Umpiring

Are they?

• Yes

Votes: 47 50.0%
  • No

Votes: 16 17.0%
  • They will until this group has officially been broken, Hardwick aint Coach and Gale isn't CEO

Votes: 31 33.0%

It absolutely amazes me that (mostly) neutrals and a few Tigers state that there is no umpiring bias as it couldn't possibly exist.

To simply prove there is - you don't need to watch a Richmond game, watch a GWS game. Watch how Toby Greene gets treated by the umps and then come back to me and tell me that he gets treated exactly the same as every other AFL player.

Carlton are near top of the umpiring ladder (not because Cripps gets away with throwing it) but mainly because their 2 key forwards Curnow and McKay get royal service from the umps. Are they directed to do so? What other explanation could there possibly be?

There is a MASSIVE umpire agenda.
Umpiring bias HAS to exist with how the rules of the game are outrageously subjective. It's impossible for bias not to exist.

That being said, I think it's highly unlikely that there is a nefarious umpire agenda specifically against Richmond.

Umpires have an impossible task. Every key rule is way too subjective. They're forced to over-rely on what they know about how each player plays - these directions undoubtedly lead to bias. We know this from how JR8 was treated relative to other key forwards.

This is a result of shit rule design by the AFL, more than unskilled umpires. The integrity of the sport doesn't matter to the AFL. We increasingly know this from the reactionary way the AFL approach EVERYTHING. It's a professional sport run by spinsters.

Blame the AFL, not the umpires.

Umpiring bias HAS to exist with how the rules of the game are outrageously subjective. It's impossible for bias not to exist.

That being said, I think it's highly unlikely that there is a nefarious umpire agenda specifically against Richmond.

Umpires have an impossible task. Every key rule is way too subjective. They're forced to over-rely on what they know about how each player plays - these directions undoubtedly lead to bias. We know this from how JR8 was treated relative to other key forwards.

This is a result of s**t rule design by the AFL, more than unskilled umpires. The integrity of the sport doesn't matter to the AFL. We increasingly know this from the reactionary way the AFL approach EVERYTHING. It's a professional sport run by spinsters.

you are being very very very very kind to flogs like o'gorman
there would be several games where he has given us two free kicks or less for the whole game, and I'm tipping there would be a couple of doughnuts in there as well.:doughnut::doughnut:

This is a result of s**t rule design by the AFL, more than unskilled umpires. The integrity of the sport doesn't matter to the AFL. We increasingly know this from the reactionary way the AFL approach EVERYTHING. It's a professional sport run by spinsters.

The AFL WANTS rules to be blurry and subjective. It let's them subtly change them week to week without having to go through any due process. HTB as a rule fundamentally changes every other week. They could easily simplify and clarify the rules but it would take away a tool they have to alter the course of the narrative on the fly. It also makes challenging decisions basically impossible because they can wheel out an umpire who can counter it with "it's technically there" because technically you can make a case for anything if there's no clearly defined rules.

I wish Mick had gone harder on Laura Kane. All she did was say they don’t hate Richmond and then deflected the whole thing by giving him an umpires shirt.

She never answered his question about could she explain why our differential had been so bad for so many years. Should have kept at her until she gave a satisfactory answer.

Then bloody Andy Maher pipes up and says the umpires do a great job and are a really important part of the game. What a suck. Enough to make you throw up. 🤮
Maher is a scum AFL lap dog … vile scum supporter !

Updated stats including 2017 and all finals until now:

Dogs +382
Pies +361
Eagles +131
Roos +93
Dockers +40
Demons +12
Saints -65
Power -78
Swans -159
Hawks -170
Giants -263

*this doesn't include 50m penalties. We negative lead that stat too
Wow

Absolute Garbage. Richmond is a massive outlier in the free kick count. Sure rules are hard to interpret but that just makes it easier to hide their clear bias against us.

