Vafa U19 (3)

i have a few questions...
is st bedes team the same team that was on the feild rounds 1 and 2. over the past few weeks they have gone from a team winning by 10 goals, to a teams winning by 20 goals +. is there any major reason for this? my other question is how many u19s from the individual teams are playing in their seniors, and which division are thier seniors in... i belive come finals time several teams could be signifigantly improved due to the return of senior players. i know OI are an A grade side, and im assuming if they do have any u19s playing 1s, these players are going to be guns if they come back to the under 19s (3). i Have also heard melbourne have quiet a few boys playing seniors, does this explain there up and down results?

I think district sides have an advantage over feeder school teams at the 19s level. District teams have been playing together throughout their juniors and perhaps view the 19s a final swan-song before playing at other clubs. Teams like St Bedes, Oakleigh, Bentleigh and Ormond are all strong but drop off at senior level whilst teams like Ivanhoe, MHSOB and Essendon are more competitive in the seniors.

pinelodge u sound a bit upset and angry, did u not make this squad and belive u should have?

Is that so said:
Oakleigh FF more about the delivery that his ability.
OI FF not a genuine tall well stuctured team who craet eth mismatch to free him up - How many contested marks does he take?

As someone else already said the best U19s are probably playing seniors or shoud be pushing them selces up to be.

Your kidding me arent you!... do you actually watch the OI games week in week out or did you just see one... Ellis plays tall regardless of his height... the boys spring is sensational and he takes contested marks week in week out... as for mis matches, they dont play a very tall forward line, suggest you check your facts!

leftfootkick said:
On another note, this should be another big in u/19 (3) football, oakleigh vs st. bedes IS clearly match of the round but IMO the ivanhoe v bentleigh game should b a season teller for who gets that vital 3rd or 4th spot when finals come. Its between IVANHOE, BENTLEIGH and ORMOND, who'll be there??????????

What a big week it was in football (under 19 section 3). Seems Oakley had a telling win against the might of St bede's... could this be the wheels starting to fall off ever so slighty, or is the might of Oakley starting to show its true colours?

Also the other big match of the round appeared to be nothing but a stroll in the park, Ivanhoe winning by close to 100 points... What does this tell us about the boys from bentleigh? Pretenders, or had a bad day? And the boys from Ivanhoe... The real deal? It's hard to tell where they are at for mine as they lost their first 2 games to the Heavyweights (St bede's and Oakley), However that may have just been them finding there feet... Time will tell i guess.

The goalkicking is very close at the moment aswell, With a few boys from the big clubs dominating. Ellis from ivanhoe 33, and Bodinar from St bedes 32. Big bad lee barrand had 27 up till last round, dont know how many he kicked this round...

Nathan Brown #7 said:
What a big week it was in football (under 19 section 3). Seems Oakley had a telling win against the might of St bede's... could this be the wheels starting to fall off ever so slighty, or is the might of Oakley starting to show its true colours?

Also the other big match of the round appeared to be nothing but a stroll in the park, Ivanhoe winning by close to 100 points... What does this tell us about the boys from bentleigh? Pretenders, or had a bad day? And the boys from Ivanhoe... The real deal? It's hard to tell where they are at for mine as they lost their first 2 games to the Heavyweights (St bede's and Oakley), However that may have just been them finding there feet... Time will tell i guess.

The goalkicking is very close at the moment aswell, With a few boys from the big clubs dominating. Ellis from ivanhoe 33, and Bodinar from St bedes 32. Big bad lee barrand had 27 up till last round, dont know how many he kicked this round...

Barrard with none so Ellis leads the way with 33 from Bodinar on 32... As for the OI under 19's the boys are moulding well, playing some good footy, with the heart they are showing watch them take it up to oakleigh and st bedes in the return matches.

This weeks tips boys??

Oakleigh by 30pts.
OEG by 60pts
OI by 24pts.over inconsistency
St B over ajax plenty

OEGB said:
oeg to get there second win this week

will pump latrobe in 3 weeks to
The only reason u might beat latrobe is that all thier players hav to go home over the holidays. latrobe hav a good side, and really should be 4-2 or 5-1, rather than 2-4. Should hav beaten MHSOB, oakleigh, and maybe ormond. Its just the fact that they cannot run out a whole game. Hav some very handy players tho.

Cats fan 16 said:
The only reason u might beat latrobe is that all thier players hav to go home over the holidays. latrobe hav a good side, and really should be 4-2 or 5-1, rather than 2-4. Should hav beaten MHSOB, oakleigh, and maybe ormond. Its just the fact that they cannot run out a whole game. Hav some very handy players tho.

