AFL Autopsy Vent here

• Thread starter Thread starter Tassieboy

29524410152010700135533.jpg

This sums up our effort yesterday. One of our players copping it from Yarran and Heppel's having a laugh.

Soft, Hurley is an enforcer he should have thrown his body around, would J. Brown be watching from that far away? As for Heppell, it's not his go but he needs to man up and stop being a boy.

This season reminds me of 97/98 when we had some talented players but were pretty soft, then Johnson & Johnson, Solomon and Dean Wallis stepped into the fray.

Carlton walked away from this scuffle with heads in the clouds, no wonder they kicked a swag of goals against us in 2nd quarter, no pride for the jumper, no respect for our team mates in the trenches.

29524410152010700135533.jpg

This sums up our effort yesterday. One of our players copping it from Yarran and Heppel's having a laugh.

To be honest I have a similar attitude to this kind of stuff at AFL level. It's laughable. All these blokes milling around, wrestling, tugging on each other's jumpers... it's all just a joke. Nobody's throwing a punch, nobodys getting hurt.

Media and the nuffies in the crowd love to froth at this shit. It means nothing, it's not "flying the flag", it's just garbage as nobody can do anything and everybody knows it. They only "engage" in this stuff because it's the "traditional" thing to do... Except nobody goes through with anything.

It's just a waste of time and energy. The way to do it in the AFL is to hit the footy and the man as hard as possible, lay some bone jarring bumps and tackles once the contest restarts.

No we don't. Every week we lose the relative value of Daniher for our pick

Lose our last 2 and we will finish 11th or 12th. Maybe no-one below us will bid for J.Daniher.

Maybe we can pick Caddy up with our 2nd rounder in the draft too!

So, what are you thinking - Whitfield with our first rounder, use our 2nd on Caddy (or get him free in PSD) and use 3rd/4th round pick on JD?

4th rounder on JD - 3rd rounder for Boak.

Having had time to stew it over, the last month might actually have a silver lining. Surely TRB won't be fooled into thinking our list is somewhere it isn't after the last 6 weeks? Right?

I've been wracking my brains trying to work out what on earth happened yesterday. I went from furious to sad to completely befuddled. The only thing I can think of is that Judd must have used another of his witch doctor techniques - maybe he inserted invisible acupuncture needles into the players' hearts or something. Or maybe he cursed us. The Dark Lord. He Who Must Not Be Named.
judd1.jpg

Well, now that I’ve had a good 24 hours to lament that loss, I think I need to have a good rant after the past couple of months.

First thing’s first, we play like a group of princesses. Hird may spin this positivity line but the only thing that has resulted from it is the players finding ways to be satisfied with their failings. Some times the players need tough love.

Further to our attitude, I suggest a team rule for next week. If you concede a 50-metre penalty for back chatting to the umpire, you’re out of the team for the following week. It is just selfish that costs the whole team and for what? The chance to feel good about yourself? The umpire will never change his decision and the only thing you have accomplished is that you have irritated the umpire for the rest of the match. Well done.

Defensive efforts are effectively non-existent for this team. The players seem to be content with possessing a mentality of ‘I’ve done my touch, that’s it for me’. While 95% of the team is guilty of it, I’ll use Heppell as an example. In his game against North, we had a two on one in the defensive fifty. So what does he do? Handballs it to Fletch who is getting corralled against the boundary line, then rather than laying a shepherd so Fletcher has time to use it, he just tries to run ahead of the play, resulting in Fletcher pass back to him being under pressure, which in turn lead to Heppell kicking under pressure which was a turnover for a goal. Shepherding is a pretty basic concept, but since it isn’t a sexy as a disposal, our players seem to ignore it.

Decision-making is terrible. This can relate back to our fitness as well. The fact is we’re tries to make split second decisions while lethargic and dead on our feet. As you can tell, we’re now making the wrong ones more than the right decisions. Our coaches have stated numerous times that kicking is now the number one attribute in our future recruit, nuts to that I say. Give me the kids with the best decision-making. Even if they aren’t great kicks, at least they’ll kick with in their limitations.

Injuries have pretty much been done to death. For the record, my opinion is that Robinson would have some influence on these injuries, however injuries have been a constant over numerous years now, which leaves our current facilities as the common denominator. We should have our new ones ready by November (I don’t know whether that is just the ovals, or the actual indoor facilities as well) but there must be a drastic improvement next year in regards to fitness and injuries.