Laura Keane is actually quite intelligent and has Brad Scott and Stephen Hocking covered , although there’s no doubt be some Geelong connection or she’d have not got the gig .
Agree its not hard to have Shocking and Bully Boy Scott covered but she is still a token tick the box appointment. A 33yold female! She can't have the experience, leadership and confidence to take on the big wig bully boys behind the scenes that pull the strings. Richardson and the umpires would ignore her calls when she rings I expect.

having a stab in the dark here, but I reckon we have been looked after better by the umpires when we have played in the full away strip. which is predominantly yellow.
Well lets see who we play in that strip shall we,

St Kilda, Fremantle, Port Adelaide, Adelaide, Essendon.

Lets look at our last 3 away games against these clubs ( finals not included )

St Kilda: 47-74 for a 0-3 count ( 14-23, 19-27, 14-24 )
Fremantle: 34-54 for a 0-3 count ( 7-18, 12-20, 15-16 )
Port Adelaide: 47-61 for a 1-2 count ( 15-20, 20-19, 12-22 )
Essendon: 45-42 for a 2-1 count ( 10-9, 18-21, 17-12 )
Adelaide: 37-70 for a 0-3 count ( 16-20, 13-33, 8-17 )

TOTAL: 210-301 for -91 and a 3-12 W/L count on free kicks

That was actually funny.

Subjectively, I find it great banter to someone who gives as much banter as he gets.

Objectively, poor taste, considering player weights aren't release anymore, and the potential double standards if the interaction went the other way (Mick making fun of Laura Kane's physique), even if the whole byplay was scripted.

And what’s the bet we get a really good run this week and everyone asks what are we complaining about?

There is a chance that they overreact so much that all we will hear next week is how much Richmond were given the rub of the green.

The whole system is ****ed. The commission was established so that no powerful clubs could take control of the comp to the disadvantage of other clubs and the comp was run fairly for all clubs. But they have failed us and all we get is a joke segment on lightweight comedy show.

The AFL WANTS rules to be blurry and subjective. It let's them subtly change them week to week without having to go through any due process. HTB as a rule fundamentally changes every other week. They could easily simplify and clarify the rules but it would take away a tool they have to alter the course of the narrative on the fly. It also makes challenging decisions basically impossible because they can wheel out an umpire who can counter it with "it's technically there" because technically you can make a case for anything if there's no clearly defined rules.
Exactly, this is the problem we should be more focussed on.

Professional sport needs simple and clear rules to avoid umpire bias being a significant issue (amongst other things), it's a basic function of sporting integrity.

Crying 'the umpires hate Richmond' misses the point and reduces the opportunity for real scrutiny on the topic. If we do then end up getting the rub of the green and we suddenly have the best free kick count over the next five years, that doesn't change the problem and make the sport any more watchable.

There is a chance that they overreact so much that all we will hear next week is how much Richmond were given the rub of the green.

The whole system is ****ed. The commission was established so that no powerful clubs could take control of the comp to the disadvantage of other clubs and the comp was run fairly for all clubs. But they have failed us and all we get is a joke segment on lightweight comedy show.
Nice idea in concept the AFL Commission...now it just looks after itself with gold perks...just like every other large Sporting Org. The Olympics...The Commonwealth Games...EPA...Cricket...RU...
Its been totally hi-jacked by the Suits...the lawyers, Accountants, Corporates...no accountability at all!
No transparency...
No scrutiny at all...
Massive dis-connect between AFL Club interests and the AFL Commission...
The AFL Old Boys Club talks about intro of GF rings, night GF...but nothing about support for the AFL struggling Clubs around Australia. Nothing about the loud music played at games...nothing about food prices at grounds...
So what has happened about the racism claims aimed at Hawthorn?!?
So what has happened about players not playing cos of drugs in their systems?!?
Crickets thats what!
Ever wondered why there is no major Footy show on broadcast tv anymore...

Lucky we are playing the dogs, so any over correction will be minimal.

maybe we need to do what the carltoon gimps are doing, dumbest supporters in the league

View attachment 1983082

does dopey realise that a free kick goes to wards the Contested possesion numbers...

The frees mean they are number 1, not they get freee because they are number 1.... what a farrkkking idiot

and she fat shammed Micky boy in the process
Quite disgusting viewing. If the roles were reversed, Mick would be blacklisted from anything AFL related.