• Thread starter Thread starter eays

Are they?

• Yes

Votes: 54 49.5%
  • No

Votes: 17 15.6%
  • They will until this group has officially been broken, Hardwick aint Coach and Gale isn't CEO

Votes: 38 34.9%

The AFL have come out and said it was a correct decision to not pay 50m against the Collingwood players. Do they honestly think we are stooooooopid?

She said it needed to be called play on or ‘stand’, but was not called either. The umpires NEVER call stand immediately, EVER! Because they wait and see if the players want to stand the mark or retreat back 5 metres.

So if the umpire has not called play on … which they did NOT, then the default position after blowing his whistle is obviously that a mark has been paid, and players cannot run over the mark.

Geez I hate the management of the AFL. They are just incompetent fools who think they’re doing a great job because ratings and attendances are strong … really really pi**ing me off that they’ve green lighted the non-50m call. Beyond belief.

The STAND rule. Whan an ornament to the game it has become. What a richer, more fulfilling spectacle the game is for the STAND rule. Perhaps the cleverest, most creative and wonderful rule the AFL have foisted on the competition in history.

Said nobody ever. EVER. NOBODY.

The STAND rule. Whan an ornament to the game it has become. What a richer, more fulfilling spectacle the game is for the STAND rule. Perhaps the cleverest, most creative and wonderful rule the AFL have foisted on the competition in history.

Said nobody ever. EVER. NOBODY.
Only the maggots say it!

It has gone from comical to absurd.

When indigenous kids played marngrook hundreds of years ago that was a 50 metre penalty for running over the mark. In the 1970's that was a 15m penalty for running over the mark. In the 1980's it was a 15m penalty for running over the mark. In the 1990's it was a 50m penalty for running over the mark. In the 2000's it was a 50m penalty for running over the mark. In the 2010's it was a 50m penalty for running over the mark. In the 2020's, up until the last minute of the 5th match of round 14 of the 2024 Toyota AFL season, it was a 50m penalty for running over the mark.

But from that point on we now know it is fine to run over the mark if a player is on the move whilst taking a mark and doesn't stop dead the instant he completes the mark....

That is the biggest red herring ever that stupid person saying the umpire should have called play on. That has never ever been play on in my lifetime. The players roughly know where the mark is and they are not allowed to encroach until play on is called. If not called to stand there is nothing to stop them moving sideways, but they know they are not allowed to encroach over the mark.

If she is dumb enough to accept the role as mouthpiece publicly explaining all this absolute stupidity, then she deserves every bit of derision she gets. We need to be careful how we phrase things these days. So I will just say they are a dumb campaigner.
I couldn't agree more.

That has always been a 50m (or whatever the penalty maybe at the time) since time began.

I'm going to choose my words carefully too because full disclosure, I was raised by my Nan and my mum who had me at 16. I've been married twice to two amazing, intelligent and very strong women, I have a daughter and three grandaughters whom I cherish and am ridiculously proud of. I am a loud advocate for equality. Sexual equality. I have loved the advent and pushed growth of AFLW - the one thing I'd give Gil kudos for.

In short my life has been in and around women and about women and I have a very guarded attitude towards most men and their motives. So this is not about Laura Kane or the fact she is a woman for me. I'd really hope people don't make it about her being a woman. Be better than that. Evolve FFS. Trust me it will make you a happier person.

However Laura is the spokesperson for the AFL and there is so much now that is just wrong. I'm happy for footy to evolve in some ways if it has to to remain relevant and interesting and fun and exciting. But keep the game simple and provide reward for effort. The game was built on those things.

If you screw with that then expect the fans to pile on you and push back because you crossed the line. The worst thing is that you don't even know that you have because whilst the line is obvious (see the post I'm responding to by MetoricRise) to us it is completely invisible to you in at AFL house.

That's the problem.

I couldn't agree more.

That has always been a 50m (or whatever the penalty maybe at the time) since time began.

I'm going to choose my words carefully too because full disclosure, I was raised by my Nan and my mum who had me at 16. I've been married twice to two amazing, intelligent and very strong women, I have a daughter and three grandaughters whom I cherish and am ridiculously proud of. I am a loud advocate for equality. Sexual equality. I have loved the advent and pushed growth of AFLW - the one thing I'd give Gil kudos for.

In short my life has been in and around women and about women and I have a very guarded attitude towards most men and their motives. So this is not about Laura Kane or the fact she is a woman for me. I'd really hope people don't make it about her being a woman. Be better than that. Evolve FFS. Trust me it will make you a happier person.

However Laura is the spokesperson for the AFL and there is so much now that is just wrong. I'm happy for footy to evolve in some ways if it has to to remain relevant and interesting and fun and exciting. But keep the game simple and provide reward for effort. The game was built on those things.