Our play on mentality simply has to go. We play like a kid who plays FIFA with the sprint button continually on. It just simply won’t work. Early in the year, we were calm, composed and didn’t flick the switch until the perfect opportunity presented. Now, as soon as we take a mark we turn to play on or handball it to the first player we see with out even assessing the situation. On top of that, our awareness is absolutely shit house, just look at Dempsey on the weekend, didn’t look behind to see if someone was on his tail. Further to that, our unwillingness to let the ball go out of play, whether across the boundary line or the goal line, has cost us a lot of goals this year.

Now, on to some individual players…

Melksham: I’ll get him out of the way first. He deserves to be nowhere near our side at the moment. The fact that he, along with Watson, is the only player to play every game is a blight on this team. This whole getting games in to him thing goes back to the positivity thing I was going on about earlier. If you keep finding positives in his poor performances, then he is always going to find a way to be satisfied. If he wants to act like the millionaire he thinks he currently is, he can earn it. I’m of the belief that if he is as good as people think he is, then he should have no problem going back to Bendigo and earning his way back in. I would drop him for the rest of the year, if only to tell him he needs to earn his way back in to this team with a big summer.

Watson: I hope like hell we make this man a premiership player, he deserves it for what he has had to put up with.

Hooker: Scabegoat. He would be in my best 22 ahead of Pears all things being equal. Was our best defender up until the St. Kilda game, which coincidentally was the same game our midfield turned to shit. His disposal is no where near as bad as made out, due mainly to his understanding of his own limitations. I wouldn’t be trading him.

Pears: Now he is the carrot I would be dangling in front of other clubs come trade week. Once upon a time he looked like our most promising defender, now, he can’t make our team. Pears also gets traded ahead of Hooker for mine based purely on height as well. Pears isn’t tall enough to take some of the true KPF of the league. While it may be all good now, if Fletcher were to retire and Hooker was traded, Carlisle would be our only tall defender on our list. As such, Hooker is a more valuable commodity to us than Pears. Such a shame to see him fall, but if can land us someone like Caddy, I’d be signing off on it immediately.

Heppell: Bit of a meh year from Heppell. Hasn’t gone backwards but still hasn’t taken any real leaps forward. He has got some more midfield time, which will serve him well for the rest of his career, but he is just in need of another preseason or two before starts dominating games from the midfield. His decisions making has also dropped a bit but I’m willing to put that down to a tired kid rather than a common occurrence.

Hurley: I have some serious concerns over him. Well, one really. His wrist. As it stands, he really struggles when it comes to marking out in front of him, especially in contests. We all saw it early this year when every attempt at a mark was a chest mark. Unfortunately, due to the nature of his injury, he will likely have to deal with this for his career. It may mean he won’t be the player he would otherwise be. I’m confident he can reach his potential but he needs to regain confidence in that wrist and regain his marking technique.

Hardingham: Frustrates me nearly the most of all our players, nearly. To sum up how I see him. He attempts to mark when he should spoil and he attempts to spoil when he should mark. While his attempts may look on the eye, he effectively does the oppositions KPF role for them by crashing the pack. Unfortunately, it has at time been costly for us. If he can become smarter of when and how to mark/spoil, then he can be quite a good player for us.

Monfries: I don’t see where the improvement is going to come from, or even what he brings to the team. His presence and selection resembles that of Welsh last year for me. I would be putting him up for trade to see if we can get any value out of him.

Jetta: If he was my team mate, I would both love him and hate him. A petulant sook who likes to publically blame his teammates regularly on the field. Has the talent which was on display earlier this year but he just needs to take some responsibility for his actions and move on because at the moment, his frustration costs the team.

Myers: I made the bold call that if he is given the opportunity, he will be our second best midfielder within a couple of years. I still stand by it. It baffles me how he is still used occasionally in defence. Needs a clear run at it and if gets that luck, look out.

Stanton: I have no idea what has happened to him after his blissful start to the year. He really needs to learn to read the play better, especially when calling for the ball. Has a tendency to call for the ball when he has no right too.

Dempsey: Has the talent and it seems to be coming out in the past few weeks, his awareness sucks however and has led to him being run down a couple of times in the past few weeks. Amazing season where you consider where he came from.

Bellchambers: Is clearly our number one ruckman and I think TRB has finally clicked on to that as well. The major problem we have with him at the moment is similar to that Fremantle experience with Sandilands, in that either his hitouts are either not effective, or the midfield can’t read them. Either way, sort that out and he’ll be incredible.

Dell'Olio: I'm still on the fence with him. During games I'll barely notice him, yet he always seems to get those couple of goals when he plays a full game. Doesn't do enough of everything else (assists, tackles) to be near a full strength 22 for mine. At this stage anyway.

