Unique Crows Record

• Thread starter Thread starter D_One

The best part about this thread is definitely the segues into each of the 115.

With that said D_One, i'm going to throw up the name Johnson. I hope i've left you an easy segue, but if I haven't it will be even more fun.

When I hear the name Johnson I think of the American euphemism for the male digit. When I hear Johnson and Johnson I think of talcum powder. And when I hear the name Johnson and Johnson and Johnson I think of the 1960 Melbourne FC premiership team. That day the Dees fielded three Johnsons. One of them was Tassie Johnson who also played in the 1959 and 1964 premiership teams. Another was four time premiership player Trevor Johnson who was part of the victorious 1955, 1956 and 1957 teams. Lastly there was five time premiership player Bob Johnson who played in the 1955, 1956, 1957, 1959 and 1960 premiership teams.

Camry FC also had a Johnson play for them but Kane left when he realised the Crows were going nowhere. When he compares the Melbourne 53 to 60 team to the Camry Crows 01 to 08 teams he probably feels vindicated

Melbourne (1953 to 1960) 7 Finals Series, 7 Grand Finals and 5 Flags
Camry Crows (2001 to 2008) 7 Finals Series, 0 Grand Finals and 0 Flags

That’s all folks.

However, in their finals campaign’s from 2001 to 2008 the Camry Crows have used 56 players. None of these players has a finals record of greater than 50% for that period. Let’s look at these losers one by one.

Richard Douglas: 2 finals for the Camry Crows from 2001 to 2008 including 1 loss, 0 Grand Finals and 0 Flags

Prior to last years thumping by Collingwood, Douglas was sitting on a 100% success rate. That evaporated with an insipid second half effort where Douglas himself went missing.

55 Losers to go

When I hear the name Johnson I think of the American euphemism for the male digit. When I hear Johnson and Johnson I think of talcum powder. And when I hear the name Johnson and Johnson and Johnson I think of the 1960 Melbourne FC premiership team. That day the Dees fielded three Johnsons. One of them was Tassie Johnson who also played in the 1959 and 1964 premiership teams. Another was four time premiership player Trevor Johnson who was part of the victorious 1955, 1956 and 1957 teams. Lastly there was five time premiership player Bob Johnson who played in the 1955, 1956, 1957, 1959 and 1960 premiership teams.

Camry FC also had a Johnson play for them but Kane left when he realised the Crows were going nowhere. When he compares the Melbourne 53 to 60 team to the Camry Crows 01 to 08 teams he probably feels vindicated

That’s all folks.

However, in their finals campaign’s from 2001 to 2008 the Camry Crows have used 56 players. None of these players has a finals record of greater than 50% for that period. Let’s look at these losers one by one.

Richard Douglas: 2 finals for the Camry Crows from 2001 to 2008 including 1 loss, 0 Grand Finals and 0 Flags

Prior to last years thumping by Collingwood, Douglas was sitting on a 100% success rate. That evaporated with an insipid second half effort where Douglas himself went missing.

55 Losers to go

About time, this thread died 2 weeks ago. D One, continuing his thoughts that making the finals and not winning a flag is worse than not making the finals at all. Only Carlton would agree with this and they are cheats

only 18? I'm going to be a little sad when this comes to an end

Now what makes you think this thread is ever gonna end. I have this uncanny feeling that there are gonna be events occuring throughout 2009 that are gonna remind me of similar events that happened during the Camry Crows finals campaign of 2001 to 2008. Its just a strange feeling.

This thread should have been started on the evening of 6 Sept 2008, but it started late. Just like Bryan Beinke’s AFL career started late. Bryan was drafted by the Crows at the age of 23. Initially rejected by Port for their initial AFL squad the Crows could see that upon the retirement of Robran they would be left without a key forward.

Having spent his early football carreer at the PAFC (est 1870) Bryan had a bit of grunt instilled in him, and this grunt gives him a better finals record than your average Crows player from 2001 to 2008. Bryan played in 2 finals for the Crows between 2001 and 2008 and left with a 50% record.

