TV rights

someday-somehow

Check out this link guys, for us poor folk that cannot afford foxtel we are now being ripped of the early sunday afternoon game on free to air that previously got us many GFC games.

http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/realfooty/articles/2007/02/05/1170524030567.html

Now with only 4 games to choose from both 7 and 10 will go for the highest rating potential so prepare for a Essendon, Richmond & Collingwood (groan) flood on free to air. I think this sucks the big one and this can only hurt AFL as the grass roots supporter is usually not a Foxtel subscriber. One only has to look at Boxing to realise how pay tv has hurt it's exposure, in the 70's boxing was huge, now most people would be hard pressed to tell you who is the current world heavyweight.:thumbsd:

let's not deal with semantics here...you get my point

yeah I like the boxing and think it sucks that you can not get regular top notch fights with out paying just for that fight. What's next for the afl "pay per view" matches .... This week collingwood v's cartlon anzac day game exclusive to pay per view order now for the low pice of $50 or even worse the AFL GF. I definately dont want to see the AFL end up like boxing where you can only watch the average games unless you are willing to shell out for specific games.

Check out this link guys, for us poor folk that cannot afford foxtel we are now being ripped of the early sunday afternoon game on free to air that previously got us many GFC games.

why not just go to the local and have few quiet ones while watching the game?

yeah I like the boxing and think it sucks that you can not get regular top notch fights with out paying just for that fight. What's next for the afl "pay per view" matches .... This week collingwood v's cartlon anzac day game exclusive to pay per view order now for the low pice of $50 or even worse the AFL GF. I definately dont want to see the AFL end up like boxing where you can only watch the average games unless you are willing to shell out for specific games.

I hope given that Foxtel eventually dropped that extra subscription fee making it that anyone who had Foxtel got the Fox Footy Channel also they then realised their money was in advertising and value adding and not sucking the life blood out of football paying customers.

I hope it never gets to that....but you do wonder with the big bucks flying around in the industry these days.

Where can I find out what the deal is for Sydney viewers?
Man, if you guys are complaining about the lack of FTA footy down there, I'm not liking the odds of it being any good up here.:thumbsd:

I hope given that Foxtel eventually dropped that extra subscription fee making it that anyone who had Foxtel got the Fox Footy Channel also they then realised their money was in advertising and value adding and not sucking the life blood out of football paying customers.

I hope it never gets to that....but you do wonder with the big bucks flying around in the industry these days.

Let's hope that the new fox footy is part of the package, it really irks me that I have to fork out for 8 channels of crap then pay more to get what I really wanted in the first place (and then watch ads)

there is no fox footy channel anymore. The AFL will be played on fox sports 3 which is not in the basic package so I think the minimum monthly fee to get basic and the sports will be about $50-55

http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/realfooty/articles/2007/02/05/1170524030567.html

Now with only 4 games to choose from both 7 and 10 will go for the highest rating potential so prepare for a Essendon, Richmond & Collingwood (groan) flood on free to air. I think this sucks the big one and this can only hurt AFL as the grass roots supporter is usually not a Foxtel subscriber. One only has to look at Boxing to realise how pay tv has hurt it's exposure, in the 70's boxing was huge, now most people would be hard pressed to tell you who is the current world heavyweight.:thumbsd:

I sympathise with you from the POV of money needed to be spent AND the 'blockbuster' focus of games that means the less supported clubs could miss out. BUT, I already have Foxtel and it will only cost me $5 extra per month, bringing my total to about $50 per month (from memory). Therefore, I think it's kinda worth it and personally I love watching the games on Foxtel because the coverage is better. NO ads, quite good comentators, replays at recordable times of the day/night etc. PLUS, because I'm married and hardly go out any more ;) it's an entertainment expense that I see as justifiable in my situation. PLUS they replay the games that were shown on FTA (or at least they used to, imagine they will again).

Also, I think it's a good thing for Australian viewers of Australian Rules Football, Perth, Adelaide, Sydney, Brisbane, NT and rural fans.

For what it's worth, and I know you used boxing as an example so I'm not criticising you, but I hate boxing and am glad to never see it.

You can get the basic package with sports for $52.90 per month according to their website.

I honestly don't think $55 per month is such a big outlay. Most people would spend more on a Saturday night out on the town. But I will believe it all when they officially announce it because we have heard this too many times to count.

Thats good news for us Foxtel subscribers, as Mooney said the coverage is much better on foxtel then FTA TV.

Hopefully a decent amount of games for all teams for people without foxtel tho.

I don't think it will change much for NSW viewers, with (i think) the difference being the early morning replayed game on either Sunday or Saturday not being there anymore.

I'll be going to most, if not all Geelong matches in Vic so it doesn't affect me that much, but for Roos, Cats and probably Demons and Dogs supporters interstate it isn't so good.

Foxtel will get to choose the 'best' Saturday arvo match every second week, alternating with Ch.10, they get the early Sun. match and twilight matches which are quite good looking at the fixtures.

At least the games will be live or close to it on Fox instead of Ch.10 and 7 replaying them at terrible hours for interstate viewers.

The only bad part is i like taping Geelong games and watching them when i get home from the footy..........btw- how many of our matches are the EARLY Sunday games?? I thought some home matches for example were sometimes played at 2pm because there were other matches interstate that already had the 1pm starting time.

The only bad part is i like taping Geelong games and watching them when i get home from the footy..........

Me too.

btw- how many of our matches are the EARLY Sunday games?? I thought some home matches for example were sometimes played at 2pm because there were other matches interstate that already had the 1pm starting time.

