Analysis Umpires

Genuine Question Anyone - Arr0w or Gethelred ;

Do we know if there is a site that analysis umpire free kicks per game?
Specifically looking for detailed no's if possible, ie. analysis by umpire per match per team, etc. Does the AFL publish correct vs incorrect decisions after their analysis?

Thanks

Loved this from Fev

“That’s a disgrace umpire 22 as always horrific!!! What’s the player supposed to do s*** it out,” Brendan Fevola tweeted.

Hope number 22 reads it, he’s a f*n disgrace

Love the FEV - always have and always will. Calls it how it is!!!!

Specifically looking for detailed no's if possible, ie. analysis by umpire per match per team, etc. Does the AFL publish correct vs incorrect decisions after their analysis?

Thanks
Not to my knowledge, no.

The AFL traditionally - at least, prior to Gill - didn't want umpiring scrutinized overmuch.

How can some not realise moments in a game swing things dramatically. As stated gifting those 2 goals impacts everybody related to the game immensely and in a way does constitute to degrees giving them such a huge turnaround.

• As they begin to peg back our players start to wonder "here we go again" and mental demons arise. Players become more cautious (see SPS second HTB) and more tentative to play on instinct.
  • Rub of the green is a big thing... Teague in press conference alluding to players confusion. Don't tell me players don't know a stinking call from a fair call, and don't see some things being interpreted differently. These actions make players frustrated and some consider why bother when they have NFI what will happen. Why tackle, chase, harass in our F50 if we get nothing from it. Why can this player have a second to think about it, whilst this one gets 0.1. Our problem is having too many umpires with each having their own independent interpretation bias. Game was better last century when their was only 1-2 central umpires. I'd consider going back to 2 umpires again.
  • Tactics, we maintain some lead leads to perhaps coaches doing some things differently. Who is to say that WC coaches may have shifted some things around if they didn't peg back those extra couple of goals that may have compounded in us getting a bigger lead! Same with Teague he may have done some things differently... sliding doors.
Non elected ruck taking the ball, blatant dropping the balls, trips, inconsistent calls! Media, coaches etc are scared to say anything as the AFL will just slap anyone or any suggestion that the game needs improvements or has issues.

I am usually pretty harsh on the umps, but if you exclude the SPS in the first quarter as just being completely wrong.. the rest are either 50/50 or correct decisions by the umpires.

I guess the Eagles were just lucky that of the 18 tackles we laid in their defensive 50, exactly 18 of them they had no prior opportunity and all of them made a genuine attempt to get rid of the ball.

Guessing we were just unlucky that of the 5 tackles in our defensive 50 that 3 of them we had prior opportunity and didn’t make a genuine attempt.

Maybe their players are perfect and ours are clueless or incompetent?

Thanks

Not for the public, no

I guess the Eagles were just lucky that of the 18 tackles we laid in their defensive 50, exactly 18 of them they had no prior opportunity and all of them made a genuine attempt to get rid of the ball.

Guessing we were just unlucky that of the 5 tackles in our defensive 50 that 3 of them we had prior opportunity and didn’t make a genuine attempt.

Maybe their players are perfect and ours are clueless or incompetent?

I am not so harsh on this, in the first half our forward 50 pressure was intense we were on them extremely quick and didnt give them a chance of disposing of the footy and as a result there simply was no prior opportunity.. the ball up was a correct decision on almost all occasions.

Not for the public, no

That's what I thought as I haven't been able to find anything.
I think we need to make umpires more accountable for their actions, ala players, coaches and even administrators.
I'm also certain that umpiring calls aren't published within the AFL industry, therefore how do we as an industry keep them accountable?

If I were in club land, I would be demanding that the AFL industry analysis completed every week is published to clubs for discussion. I would want to see detailed analysis from each game by each decision by each umpire. I don't believe that is too much to ask for, if as they say they, the umpiring administration analyse every decision made.

Hopefully they have a podcast on that... would love to hear Whatley actually on side with Carlton for once.

Its up on the SEN site

Pretty good analysis though he glossed over Ryan dropping the ball and didn't mention NicNat dropping the ball.

Nor does he mention that the wrong and non-calls cost us goals where as the errors which favoured Carlton seemed to happen in general play.