Bryan Beinke: 2 finals for the Camry Crows from 2001 to 2008 including 1 loss, 0 Grand Finals and 0 Flags

54 Losers to go

That’s all folks.

That's it???

Gee, I feel so dirty now........................like I need a shower. Something I am sure is very unfamiliar with Poort supporters.;)

It aint over yet.

17....stewiiieeeee deeeeeeeeewwwwwwwwwwwww

luv this thread, all gold young man

17 ….. Berniiieeeee Vinccccceeeeeeeee

It doesn’t quite have the same ring to it. But you can’t really compare the two.

Vince, one final, one loss, eleven disposals that day. The fourth lowest for the Camry Crows in a final full of non-achievers. If you are looking for ineffective finalist, he has just slotted into the Camry Crows finals set up perfectly.

Bernie Vince: 1 finals for the Camry Crows from 2001 to 2008 including 1 loss, 0 Grand Finals and 0 Flags

53 Losers to go

That's it???

Gee, I feel so dirty now........................like I need a shower. Something I am sure is very unfamiliar with Poort supporters.;)

I suggest you have a shower then Bernie and whilst your at it you could clean off all the bad memories that your beloved Crows have given you over the last 10 years.

And you shouldnt be so presumptious Bernie, no thats not it. Like the Crows miserable finals record, its only just started.

But surely you have got your facts wrong D One, they couldnt possibly have had 55 finals players in that time with such a crap record could they??????

I guess we're going to find out......

:D :thumbsu: to the above and this thread.

When I hear the word “thread” I think of a “string”, and when I think of a “string” I think of a tradesman using a “string line” to get things straight, and when I think of a “string line” I think of Stenglein. That is, Tyson Stenglein. Tyson played 106 games for the Camry Crows from 1999 to 2004. During this time he played in zero Grand Finals for zero Premierships. Tyson realised the Camry Crows were a club going nowhere and was asked to be traded back to Perth and the West Coast Eagles. The Eagles de-crowcified him and he has since played in two Grand Finals for one Premiership, including two preliminary finals victories against the Camry Crows. So this one time loser has now become a winner.

Tyson Stenglein: 5 finals for the Camry Crows from 2001 to 2008 including 3 losses, 0 Grand Finals and 0 Flags

52 Losers to go

That’s all folks.

:(

lolza :D:thumbsu:

Now what makes you think this thread is ever gonna end. I have this uncanny feeling that there are gonna be events occuring throughout 2009 that are gonna remind me of similar events that happened during the Camry Crows finals campaign of 2001 to 2008. Its just a strange feeling.

I believe the correct term is... w00t!!!11one :thumbsu:

Actually D_one our overall finals record is 12-12, 50% being a bare pass. Compared to Ports being 8-9, FAIL.

No this thread is about eight year records and in the last eight years the Camry Crows have played in 13 finals for 4 wins including zero Grand Finals and zero Premierships at 31%. FAIL!!!

During the same period, Port, on the other hand, has played in 16 finals for 8 wins including two Grand Finals and one Premiership at 50%. PASS!!!

But as you seem to be happy with the number 12 we may as well look at Robert Shirley’s finals experience. Other being an integral part of Woodville–West Torren’s 125 pt Grand Final loss to Central Districts, he has played in 11 finals for the Camry at a staggering 27% success rate. FAIL!!!

Shirley an effective tagger against opposition players who require a zimmer frame put in an insipid inconsistent performance in last years Elimination final.

Before the game Shirley said “It’s going to be a tough one on Saturday, so were focussed on making sure it’s a full, consistent effort across the whole game.”

Robert Shirley: 11 finals for the Camry Crows from 2001 to 2008 including 8 losses, 0 Grand Finals and 0 Flags

51 Losers to go

Lol at you calling AFL players losers.:o

Did you ever play footy Mr keyboard hero. Come on, tell us the almighty standards you acheived playing footy. Must have been faarkin good to call AFL players losers.

