Travel USA travel tips and tricks

my GF is starting to get really panicked about going through customs once we hit LA

is there any advice anyone here can give me? I've never done customs anywhere so I don't have any idea what to expect

Smile, be polite, answer questions in a mature manner. If you dare be a smart arse don't be surprised if your comments are met with a frown and an escort (not of the nice kind) to a room.

Goes without saying "jokes" about terrorism etc are just a no no.

They may ask what you do for a living. Mrs Norf told them the truth in that she works for a retail outlet here (named the business name). Was weird, as if they'd go "oh yeah, heard of them".

They'll take fingerprints electronically. cant remember if photo taken also (jesus was only there 7 weeks ago!).

You won't have a problem mate.

They have a bunch of machines that you answer some questions on and it takes a photo then you take the print out to another line and give it to some guy who is probably going to look grumpy and won't say a word and that's it.

There's really nothing too it.

The only advice I have is don't take your phone out when youre in that area. There are signs saying not to and I heard a couple of people being told off.

I weirdly enough never had to go through those scanners and cameras, kind of disappointed as I thought the little photo print outs you get would be a cool momento. This was JFK too.

no chance I'll be going there anytime soon now.

One of the kids I teach was on holidays in LA in the hols just gone. Witnessed Young Dolph (rapper) get shot outside his hotel. Family decided they'd get away from LA and go and stay in a nice hotel in Las Vegas to clear the mind. Guess what hotel they stayed near.

What a horrible week for a 12 year old

no chance I'll be going there anytime soon now.

One of the kids I teach was on holidays in LA in the hols just gone. Witnessed Young Dolph (rapper) get shot outside his hotel. Family decided they'd get away from LA and go and stay in a nice hotel in Las Vegas to clear the mind. Guess what hotel they stayed near.

What a horrible week for a 12 year old
Who is in California for summer and sees something like that, and decides to go to Las Vegas as though it's going to be better?

Personally I have no interest whatsoever in Las Vegas but going to a trashy city built on gambling and drinking just sounds dumb. I know the shooting had nothing to do with that but dumb idea.

I've never been to the West Coast but I'm sure there's some nice beach towns you could just hang around in for a week where, you know, the main demographic isn't 24-year olds on footy trips and people whose idea of a holiday is wasting their money.

Who is in California for summer and sees something like that, and decides to go to Las Vegas as though it's going to be better?

Personally I have no interest whatsoever in Las Vegas but going to a trashy city built on gambling and drinking just sounds dumb. I know the shooting had nothing to do with that but dumb idea.

I've never been to the West Coast but I'm sure there's some nice beach towns you could just hang around in for a week where, you know, the main demographic isn't 24-year olds on footy trips and people whose idea of a holiday is wasting their money.

Who would go anywhere in a developed country, see a shooting, and think that the next place wouldn't be better.

Don't know their reasoning - I didn't exactly quiz them on why they thought Las Vegas was their choice. Maybe they wanted to check to some of the theme parks/shows/shopping and take their mind off it as best as possible

Why is it necessary to attack someone based on a choice they made on where to go for holidays. The fact of the matter is, they were in LA, saw a shooting. Went to Las Vegas, saw a shooting. That's pretty ****ed up and something you'd expect to see in Mogadishu, not something you should come to expect in a developed country.

A dumb idea would be rubbishing them for their choices.

Who would go anywhere in a developed country, see a shooting, and think that the next place wouldn't be better.

Don't know their reasoning - I didn't exactly quiz them on why they thought Las Vegas was their choice. Maybe they wanted to check to some of the theme parks/shows/shopping and take their mind off it as best as possible

Why is it necessary to attack someone based on a choice they made on where to go for holidays. The fact of the matter is, they were in LA, saw a shooting. Went to Las Vegas, saw a shooting. That's pretty ****** up and something you'd expect to see in Mogadishu, not something you should come to expect in a developed country.

A dumb idea would be rubbishing them for their choices.
It's not shocking though because how common and well known are gang shootings and also mass gun crime there? I had it in the back of my mind even in more civilised environs. It would shock you in the UK or New Zealand but it's the US... guns are everywhere... gun crime is incredibly high... not that shocking.

If you went to say Oregon you probably wouldn't expect it, but if you go to LA or Vegas or a lot of areas in New York then you have to cop that possibility.

Still, the one thing I took away from the US is how extreme that rich-poor gap is. You have no idea. It's so sudden as well, geographically. Here you have to go a few stops on a train to go from even a decent area to a half-shitty one: you don't have white, educated people a block away from industrial areas where there's no one walking around except the odd minority who stares at you. I wouldn't find that unsafe in Girrawheen or Sunshine at 1am in the morning but I was shitting myself when the sun started to set and I was lost in Brooklyn. Place is seriously ****ed up unless you stay in the uber touristy areas which isn't really going to be the greatest travelling experience ever.

