Roast Umpires are on the take

• Thread starter Thread starter jmac70

It was frustrating watching Geelong players get spun around fifty times in the tackle without a whistle (that Crameri one was particularly awful and of course followed by the regulation Selwood high contact free kick) but we sucked enough to lose it on our own today.

On a related note, I’m looking forward to Selwood retiring from footy just because it will make watching footy more appealing. I’m sick of watching the shoulder shrugging, knee dropping bullshit, it is a blight on the game.
I am seriously surprised someone hasn’t taken him out when he has ducked. I’m with you, blight on the game.

You're better than this guys.
It’s alright for you though isn’t it? Always getting a ride from the umps because you are just a little old country team.

It was frustrating watching Geelong players get spun around fifty times in the tackle without a whistle (that Crameri one was particularly awful and of course followed by the regulation Selwood high contact free kick) but we sucked enough to lose it on our own today.

On a related note, I’m looking forward to Selwood retiring from footy just because it will make watching footy more appealing. I’m sick of watching the shoulder shrugging, knee dropping bullshit, it is a blight on the game.
I loved the irony of seeing Selwood sook it up after he was pinged for taking Treloar high. Selwood certainly didn’t like the shoe being on the other foot!

Booo. Joel Selwood bashing really annoys me. He's a bloody champion. Go back and watch the YouTube videos of him supposedly cheating and getting high free kicks. Yeah, a heap of times he caused the high contact and shouldn't have got the free. But on most occasions he did not stop and play for the free. On most occasions he broke the tackle or at least got his hands free to fire off a handball. When tackles moved from the waist to pinning the arms, he was the first to work out to go low and push up tackle in order to break it. The frees were just a by-product. Others have since used it as a tactic to play for frees. I'm sure that you could find a few times that he's stopped, buckled at the knees and thrown his head back to play for frees, but I've seen Pendles do that more often than Selwood.

It’s alright for you though isn’t it? Always getting a ride from the umps because you are just a little old country team.

Are you serious? Yes, cats got a decent run today. But all year we’ve been averaging 26 frees for.

Perhaps look at Bucks gameplan getting picked apart 3 weeks straight, oh and player execution before you start whinging about the umps costing us the game.

Treloar missed at least 2 dead set certainties. He blazed away from the boundary on another occasion. Crisp also missed an easy running shot from 50m in the 3rd.

We kicked 5.15 ffs. And you wanna lay it on umps?

Yeah I know the bleeding hearts won’t like it, and granted he isn’t the one blowing the whistle.

However dropping your knees and lifting your arm, to cause a tackle around your torso to slide up to your neck/head, is not a tactic that gets you out of a tackle, it is a tactic that draws a free kick for high contact.

I don’t like it any more than I like the “feel pressure from behind and drop to your knees to cause the pursuer to cannon into your back and draw a push-in-the-back free” tactic.

It’s not in the spirit of our game to play for free kicks. Making sure the umpire sees a jumper hold in a marking contest is one thing, abusing rules designed to ensure player safety is quite another IMHO.

The step was taken because the whistle had not been blown.
As he had juggled it, first thought may have been that it was not paid.
But as I’ve stated, never seen a tackler allowed to tackle and be rewarded without the umpire calling play on.
The whistle was late, then the player was not given the benefit of the doubt and asked to take his kick.
Never seen this before.

Yeah. Nah. Blokes play on all the time before the whistle for a mark is blown. If they then stop, get tackled and drop the ball, it's a free kick against them. Brodie was unlucky because it wasn't the standard example as I don't think he initially realised he'd marked it. He didn't stop because he realised that playing on wasn't the best option. He stopped because he suddenly realised that he'd marked it. But you can't blame the umpire for that one. It was just a bit dumb or unlucky on Brodie's behalf.

Yeah I know the bleeding hearts won’t like it, and granted he isn’t the one blowing the whistle.

However dropping your knees and lifting your arm, to cause a tackle around your torso to slide up to your neck/head, is not a tactic that gets you out of a tackle, it is a tactic that draws a free kick for high contact.

