VAFA forum

What's the legality behind stocking up St Bernard's with Geelong 2's players? (Nevermind informing me of the morality behind it- this I am fully aware of)

ondee said:
What's the legality behind stocking up St Bernard's with Geelong 2's players? (Nevermind informing me of the morality behind it- this I am fully aware of)

As long as they hold an Amateur registration and are cleared by their VFL club, they can play. Having said that, Chris Goullet played for them last week and wasn't released by Williamstown on the VAFA website.

Box Hill have a bye for VAFA round 17 so Hollywood Harvey wil play for St Bernard's and for VAFA round 18, the VFL is already in finals, Box Hill are close to the finals but if they don't make it Bernard's will have all their VFL stars for the final round as Geelong are stone motherless last.

ondee said:

OC is spot on, under Rule 44, if its during the regular season, then it's OK.
Were it VAFA finals, then they'd have to have played 5 games for Bernards, and at least 2 of those after 30 June.

Ethically, I don't have a problem with it as their 6 VFL players have all played a lot of footy for Bernards over the years (i.e. they're not just aligned players who have no previous connection). The club should be rewarded for providing these guys with an opportunity to play a higher level.

Come round 18, Trinity might be able to call on 2 players, whilst Bernies conceivably can bring in 6. Will certainly put a different slant on things!!

The Big Pineapple said:
Massive night at the selectors table at Keilor Hill last night with a key forward walking out on the club, vowing never to return!

More news to follow!

The guy sounds like your typical rooster!

Another make or break round for many A & B grade sides this week!

A Grade
OM's host the Bloods at the Junction, but it will be the Bloods more desperate as they try and hold on to top spot. Old Xavs host the Eagles in match of the round. The VAFUA are sending out thier best troops to Toorak Park, so I'll be out there waving the flags. It really is a toss of the coin match, but I'll tip Xavs just. The Students host OT's and will be desperate to keep finals chances alive so wont lose this week. SKOBS host Bernies @ HQ on Saturday. The heart says SKOBS but the head says Bernies... C'mon SKOBS! The finals match has The OC hosting the Cardinals at the Trott. In my eyes the Cardinals are a top 4 side... only time will tell!

B Grade
De La to continue on their merry way with an away win against the Friars. The Tonners to humiliate the Nodders and a no brainer out at Chelsworth when Ivanhoe make light work of the Tigers. The Fields will easily account for NOBS but it might be a case of too little, too late. The big story come 5pm will be at South Yarra where the winner of MHSOB and OE will round out the top 4 at seasons end. Gut feeling says the boys from Keilor Hill!

Best of luck to all teams!

All clear thanks! :D

The Big Pineapple said:
Massive night at the selectors table at Keilor Hill last night with a key forward walking out on the club, vowing never to return!

More news to follow!

Wouldn't be my mate Skurrie would it?

Scribe said:
GTC,

Given I tipped the Friars and you belted them, I may've under-rated Rupo, but your recent form suggested a big slide. If the conditions remain dry-ish, then you're a good chance for the prelim final, probably against Carey or Camberwell. After that, I think you'd do very well to make the GF, 'coz I reckon they're just a shade classier.....

Hope that's enough incentive (i.e. prove me wrong) for you guys to go further than last season.

Best of luck,

Scribe.
Fair tips yesterday scribe right on the money with rupertswood: :p

Well a very comfortable win in the end to Caulfield, despite how the game was played for the first 3 quarters. Nobs were pretty competitive. With the High winning at home, it tightens up the chase for 4th place, with the High, Keilor Hill and Fields separated by a game and percentage.

Tight up in A Grade too as Scotch just keep coming.

Sorry Two Blues, have I logged on too late to hear your report on the Reds win over Prahran ? :D

pazza said:
Well a very comfortable win in the end to Caulfield, despite how the game was played for the first 3 quarters. Nobs were pretty competitive. With the High winning at home, it tightens up the chase for 4th place, with the High, Keilor Hill and Fields separated by a game and percentage.

Tight up in A Grade too as Scotch just keep coming.

Should be a belter of a final 3 weeks now.

Bloods so, so steady, with Xavs wobbly and the next three playing good footy. Scotch would be happy to get out of jail against Collegians and now OT and the Lions must focus on catching OMs instead!! Always wary of playing a side on the rebound from a belting (13 goals), so it'll be a huge game at Bulleen with the home side hopefully getting back 3 key inclusions.

St Bernards ran all over a McKee and Garlick-less SKOB to shore up their position at the top of the bottom 5. Should be safe now....(D'oh!!)

Nuffy/Pazza - whichever one of Chris Doyle or Travis Storti was officiating at the eastern end of the Uni Oval in the 2nd term was responsible for an absolute howler. Ramsden marked 10 metres out, played on and banana-ed one just around the inside of the right hand goal post. Umpy somehow saw it the other way and registered a point (to the giggling joy of the Uni Blues fans). Would've only meant the match was all tied up at half-time, so no significant effect on the result. Carlson was less than impressed (to put it mildly)

Scribe said:
Should be a belter of a final 3 weeks now.

Bloods so, so steady, with Xavs wobbly and the next three playing good footy. Scotch would be happy to get out of jail against Collegians and now OT and the Lions must focus on catching OMs instead!! Always wary of playing a side on the rebound from a belting (13 goals), so it'll be a huge game at Bulleen with the home side hopefully getting back 3 key inclusions.

St Bernards ran all over a McKee and Garlick-less SKOB to shore up their position at the top of the bottom 5. Should be safe now....(D'oh!!)

