amer

There were signs late last year, when the pace and intensity stepped up to finals standard against the pies, he looked like he didn't have the extra half a gear in him anymore. Just about every possession was rushed and as a result he was largely ineffective. I'm seeing the same thing this season. He looks like a bloke who has just lost half a step in his speed of decision making and skill execution, and it's stinging us.

Our year as a whole absolutely should not be written off, because our talent is too damned good not to stage some sort of recovery. But for Tyson I feel like it's something that's not going to go away. Looks like terminal decline to me, and I just wonder what's in store for him as the year drags on.

Does he play the year out or are things looking a little bleaker than that? As I said, it's not something that is just being noticed now, there were signs last year too which is the concerning thing.

Who knows? everyone has a slump in form, and this might be just that.

He was rather poor today though, I agree. Decision making uncharacteristically slow (but that seems to be a problem with the team as a whole) and kicking (normally his strength) was very lack-lustre.

Regardless, we can hardly afford to rest him, with our injury list as it is.

Lack of midfield depth means that he will play out the season, as he should. Like Goodwin and McLeod, will always be judged harshly because he has set such high standards in the past. Kicking errors and fumbles are noticed because he has usually been a very skilled player. Other players you barely bat an eyelid at when they make a mistake.

The one for me that is gone is Doughty. Game has gone passed him at pace. Save for two good spoils today he was ordinary and was much, much worse last week. Has had a completely uninterrupted preseason too and plays a pretty cushy role down back. No excuses for him, it's not like Edwards who is still being asked to mix it with the opposition's best midfielders.

Will definitely spend some time with the Panthers this season, possibly in the next month.

Lack of midfield depth means that he will play out the season, as he should. Like Goodwin and McLeod, will always be judged harshly because he has set such high standards in the past. Kicking errors and fumbles are noticed because he has usually been a very skilled player. Other players you barely bat an eyelid at when they make a mistake.

The one for me that is gone is Doughty. Game has gone passed him at pace. Save for two good spoils today he was ordinary and was much, much worse last week. Has had a completely uninterrupted preseason too and plays a pretty cushy role down back. No excuses for him, it's not like Edwards who is still being asked to mix it with the opposition's best midfielders.

Will definitely spend some time with the Panthers this season, possibly in the next month.

play out the season as he should? what are you talking about ,he has to earn his spot like everyone else:eek: edwards mcleod goodwin burton are not the future and we are not gonna win a flag with those boys hangin around

Yes, he's got to still be in our best 22 which he unquestionably is.

on the money amer, the decline started shortly after the best 300th game your likely to see. odd that, but he has lost a step and makes more errors than he ever has

Doughty has been THE MAJOR BENEFICIARY of the Craig gameplan of recent years of passing the ball backwards and mounting attacking plays from HB

The Crows have largely been able to run out of defense without heaps of pressure .......that suits Doughty's game .....he was also the player who most often took the safety play in kicking or handballing backwards rather than take the game on

The last two weeks he has been under pressure continously and not had the time/space of the last 4 years .........so far he's not handling the opposition tactics very well

Yeah ,I also have some concerns on Tyson. He used to be so clean and skilled, didnt waste a posession. Parts of last year ,and now these first two weeks, his kicking is missing a lot of targets. If he got the ball I50, it would be a goal..left or right foot, now its a rushed kick straight up in the air, or the ball landing in front of a leading team mate. He's been one of my favourites, so I hope he gets it back, but if he doesnt, he could be in his last few games. He has obviously lost a yard of pace, as seen with K.Jack running past him to mark and goal.
Doughty has still got his pace, never been the most skilled, but goes hard for the ball,and I think we still need that down back.

Disagree with this. Over the past 2 seasons in particular, his skills have been immaculate. He seems to be lacking confidence at present, which is resulting in some really awful fumbles and turnovers. He should benefit when Johncock returns, freeing him up to run up the field a bit more.

right, let's start tanking for that early draft pick. it's a good year for that. :rolleyes:

Why does everyone instantly associate ‘playing kids’ with tanking?

Why not look at it as, quickening up the learning and development process and determining of that player is up to it or not? get them acclimatised to AFL football as quick as possible or get them out.

If any of the older players form does not justify selection, don’t play them. We have to find a system and structure that will allow us to win a premiership and if it’s not this year Edwards, McLeod, Burton or Goodwin’s are not going to be part of it. If their form is not up to it – stop playing them. AFL football is a big business now, not pleasure.

Adding an extra 10 to 15 games to their total shouldn’t be a motivating factor, finding out if Tony Armstrong, Phil Davis, Shaun McKernan or Daniel Talia is. They are the future and getting 15 to 20 games into ASAP should be the priority of we are going to have a poor season. As soon as it looks like we are not going to win the premiership – start developing a long term strategy.

Had a slow start to last year as well.

Hopefully it's the same.
I would have said that he started well in 2009, fading badly towards the end (after playing his best ever game in his 300th - the Essendon Epic). This time last year we were all talking about Benjamin Button and how Edwards was drinking from the Fountain of Youth.

Conversely, I thought he showed signs of slowing down early in 2008, only to pull it all back together again as that season progressed.

Maybe I'm thinking of 08 then?

I don't know, I just remember me thinking this is the end early one season.
2008 sounds right. I remember being highly critical of him following a bad loss to Hawthorn when we played them in Tasmania early in the season. I was wondering back then if the end was getting near for him - 2 years down the track and he's still in the team.

I wouldn't write off anyone in the team at present. After two games in 2010 it is far too early. My gut feeling is that Tyson, Birdman, Macca, Goody and Doughty--all who have been questioned on this board of late--will play some top footy this year and be part of the reason we climb the ladder later in the year.
Players don't lose their talent and ability in a few weeks or even a few months. The team as a whole and the inflexible game-plan coupled with too heavy an early training load is where I think we have gone wrong.
The Crows are as flat as a tack. They look tired early in games.

Why does everyone instantly associate ‘playing kids’ with tanking?

there's a difference between playing youngsters in place of veterans if their form demands it, which is what you are rightly saying, and simply dropping everyone over the age of 32 because "they are not the future".

we are already playing young guys like Young who are completely out of their depth and guys like Cook and Armstrong who will no doubt improve in time but who are currently contributing to us being 0-2.

I wouldn't write off anyone in the team at present. After two games in 2010 it is far too early. My gut feeling is that Tyson, Birdman, Macca, Goody and Doughty--all who have been questioned on this board of late--will play some top footy this year and be part of the reason we climb the ladder later in the year.
Players don't lose their talent and ability in a few weeks or even a few months. The team as a whole and the inflexible game-plan coupled with too heavy an early training load is where I think we have gone wrong.
The Crows are as flat as a tack. They look tired early in games.

Agree...

Think that we are a little too harsh on Tyson. When we start playing the football we are capable of and the Thompson, Vince, Mackay and Van Berlo start dominating, players like Edwards will benefit from the extra space and also from less pressure and be the icing on the cake.