It's not shocking though because how common and well known are gang shootings and also mass gun crime there? I had it in the back of my mind even in more civilised environs. It would shock you in the UK or New Zealand but it's the US... guns are everywhere... gun crime is incredibly high... not that shocking.

If you went to say Oregon you probably wouldn't expect it, but if you go to LA or Vegas or a lot of areas in New York then you have to cop that possibility.

Still, the one thing I took away from the US is how extreme that rich-poor gap is. You have no idea. It's so sudden as well, geographically. Here you have to go a few stops on a train to go from even a decent area to a half-shitty one: you don't have white, educated people a block away from industrial areas where there's no one walking around except the odd minority who stares at you. I wouldn't find that unsafe in Girrawheen or Sunshine at 1am in the morning but I was shitting myself when the sun started to set and I was lost in Brooklyn. Place is seriously ****** up unless you stay in the uber touristy areas which isn't really going to be the greatest travelling experience ever.
I would argue that a family of 4 with 2 kids under 15, the uber touristy areas are what you're generally looking for

Still, the one thing I took away from the US is how extreme that rich-poor gap is. You have no idea. It's so sudden as well, geographically. Here you have to go a few stops on a train to go from even a decent area to a half-shitty one: you don't have white, educated people a block away from industrial areas where there's no one walking around except the odd minority who stares at you. I wouldn't find that unsafe in Girrawheen or Sunshine at 1am in the morning but I was shitting myself when the sun started to set and I was lost in Brooklyn. Place is seriously ****** up unless you stay in the uber touristy areas which isn't really going to be the greatest travelling experience ever.
Some of the best fun I had in the States was going away from the touristy areas to find bars, clubs ext.

Then again after travelling a lot I don't really feel too unsafe anywhere*

*Was in a few parts of Turkey years back where I started to feel a little uneasy

I've been to sketchy places to ones I basically resigned myself to being robbed in (being completely lost in the outer suburbs of Naples for one) and generally walk around wherever, going off the main areas is usually a good thing and fairly easy but fmd in America you have no bearing of how sketchy something is going to be, especially in Brooklyn or smaller cities where the bad areas aren't infamously bad simply because it isn't East LA or the Bronx.

yeah naples wasn't fun

It's a ******* shithole, maybe the biggest shithole that is regularly visited by tourists. Scummy, dirty, unfriendly people, ugly streets, desecrated old buildings. It's a shame you have to go there to get through to the beautiful parts of Amalfi.

Las Vegas is such a misunderstood city. Hate that it has a trashy reputation based purely on what people to see on the strip. It's actually a fantastic city, with an awesome downtown and things to do outside of the strip. It's not trashy at all. I've been to Las Vegas on four occasions and three of the times, I did not step foot inside of a casino. Mt Charleston is beautiful, UNLV is an awesome school and Henderson is a fantastic area.

Don't judge a book by its cover. Las Vegas is a fantastic city with so much more than blackjack tables.

we leave for the USA tomorrow for 3 weeks, can't wait!

i just booked us (group) in to have Thanksgiving Dinner at a BBQ place close to our hotel in New York!

-18lb smoked turkey
-Mashed potato
-cornbread, sausage and pecan stuffing
-sweet potatoes topped with marshmellows...
-homemade cranberry sauce
candied brussel sprouts with pecans and smoked bacon
-green beans
-buttermilk buscuits
-Apple Pie

very much looking forward to this!

i just booked us (group) in to have Thanksgiving Dinner at a BBQ place close to our hotel in New York!

-18lb smoked turkey
-Mashed potato
-green beans
-buttermilk buscuits
-Apple Pie

Sounds like you won't be going hungry! Hope you enjoy.

I've never been to the US but all their food sounds OTT somehow though.

Overly Sweet: Marshmellows on sweet potato, Candied vegetables with a sweet cranberry sauce etc.

Overly large: Portion sizes are insane! A 1 or 2L soft drink is way too much for 1 person in a single serve.

Overly unhealthy: Just a general sense I get while also hearing from people from the US I know.

The last time a US couple I know stayed over here they pretty much just ate crap all week. They were having ham & (lots of) cheese croissants for brekky, a huge burger & fries for lunch & pizza+pasta for dinner then a ridiculous amount of dessert + snacking throughout the day. It was insane! They commented on how small the large sizes are over here too. I just couldn't believe it honestly.

Don't get me wrong, that kind of food is absolutely brilliant for festive events such as Thanksgiving &/or as a "sometimes" thing... but it just seems like it's more normalised and common to eat so unhealthily over there.

All that said, when I head over I'm soooo keen on finding myself some good BBQ joints and stuffing myself silly Every. Single. Day. :p

Overly Sweet: Marshmellows on sweet potato, Candied vegetables with a sweet cranberry sauce etc.

Overly large: Portion sizes are insane! A 1 or 2L soft drink is way too much for 1 person in a single serve.

