VAFA forum

Mr Picnic said:
Eddie are you one of those mentally frustrated ex-pat poms eternally scarred by the relentless lashings we've been dishing out to your feeble cricketers for the past 20 years.

You couldn't seriously be taking pot shots at world class super stars like Ponting and Hayden, when you've had clowns like John Crawley and Mark Butcher propping up your batting line up all these years. How long til Harmison breaks down and the S.O.S call goes out to Phil DeFreitas.

Do you actually play for Parkdale? If so, hope I never umpire you again ;)

eddiesmith said:
Do you actually play for Parkdale? If so, hope I never umpire you again ;)

Eddie I have hang up the boots for the time being to enjoy the many other fruits of life, but one can never rule out a comeback.

Seems my 10 worst blokes in the VAFA thread was vindicated.

Nathan Pope is now the most hated man at StKevin's also following this quote in today's Age newspaper:

"In the Amateurs, bottom side St Kevin's served it up to Old Haileybury, but lost all momentum when defender Nathan Pope was red-carded, reducing the side to 17 men. Matt Lucas kicked seven for St Kevin's."

Alphonse, I know who you are......

Bell. J said:
Sorry for the late reply scribe...
Is there any chance of OT recruiting any of the euroa boys for next season? Old Trinity might be a force next year with a few euroa inclusions from the sounds of your report scribe (if they work a little harder).

We'd love a few Euroa inclusions but:

1. It's not really that far a drive to get to Euroa from Melbourne (just under 2 hours) and most of the guys we have training are in their seniors, on pretty good coin. Tough to compete with that, but a few of the fringe ones players may be enticed over for 2006, who knows?

We really don't have the job connections of a Xavs or Scotch, so we're reliant on our winning personalities and handy facilities as the major drawcards. We aim to stay in touch with them over the off-season, and if they all start pre-season earlier than they did this year, we may be able to snare a couple.

2. Hoestly, we have to stay in the top flight, and there's still a 5 week battle in front of us. It's a lot easier to attract good players to A Grade than B grabe. Thankfully, the weekend's result went our way and will go a small way to securing a spot somewhere between 6th and 8th.

Just on the weekend results:

1. Lockett for Collegians was an absolute star. Must've had 35+ touches and threw himself into everything on the ground and in the air. Good to see cam Unsworth and Harro back on the park. Jono worked hard but he had little help in the big man department with Brock Mooney's absence proving a problem.

Frankly, we were well set for this one and to lead by 22 points after kicking into a 4 goal breeze was the perfect start. Thankfully, Toby Van Der Vene didn't kick another goal after 5 in the first half, and The Champ took up the slack so they were both very chirpy at the club Trivia night on Saturday!! Cultrera needs a run with me in the Scoobies to get his confidence back, but somehow I doubt that'll happen!!

Now for SKOB....

2. The B Grade intrigue continues with MHSOB upsetting Old Brighton (as Pazza said, it was going to be a critical game) and saving De La's bacon after they succumbed to Old Ivanhoe. The OEG boys put paid to the Fields' finals chances, and it'll be a ripper battle to avoid 9th spot and the drop to C Grade with NOBS. I reckon the Friars are in serious, serious trouble.....

3. As a community-minded individual, and in the wake of Live 8 concerts and the push to end world poverty, I'd like to say I have a dream. I have a dream that one day A grade clubs will rise up and live out the true meaning of their creed: "We hold these truths to be self-evident: that all footballers are created equal." I have a dream that one day on the muddy fields of the Trott the sons of former Collegians and the sons of former Melbourne Grammar boys will be able to drink together at a table of brotherhood. I have a dream that one day out at the Snakepit, a desert state, sweltering with the heat of injustice and oppression, will be transformed into a B Grade venue for 2006. I have a dream that all 10 A Grade clubs will one day not have to drive to West Essendon to play St Bernards for premiership points.

Consider this possible end of regular-season A Grade ladder:

1. Old Xavs
2. Old Haileybury
3. Uni Blues
4. Marcellin

5. Old Scotch
6. Old Trinity
7. Old Melburnians
8. Collegians
9. St Bernards
10. St Kevins

Together, united, we can make this happen. We can live the dream.....

Amen to you Scribe.

Brilliant performance by OT's on Saturday, they were switched on and deserved to win in the way they did. Sadly the Big Cat has a dodgy hammy.

Collegians face a massive game at the Snake Pit on Saturday.

Further to Scribe's eloquent post, will say the 'Friars and Mazenod produced a pretty fair encounter out at Donvale.

Not sure McArthur-Allen will have been all that happy with the way Mazenod dropped their intensity and seeing the 'Friars kick 8.5 in the last to the school end.

pazza said:
Further to Scribe's eloquent post, will say the 'Friars and Mazenod produced a pretty fair encounter out at Donvale.

Not sure McArthur-Allen will have been all that happy with the way Mazenod dropped their intensity and seeing the 'Friars kick 8.5 in the last to the school end.

You would have had to ice your fingers after that effort.

