Roast Vent Here

• Thread starter Thread starter Moo

It certainly feels like this doesn't it...

For the first time I have a group of mates all over 34 (34-42) and out of the 10, the 8 with memberships aren't renewing. All have been 12 + year members.

The couple who weren't members are talking about not watching the footy.

I never thought I would hear any of this talk from them. What is disappointing is I have no good argument to bring them round.
I would also assume at those ages, the cost of living (is interest rates etc) might also have a bit to do with things. A lot of people are struggling. I am staying on as a member but only might do 6 games this year with work commitments and cost of living.

For the first time I have a group of mates all over 34 (34-42) and out of the 10, the 8 with memberships aren't renewing. All have been 12 + year members.

I never thought I would hear any of this talk from them. What is disappointing is I have no good argument to bring them round.
Your mates have reached the point that I am nearing.
As like many of you on this forum I am an inaugural member and I go through this reflection every year.
Year after year we throw our money at what is the most contrived, national sporting body in the world.
FIFA couldn’t hold a candle to the AFL.
If Australia wasn’t a totally irrelevant and insignificant country the world would regard us as the haemorrhoid
on the planet’s waste disposal orifice that we are; come to think of it they already….
Having said that Ive just paid $325 on November 1 and probably will next year.
I just love that long walk to bus stand number 5 after each loss.

Your mates have reached the point that I am nearing.
As like many of you on this forum I am an inaugural member and I go through this reflection every year.
Year after year we throw our money at what is the most contrived, national sporting body in the world.
FIFA couldn’t hold a candle to the AFL.
If Australia wasn’t a totally irrelevant and insignificant country the world would regard us as the haemorrhoid
on the planet’s waste disposal orifice that we are; come to think of it they already….
Having said that Ive just paid $325 on November 1 and probably will next year.
I just love that long walk to bus stand number 5 after each loss.
Ur a good bloke and the walks will do you more good.

I'm honestly loving the pessimism and general disdain being sent our way. It sustains me.

More, tell me how **** we are.
hnnnnnnnnngggggggggggg

I think you’d have to be in serious cuckoo land to think we are closer to a flag than GWS. This is a club that played a prelim with a number one pick from last year sitting in the shed.
Talent wise they blow us out of the water ant the moment and will be adding another top ten selection next week. Unlike earlier versions they also appear to have a high quality head coach.
With players like Taylor, Green, Callaghan, Ash, Idun (seriously underrated this guy, but surely not for much longer, he’s an AA in waiting in my view), Cadman as a number one pick KPF, and even guys like Bedford and Daniels, all in the same age bracket as our young core, they ain’t disappearing from contention anytime soon. I didn’t even mention Darcy Jones that young WA kid they drafted last year in the first round that were all salivating over on here.
There is also two more first rounders so the way to GWS next week.

The suns are a different story - they have a serious losing culture that is even worse than ours and to me are a long way off contending anytime soon. They also don’t seem to develop players as well as GWS do. I’d back us to be close than the suns right now to a flag, marginally, but not anywhere near as close as GWS.
Actually I think GWS should win the flag in 2024.

The suns are getting 3 top 15 picks and we aren’t though, so that sets them up well.
Sucks to be us I guess.

I think you’d have to be in serious cuckoo land to think we are closer to a flag than GWS. This is a club that played a prelim with a number one pick from last year sitting in the shed.
Talent wise they blow us out of the water ant the moment and will be adding another top ten selection next week. Unlike earlier versions they also appear to have a high quality head coach.
With players like Taylor, Green, Callaghan, Ash, Idun (seriously underrated this guy, but surely not for much longer, he’s an AA in waiting in my view), Cadman as a number one pick KPF, and even guys like Bedford and Daniels, all in the same age bracket as our young core, they ain’t disappearing from contention anytime soon. I didn’t even mention Darcy Jones that young WA kid they drafted last year in the first round that were all salivating over on here.

The suns are a different story - they have a serious losing culture that is even worse than ours and to me are a long way off contending anytime soon. They also don’t seem to develop players as well as GWS do. I’d back us to be close than the suns right now to a flag, marginally, but not anywhere near as close as GWS.

The suns are getting 3 top 15 picks and we aren’t though, so that sets them up well.
Sucks to be us I guess.
I actually don’t mind GWS being up and about, we have far more chance of fair umpires if we play them in a prelim or GF than any vic club. Ideally we get Brisbane as well and potentially port in a top 4 loaded with non vic teams in 2024/5.

I hate it when so called supporters talk shit about Fyfe. The dude is a top two player in our entire history and because he’s not elite anymore people think they can shit on him, say he’s overpaid, can’t kick etc. Pull your tiny heads in please.

Canned my membership earlier this week after 15+ years. Just can't justify it. Losing interest in the VFL.

You lot are terrible. I've been a supporter since inception as have my two brothers and Hell will freeze over before we jump ship and stop supporting. Pull you heads in stop being such sooky la-las.
This is what's wrong with society as a whole now - 'Oh this is too hard I can't deal with it anymore I'll just stop.' FFS grow a pair.

You lot are terrible. I've been a supporter since inception as have my two brothers and Hell will freeze over before we jump ship and stop supporting. Pull you heads in stop being such sooky la-las.
This is what's wrong with society as a whole now - 'Oh this is too hard I can't deal with it anymore I'll just stop.' FFS grow a pair.
What a stirring response. Spend your money how you see fit, ra ra ra. Pffft

My vent is this... I will most likely be dead by the time freo win their first premiership and I'm not that old

Been supporting then since I was 15 when they first entered the comp.

damn sake
What's a lovely japanese alcoholic beverage got to do with it?

I hate it when so called supporters talk s**t about Fyfe. The dude is a top two player in our entire history and because he’s not elite anymore people think they can s**t on him, say he’s overpaid, can’t kick etc. Pull your tiny heads in please.
I agree. Along with Pavlich and Ross Lyon, Fyfe is one of just 3 individuals in the 28 year history of this club that prevented us from being a total humiliation and joke as a competitive sporting franchise in Australia.
We should be forever grateful

I would also assume at those ages, the cost of living (is interest rates etc) might also have a bit to do with things. A lot of people are struggling. I am staying on as a member but only might do 6 games this year with work commitments and cost of living.

For a couple if is definitely part of the calculation. For a few others they have started to talk about golf, fishing, kayaking and other activities. We are talking about formerly very passionate fans who are close to becoming part timers at best.

This is also part of the reason why in theory it makes sense to just keep being crap at the bottom of the ladder accumulating talent and eventually we will surge upwards and sweep everything before us to become an unstoppable dynasty.
However in reality, it simply doesn’t work like that. I’m not sure how much more evidence advocates of this approach need to prove it doesn’t.

We need to have some level of success each year. And we need it soon. For a whole host of reasons.
We needed that good year in 2022, but we needed a follow up year that was equally good in 2023 to provide hope to people and we didn’t get that. It’s no surprise that you hear of long suffering loyal fans having had enough. Apathy is far worse than anger in a football club fanbase and I fear many people don’t really care that much any more.

We need to be playing finals next year. I hope so much that the toxic WA media turns its guns squarely on us in 2024 and demands good performances and results. I hate them but if they can stir some extra performance levels from the team then that would be well worth it.
The idea we should be happy with another 13th place finish next year is revolting really. Set your expectations low as a club and you sure won’t exceed them.

This is also part of the reason why in theory it makes sense to just keep being crap at the bottom of the ladder accumulating talent and eventually we will surge upwards and sweep everything before us to become an unstoppable dynasty.
However in reality, it simply doesn’t work like that. I’m not sure how much more evidence advocates of this approach need to prove it doesn’t.

We need to have some level of success each year. And we need it soon. For a whole host of reasons.
We needed that good year in 2022, but we needed a follow up year that was equally good in 2023 to provide hope to people and we didn’t get that. It’s no surprise that you hear of long suffering loyal fans having had enough. Apathy is far worse than anger in a football club fanbase and I fear many people don’t really care that much any more.

We need to be playing finals next year. I hope so much that the toxic WA media turns its guns squarely on us in 2024 and demands good performances and results. I hate them but if they can stir some extra performance levels from the team then that would be well worth it.
The idea we should be happy with another 13th place finish next year is revolting really. Set your expectations low as a club and you sure won’t exceed them.

We haven't got a flag to look back on and our last period of sustained success/dominance was a decade ago. That was preceded by 15 years of crap. Very little to look back on and the funny dockery things are no longer acceptable as a club. Things my one year old does that are exceptionally cute are not cute when my 3 year old does them.

I posted in another thread but ultimately this is the basis of my rant. What else is there to do for disgruntled Aussie rules supporters in Perth? Absolutely nothing.

The reason AFL don’t give us any advantages is that Eagles finished dead last yet had over 100k memberships (2nd behind the premiers) and we had a miserable year and yet set a new membership record!!!!

The rules have obviously been manipulated for GC and GWS to win premierships and so they likely will before us. AFL can see their venture into GC/Sydney starting to build success, Allies winning U18’s, academy kids dominating the draft. AFL aren’t going to stop now.