Overly unhealthy: Just a general sense I get while also hearing from people from the US I know.

The last time a US couple I know stayed over here they pretty much just ate crap all week. They were having ham & (lots of) cheese croissants for brekky, a huge burger & fries for lunch & pizza+pasta for dinner then a ridiculous amount of dessert + snacking throughout the day. It was insane! They commented on how small the large sizes are over here too. I just couldn't believe it honestly.

Don't get me wrong, that kind of food is absolutely brilliant for festive events such as Thanksgiving &/or as a "sometimes" thing... but it just seems like it's more normalised and common to eat so unhealthily over there.

All that said, when I head over I'm soooo keen on finding myself some good BBQ joints and stuffing myself silly Every. Single. Day. :p

i agree with all of that, especially the bolded bit. :D

seriously though a lot of their stuff is excessive. the soft drink thing is out of control, i havent had any soft drink for a few months now, just been on water and ill be trying to keep it that way.

but if there is food to try, we shall be trying it!

we are even doing a food tour in NYC, you get driven around to all different parts o NYC you wouldnt usually go to try all the great local food (small portions). we had a blast last time so hopefully its good again!

i agree with all of that, especially the bolded bit. :D

seriously though a lot of their stuff is excessive. the soft drink thing is out of control, i havent had any soft drink for a few months now, just been on water and ill be trying to keep it that way.

but if there is food to try, we shall be trying it!

we are even doing a food tour in NYC, you get driven around to all different parts o NYC you wouldnt usually go to try all the great local food (small portions). we had a blast last time so hopefully its good again!
Sounds awesome! That couple I was talking about live in NYC... They sure know how to make a good sandwich!

Yeah, it is. You come back with a huge appreciation for Australian food. It's either too low key and just a toasted sandwich else a bagel which is just so heavy and filled with stuff like turkey and really sugary sauces. And you get a gherkin, or a 'pickle' with everything there too. It's pretty good for the first week when it's a huge novelty and you're eating massive bags of those mix bags of Cheetos but like a few weeks in and you are done. I remember absolutely craving juice and veggies, went to this acai place in Jersey and my stomach just soaked up all the fruit immediately.

I got really sick of eating bread every meal.

Honestly they should be way fatter than what they are.

-18lb smoked turkey
-Mashed potato
-green beans
-buttermilk buscuits
-Apple Pie

Enjoy it.

Been fortunate to have been to two Thanksgiving with friends in New Hampshire in 2013 and 2014 and ******* loved it and to top it off it snowed as well and did toboganing. Very much family orientated and the turkey was massive. Doing it all again next year.

They have a bunch of machines that you answer some questions on and it takes a photo then you take the print out to another line and give it to some guy who is probably going to look grumpy and won't say a word and that's it.

There's really nothing too it.
this is exactly what happened. we were in and out of customs within 15 mins

Las Vegas is such a misunderstood city. Hate that it has a trashy reputation based purely on what people to see on the strip. It's actually a fantastic city, with an awesome downtown and things to do outside of the strip. It's not trashy at all. I've been to Las Vegas on four occasions and three of the times, I did not step foot inside of a casino. Mt Charleston is beautiful, UNLV is an awesome school and Henderson is a fantastic area.

Don't judge a book by its cover. Las Vegas is a fantastic city with so much more than blackjack tables.
the Saturday night we spent in vegas, we did a buffet at the golden nugget and then went onto Fremont st. walking around there, everyone was having fun, didn't feel unsafe at all, didn't get hassled by anyone. couldn't give a s**t about the gambling aspect at all. it was just good fun. didn't expect so much live music on the strip, but it was great

my 13 year old step son described it as one of the most fun nights he's ever had

Going over to Vancouver for my sister's wedding in June 2018 - Myself, wife and 3 kids 8, 5, 2.
Doing the RV thing afterwards. I' m big on craft beer/bbq/sport - planning on taking some detours to experience rural/smalltown USA but our route will roughly be - Seattle - Portland - San Fran - LA - LV - Austin - NOLA - Atl and then perhaps fly to NYC from there. Anybody made a similar trip and have some do's/don'ts RV related etc?

Going over to Vancouver for my sister's wedding in June 2018 - Myself, wife and 3 kids 8, 5, 2.
Doing the RV thing afterwards. I' m big on craft beer/bbq/sport - planning on taking some detours to experience rural/smalltown USA but our route will roughly be - Seattle - Portland - San Fran - LA - LV - Austin - NOLA - Atl and then perhaps fly to NYC from there. Anybody made a similar trip and have some do's/don'ts RV related etc?

Try not to run into any low bridges.

Travelling over to the states next year. Spending the last 3 days in Los Angeles area before we fly home. Looking at staying outside LA maybe coast or inland.

Anybody have any recommendations on anywhere to stay along coast or inland? Happy to drive/transport to get somewhere.