Norwood
watching the football show they show Darren Goldspink having a chat to the players

Sam Newman reckons it is wrong, but surely with all the problems with the umpires and players in recent history umpires telling a players what they are thinking is a good thing

in this instance I reckon the umps are doing the right thing

thoughts ?

I think the umpire should be able to give as good as he gets

ie if a player calls an umpire a blind spa.. nner then the umpire can retort ''well you gave away the free numbnuts''

But like a cricket umpire too much chat can hurt.

''what was that for''

'' I saw a free I paid it''

The problem was he was targeting Campbell Brown. What he said to Vandenberg was fair enough, but his continual back chat to Brown was unacceptable.

Should keep their mouths shut except when absolutely necessary - and cut out using players nicknames

Maybe they are paving the way for the rumour last year that Martin Pike would become an umpire one day. Now that would make for interesting backchat.

Capitalist said:
watching the football show they show Darren Goldspink having a chat to the players

Sam Newman reckons it is wrong, but surely with all the problems with the umpires and players in recent history umpires telling a players what they are thinking is a good thing

in this instance I reckon the umps are doing the right thing

thoughts ?
agree.
some players are too pampered and act like spoilt kids on the ground. from what i hear cambell brown was acting like an absolute dill last week. they all want to abuse and sook to the umpires but cant handle it when it comes back at them. imagine if players started abusing each other for the mistakes they make in games. nithing wrong with what goldspink said in my opinion.
another thing i learnt by talking with an umpire last year is that they dont neccesarily agree with the way the game is umpired, interpretations etc. they are merely the messengers.

While watching the segment last nite - I was thinking to myself "It`s really quite difficult for me to take you at all seriously Sam when you constantly act the buffoon"

Regardless - it`s quite commen to hear the players whining to the umpires so I am happy to hear the umps tell them to STFU and get on with the game.

There is nothing wrong with umpires talking to players. There is nothing wrong with them calling a spade a spade.

It was mildly interesting to hear the umpires at first but I’m well and truly over it. Get the mic’s off the umps and let them get on with it without the worry that something they say in context will be blown up and reported out of context.

MarkT said:
There is nothing wrong with umpires talking to players. There is nothing wrong with them calling a spade a spade.

It was mildly interesting to hear the umpires at first but I’m well and truly over it. Get the mic’s off the umps and let them get on with it without the worry that something they say in context will be blown up and reported out of context.

Exactly. As per usual the footy show will find the most explosive snippet of audio or footage and then blow it out of all proportion.

We have no idea what Brown said to Goldspink over the game of football, nor what else Goldspink said throughout the match.

FWIW Gary Lyon's attack on Jeff Kennett was ridiculous too, what right does he have to say whatever he wants about any player/president/coach/runner in the game? Not as much right as Jeff has to comment on Hawthorn if you ask me.

doofdoof said:
FWIW Gary Lyon's attack on Jeff Kennett was ridiculous too, what right does he have to say whatever he wants about any player/president/coach/runner in the game? Not as much right as Jeff has to comment on Hawthorn if you ask me.
I didn’t see it so I can’t comment on what he said but the right he has to comment is pretty simple. It’s a (sort of) free country and he’s contracted to make comments. You can agree or disagree and if he talks too much crap he will cop it back but surely he is allowed to have and express an opinion. Ch. 9 will decide his fate.

Kennett of course has every right to say what he did as well. He's the president and it's actually his call what he says about the club. The members will ultimately decide his fate.

MarkT said:
I didn’t see it so I can’t comment on what he said but the right he has to comment is pretty simple. It’s a (sort of) free country and he’s contracted to make comments. You can agree or disagree and if he talks too much crap he will cop it back but surely he is allowed to have and express an opinion. Ch. 9 will decide his fate.

Kennett of course has every right to say what he did as well. He's the president and it's actually his call what he says about the club. The members will ultimately decide his fate.

Oh I am not disputing Gary's right to say whatever he wants. He can and should be able to give his opinions.

However, Gary said that Jeff should not have made the public comments about the players - it was not the role of a president - keep it in house - it is as if he thinks he is still premier - he has to earn that that it may have been done in politics, but it is not done in footy etc etc

Gary was basically telling Jeff that he should not speak publicly on football department matters

doofdoof said:
Oh I am not disputing Gary's right to say whatever he wants. He can and should be able to give his opinions.