If you screw with that then expect the fans to pile on you and push back because you crossed the line. The worst thing is that you don't even know that you have because whilst the line is obvious (see the post I'm responding to by MetoricRise) to us it is completely invisible to you in at AFL house.

That's the problem.

Harsh telling me to evolve, I thought I had been trying to do that, admittedly off a fairly low base. I even went and got a girlfriend, bloody Hawks supporter. :tearsofjoy: I certainly wasn't suggesting Laura Kane is clueless due to being female. But she is female, and coincidentally, she is a ****ing clueless campaigner. :)

LOL i just googled it and your right.

That is insane. ****ing Insane.

What is with these AFL big wigs? when they finally move on, they go kneel to their master

Gil = Tabcorp
SHocking = Cats

That is literally the worst job a guy who used to run a major sporting league could transition into. Gambling. Far out this league is rooted, they have absolutely zero ****s anymore on the optics & keeping up appearances. It's just out in the open corruption.
Want to borrow my tin foil cap, I’ve been accused of this for 7 years

Harsh telling me to evolve, I thought I had been trying to do that, admittedly off a fairly low base. I even went and got a girlfriend, bloody Hawks supporter. :tearsofjoy: I certainly wasn't suggesting Laura Kane is clueless due to being female. But she is female, and coincidentally, she is a ****ing clueless campaigner. :)
The worst part of it they can’t get rid of her , otherwise the cries of Mysoginy, nothing to with she can’t do her job

I couldn't agree more.

That's the problem.
The problem is they don’t see the problem! Murmurings are getting louder & the average punter is starting to get riled up, it’s taken a few years to get to this point but footy is at its lowest point by far in every aspect. There will be a time when people look back & realise the humbleness & greatness of Dusty’s walk & talk after the game & then truly realise that he was one of the last bastions of what was good in the game. A pure footballer, showman with ball in the hand but not playing to the AFL narratives. **** u AFL GAGF

As a nation Australians are dumb , they can’t see corruption , because they think we still live in a world where Australians believe in a fair go, and the muppets swallow the bait

That was disgusting. I and every other middle aged man who has put on a couple of kegs immediately hated ourselves when she did that.
I tried starting a twitter thread about but got shut down by the usual activists , Imagine if it was molloy doing the shaming

Sodebottom and McQuery were riding the sudden umpiring momentum wave and just wouldn't have expected any 50 metre free kick paid against them. You can clearly see this in the Pies games when the Umpire momentum swing comes. In particular last year in all their come from behind wins. They know the Umpires were suddenly favouring them so they play
I agree with this, but not about conspiracy.

It has gone from comical to absurd.

When indigenous kids played marngrook hundreds of years ago that was a 50 metre penalty for running over the mark. In the 1970's that was a 15m penalty for running over the mark. In the 1980's it was a 15m penalty for running over the mark. In the 1990's it was a 50m penalty for running over the mark. In the 2000's it was a 50m penalty for running over the mark. In the 2010's it was a 50m penalty for running over the mark. In the 2020's, up until the last minute of the 5th match of round 14 of the 2024 Toyota AFL season, it was a 50m penalty for running over the mark.

But from that point on we now know it is fine to run over the mark if a player is on the move whilst taking a mark and doesn't stop dead the instant he completes the mark....

That is the biggest red herring ever that stupid person saying the umpire should have called play on. That has never ever been play on in my lifetime. The players roughly know where the mark is and they are not allowed to encroach until play on is called. If not called to stand there is nothing to stop them moving sideways, but they know they are not allowed to encroach over the mark.

If she is dumb enough to accept the role as mouthpiece publicly explaining all this absolute stupidity, then she deserves every bit of derision she gets. We need to be careful how we phrase things these days. So I will just say they are a dumb campaigner.

They are off the leash, in that once they got away with the most blatant of manipulation and realised no one did anything (ARCGATE), they no longer had any boundaries to stay within. They are doing it out in the open either out of arrogance or because they have become such a purple circle network, they don't even realised we all know.

The 50m penalty needs to be replaced with a 25m penalty. Its too much of a penalty for the things they call it for. Back in the day, it was the cost of punching a bloke in the head after he beat you one out. They should just go to a 25m penalty, then have quota's that dictate if 1 or 2 is awarded.

If someone runs over the mark on instinct - = 25m

If someone piles through a marking player, making contact to their head = 50m

At the moment the penalty for these 2 poor decisions is the same, but clearly 1 is worse than the other. One is barely a crime at all to be honest. When the moment happens the ump can communicate it to the special lil man in their ear and then the 3rd umpire can communicate it to the crowd/tv watches. Its a ****ing simple fix.

They are off the leash, in that once they got away with the most blatant of manipulation and realised no one did anything (ARCGATE), they no longer had any boundaries to stay within. They are doing it out in the open either out of arrogance or because they have become such a purple circle network, they don't even realised we all know.