There's only one loser on here, and it aint me.;)

Lol at you calling AFL players losers.:o

Did you ever play footy Mr keyboard hero. Come on, tell us the almighty standards you acheived playing footy. Must have been faarkin good to call AFL players losers.

There's only one loser on here, and it aint me.;)

Oh looks like I’ve touched a nerve that’s tingling still.

For someone who has no problems ridiculing AFL players who have played in a losing Grand Final you seem to be getting a little bit prickly. Did you ever play in an AFL Grand Final Mr keyboard hero? Come on, tell us the almighty standards you achieved playing footy. Must have been faarkin good to mock players who have lost an AFL Grand Final.

Speaking of losing Grand Final players, Wayne Carey played in 2 victorious Grand Finals and one losing Grand Final. The Camry Crows in need of anyone who can kick goals traded draft picks #2 and #18 for this aging, injury-riddled, drug taking, philandering, binge drinking forward. Carey’s experience did not go to waste as he is one of only four Camry Crows players who have a 50% finals record for this outfit between 2001 and 2008. Carey at the end of 1999 was a winner amongst winners; things had changed a bit by the time he left the Crows.

Wayne Carey: 2 finals for the Camry Crows from 2001 to 2008 including 1 loss, 0 Grand Finals and 0 Flags

50 Losers to go

Oh looks like I’ve touched a nerve that’s tingling still.

For someone who has no problems ridiculing AFL players who have played in a losing Grand Final you seem to be getting a little bit prickly. Did you ever play in an AFL Grand Final Mr keyboard hero? Come on, tell us the almighty standards you achieved playing footy. Must have been faarkin good to mock players who have lost an AFL Grand Final.

Speaking of losing Grand Final players, Wayne Carey played in 2 victorious Grand Finals and one losing Grand Final. The Camry Crows in need of anyone who can kick goals traded draft picks #2 and #18 for this aging, injury-riddled, drug taking, philandering, binge drinking forward. Carey’s experience did not go to waste as he is one of only four Camry Crows players who have a 50% finals record for this outfit between 2001 and 2008. Carey at the end of 1999 was a winner amongst winners; things had changed a bit by the time he left the Crows.

Wayne Carey: 2 finals for the Camry Crows from 2001 to 2008 including 1 loss, 0 Grand Finals and 0 Flags

50 Losers to go

I'll bag players on here, no worries about that. But I dont call them losers.
As for my footy standards, I've got no doubt that I played a shit load higher level that you have, if you have.:cool:

I'll bag players on here, no worries about that. But I dont call them losers.
As for my footy standards, I've got no doubt that I played a shit load higher level that you have, if you have.:cool:

You don’t like the term losers, hey? And as a result you want to compare size of our Johnsons.

"Mine's bigger than yours" "No, no mine's bigger than yours"

Good run Kane!!

But a few flog Port players just couldn't cut it.

Instead of losers maybe I’ll refer to them as “flog Crow players who just couldn't cut it” instead.

But while you’ve brought up Kane and Johnsons. Let’s look at Kane Johnson. Heres another guy who read the writing on the wall and wanted to leave with a modicum of respect. When he realised that the Camry Crows were going to be coached by a guy who has never, ever in his entire life played a single VFL/AFL game he thought "Hey Neil when you think about my footy standards, I've got no doubt that I played a shit load higher level than you have". Knowing that people who haven't played at the same high standards as himself can't comment on other football players performances and therefore possibly could never be a winning coach he sensed the bleakness of the Camry Crows finals future by choosing Richmond ahead of them.

Kane Johnson: 4 finals for the Camry Crows from 2001 to 2008 including 3 losses, 0 Grand Finals and 0 Flags

49 “flog Crow players who just couldn't cut it” to go

On second thoughts make that:

49 Losers to go

hahahaahaahah Shirley. 11 finals, 8 losses.....omg tht is just pathetic.

This is Officially the Greatest thread on BigFooty, D_One ur a legend.