However, Gary said that Jeff should not have made the public comments about the players - it was not the role of a president - keep it in house - it is as if he thinks he is still premier - he has to earn that that it may have been done in politics, but it is not done in footy etc etc

Gary was basically telling Jeff that he should not speak publicly on football department matters

So in other words, Gary Lyon feels it's quite okay for himself to make public comment but not the President of a Football Club. Another glaring example of Lyon's arrogance.

doofdoof said:

should be kept in house. do it behind closed doors.
definately went public to show hawk supporters that he wouldnt tolerate mediocrity but it flys in the face of his pre season comments that he would be seen and not heard.typical of someone used to beeing a politician, it's all about public perception.
a bit of an overreaction i think, i dont reckon the hawks are doin that bad, young developing sides and inconsistency go hand in hand unfortunately.

There's two ways this should go:

1. The umpire keeps his mouth shut, and if he gets abused he can pay 50m or give a free. - fair enough.

2. The umpire can give it back as good as he gets, but then not penalise a player for abuse.

One or the other, not both Mr. Goldspink.

What does he expect? the ump makes a poor decision, the player is frustrated and angry, then the ump wants to ride him and tell him all about it.
:confused: :thumbsd:

andypie said:
should be kept in house. do it behind closed doors.

Why?

The coach can criticise the players.

The assistant coaches can criticise the players.

The media can criticise the players.

The Supporters and members can criticise the players.

The players can criticise the players.

Why not the president?

Doesn't everyone yet realise that Goldstink and his bunch of mindless misfits with little man syndrome are actually the stars of the football, not the players.

They are a protected species so can prance about influencing the outcome of games, playing the big man, bad mouthing players, and generally being unaccountable and incompetent, which allows their huge egos to run rampant.

Every week Grant Thomas is proven more and more correct as these incompetent morons become more a law unto themselves even to the point where it is known that they cheated in Perth last year because their incredibly fragile egos were dented by a coaches words.

Absolutely appalling the way they umpire games, especially Goldstink. Should be sacked immediately.

doofdoof said:
Why?

The coach can criticise the players.

The assistant coaches can criticise the players.

The media can criticise the players.

The Supporters and members can criticise the players.

The players can criticise the players.

Why not the president?
he can say all he likes but why skylark to the media.

Umpires have the most demanding and difficult job in the AFL.

That's not to say that some of them aren't in it to make a name for themselves.

If we want the umpires to be less conspicuous then we must change the the laws of the game to make it easier to police, and not complicate things.

The law-makers have much more responsibility for the state of the game than the umpires who are policing the laws.

Umpires MUST be allowed to respond to players. If not, players will become even more frustrated at decisions without explainations.

Here's an idea for Channel 9 - take away the mic's that you gave them, that way they will realise nobody gives 2c about what they have to say. When they are miked up they have this idea that people are there to hear and see them when, in reality, nobody wants to hear their pathetic little whiney voices at all.

I am actually pretty supportive of newman on this issue. Umpires are there to umpire the game and shut the hell up.

I found myself agreeing with Lloyd last night. It all depends on the way they speak to the player. Obviously communication is important, and if an umpire explains to a player why a free-kick was paid in a calm and respectful manner, umpire abuse will no doubt be minimised. It will also ensure less free kicks are payed on the night, as players quickly learn what the umpires are looking for (we all know this varies from game to game, week to week).

The way Goldspink spoke to Mark Jamar for example, saying "we've been running in this direction for 100 years, get out of the way", was totally unnecessary. Jamar is only a rookie in terms of games played, he is doing his best concentrating on the game and getting himself to the ruck contest, and he doesn't need some idiot telling him to get out of the way. It stank of arrogance, which is funny considering Jamar is 105kg of muscle and Goldspink is a gimp.

It's how they speak to the players, more than why they speak to them.

AllStar7 said:
The way Goldspink spoke to Mark Jamar for example, saying "we've been running in this direction for 100 years, get out of the way", was totally unnecessary. Jamar is only a rookie in terms of games played,

They run the same way in junior ranks. Jamar is a dill if he hasn't worked that out yet.

DynamoUltra said:
The problem was he was targeting Campbell Brown. What he said to Vandenberg was fair enough, but his continual back chat to Brown was unacceptable.

Newman was undoubtedly on another populist, lcd, old fart tirade, playing up to the morons in the studio audience who are all-too-willing to applaud any criticism of the AFL/umpires/modern game, etc and yet I agree with you specifically regarding Goldspink who does seem to target players, and umpire with an agenda.