Nuffy/Pazza - whichever one of Chris Doyle or Travis Storti was officiating at the eastern end of the Uni Oval in the 2nd term was responsible for an absolute howler. Ramsden marked 10 metres out, played on and banana-ed one just around the inside of the right hand goal post. Umpy somehow saw it the other way and registered a point (to the giggling joy of the Uni Blues fans). Would've only meant the match was all tied up at half-time, so no significant effect on the result. Carlson was less than impressed (to put it mildly)

Not sure as to who it might have been - reckon the wind wouldn't have been that much of a help at Melbourne Uni, knowing the situation across town!

Will make a point about clash jumpers or jumpers where both clubs are rather close in their jumper styles. Fair to say that had there been mud down at Glenhuntly Oval, there could have been identification problems between Caulfield and NOBS.

I'm just curious. Is there any money exchanging hands from club to player behind closed doors? I know there is a few 'assistant coaching' roles at various clubs. But does anyone believe that any clubs are playing some players?

Bell. J said:
I'm just curious. Is there any money exchanging hands from club to player behind closed doors? I know there is a few 'assistant coaching' roles at various clubs. But does anyone believe that any clubs are playing some players?

No.

Having spent the past 3 years on the committee of a VAFA A Grade club which made finals last year (where you'd expect $$$ might be thrown around), I can only say that it certainly ain't the case at my club.

We lost good players to suburban/country clubs because we couldn't match the lure of the dollar. Happens all the time. There may be jobs offered, or employment networks available, but that's about it as far as I'm aware.

Xav's the last ten years!

Oh hang on, it's quite normal for so many of the players to all work at Ralph's Meats, it's just a pity none of them actually know where their place of employment is located.

It's the standard call from teams who are no good. Truth is most of Xavs' players went to the school. It's a far cry from the days in the 80s when you'd see Uni Blues players walking to their car with a brand new TV (or Atari). These days, clubs organise employment though St Kevin's are a perfect illustration of how this doesn't always work out. Things gets a big murky with the assistant coaching roles but there are very few of these running around in the top grades.

My North said:
I still cant/dont beleive that the VAFA players dont get paid especially in A and B grade.

We play for the love of the game, and the mateship that goes with it. I can accept that there's plenty who can't or don't believe it, but a lot of us are fortunate in that we have steady employment or career paths which mean a few extra dollars for playing footy is not that important.

Most of the gun players who join the Ammos are ex-school, or have one mate who joins and brings them over later. I can't speak from personal experience as the recipient of any overtures (i.e. was never going anywhere else) but, as someone who is privy to recruiting pitches and the like, it's the networking, the facilities and the quality and ethos of the competition which are the major drawcards. Its often the people, the coaching staff, etc. which keep guys around. I know specifically of players who have said, if so-and-so stays, then I'm not going anywhere either. No brown paper bags allowed.

Take away the incentive of some $$$ and you often take away another reason for internal bickering and club politics.

Good to see there are some players who are loyal to their club

Scribe2 said:
It's the standard call from teams who are no good. Truth is most of Xavs' players went to the school. It's a far cry from the days in the 80s when you'd see Uni Blues players walking to their car with a brand new TV (or Atari). These days, clubs organise employment though St Kevin's are a perfect illustration of how this doesn't always work out. Things gets a big murky with the assistant coaching roles but there are very few of these running around in the top grades.
I saw a player leaving ******* training the other night with a brand new pair of 'silkies' and Reebok pump shoes on! Scandalous.

a.k.a. said:
Prepared to back this up with some names Bell. J??

Well a.k.a, i was hoping to leave names out of it. But ill just say that i just heard a story of a Prahran playing a couple of years ago getting 4 pineapples out the back of the rooms after tuesday night's training each week.

Bell. J said:
Well a.k.a, i was hoping to leave names out of it. But ill just say that i just heard a story of a Prahran playing a couple of years ago getting 4 pineapples out the back of the rooms after tuesday night's training each week.

You haven't mentioned any names.
Your not speaking from first hand knowledge or experience.
It "just a story" you "just heard".

OH WELL, in that case - it must be true.

Frankly you might as well put Harry Potter at full forward and Sherlock Holmes on the half-back-flank for the Two Blues this weekend as that's got about as much chance of being factual as your drivel.
:rolleyes:

Stick your pharking neck out and back up your claims with same facts and some names.

Bell. J said:

I think that's a bit far fetched Bell. J. Prahan have absolutely struggled for years now. I cant see them paying players to play D grade ammos. I think you and Ondee have both been on it...

Scribe said:
You haven't mentioned any names.
Your not speaking from first hand knowledge or experience.
It "just a story" you "just heard".

OH WELL, in that case - it must be true.

Frankly you might as well put Harry Potter at full forward and Sherlock Holmes on the half-back-flank for the Two Blues this weekend as that's got about as much chance of being factual as your drivel.
:rolleyes:

Stick your pharking neck out and back up your claims with same facts and some names.
Following on from Scribe's message...
This weeks line up. Please feel free to comment.
b: F. Flintstone R. Ramjet B. Gumble
hb: Astro boy Sherlock Holmes John Holmes
c: B. Simpson B. Lightyear M. Potatohead
hf: K. Frog Pete Twist A. Bundy
f: R. Wiggum C. Wiggum B. Rubble

Foll: Lurch G. Jetson Milhouse Van Houten

Bench: Moe the bartender W. Pooh S. 'bob' Squarepants

note- Dr Hibbert and Catdog were stiff