Just to be consistent i have to say that once again we were very harshly treated the umps on the weekend.

The second quarter was an absolute joke ( 11 - 1). Its only right that this is raised when we win as well as when we lose.

The inconsistencies were unbelievable.
The non holding the ball decision in front of goal in the last quarter made my blood boil and then Lids gets his arm pinged with no prior opp on the boundary line a minute later and he gets called for holding the ball.
2nd quarter was a ****ing joke. ****ing maggots.

We've been getting absolutely murdered by the umps for a while now. It's ridiculous.

I liked a few weeks back when Thursfield got pinged for 'blocking' a player from a marking contest when he was standing there and somebody ran straight into him, and yet every week you watch players blocking Riewoldt's run to the contest time and time again. It's become their main tactic for stopping him.

My motto is you can publicly slag them off when you win. Consider this that slagging.
Cretins of the highest order, will never have any respect from me F them.

What was with that free Tippet got against Thirsty when Walker crashed the contest? Thursty did absolutely nothing wrong, he barely even had an impact on the contest...

I have to say Hardwick has done a sensational job in curing our giving away stupid free kicks! Kingy has been great amongst others but the umpiring has become disgraceful with no consistancy at all. It is as though the umpires have another agenda trying to shaft the Tigers but to the boys credit they just get on with the game. The up side is when the umpiring becomes balanced we will be so much a better side. Go TIGERS!

What was with that free Tippet got against Thirsty when Walker crashed the contest? Thursty did absolutely nothing wrong, he barely even had an impact on the contest...

Mate that had to be one of the worst decisions ive ever seen. The Kelvin Moore (?) one a few weeks ago was at least half there in that he did take out the opposition player without looking at the ball. But This week Thursty just happened to be in the middle of the pack when it was crashed so they paid something against him.

Maybe there should be a post match review of the umpires too, where they explain their decisions. It would go a long way to helping us understand what the hell they are doing sometimes.

The inconsistencies were unbelievable.
The non holding the ball decision in front of goal in the last quarter made my blood boil and then Lids gets his arm pinged with no prior opp on the boundary line a minute later and he gets called for holding the ball.
2nd quarter was a ****ing joke. ****ing maggots.

There was one just like that right in front of me (lol) in the first 5 minutes of the game. Lids gets the ball, is immediately tackled, has the arm with the ball held to him, Lids gets pinged for HTB, even though the ump was behind him and couldn't see shit. Even if he was holding it, the umpire was in no position to make the call. Utterly pathetic.

Yes, yet another disgraceful performance.

But what can you expect when they are told to umpire differently from week to week. Poor Bs get no consistency from above so how are they supposed to be consistent on game day. Blight on the game really.....as bad as Russell and Spud making no or little comment about decisions on Fox coverage!

After calming down from wanting to physically assault the morons, I feel sorry for them. Do you reckon they will be happy to go and ump GC & GWS where they crowds will know FA about the rules of the game?? :rolleyes:

The club should send a polite letter to the umpires, asking them to come down to Punt Road to "discuss interpretations, because we're obviously on a different page to them".

Then sit down with video of decisions for and against and get them to explain how they're consistent...

i.e. Send them a 'please explain'.

what i hate the most is the so called "ball spills out in the tackle", players are professionally dropping it these days it needs to be addressed and actually be paid as holding the ball, it's a freakin disgrace :confused:

Just to be consistent i have to say that once again we were very harshly treated the umps on the weekend.

The second quarter was an absolute joke ( 11 - 1). Its only right that this is raised when we win as well as when we lose.

You should read my posts during the game in the game thread!!!!

There was one just like that right in front of me (lol) in the first 5 minutes of the game. Lids gets the ball, is immediately tackled, has the arm with the ball held to him, Lids gets pinged for HTB, even though the ump was behind him and couldn't see shit. Even if he was holding it, the umpire was in no position to make the call. Utterly pathetic.