4 early starts:
Round 4 April 22 V Hawthorn, Tassie, 1.10pm start
R7, May 13 v West Coast, Skilled, 1.10pm
R11 Adelaide 12.40pm
R12 Bris at Skilled 1.10pm

3 twilights
4 night games

4 early starts:
Round 4 April 22 V Hawthorn, Tassie, 1.10pm start
R7, May 13 v West Coast, Skilled, 1.10pm
R11 Adelaide 12.40pm
R12 Bris at Skilled 1.10pm

3 twilights
4 night games

Thanks.

It looks like we will be screwed with this new deal......although when we start finishing higher up the ladder then we will surely get more Friday night games and (hopefully) more FTA coverage.

I wish we played more Sat arvo games also, there are hardly any this season, we have the big one v Collingwood at the G and i think one at K.P.

The good part about this deal, disregarding Geelong for a second, is that with the Sunday twilight games not on FTA, the attendances for these games will not be heavily affected, and with it being (to me and many others) the worst possible timeslot to have games on if you want a decent attendance, bar of course a Sunday night game.

Thanks.

It looks like we will be screwed with this new deal......although when we start finishing higher up the ladder then we will surely get more Friday night games and (hopefully) more FTA coverage.

I wish we played more Sat arvo games also, there are hardly any this season, we have the big one v Collingwood at the G and i think one at K.P.

The good part about this deal, disregarding Geelong for a second, is that with the Sunday twilight games not on FTA, the attendances for these games will not be heavily affected, and with it being (to me and many others) the worst possible timeslot to have games on if you want a decent attendance, bar of course a Sunday night game.

Yeah agreed, mostly. I think the only positive with the twilight games is that you can live most of a sunday before going to the game. BUT, if you have kids, there's probably no way you can take them. I don't, so it doesn't bother me as much, but I'm also a home-body, so I like to be home on sunday nights to 'cope' with getting ready for work the next day.

Anyway, enough about me...

why not just go to the local and have few quiet ones while watching the game?

For the price of a couple of coldies every weekend ya might as well subscribe to it anyway!

Ah well, at least you lot get some FTA games - I have to get a satellite subscription, pay extra for the channel that runs AFL games, and even then they only show one or two live games a week - which is at midnight :p

Suffice to say I don't have satellite so I'm stuck with bittorrents.

This is how I work it out providing 10 picks games week 1, then fox week 2 and so on.....

Channel 7 games

Round 1 Western Bulldogs vs. Geelong
Round 3 Melbourne vs. Geelong
Round 5 Geelong vs. Kangaroos
Round 14 Essendon vs. Geelong
Round 16 Geelong vs. Western Bulldogs
Round 19 Geelong vs. Adelaide
Round 20 Kangaroos vs. Geelong
Round 21 Geelong vs. Port Adelaide

Channel 10 games (providing they pick first round 1)

Round 2 Geelong vs. Carlton
Round 13 Geelong vs. Sydney
Round 15 Geelong vs. Collingwood
Round 18 Geelong vs. Richmond
Round 22 Brisbane Lions vs. Geelong

Foxtel/austar games

Round 4 Hawthorn vs. Geelong
Round 6 Richmond vs. Geelong (Tw)
Round 7 Geelong vs. West Coast
Round 8 Geelong vs. Fremantle ??
Round 9 Port Adelaide vs. Geelong (Tw)
Round 10 St. Kilda vs. Geelong (Tw)
Round 11 Adelaide vs. Geelong
Round 12 Geelong vs. Brisbane Lions
Round 17 Fremantle vs. Geelong

that could be about 13 games on FTA, 9 on fox

but some of my selctions could differ to what the broadcasters choose

This is how I work it out providing 10 picks games week 1, then fox week 2 and so on.....

Channel 7 games

Round 1 Western Bulldogs vs. Geelong
Round 3 Melbourne vs. Geelong
Round 5 Geelong vs. Kangaroos
Round 14 Essendon vs. Geelong
Round 16 Geelong vs. Western Bulldogs
Round 19 Geelong vs. Adelaide
Round 20 Kangaroos vs. Geelong
Round 21 Geelong vs. Port Adelaide

Channel 10 games (providing they pick first round 1)

Round 2 Geelong vs. Carlton
Round 13 Geelong vs. Sydney
Round 15 Geelong vs. Collingwood
Round 18 Geelong vs. Richmond
Round 22 Brisbane Lions vs. Geelong

Foxtel/austar games

Round 4 Hawthorn vs. Geelong
Round 6 Richmond vs. Geelong (Tw)
Round 7 Geelong vs. West Coast
Round 8 Geelong vs. Fremantle ??
Round 9 Port Adelaide vs. Geelong (Tw)
Round 10 St. Kilda vs. Geelong (Tw)
Round 11 Adelaide vs. Geelong
Round 12 Geelong vs. Brisbane Lions
Round 17 Fremantle vs. Geelong

that could be about 13 games on FTA, 9 on fox

but some of my selctions could differ to what the broadcasters choose
Thanks for doing that. I'm curious now on how many Cats games were on Foxtel last year.

All those that weren't on FTA (dunno the numbers though). Also, those shown on FTA were replayed on Fox Footy at other times, it was great (except we lost too often)!! Most memorably for me was the game versus Fremantle at Subi - an absolute cracker that probably not enough people saw.

I'm not sure if you're asking a question or telling me I'm stating the bleeding obvious. I'll assume it's a question. Yes, no sh*t, Foxtel covered everything that wasn't shown on FTA, it was a fantastic service, that's why people that had it miss it so much.

Geez mate, all I wanted to know was the number of Geelong games on both Foxtel and FTA last year so I could work out how much worse off those who don't have Foxtel are this year (for Geelong games anyway). No one likes a smarta*se..