You're an absolute clown Cats Fan 16! Good teams can run out games and obviously La Trobe can't so they aren't a good team. The results speak 2-4 and no amount of excuses will change that fact.

Also, if the players are dedicated to the team and its cause they wouldn't be going home to the farm for sheeping sheering season but rather staying to play.

Knight Rider said:
You're an absolute clown Cats Fan 16! Good teams can run out games and obviously La Trobe can't so they aren't a good team. The results speak 2-4 and no amount of excuses will change that fact.

Also, if the players are dedicated to the team and its cause they wouldn't be going home to the farm for sheeping sheering season but rather staying to play.
Yeh i agree theres not a lot of dedication within the team, and that's fair enough, the whole team didnt no each other before this year and havent had any sort of preseason and that brings about an unfit team. It's a team of good players that can match it with the rest of the league, but simply can't finish off a game. We stuck it to Ivanhoe yesterday and were up at half time, but again had a shocking 2nd half and got belted in the end. Every game except st bedes, we have been in a winning position but couldnt cap off the game.

Cats fan 16 said:
Yeh i agree theres not a lot of dedication within the team, and that's fair enough, the whole team didnt no each other before this year and havent had any sort of preseason and that brings about an unfit team. It's a team of good players that can match it with the rest of the league, but simply can't finish off a game. We stuck it to Ivanhoe yesterday and were up at half time, but again had a shocking 2nd half and got belted in the end. Every game except st bedes, we have been in a winning position but couldnt cap off the game.

That's a good effort against Ivanhoe. What happened in the second half, just ran out of legs? What would you say are Ivanhoe's strenghts or weaknesses?

Another couple of interesting facts Ajax were up at quater time on St Bedes :rolleyes: but i think they then decided to wake up and smashed them. Bentleigh were very competitive with Oakleigh down by less than 3 goals at 3 quater time but then lost by 7 goals although was posted 9.
The expected results this week although thought Ormond would of beaten MH by more.

Oeg Are Taking Shape Slowly With The 2 Captains Out One With A Injury The Other In The Ones They Re Organised A Forward Line Now That Can Kick Goals With A Big Body Target Up There Look For Some Better Results In The Next Comming Weeks.

Dont Dismiss The Boys From The Hill Players Are Comming Back Next Few Weeks

OEGB, i appreciate the effort youve gone into to add effect to that post (adding a capital letter before each word). I have heard both captains are out, Cerentonio and Wilson, both very good players.. when will these boys be back? The big body wouldnt happen to be Tanner would it, or is he still playing 1's also?

Im amazed to hear about ajax, thought St Bede's where an absolute class above. What has gotten into the boys as of late? Are they losing players, or starting to run out of legs that saw them get off to a ripper start so early in the season..

The Bentleigh vs Oakley clash would have been a physical one i would imagine, with Bentleigh playing there normal style of hard hitting (sometimes cheap shotting) football. How many did Barrand kick? Can anyone stop the big man? I know most teams struggle to find a way to, does anyone have a tactic that can?

It also seems that "Cats fan 16" was right about la-trobe not being able to run out a game. Good prediction by him, seeing as he called it mid last week, and then they were up against Ivanhoe at half time only to not score in the second half.. What happened there? i know la-trobe is a big ground but to be up at half time then not score is a pretty poor effort? Or did the Ivanhoe and St bede's boys both go out on the turps the friday night, and only switch on at half time.

I will comment on the key forwards and a couple of teams.
Big bustling Berrand kicked 5 is just a big boy with stickys. Yeh very physical game between Bentleigh and Oakleigh both teams very hard at the ball with Bentleigh practically without a bench by the end of the game perhaps why the flood gates opened.
Bentleigh are very under estimated IMO although just do not do the job against the big teams. They let other teams get their tail up and make it very hard for themselves. Oakleigh with their forwards are a very good team they have quick talls and also the mountain in Berrand who you must stop with Oakleigh's midfield very skillful with their delivery.
Old Ivanhoes Ellis is a very unassuming player with the hoers starting him as a forward pocket therefore taking the 3rd or 4th backman which he takes full advantage of. By the time you realise this he's already kicked 3 and ends on 5 every week.
St Bedes Bodinaar is a big bodied player with a good kick is tall and alright at ground level. He's okay in the air but with the matchups he attracts he always gets a big fullback who can't match it on ground level and he takes full advantage of this. St Bedes dominant midfield and superior delivery like Oakleigh although to a lesser extent always create many oppurtunities.