The OC said:
Amen to you Scribe.

Brilliant performance by OT's on Saturday, they were switched on and deserved to win in the way they did. Sadly the Big Cat has a dodgy hammy.

Collegians face a massive game at the Snake Pit on Saturday.

Not the only thing dodgy about the Big Cat. If only the Kangas weren't so cash strapped, I'm sure the old man would be able to rustle up a sleazy visit to the hyperbaric for Big Cat to manage his twang. Mind you, he didn't steer clear of the "wets" on Saturday night, consuming several ales, so it can't be too threatening and I'd expect he'll come up for this weekend.

Another intriguing A Grade weekend awaits with 8th playing 10th and 7th playing 9th. Here's hoping the Lions are able to roll the Dogs and OT's over SKOB. That'd really throw a 40cm Sidchrome into Madden's Machine.

Scribe Out.
;)

diamond8 said:
You would have had to ice your fingers after that effort.

Lol...around a cold VB (or 5!) after the game...the ball followed me all day again!

As to who will stay up in B Grade, I think 'Friars are probably safe. They have a couple of games @ HQ coming up which would be a similar size to the school oval.

NOBS will go down, but, it's tight between Mazenod and St. Bedes.

Bit of spite in our game against Therry, but luckily the boys came through with the points in what was always a danger game. Blacks and Beauy got up though which didn't help our double chance cause.

How did you fare at HQ Knight Rider? OC, are the Collegian boys in trouble?

Mr Picnic said:
Bit of spite in our game against Therry, but luckily the boys came through with the points in what was always a danger game. Blacks and Beauy got up though which didn't help our double chance cause.

I would think that only in D4 Section would 2nd last on the ladder not be trouble.

Must win game this week or else it may be B Section in '06.

Mr Picnic said:
Gentleman, please do not dismiss the C grade action this week, some of you just might be playing against us next season.

After disposing of a talented OC's last week, the boys have Therry at the Gerry on Saturday. Beauy and Blacks both have danger games away to Parade and Ajax respectively which could see us move just one game away from the double chance.

As for some B grade news, a word of warning Knight Rider. Word on the street from a friend at Old Essendon is that they are hell bent on seeking redemption for this season's earlier loss to Caulfield and will come out swinging in a big way. "There will be fireworks" were his exact word's. Shame it's not at HQ on Sunday, would loved to have got there to watch it with him.

Did the coach try and terrify the opposition by getting all his players to wipe mud on there cheeks.

Low & Wide said:
Did the coach try and terrify the opposition by getting all his players to wipe mud on there cheeks.
Mr Parker from Old Essendon must have had some mud in his eyes kicking for goal in the second quater out at HQ. 30 meters out on not much of an angle, maybe a bit of goal kicking practice is needed!

Low & Wide said:

L&W do you play for OEG? A close friend of mine Joanne, went out with a guy called Jason Weidner for a long time and he plays for them. Do u know him?

Mr Picnic said:

I'm too ashamed to talk about the game at HQ Mr Picnic as I never took to the field for the big clash! I wanted a quiet friday night but a couple of uni friends asked me to go to Boutique with them and I just can't resist the Flash '80s night, so I hit the spot and didn't end up leaving until sunrise after kicking on to Q Bar.

I'm pretty much on the ordinary blokes list now down at Caulfield and may have to think about my future at the club following another indiscretion. Hi Popey, looking for a club as well I hear.

I may give up footy anyway and concentrate on doing club promotions...

The Big Pineapple said:
What a bunch of kill joys... locking the most ordinary blokes thread.

I say we just start it up here... my vote is James Heritage from Collegians.

A real stinker of a bloke.

Yeah, i've played against that Heritage guy. He has a massive beak!

Knight Rider said:
I'm too ashamed to talk about the game at HQ Mr Picnic as I never took to the field for the big clash! I wanted a quiet friday night but a couple of uni friends asked me to go to Boutique with them and I just can't resist the Flash '80s night, so I hit the spot and didn't end up leaving until sunrise after kicking on to Q Bar.

I'm pretty much on the ordinary blokes list now down at Caulfield and may have to think about my future at the club following another indiscretion. Hi Popey, looking for a club as well I hear.

Sounds as if you've already identified where your priorities lie Knighter.

To go from a non-appearance, to disciplinary demotion, to BOG upon return, and then to not front up again due to the lure of a Friday night at the clubs (yet claiming here that "I wanted a quiet Friday night").....doesn't take an Einstein to work the rest out.

Get a mirror that works, or stop being so easily led.

The OC said:
He is a very good looking man Heritage, a sparkling record with the ladies.

Is that the same James Heritage who is currently dating VAFA field umpire Leah Gallagher? :confused:

Knight Rider said:

You could always go and play for Collegians. Its full of ordinary blokes who walk out on there club and old mates for no reason.

Schnozza Warehouse said:
You could always go and play for Collegians. Its full of ordinary blokes who walk out on there club and old mates for no reason.

Do I sense a chip on the shoulder......?