That could come down to pure luck but it does seem there is a propensity for high impact non and wrong calls being made favouring the home team eg WCE and Brisbane. I would also add that they tend to favour the star players NicNat, Dusty, Dangerflop and Duckwood for example. Besides Cripps we dont have any high profile players.

Does anyone think the scragging of Cripps this week was umpired the same as the last game he played? It seems the Umpires forget things if they aren't in the press. I reckon Gawn is up multiple frees next time he plays.

No issue with the umps, big issue with the AFL. The AFL give the umps the directive on what to pay, what not to pay and when not to pay.

Its clear to me the umps have been told to look for and pay holding the ball frees against SPS and Yeo as both cause a stoppage and congestion, it’s also clear to me that the umps have been told to let go, the ones where Liam Ryan is running towards goal and is tackled and the ball spills, as the ball is moving and the game is flowing.

The AFL want the game moving.

Im really disappointed in how the holding the ball rule has been applied since Clarkson whinge, the flopping around on the floor like a fish out of water is something I thought I wouldn’t see a return to and is garbage.

Another tweak will come about soon, I don’t think the AFL will want this stuff happening come finals

Nah mate, you’re giving them an out. Your thoughts are fine if they’re consistently paid (or not) but there is absolutely no consistency in interpretation.

That is on the umpires not anyone else

Nah mate, you’re giving them an out. Your thoughts are fine if they’re consistently paid but there is absolutely no consistency in interpretation.

That is on the umpires not anyone else

These umpires are not stupid, it’s not their first match and there isn’t 50,000 screaming fans there to sway decisions. Why do you think there is inconsistencies there?

I think most inconsistencies can be explained away, umps miss/let go a few 50/50 holding the ball calls near our goal in one passage, the umps then have in their head, hmmm I probably should have paid that, goes down the other end, a similar situation unfolds, this time they pay it.

The balls moving, the game is flowing, the game is allowed to go on, I purely see this as a directive.

Its no wonder there is massive inconsistency in umpiring as the AFL sEm to change interpretations for several rules mid season, when was the last time you saw a protected area fee? I haven’t seen one for a while, but I still see players in the area, in a few weeks a few will be paid.

After the North game, we complained about Cripps treatment, next game I think he got 6 frees, why do the umps need to be reminded to apply the rules that are there? Genuine question.

This week on one of the footy shows, it showed Max Gawn being targeted 30 plus meters off the ball, an opposition standing in his way pumping him as he was trying to run to a contest, unless the rule has changed again, I didn’t think you could Shepard unless you were 3-5M away, one free kick paid. The panel all agreed, how do they not see that?

I swear in the first quarter Pitts and Nic Nat went for a ruck, they bodied each other off the line of the ball and Yeo grabbed the ball on the full without either of them touching it, it lead to a WC goal, I didn’t see or hear one Carlton player say anything or any commentator, I watched the replay and still saw him grab the ball before a ruck touched it or it bounced.
No either I have missed a rule change or I’m blind, if I saw correct how do 3 field umps, all the players and commentators not know, that’s an automatic free?

If we keep layering rules upon rules, telling umps to focus on ABC, then XYZ will continue to be missed.

How the **** is Ryan dropping the ball while being tackled 50/50?

... because they cannot be full time umpires. If they were capable of having a substantial living as an umpire, there is more incentive society wide to become an umpire; this leads to there being more people becoming umpires, and more people to choose from to umpire at an elite level.

Why do people want law degrees? Why do people want engineering degrees? It's long painful hours at uni and years of bullshit to make most of your money on the other side of 45.

And it's not really an argument that they would have nothing to fall back on when they retire, when that's a valid argument to make when suggesting that we do away with the sport altogether. After all, why is that not an acceptable argument to make for AFL players but is for umpires?
100k isn't enough?

On SM-N960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

It's not the one's they pay, it's the ones they didn't pay that hurt us.

Its up on the SEN site

Pretty good analysis though he glossed over Ryan dropping the ball and didn't mention NicNat dropping the ball.

Nor does he mention that the wrong and non-calls cost us goals where as the errors which favoured Carlton seemed to happen in general play.

The other incident that hasn't been mentioned is Yeo taking the ball out of the ruck contest in the first quarter.

That has been against the rules for what, 3 years now?

Umpires have a bloody tough job but missing that sort of thing is simply inexcusable.