Underrated?

The general feeling I get is that nobody is considering us to be challenging for the top spots on the ladder.

Just watched the Sunday Footy Show all they did was talk about Adelaide and even spoke of them as part of a top six. A group we were omitted from.Now I can understand if SFS opinions may not be regarded highly but I think it is a general sentiment.

In the bf tipping at the time I looked on Friday only one person tipped freo - scores picked the crows. I couldn't understand this given our relative performances last year and the fact that a good Geelong team frankly struggled to deal with us. It seemed to me that Geelong had more difficulty with us this year than the game we won last year.

Perhaps it was our preseason performance(irrelevant) or our injury list. However if we have few further injury probs and Barlow and the rest come back to a fit and competent level soon enough- we should be better than our early form last year or at least as good. With already clear improvement from our youngsters why wouldn't we be?

Its a good place to be I reckon. The more we get talked down, the more we will surprise. I just want us to back up that performance again. One week at a time !
icon6.gif

I thought we were gonna struggle a lot more than we have so far this year with the outs we had and the crappy preseason that a lot of our guys had. We are looking really well placed for a top four spot at this stage, especially with how wide open it is after Collingwood.

Yep, most people here were going to be happy with a 2/5 start, we should be better placed than expected by the first bye, great launching pad when we start getting a couple players back and apply more pressure for a spot on the 22

Spot on. I had us earmarked for 6th-9th with our injuries and the departure of Tarrant and Chris Scott but on form we'll be hard to beat especially when Mzungu, Ibbotson and Barlow enter the fold.

There's a massive chasm between the Pies and the rest and our next 4 or 5 games look very winnable.

Typical anti freo bs but whatever, I think it helps take the pressure off so i welcome it. Fyfe has started the year like Joel Selwood in his second year. Huge improvement and an awesome talent.

The Adelaide board makes for an amusing read - apparently every one of their players played the worst game of their careers.

Reminds me of every team board's reaction last year after we beat them, never any credit for us making them play badly.

You need Victorian Michael Barlow back.

History suggests he'll take a while to get back to form, but he'll improve your 'rating' almost immediately.

I swear I hear once a game how Barlow is 'the boy from Werribee'.

Don't think I've ever hear Buddy Franklin or anyone like that called 'the boy from Perth'.

This might be a better comment with a separate thread, but why FFS can't we have a serious TV football show here in Perth? All we have at the moment is the idiotic Western Front, God I am so sick of listening to Bill and Ben crap on! Why can't we have people talking about football in W.A. that know what they are talking about.

I remember growing up in the glory days of the WANFL there was a steady stream of footy shows on Perth TV, it started before the games on Saturday, then after the games, then we had a wrap up program on Sunday afternoon, all with panels of experts talking about footy in our state, what the hell has happened, all we get to listen to is how Victorian teams are traveling!

The Adelaide board makes for an amusing read - apparently every one of their players played the worst game of their careers.

Reminds me of every team board's reaction last year after we beat them, never any credit for us making them play badly.

yep, i asked the question of the adelaide supporters why it was that they lose to us every player on the team played there worst ever game? nobody could answer me with a serious answer, so my next statement was that the reason they played so poorly was that they were playing against quality opposition and that it wasnt as if they had just lost to west coast, injury permitting we are a top four threat.... they then promptly told me where to go..

im not sure that it is that we are underrated, i think it is more that we are simply not respected. which angers me :mad:

The general feeling I get is that nobody is considering us to be challenging for the top spots on the ladder.

Just watched the Sunday Footy Show all they did was talk about Adelaide and even spoke of them as part of a top six. A group we were omitted from.Now I can understand if SFS opinions may not be regarded highly but I think it is a general sentiment.

In the bf tipping at the time I looked on Friday only one person tipped freo - scores picked the crows. I couldn't understand this given our relative performances last year and the fact that a good Geelong team frankly struggled to deal with us. It seemed to me that Geelong had more difficulty with us this year than the game we won last year.

Perhaps it was our preseason performance(irrelevant) or our injury list. However if we have few further injury probs and Barlow and the rest come back to a fit and competent level soon enough- we should be better than our early form last year or at least as good. With already clear improvement from our youngsters why wouldn't we be?

