Umpiring moves

• Thread starter Thread starter pazza

So tell us about it - cocktails vs sit-down dinner? Any surprises in the awards?

Cocktail Night. Wasn't great feeling Friday morning, so excuse the memory being a tad hazy.

Dom Napoli, who is retiring in a few weeks, got the Bobby Dunstan Award
Tony Corr won the Andy Carrick award.

Will have to go and find the rest out.

Congratulations Pazza!!! Well done mate. Great effort.

Was going to see Dommy and Chilli yesterday but the black dog was biting, I'll try to make it to the Wick on Thursday night for the pre-announcement convivialities.

Wednesday laddie Wednesday!

Congratulations Pazza!!! Well done mate. Great effort.

Was going to see Dommy and Chilli yesterday but the black dog was biting, I'll try to make it to the Wick on Thursday night for the pre-announcement convivialities.
Only a former odd ball would go to a game primarily to see the umpires.:)

And what would be the collective noun for an assembly of umpires. Horde? Nup! Swarm? Nup! Flock? Nup! Has to be either:

Z9dlBOK.jpg

or

9kD8Tlq.jpg

Should be a blast.

PS Well done Paz :thumbsu: Don't be surprised if the portly hirsute one washes and irons the callicos in readiness for next year. Thought it was on the cards when he discovered the money now available.;)

Only a former odd ball would go to a game primarily to see the umpires.:)

And what would be the collective noun for an assembly of umpires. Horde? Nup! Swarm? Nup! Flock? Nup! Has to be either:

Z9dlBOK.jpg

or

9kD8Tlq.jpg

Should be a blast.

PS Well done Paz :thumbsu: Don't be surprised if the portly hirsute one washes and irons the callicos in readiness for next year. Thought it was on the cards when he discovered the money now available.;)

Might be needing his experience given some confirmed and rumoured retirements...oh and a certain class act popped up at the Divisional Grand Final announcements on Wednesday just gone...is that gentleman coming back?

If it is the certain class act who I think it is, the WRFLUA hierarchy at today's prelim are extremely confident he will be strutting out wearing their fluoros next year. More speculation and "certain signings" than A Section two weeks before round 1!!!

And surely it's an incompetence of umpires?

3 umpires = less fatigue = better decision making.

The problem - and this is absolutely true at AFL level too - is that the rotation can stop at the midfield, and you get one umpire paying nothing in your defensive 50 and the third umpire paying tiggy touchwood frees in your attacking 50. Consistent interpretation is worked on a great deal in order to avoid this, and you can bet the opposition feel just as hard done by!

3 umpires = less fatigue = better decision making.

The problem - and this is absolutely true at AFL level too - is that the rotation can stop at the midfield, and you get one umpire paying nothing in your defensive 50 and the third umpire paying tiggy touchwood frees in your attacking 50. Consistent interpretation is worked on a great deal in order to avoid this, and you can bet the opposition feel just as hard done by!
The 3 of then were so young , constantly over ruling each other . Just did not work and I thought the same in the Prelim.

The term "over-rule" hasn't been used in about 7 years now. Clubs complain about not having the best umpires, get them in finals and then complain. Go to any other competition and see the standard of umpiring in the equivalent grade.

Surely the term used to describe the event is purely semantics. Yes, positioning may lead to a clearer view & a different decision, but it's still the same outcome.

All im saying is don't have 3 when you don't have them through the year.

Absolutely sooking it up here.. i cant stand the fluro odd balls most of them are hopeless. BUT to complain about having 3 in a final is pathetic. They give us 3 most week in the top grades, if they gave you the same umps as per the normal season youd complain about that..

#PassTheManATissue

Absolutely sooking it up here.. i cant stand the fluro odd balls most of them are hopeless. BUT to complain about having 3 in a final is pathetic. They give us 3 most week in the top grades, if they gave you the same umps as per the normal season youd complain about that..

#PassTheManATissue
Have a look at the replay.