mightysainters said:
I will comment on the key forwards and a couple of teams.
Big bustling Berrand kicked 5 is just a big boy with stickys. Yeh very physical game between Bentleigh and Oakleigh both teams very hard at the ball with Bentleigh practically without a bench by the end of the game perhaps why the flood gates opened.
Bentleigh are very under estimated IMO although just do not do the job against the big teams. They let other teams get their tail up and make it very hard for themselves. Oakleigh with their forwards are a very good team they have quick talls and also the mountain in Berrand who you must stop with Oakleigh's midfield very skillful with their delivery.
Old Ivanhoes Ellis is a very unassuming player with the hoers starting him as a forward pocket therefore taking the 3rd or 4th backman which he takes full advantage of. By the time you realise this he's already kicked 3 and ends on 5 every week.
St Bedes Bodinaar is a big bodied player with a good kick is tall and alright at ground level. He's okay in the air but with the matchups he attracts he always gets a big fullback who can't match it on ground level and he takes full advantage of this. St Bedes dominant midfield and superior delivery like Oakleigh although to a lesser extent always create many oppurtunities.

just because a bloke starts in the FP doesnt mean he gets the 3rd or 4th backman, sounds very under 10's... everyone plays in their position with talls on smalls all cause the coach says your in the BP... ellis is a genuine gun and can play tall or short, also depends on the night before and how many drinks he sank also loves a stroll on the ball!

This Weeks Matches see's:

Emmaus -v- MHSOB
Ivanhoe Gr -v- Essendon Gr
Ormond -v- St. Bedes
La Trobe -v- Bentleigh
Ajax -v- Oakleigh

Should be a good week of footy in the U/19 (3)... will be good to see who comes of from the 2 week break strong and ready to pounce and who comes off that couch of theres with the stubby still stuck in their hand.

Ormond v St. Bedes should be a great game... will show where the 2 sides stand side by side and if either are the real deal. Oakleigh should have another percentage booster a long with Ivanhoe. In my view Emmaus could show an upset downing MHSOB and Bentleigh might struggle to La Trobe, but a win there will still keep their chances come finals.

Emmaus -v- MHSOB 10 goals
Ivanhoe Gr -v- Essendon Gr A smashing enough said
Ormond -v- St. Bedes upset on the cards IMO
La Trobe -v- Bentleigh Bentleigh by a couple of goals
Ajax -v- Oakleigh Look at Ivanhoe game

Sorry leftfootkick the only upset that might occur is Ormond over St Bedes.... Melbourne high will smash Emmaus IMO

The hoers will more than likely regain Terry nicola (#4) this week which will surely give them a further boost through the wing.

pinelodge said:
The hoers will more than likely regain Terry nicola (#4) this week which will surely give them a further boost through the wing.

Surely thats a 5 or 6 goal inclusion, must feel for OE just cant take a trick

mightysainters said:
Emmaus -v- MHSOB 10 goals
Ivanhoe Gr -v- Essendon Gr A smashing enough said
Ormond -v- St. Bedes upset on the cards IMO
La Trobe -v- Bentleigh Bentleigh by a couple of goals
Ajax -v- Oakleigh Look at Ivanhoe game

Sorry leftfootkick the only upset that might occur is Ormond over St Bedes.... Melbourne high will smash Emmaus IMO
Looks like ur eating ur own words. An incredible display of football by the boys at latrobe, smashing Bentleigh (in an 'upset') into the ground, but not capatilasing on the scoreboard. Cant remember the final scores, but it was something like; Latrobe 10.23 to Bentleigh 8.5. If that latrobe team comes to play like that again, there could be a few more upsets in the brink.

i'm eating my words? i said ormond are the ones to be close to an upset 3 points mate.... La Trobe beat Bentleigh by a couple of goals because Bentleigh were without a few of their top line players in which I was not aware of until I was told after the match... And in no way was it a thumping as in the match report it says you boys were down by 4 goals until Bentleigh started to crumble. La Trobe can't make the finals anyway and same goes for Bentleigh. La Trobe only beats teams and gets close to them because their ground is a circle....Ormond really took it to St Bedes yersterday and was a very close game, could of gone either way but St Bedes fought on to win a great game.
Melbourne High smashed Emmaus like previously stated and the same goes for the Hoers...