Yeah, that one killed me. Can't stand the way you're expected to 'PRETEND' to make an attempt when you've had no prior opportunity and it is clearly impossible to dispose of the ball. Would hate to have to explain the rules to a novice.

It was pretty funny at half time. I felt like the whole Richmond crowd (who were furious in Q2) was watching the umpires leave the ground. Then as they made their way to the boundary, the boo's dominated the MCG and you could see Tiger supporters making their way to the race (about 20 people). As the ump's went down the race you could see the abuse being hurled at those little green maggots.... Made me feel quite happy!!
Believe it or not, I think we got the first 3 free kicks after half-time :)
Umpiring has gone beyond a joke and the most frustrating think is that the AFL has put a ban on anyone commenting on it! Only person who I constantly hear talking about them is Grant Thomas...Everyone is too scared that the AFL will punish them..

I couldn't believe that free kick.

Umps get off but coaches and players get fined.

Unbelievable corruption by the AFL.

I couldn't believe that free kick.

Umps get off but coaches and players get fined.

Unbelievable corruption by the AFL.
While they did a shocking job on Sunday, you simply can't have an open slanging match at th umps on any level. Look at the recent violence against umps in the local suburban leagues. We all want this to stop. 14 year old kids getting belted and abused by junior coaches.
The AFL are doing the right thing.

While they did a shocking job on Sunday, you simply can't have an open slanging match at th umps on any level. Look at the recent violence against umps in the local suburban leagues. We all want this to stop. 14 year old kids getting belted and abused by junior coaches.

That's totally different and I agree about grassroots umpiring but gee AFL umpires are in the top level of competition and blatantly pay free kicks from biased emotion.

Cmon 11 frees to 1 again in the second quarter!!

The Richmond supporters had every right to have a crack at them for that performance.

Otherwise they will just keep bending us over.

It seems we have to pay money from a Swiss Bank Account to get a holding the ball decision.

You can tell they cheat when they blow the whistle as soon as the tackle is made for the opposition and when our players tackle ,they wait and wait then ball it up.

Joke.

Someone must have really hurt Jeff Gieschen at Tigerland.

P.S. Just one more thing.

I will applaud the umpires if they are fair like I did at the Grand Final last year when I posted a comment about how good they were.

Must say in the second half on Sunday ,they were fair because they were found out by 19k Richmond fans at half time.

The umpires just mirror society.

WE are probably one of the most hated clubs especially by the other big 3 teams and when you watch any FootyShow these days,the media generally have a dig at us so the umpires are only mirroring society,thus have a hatred for us like most everyone else and let their emotions control their decisions.

Seperate issues Tuuga - i know you will disagree but that is fair enough. Did the AFL take an action against the league for suspending him for going to the media? I haven't heard if so.

Screaming at the umps at the footy at AFL level has been the around since they took the decisions off the captains and gave it to the umps. I feel sorry for the umps sometimes as the constant changing of the rules and their interpretation makes there job difficult but at the footy we can't stand ther yelling at Gieschen and co. They are the foot soldiers and whilst they still recieve handsome finnacial reward for there work their will always be others ready to fill their shoes.

The problem at junior level is maniac parents and club officials these are the people that need to be controlled not the fans in the outer.

I'm not arguing that point Smasha and PJ.
What I am saying is that we can't have the same situation as, say, the EPL, where the entire post-match media conference is about the manager criticising the ref's performance.
Respect must be shown.
As far as fans yelling at the AFL footy, well that will never stop and I was doing it myself on Sunday. Outlawing that is impossible and unnecessary anyway.
AFL umpires were subuarban and country umpires once too.
I'm retiring from playing cricket this year and was asked to umpire. Not on your life. Too much abuse and no respect.

A month of garbage and I can only see the trend continue with the media darlings Melbourne, in the spotlight.

I really hate the way they have used Jim Stynes illness as a quasi fund raiser. The amount of times they have toted him out when they needed some good press is sickening - even last week at a game the dees were not playing in. The way gary Lyon almost cried when Grant thomas questioned two 50 metre penalties that virtually gave them the win against the Lions was pitiful.