The 50m penalty needs to be replaced with a 25m penalty. Its too much of a penalty for the things they call it for. Back in the day, it was the cost of punching a bloke in the head after he beat you one out. They should just go to a 25m penalty, then have quota's that dictate if 1 or 2 is awarded.

If someone runs over the mark on instinct - = 25m

If someone piles through a marking player, making contact to their head = 50m

At the moment the penalty for these 2 poor decisions is the same, but clearly 1 is worse than the other. One is barely a crime at all to be honest. When the moment happens the ump can communicate it to the special lil man in their ear and then the 3rd umpire can communicate it to the crowd/tv watches. Its a ****ing simple fix.
Mate they can’t measure a 50 m penalty from one end of the 50m square to,the other and pay 65m

Laura Kane is absolutely wrong. It's only play on if the umpire signals play on and it doesn't matter if a player leaves their line and there is a delay in calling it. It is no different to end a quarter, it's not when the siren goes but when the umpire hears it and blows his whistle to signal the end. It's why an umpire can call 50 when the player with the ball fakes a handball or something and you hear the player on the mark plead their case that the player played on. The reply from the umpire is always "I didn't call play on".

I actually hate this sport and don't spend a cent on it anymore after letting my memberships lapse. I haven't watched it since 2020 (the season that football died and the AFL realised they could get away with just making it up as they go) and it's hearing shit like this that I hate it even more. They can't admit they got a decision wrong that would have most likely affected an outcome due to the risk of litigation from betting companies. Looking at the new appointment for the former CEO I'm sure they're already in bed together anyway.

On the siren issue that’s not correct. It’s when the umpires hear it which is immediate as it’s in the earpiece. It’s not when he blows the whistle.

Mate they can’t measure a 50 m penalty from one end of the 50m square to,the other and pay 65m

ah, ha. but what if we gave them all one of these?

1718628373085.png

All they need to do is press the button and the light will stop exactly 25m in front of them.

Seriously i reckon if you gave me $300, a green cube, a few bags of chips and a solid weekend - i could fix the game up and it would be awesome again.

Adam Sandler Put Me In Coach GIF

No mate I wasn't suggesting it was you at all. There is definitely a theme in a lot of posts here tho.

Anyway that was just a comment, we agree on the stupidity of her response.

just saw that CFL head on FC attempt to convince aussie rules followers that man set foot on the moon
planted a flag on it and even drove on the surface in a mini moke like they was @ the beach :rolleyes:

didnt think the CFL could get any stupdier....does she really believe ppl are that dumb ?
the suprising aspect is i think she does,shes got some deep issues goin on up on the top deck im afraid if your attempting to defend the undefendable/indefendable,its beyond trolling

So far outta touch with reality no drugs required @CFL house.
Ya cant make the s**t CFL orally spew out evry week up,ya just cant.

its interesting i'll give em that,i aint bought wot they been selling goin on 4 years now but it is an interesting watch
sitting back as one CFL suit after the other digs themselves into an endless pit of their own excrement and fascinatingly more over is attempting to cleanse themselves with that very same agent that their overfeed body went to all that trouble to ultimately discharge,only an insane person would do this right ?

bathing and cleansing in your own excrement,hmmm :think: ya know its probably a pointer that your most likely at the lowest ebb of your existence when your immune from your very own stink and oblivious to the offence that prescence is having on others..

As a nation Australians are dumb , they can’t see corruption , because they think we still live in a world where Australians believe in a fair go, and the muppets swallow the bait
Bit of a furphy that fair go for all...it was always 'conditional'...cos a few so called aussies were not given a fair go or even a voice!

That was disgusting. I and every other middle aged man who has put on a couple of kegs immediately hated ourselves when she did that.
I wonder what the repercussions would be if a man fat shamed a women in the media like that?

IMO you're conflating RFC free kick tally & sports betting as corruption.
Plenty of corruption in police gets called out ~ see the Underbelly series; corruption in government ~ several NSW ALP govt members in jail for misuse of power; Morrison govt in front of senate committees for misuse of consultancy gets caught out, plenty of sports betting scandals.
Is it perfect? No but I'd be more confident in getting justice in a court of law in Australia than anywhere.

Several Australian players of sports like tennis, low level soccer, table tennis have been busted for gambiing, test cricketers back in the day.
I know US college basketball has been caught out cos one player per team dominates scoring. Easy to manipulate a loss even & still win a bet.
There's been a few AFL players and one ump caught betting on the brownlow.

I dont think you can bet on AFL globally, you can't bet on free kicks.

I know the AFL get a % of every bet made from sportsbet, they are not invested in a particular result.

The 4 well paid umpire thing has not eliminated umpire error.

The corruption in the AFL was awarding buiding & catering contracts to directors. If Gil's new company TAB get the sports betting back, that might be.

Last edited by a moderator: