Opinion Vent & Offtopic

Well Kochie has even less sweet FA chance now that we have the ex-AFL footy boss running our club.

And the guy who used to run the club overseeing guernseygate from the AFL's side of things

It appears Mr Koch is not quite as clever as he likes to make out.

Firstly I thought this was an AFL sanctioned game in which both sides abide by AFL rules.

Their jumpers do not clash so it is the end of the conversation. Especially if there is no contract in place to say the GCS cannot wear their home strips.

Also the Gold Coast has the largest number of Chinese visitors out of any destination in Australia. Coupled with the GCS colours of red and yellow which is the colour of the Chinese flag it makes you wonder why Mr Koch decided choosing GCS if he is so paranoid about GCS/Queensland reaping the tourist/financial rewards of such a venture.

The AFL have to show some backbone on this and tell Port Adelaide to stop behaving like spoiled children because they have not got what they wanted.

Selling an XL size 2016 Suns indigenous jersey if anyone is keen. Only been worn the once, would take $40. Pick up palmy or can post.

Does anyone else get the impression that Port picked the Suns to play in China because we would be an easy win?

I think they have seriously ****ed up, not only are they paying us and we are playing in the country's national colours I think they have seriously underestimated how much better we are going to be this year.

This could turn out to be one of the all time great **** ups should we thrash them. And somehow I don't think they would see it coming

Does anyone else get the impression that Port picked the Suns to play in China because we would be an easy win?

I think they have seriously ****** up, not only are they paying us and we are playing in the country's national colours I think they have seriously underestimated how much better we are going to be this year.

This could turn out to be one of the all time great **** ups should we thrash them. And somehow I don't think they would see it coming

Looking at their JLT results so far I'm gonna say they're in for a bottom 4 finish

I reckon this jumper story is just a beat-up by the 2 clubs, trying to get extra publicity for the China match & build up some sort of rivalry between the 2 clubs. Surely nobody seriously thinks we would give up the red & gold colours.

I still think that we were honestly the only other club interested in this venture that was able to give up a home game. The Coch is a smart man, and he is no stranger to international business, especially in China. I would bet that he put 2+2 together very early on with our Red/Gold and the fact that the Gold Coast has become a favourite destination for Chinese tourists and saw the opportunity to get something out of this (which many of us could also see, no idea how Kochie and co. didn't realise this as soon as we put our hands up). I don't really buy into those saying the only reason we are going is because the AFL made us and the colours are just a lucky coincidence. And now Port have finally woken up to the fact that they couldn't just pay us off to be their little puppet side-kick, and that this game can be profitable for both of us, which Port dont seem thrilled with.

I think they have seriously ****** up, not only are they paying us and we are playing in the country's national colours I think they have seriously underestimated how much better we are going to be this year.

Giving up a home game took most of the comp out of the picture from the start.
The Suns were the logical partner from a long way out.
Kochie did not have much choice once you look at it.

Eagles, Freo, Crows, Swans not a chance.
North and the Hawks play home games in Tassie.
The Cats already lose home games to the MCG.
Bulldogs sell home games to Cairns and Ballarat.
Demons sell 2 home games to the NT.
GWS already play homes games in Canberra.

Bombers, Pies and Tigers make too much money from home games and have a bucketload of members that would complain. Endlessly. All season.

Lions have a contract with the Gabba which would cost $ to break. Possible, but would cost money.

Only 3 left. Suns, Saints, Blues.

Now that the AFL bought Etihad, all 3 clubs play out of AFL controlled stadiums so moving a home game is very doable.

But only 1 of those 3 teams is AFL controlled and losing money hand over fist.

The Suns were the most logical team from the get go and it should have been no surprise to Kochie when it came down to us or no one. And no surprises on our colours, since we have worn them for a while.

I agree that he would not have been worried about the colours if we were stinking up the joint like we did the last couple of years. But now? Agree, he would be crapping himself that if we play good football while wearing the national colours and coming from a recognisable destination? It might be all over for Port after 1 game. The market will decide this one. Being first not the point. Just ask Nokia and Blackberry.

Each year the FreoMOB(affiliated supporter group of the Fremantle FC)is given 4 seats to all home games generate much needed funds. The seats are based in Block 150(northern side of Domain Stadium) Row H 11-14.
The seats are worth at least $60/seat but the pricing is at a much reduced price to get them sold.

Suns game 4 seats = $80

If interested PM me

Was chatting to one of the lovely Suns marketing ladies tonight. She mentioned the members tour of the new digs has been postponed. Having OH&S issues getting permission to let large groups walk through, may have to wait until construction is finished on the front half of the Suns building. Not sure when that is scheduled for.

IMG_3445.JPG

Took a lil snap of the new digs. Can peep in with the lights on ;)

Suns ladies were saying the staff and players are loving it. It has brought the club together.

So much more social now apparently. Much more interaction between staff and players. Players are now staying behind after training chilling out/bonding together which apparently didn't/couldn't happen previously because they had no where to do that.

Club went through 23 kilograms of coffee in the 1st week of moving! The kitchen area is huge and deliberately built upstairs so the players and staff all use the same space.

New training oval looks sweet. Light towers are up. Looks pretty close to being ready for use :thumbsu:

They announced at the ground last night our Rd1 game has been pushed back 40mins to 7:05pm.

Did anyone hear why? Is it maybe due to the possibility of the AFLW grand final being at the Gabba or Metricon?

Something to do with the TV broadcast in QLD. If it was any earlier would have had to be on 7mate

Opinion Vent & Offtopic