The days of selecting experienced umpires like Mark Gibson, Steve McCarthy, Tim Sutcliffe and Wayne Hinton to control the biggest game of the year on the VAFA calendar-the William Buck Premier Grand Final-are now long gone, with this year's three field umpires having 6 grand final appointments between them.

6 premier GF appointments, not Grand finals. Its a good thing, nothing wrong with new people getting a shot at the Premier GF, give everyone else something to strive for. The strength of umpiring is at an all time high, the quality of umpires running around in Division GFs was amazing, despite one posters whingeing.

If you keep giving the same people the Premier GF, where is the motivation for those doing B and C every year to keep coming back if they dont feel like there is any way to get into the biggest game of the year?

Double edged sword.

The youf policy promotes young umpires to the big dance and if they acquit themselves well there is every opportunity for advancement to VFL and AFL. Talent and hard work is rewarded and the elite are given the chance to umpire at the best level they can achieve.

Jackson Gillespie, one of the fieldies for this Sunday, had his 18th birthday yesterday. I haven't seen him umpire but he must have sensational talent. He won't remain in the VAFA for long. Why hold him back?

Of the 18 AFL umpires running out for the two semi-finals this weekend, five are ex-VAFA young guns.

Gibbo, Macca, Timmy and Chuck and many others on the Premier panel can feel to some extent hard done by under this policy. But at the end of the day, Navyblues09 hits the nail on the head. If you look at the honour boards in the rooms and see the same names year after year, it would be easy to feel disillusioned and stagnated. And no matter how experienced you are, age catches up with us all. Every year a little slower, a little less fit. It is galling to see the kids appointed ahead of you, but I've come round to thinking that it is the right thing to do.

I'll be at the WRFL Div3 GF tomorrow. We'll have the fieldies ranked 7-9th and goalies ranked 5-6th. They are good people. They are good umpires. In the VAFA they'd get somewhere between C reserves and D3 reserves. Make of that what you will.

Umpires are great. We are very lucky in the VAFA.
I watch a lot of VAFA footy and the issue with spectators yelling at and abusing umps is this...
If you barrack for a team you will see the push in the back. But if you barrack for the opposite team you will think it was a good tackle and holding the ball.
For the umpire, it’s the same incident, but he’s always going to make one of the two supporters bitch and moan.
They are fantastic and do a great job!

Double edged sword.

The youf policy promotes young umpires to the big dance and if they acquit themselves well there is every opportunity for advancement to VFL and AFL. Talent and hard work is rewarded and the elite are given the chance to umpire at the best level they can achieve.

Jackson Gillespie, one of the fieldies for this Sunday, had his 18th birthday yesterday. I haven't seen him umpire but he must have sensational talent. He won't remain in the VAFA for long. Why hold him back?

Of the 18 AFL umpires running out for the two semi-finals this weekend, five are ex-VAFA young guns.

Gibbo, Macca, Timmy and Chuck and many others on the Premier panel can feel to some extent hard done by under this policy. But at the end of the day, Navyblues09 hits the nail on the head. If you look at the honour boards in the rooms and see the same names year after year, it would be easy to feel disillusioned and stagnated. And no matter how experienced you are, age catches up with us all. Every year a little slower, a little less fit. It is galling to see the kids appointed ahead of you, but I've come round to thinking that it is the right thing to do.

I'll be at the WRFL Div3 GF tomorrow. We'll have the fieldies ranked 7-9th and goalies ranked 5-6th. They are good people. They are good umpires. In the VAFA they'd get somewhere between C reserves and D3 reserves. Make of that what you will.
You do realise that Macca Chuck Timmy and Gibbo are no longer umpiring and some of those people are closer to 60 than they are 30...? Maybe Michael Blood should be sooking that he can no longer get a game for the Xavs or maybe Rambo should be filthy Bernie didnt pick him for the Prelim. For the love of god can you all move the hell on !!!!!