Melbourne and a throwback to the Sandy Bay days. .

Sandy Bay are never coming back into senior football, Yes they were a great club, but they went down due nobody caring about them until it was to late.

Just a gripe which has nothing to do with this thread but to me sums up the big brother approach.

Can anyone tell me when we started playing "AFL" and stopped playing Australian Rules Football.

I know it is a small point, but hell the AFL are the governing national body (right or wrong!). I didn't play AFL, it was good old simple Aussie Rules.

It shits me no end that they have branded it that we play AFL.

Lets look after OUR game, instead of being pushed around like sheep led to the slaughter.

It's actually "Australian football"...got corrected on that one myself...! Apparently it's the term northern rugby staters gave the game way back...so AFL added to a state name is actually the correct term...on it's own though, it's AF...

A lot of Tasmanians have always called it Aussie Rules though...

It's actually "Australian football"...got corrected on that one myself...! Apparently it's the term northern rugby staters gave the game way back...so AFL added to a state name is actually the correct term...on it's own though, it's AF...

A lot of Tasmanians have always called it Aussie Rules though...

Thanks for the reply as it is always appreciated.

However I still hear people saying they play AFL which I suppose is my petty gripe.

I shall take a deep breath and bury my gripe in the back yard with the lolly cigarettes & cigars (not PC- but taste sensational!!!!!!!)

Living here in SW Brisbane, absolutely...a footy backwater, they know nothing...as a teacher, listening to Qlder PE teachers get it wrong every time...! The kids have no idea what you are talking about if you say anything but AFL...I do like correcting them when it comes to greatest game in the world arguments though...!

Reading the 'reliable' old Mercury this morning. Looks like all is well with the TSL. All lovey dovey, all sins forgiven. Also a letter from the Ulverstone President about Devonport.
Mind you its was interesting to see it was only Young, Clarence & Burnie trotted out for the photo opp & comment. Two clubs who did SO well out of the funding of TSLs first 5 years.
The fact that we now get the reserves players back is great. Its a pity that the clubs went through hell having to get rid of so many valuable people & their friends & families 2 years ago. All for bloody nothing!!!
That is so typical of AFLTas & their adhoc, make it up as you go planning.
We still have no Hobart city team. Will Hobart & North Hobart just roll over?

I wont change my support, NEVER. I doubt that many Hobart & North supporters & volunteers will
bother with the made up AFLTas team. Good luck with Bill Sorrel in the canteen cooking 2 or 3 pies for the crowd!!

Now that the ressies are coming back next year, this means that Kingborough will need to find players for both senior and reserves SWL plus Senior reserves and colts in the SFL. That's 5 teams, Glenorchy tried this a couple of years ago and it didn't work, how the hell is a new club going to find players and support staff?? how much extra money are AFLTAS pumping into this club??

I dont see any former reserves players heading back to TSL. It will just be the colts players and anyone on the senior list who gets dropped and is older than 23. It basically means some young kids will now miss out on getting games. I thoughtAFL Tas got rid of the twos to help development? Now they are bringing it back so older blokes can get games in place of kids. Good for development I'd say ! :D:D

Now that the ressies are coming back next year, this means that Kingborough will need to find players for both senior and reserves SWL plus Senior reserves and colts in the SFL. That's 5 teams, Glenorchy tried this a couple of years ago and it didn't work, how the hell is a new club going to find players and support staff?? how much extra money are AFLTAS pumping into this club??

AFLTas money did nothing for Devonport or South Launy. What you need is a business plan & good volunteers & supporters to make a club work.
Just seeing the photo of the 3 stooges in Mercury saying 'all is well' makes me wonder if we will have a sustainable TSL. A new Hobart City team made up of NHFC & HFC, & Kingboroughs 5 teams just dont look possible.
How long will Devonport be propped up for? At least Ulverstone want nothing to do with it. How does Prospect Hawks affect Launy & North Launy? Those two clubs didnt seem happy about the changes. How much money can AFLTas throw at the cracks in TSL 2, that THEY have caused?
Proper business plan? Never seen one from this mob.

More letters to the editor in the paper today. A good one from P.Thurlow from Riverside. Also one from Roger G.S.Viney. Clarence footy club, what a suck hole.
Its ok for Viney to say what Tassie footy needs, especially when his club gets the golden handshake.
Showing some respect for the footy public, club members & volunteers might help, but its probably a bit too late for that?
Hopefully the State Parliament shining a bit of light in the Argyle st rat hole might do some good.
We live in hope.