Reimers: I would give him a one year contract. Based on talent, he is best 22. I think he can turn the corner work rate wise and has showed signs of this occurring. One of those players like Hooker who struggles to shake the negativity surrounding him.

Davey: It's good to finally see the real Alwyn Davey (thanks Julia) for the first time since 2007. When he's inform, he adds so much to our side. His accuracy in front of goal has improved out of sight which fantastic. Best 22.

Hocking: Does the team things well, but has had a poor season after his 2011 year. Obviously best 22 but the fact a lot of us had him as our 2nd most important midfield behind Jobe at the start of the season said, and still says I guess, a lot.

Howlett: Fantastic for what he is, ideally he would be the fifth midfielder but would currently be fourth. If one or two of Heppell, Melksham,Kavanagh, Colyer etc.could over take him, we would be a much better side. Definitely best 22 though.

Hille: He knows it, we know it, the coaching staff know it, he is no longer in our best side. I wouldn't begrudge him going to GWS. A shinning light in a difficult period, I wish him all the best if/when he leaves the club.

McVeigh: Similar to Hille, his first three weeks of 2008 are still fresh in my memory. He'll retire as the most experienced Essendon player to not be a premiership player. Looks set on a media career (well, hopefully if he'll be interviewing, he'll improve), so no doubt we'll hear from him.

Lovett-Murray: The super-sub. The sooner he is replaced, the better. Not because he is deadwood or anything, more that when he can't get a game, it will be a clear sign that our depth is improving. Delisting calls are ridiculous, you needs player like NLM, Dyson etc. as depth on the list for when shit hits the fan, much like it has this year.

Zaharakis: Looks like he'll be one of the underrated players of his era. His knee issues worry me but looks like being a key part of any premiership push.

I may or may not add more later.

Hurley: I have some serious concerns over him. Well, one really. His wrist. As it stands, he really struggles when it comes to marking out in front of him, especially in contests. We all saw it early this year when every attempt at a mark was a chest mark. Unfortunately, due to the nature of his injury, he will likely have to deal with this for his career. It may mean he won’t be the player he would otherwise be. I’m confident he can reach his potential but he needs to regain confidence in that wrist and regain his marking technique.

I also have grave concerns with Hurley's injuries...it is incredibly frustrating watching him trying to take chest marks...would be an AA defender for mine and IF Gumby can have a big preseason then I feel Hurley will be better for the team down back.

I love Hurley and the way he attacks the ball is perfect for a defender!!!

At what point do we finally recognise the abject failure that is Adrian Dodoro? The guys has been the 1 constant at the club (other than Fletch) from 2000 & his record of poor drafting policy & picks has left us with the worst midfield depth in the league. Watson was a FS pick so you can't even credit him with that. Why has he not been held accountable?

I'd like to know whether it is the coach or Dodoro that have the ultimate say on draft picks and list management. If Adrian has the last call then our club has seriously goofed up. Good recruiters/list managers generally have a reasoned expectation (view) of where footy will be in say 3-5 years. We/Dodoro seem to prefer getting talls over quick mids, and then rely on the rookie draft to get blokes that can play at state league level but are the complete package at AFL level.

Our head of recruiting is Merv Keane, not Dodoro.

Dodoro got 'fired', if you will, seasons ago. His role now, and t he department, is almost totally different to the one 4 or 5 season ago when he was almost the only person in the department, and had a role somewhere else to boot (in the coaches box. on gameday. or s/thing)

Yep, he is now 'list manager'.

I have no idea what that actually entails though, but I only see/hear from him when he's doing Keane's bidding.

Yep, he is now 'list manager'.

I have no idea what that actually entails though, but I only see/hear from him when he's doing Keane's bidding.

Read the clubs staff listing & Dodoro is listed as "Manager of Player & Personell" Directly below him on the list are Merve Keane - Recruiting Officer, Rob Forster-Knight - Recruiting Analysis Co-Coordinator & Adriano Leti - Recruiting Administrator.

Ken Fletcher?

Yep correct, McVeigh will be second on that unwanted list.

Fletcher senior was unfortunate to start just after our '65 flag, and finished just before we entered our 1980s golden era.

Ken Fletcher?
Yep correct, McVeigh will be second on that unwanted list.

Fletcher senior was unfortunate to start just after our '65 flag, and finished just before we entered our 1980s golden era.

Yep, right you are.

Ken played in our losing '68 grand final and never played in a winning one in his 264 game career. Hopefully Dustin can win another one for Ken.