Did a bit of double take myself when I heard that.

It is good to be under the radar that's for sure. I guess if we win our next two we'll be demanding to be recognised.

Typical of the sunday footy show to talk a bunch of crap, and not give enough credit to teams that played better. Dont know why the vics reckons the crows are a top 6 teams tbh.. im still not seeing it. Adelaide is still inexperienced and young.

Fremantle were either going to flog us or win comfortably. Never saw you guys losing the game after the first quarter. Your mid field is a lot better and Sandilands (hope hes alright) just killed it. Crows board overreacting after a loss as usual.

You guys deserve a hell lot more credit though. Your mob will be top 6, as long as you guys stay injury free. Barlow, Hill, Fyfe, Sandilands :thumbsu::thumbsu: great players

Just a few points from Harveys post game press conference;

"we're still not at the top of our game"
"we've still got a number of players out at the moment"
"everyone's touting that Adelaide is a top 6 side"
"they were coming off a break"
"it's the second week that we've travelled out of 3"
"they did run over Hawthorn 2 weeks ago"

You're right Harvs....."it means a lot"

Until we win a premiership or appear deep in finals for multiple years I don't think we will ever be respected or rated. Fortunately time heals all so if we take the opportunities we have over the next few years we can erase much of the disdain towards us created by our underwhelming past.

Hawthorn underrated us in that final last year. They even had the cheek to speak of who'll they face after our match. Clarkson couldn't even bring himself at the time to admit we outplayed them and were the better team.

Being underestimated can work in your favour.

Typical of the sunday footy show to talk a bunch of crap, and not give enough credit to teams that played better. Dont know why the vics reckons the crows are a top 6 teams tbh.. im still not seeing it. Adelaide is still inexperienced and young.

Fremantle were either going to flog us or win comfortably. Never saw you guys losing the game after the first quarter. Your mid field is a lot better and Sandilands (hope hes alright) just killed it. Crows board overreacting after a loss as usual.

You guys deserve a hell lot more credit though. Your mob will be top 6, as long as you guys stay injury free. Barlow, Hill, Fyfe, Sandilands :thumbsu::thumbsu: great players

I do see Adelaide as a top 6 contender but not because of talent. You play the potential bottom 4 sides twice each this year. I think you should win at least 7 of those games which means you only need to win 5 out of 14 to make the 8 and 6 - 8 wins will prob get you in to the top 6.

I see Adelaide in the same position as where we were 2 years ago - a young list with lots of potential (Danger, Davis, Henderson, Walker, Jaensch, Smith) that will take a few years to develop.

I still think that Freo's window doesnt really open until next year - this year will be another step forward in the process for us and another finals run will make the players better and hungrier for success.

Rating Freo east of the Nullarbor is a crime according to many so personally I'm happy to be underrated. This way, we can savour the prospects of proving all the pricks wrong and earning respect, not demanding it.

You only have to look at the tipping competitions to see how much they really know. I take it as personal tragedy if I can't beat Mike Sheahan year-in, year-out.

You have to remember the media is an industry that employs people to talk about want people want to hear. The Crows have 150,000 people who want to hear they are top 6. There are about 27 of us who want to hear good news about Freo.

If the West write articles bagging the Eagles the lose both cooperation and money. Perhaps we need to understand the media is a business that has nothing to do with expertise and everything to do with making money.

However, I bet Healy raises the Dockers as under the radar tonight, and Sheahan will look befuddled.

You only have to look at the tipping competitions to see how much they really know. I take it as personal tragedy if I can't beat Mike Sheahan year-in, year-out.

You have to remember the media is an industry that employs people to talk about want people want to hear. The Crows have 150,000 people who want to hear they are top 6. There are about 27 of us who want to hear good news about Freo.

If the West write articles bagging the Eagles the lose both cooperation and money. Perhaps we need to understand the media is a business that has nothing to do with expertise and everything to do with making money.

However, I bet Healy raises the Dockers as under the radar tonight, and Sheahan will look befuddled.

He does that so well too, Dr.