I don’t like it any more than I like the “feel pressure from behind and drop to your knees to cause the pursuer to cannon into your back and draw a push-in-the-back free” tactic.

It’s not in the spirit of our game to play for free kicks. Making sure the umpire sees a jumper hold in a marking contest is one thing, abusing rules designed to ensure player safety is quite another IMHO.

Here's your classic Selwood high free kick.

The shoulder role gets your arms free and helps you break tackles. He still does it even though it isn't getting paid very often.

I always did prefer to do my fishing late at night.

Shocked there isn’t already a thread for this.

It was clear to all Collingwood supporters at the ground today, that the umpires were biased towards Geelong. It was disgusting.
Yep, I think the Umpires had a bad day.
I couldn't understand a few of their decisions, particularly the one against Dunn

Clearly Geelong got the better of it, but what really stands out for me (and it's a league wide problem) is there are different rules for superstars and normal players, the superstars never get pinged for 50/50 HTB or throws, but when it comes to ole Johnny come lately the umps can't get the whistle to their mouths quick enough.

I feel this too.

Selwood the ducking ratbag.

What about our first goal. It came from a 50m penalty. Did you miss that?

You mean the mark taken and infringed in a marking contest

50 all day every day

The point is the inconsistency

Which always favours a few teams

I tell You if the umpires can't understand the game after 200 ( Nichols) were in a deplorable state

Umpiring is atrocious and biased

Loved the X-ray hand in the back Nichols aid against Dunn

Late, blindsided guess or instruction?

The Grundy mark, wtf holding the ball
The Taylor spoil always body first and always unrealistic attempts to spoil, always infringing

The shepherding of howe out of contests

Holding the ball that ain't paid

Next time selwood ducks , knock him out and guess what you should get off

His actions contribute to the outcome after all

Great umpiring constantly influencing outcomes

They have no idea

It was clear to all Collingwood supporters at the ground today, that the umpires were biased towards Geelong. It was disgusting.
I saw the umpires meeting for a drink after the game...to divvy up the contents of a rather large brown envelope...

Just watching the replay on Fox Footy now. That ten minute period in the third quarter when Harry Taylor scrag and then tunnels, both when we had momentum. Terrible.

Other than that I think we cost ourselves the game more than anything. So many turn overs not only by foot but also by hand.

These threads always make me laugh. We in the stands are relatively ignorant of the rules, hopelessly biased and pissed off because we are losing. Perfect recipe for a dispassionate knowledgable assessment of the umpires performance.

Newsflash. Umpires make mistakes but are not biased against Collingwood. If anything overall we get a good run as a loud big crowd probably has some effect. The umpires were fine yesterday.

Esava Ratugolea

Think it was Toohey who tackled Phillips but it was the knee to the head from Mayne that was the more likely cause of the concussion injuries. Doubt Toohey even has a case to answer.

Agree on the tunnelling. There were a couple of instances, Ratugolea the most obvious, Taylor another.

I'm really starting to get pissed with the incorrect disposal calls or lack thereof. We seem to get pinged so it's more about the consistency.

Who was the Geelong guy who pinned Phillip’s arms and tackled him head-first into the ground when he kicked that ripper goal.
If Naitanui copped a week, how many for that guy?

Toohey. No case to answer would be my guess. Was very careful with the tackle, Phillips just unluckily copped a knee to the head from Mayne on his way to the ground.

We have ourselves to blame for the poor kicking at goal. Kick straighter and we are in that game.
In saying that, was furious at times with some decisions. A few tunneling decisions to Grundy and Dunn? that weren't paid. Geelong seemed to be able to hold the ball all day in tackles as well.

Yeah, once upon a time if you were spun 360 and still hadn't disposed of the footy you were gone.

The worst one of the day was when the first goal of the game was scored by Geelong following a missed call on a high fend off when Mayne was shoved in the face whilst trying to land a tackle, only for Treloar to be pinged for a high fend off in the centre square for brushing a Cat's player's face (can't remember who), trying to get an arm free in a tackle no less than 20 seconds later.