But while you’ve brought up Kane and Johnsons. Let’s look at Kane Johnson. Heres another guy who read the writing on the wall and wanted to leave with a modicum of respect. When he realised that the Camry Crows were going to be coached by a guy who has never, ever in his entire life played a single VFL/AFL game he thought "Hey Neil when you think about my footy standards, I've got no doubt that I played a shit load higher level than you have". Knowing that people who haven't played at the same high standards as himself can't comment on other football players performances

*presents*

John Cahill - 267 SANFL games, 0 VFL/AFL games.

VFL/AFL coaching record 1983 (6th), 1984 (3rd)*, 1997 (9th), 1998 (10th)

* Essendon 28.6 (174) d Collingwood 5.11 (41) :eek: - remember that game vividly.

John Cahill - 0 VFL/AFL games - 0 VFL/AFL Premierships as a player
Mark Williams - 201 VFL/AFL games** - 0 VFL/AFL Premierships as a player
Kane Johnson - 211 + VFL/AFL games - 2 VFL/AFL Premierships as a player

** should be -66 given he was washed up and could only get a game with the Bears in the last few years. Beaten out in the B&F's by Phil Walsh (87), Mark Withers (88), John Gastev (89) and David Bain (90). Guns.

Can see why Port sacked Jack, couldn't have possibly looked Gavin in the eye without feeling the heavy burden and shame of knowing he was never at the same level of his Skipper's ability. Gavin must have hated and resented his coaches incompetence, Moylen must have picked up on this.:rolleyes:

2 x AFL Premiership player, obviously couldn't cut it at the level and quite rightly labelled as 'loser' - **** me he'll make a great coach tho' by the sounds of it, someone should sign that boy up. Sugar Johnson for Port caretaker coach by Round 15, clearly more qualified than the current bloke given the selection criteria :thumbsu:

hmmmmmm *wonders how Port did in their 13th, 14th, 15th, 16th, 17th and 18th seasons?*

so, we may as well compare apples to apples rather than horse apples, as stats can really say anything you want if you're skilled enough. And the last 8 seasons? Means nothing in a 16 team comp, or the 15 team comp, the 14 team comp, or the 12 team comp, we all know you use the 16yr rule to gauge success, but anywhoo I digress.

Port, 12 completed seasons up to 2008. So, that's the last 8 completed seasons of their 12 that we are talking about.

Thanks to D_One for skilfully pointing out (6/8 series would be less than 7/8 of course, so I guess that means Port aren't one of the 115);

Port: 2001-2008 6 Finals series, 8W's-8L's (50%) 2 GF's - 1 Flag.

Adelaide: last 8 seasons of their first 12; 1995-2002 4 finals series, 9W's-4L's (69%) 2 GF's - 2 Flags.

There is only one record that is truly unique

and when that gets broken ...let me know.:p
Matty Primus...shitloads of games, heaps of finals...O premierships...nil .....nada ...zip....nought.. .nuthin....':D

Now, we can all name ANY other Port player that was not in the one and only 22 that won a flag..but that would just be too long and boring an excercise...or would it ?:rolleyes:

And we coud all go through and edit every one of D's posts to show Port's woefu record for 97-2003 ... but that would be childish..or would it?

Matthew Primus and Tony Modra have that in common subaru, both champions, both couldn't play in a premiership side despite being a top 3 player at the club when fully fit.

I realise this Thunder, and that was the point I was making. IF D_One wants to crack on about losers I suggest he look in his own backyard before sledging some of the great players who have, for one reason or another, never won a flag, Chris Grant, Scott, West Brad Johnson, Rohan Smith, Luke Darcy ....there's just a few from one club. He would, by the tone of this thread regard them as losers. :cool:

Did somebody say loser?

18067ka6.jpg

Me thinks that after posting 76 replies a day to this thread,
D-One"upmanship" has abandoned same due to total and irrevocable FAIL by referring to non-premiership players as losers. Notable by his absence of late, I think he has realised he has been completely gazumped!:D