The best thing for WA teams will be a successful NRL team which plays finals year on year, media coverage, finals fever, WA kids choosing Rugby League opportunities over Aussie Rules and WA Aussie rules memberships starting to dwindle. All of a sudden there will be WA academies, extra home games to combat travel, soft cap increases, more WA premierships. But until that time we aren’t getting anything from AFL or winning any premierships.

I posted in another thread but ultimately this is the basis of my rant. What else is there to do for disgruntled Aussie rules supporters in Perth? Absolutely nothing.

The reason AFL don’t give us any advantages is that Eagles finished dead last yet had over 100k memberships (2nd behind the premiers) and we had a miserable year and yet set a new membership record!!!!

The rules have obviously been manipulated for GC and GWS to win premierships and so they likely will before us. AFL can see their venture into GC/Sydney starting to build success, Allies winning U18’s, academy kids dominating the draft. AFL aren’t going to stop now.

The best thing for WA teams will be a successful NRL team which plays finals year on year, media coverage, finals fever, WA kids choosing Rugby League opportunities over Aussie Rules and WA Aussie rules memberships starting to dwindle. All of a sudden there will be WA academies, extra home games to combat travel, soft cap increases, more WA premierships. But until that time we aren’t getting anything from AFL or winning any premierships.

Is the thesis: without afl provided advantage, if you are not a vic team there is very little chance of winning?

I suppose a generational Judd drafted who then is traded for a top 3 KPF was an outlier. And to a team who had a lot of advantages on starting.

my vent is we have the most talented list in our history. and it annoyed me they are taking time to grow.
never have we had talent in all 3 positions on the ground who can be all australian. whilst being different heights.
forwards: amiss, jackson, freddy.
mid: serong, johnson, darcy, brayshaw, young
back: cox, ryan, clark, chapman.

all are talented enough to be in the all australian squad of 40 at the same time. in 5 years time.

my vent is we have the most talented list in our history. and it annoyed me they are taking time to grow.
never have we had talent in all 3 positions on the ground who can be all australian. whilst being different heights.
forwards: amiss, jackson, freddy.
mid: serong, johnson, darcy, brayshaw, young
back: cox, ryan, clark, chapman.

all are talented enough to be in the all australian squad of 40 at the same time. in 5 years time.

Sweet

we have all australian talent on field but s**t for brains in the coaches box and in the board room, so all the talent will just go down the drain and amount to nothing. We are a middle of the road club that is totally ****ed
Now that's a proper vent. First one in the thread for ages. Thank you.

Sucks to be us I guess.
Great post.
GWS are scary good & I only realised late in the season how good Daniels is.
On the Suns, however, I reckon Hardwick could do for them what Lyon did for us.
The parallels seem to be there.
So for mine, it gets even worse, competition-wise.
I turned 56 last weekend & I honestly don't think I will ever see a Freo premiership.
Thank goodness for South Freo
I saw the mighty Bulldogs lose in 79, 81, 89. 92. I missed 80 going to a mate's birthday party thinking there would be plenty of chances. At the wake afterwards at Freo oval I told Mal Brown, SF coach & a legend particularly with respect to the promotion of indigenous players to the highest level (at the time) asked me to not come to any more SF grand finals after I told him my record.
Then came the glorious 97 season. I went to the game with my uncle. It wasn't looking good & he left early. (Dear old Uncle Mick is the sweetest guy ever, but he is one of those rare breed who support South Freo - diehard, but also the evils) I don't get how that works & it explains why he left early. anyway, what a game! during that game there were 2 players I thought I could see being a success at AFL level. Clem Michael & Dean Rioli.
For a long time I maintained that Dean was the second best Rioli after Maurice, but really Cyril was.
I did see Dean Rioli at Marvel this year. He was with mates & he got some joy from me telling him I was at the 97 WAFL GF.
99 (loss again) I was in Esperance for a bit (beautiful town if you haven't been I highly recommend)
2000 Junior was born
01 (loss) was tied up, not literally with a very difficult "practice wife"
05 single dad, & we went with Junior's best mate (who is now an AFL player), his siblings & dad to watch the mighty Bulldogs comfortably beat Claremont.
That was it for me. WAFL interested, but we moved to Melbourne in 2013 (with wife upgrade) & hoping for at least one Freo flag
I also met Nicky Winmar at Marvel & shook his hand. I told him that I used to see him back in the day, before WAFL seniors, with a few girls around him. He used to gave me dirty looks (when we were both teens), but I wished he could have realised I was just a fan, so it was extra nice for him to shake my hand (bro shake - thumbs interlocked & chest to chest hug) twice.
I did live most of my life in East Freo & I even played little league for them. Man that hurt, but a lot of my mate are sharks, so congrats for the flag.
But.
I love Freo & I love South Freo